TUI Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 45 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"£84 just to choose a standard seat"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | When you book the flights on TUI website, it takes your seat upgrade money before it shows you what seats are available and what extra space you get for your money, which is wrong! After booking and paying, it said we only get extra 2 inches legroom for (£78 for 2 people). When I changed it, I was then charged a £40 amendment fee. I was basically charged £84 just to choose a standard seat, when Easyjet would be £16. The selfish TUI airline staff also shut the front aircraft toilets to public and kept it to themselves, and all people on aircraft had to use rear toilets. When I complained to TUI about people queueing in aisle and standing over me, I was lied to and told all airline companies have done the same during Covid 19 pandemic, which is a lie as Easyjet kept all toilets open to public on flight in same week. When I complained to TUI their response was the most unsympathetic, unapologetic customer service response I have every received. I will never book a holiday or fly with TUI again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Kefalonia
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we were 4 minutes late"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Enfidha. We were denied check as we were 4 minutes late this morning and have now been told we will lose our package holiday. This is absurd we were late by 4 minutes only, plenty time to clear customs and board, minutes late and this is how we have been treated. Told to deal with it with your insurance company.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Enfidha
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Nothing was too much trouble"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Due to Storm Ciara our flight was delayed by several hours and then we flew to East Midlands airport with onward coaches arranged to Gatwick. The Captain, came into the cabin many times to keep us updated at every stage and to answer any questions. He also offered trips/pics in the cockpit. The crew were great too. Nothing was too much trouble. We would like to pass on our appreciation for the great communication during a difficult time.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKittila to Gatwick via East Midlands
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"economy seat with limited legroom"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We flew out to the West Indies two weeks earlier and had an excellent flight; we were pleasantly surprised and before disembarking I told the cabin crew how much we had enjoyed the flight. The aircraft was clean and tidy and the crew were very friendly and efficient with the in-flight catering was more than acceptable. What helped, perhaps, was that we left at 1000 and had a daytime flight heading west. We also found subsequently that we were in 'extra legroom seats' and this made a huge difference. The homeward flight left Barbados at 1700 and effectively became a night flight heading east with breakfast served at 0330(UK Time) or 2330 (Barbados time). We were also in a standard economy seat with limited legroom. I am 1m82 and found it difficult to get comfortable. When i reclined my seat after dinner the passenger behind took offence. If one pays economy prices one does not expect frills but it might be worth obtaining one of the 'extra legroom seats' on any longer flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBarbados to Gatwick
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"we were pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My wife and I flew from Birmingham to Palma and ten days later we returned with TUI. On both occasions we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the planes, the cheerfulness & helpfulness of the crew, professionalism of the pilot and the overall flying experience. Gripes include poor sound over the PA, making pilot messages unintelligible; lack of legroom; and the usual hard-sell that economy passengers have to endure for much of the flight. Our return was marred by horrendous Swissport handling mistakes that centred on misplaced landing /e xit steps (a 25 minute delay while these were repositioned) followed by over an hour's wait for our luggage to be loaded onto carousel #6. They offered no explanation or apology for these failings.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Palma
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"efficient staff and service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew LGW to Naples to join cruise ship and vice versa. Very impressed with the efficient staff and service on board. Cabin crew and flight deck crew all informative and pleasant. Plenty of room on the Dreamliner, very quiet on take off compared to the average plane. Staff apologetic about the chaos at Naples airport seems it is quite usual! All in all a good experience with this airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Naples
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I wont book with them again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Booked a holiday to Kos on a Boeing 787 with TUI. ended up saying it was switched to Norwegian which is fine but then a month before booking was told we would be on one of three other airlines which eventually was Smartlynx. The Smartlynx plane we were flown on was plain white, 25 years old and cramped more than ive ever experienced. The table when down literally gave you no space at all, I cant image what its like for taller/ larger people. I appreciate there can be some changes to the plane (as per T&C's!!) but to move us from a new bigger aeroplane when we also had extra legroom to help with two young children to a small old cramped plane is unacceptable. They just don't compare. I wont book with them again as you cant rely on them to just change what you booked and not even a fair like for like change!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Kos
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Stansted to Tenerife. TUI has the worst customer service. We flew with them in July and our flight was delayed over 24 hours - we were never given an explanation and no one in Tui seemed to know what was going on - it was totally chaotic. We lost a days holiday and have tried to contact them to complain but it is impossible to get hold of them! We have phoned, emailed, even emailed the Chief Exec - nothing! We will keep going but seriously don’t fly with them they are rubbish.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStansted to Tenerife
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this was one of the shabbiest aircraft's"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Operated for TUI by Olympus, this was one of the shabbiest aircraft's I’ve ever flown on. The interior looked like it needed a good scrub, my seat cushion and that of my husband next to me kept coming away and the armrest to the left of my seat was missing making it very uncomfortable (the visible metal to which it should have attached had been covered with a bit of silver tape). One of toilets also had no water in the taps. We paid for and got extra legroom next to the emergency exit but the seats didn’t recline and were so thinly padded they were uncomfortable. As the flight wasn’t full some others were moved to similar seats across the aisle but cabin crew failed to explain to them(as they did to us) what to do in the unlikely event of needing to evacuate via that exit (surely a breach of safety regulations). The jump seat in front of us was filthy and what looked like old tissues fell out when the crew member opened it. The Olympus crew were reasonably friendly and smart unlike the Tui staff who were completely offhand, surly and seemed only interested in selling. They certainly didn’t understand customer experience. Definitely not recommended.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTenerife South to Manchester
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airline I have flown"

(Tuvalu)

Trip Verified | Manchester to Tenerife South. From check in to arrival at the destination, everything about this flight was awful. The staff at Manchester airport check in were unfriendly and gave the impression they were doing you a favour being there at all. The cabin crew spent the first 20 minutes having a gossip with each other and sharing drinks. They were surly and scruffy (one cabin crew member had a skirt with the hem coming undone) and were only interested in selling, food, drinks and scratch cards. There was nothing resembling customer service. We paid for extra legroom seats which offered no extra legroom at all because the aircraft type was changed before departure. We didn’t buy the on board food but those nearby who did ended up with something resembling a dish sicked up by a dog. This is truly the worst airline I have flown with and definitely won’t be repeating the experience
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Tenerife South
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 45 Reviews