TUI Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"planes are quite basic and uncomfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Both our outgoing flight and returning flights departed late. The outgoing flight was an hour late although we were all on the plane on time. The return flight departed 45 minutes late as only one staff member was working the gate. This was very frustrating as we have flown with TUI on a number of occasions which we have experienced delays. TUI planes are quite basic and uncomfortable for a 4 hour flight and the food and drinks onboard are expensive. Staff onboard the plane are friendly.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Rhodes
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not enforcing basic hygiene rules"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | On our flight no. TB181 from Brussels to Punta Cana on 15/08/2021, we sat in the Deluxe section and while the flight crew was very nice, a lot of passengers either weren’t wearing any masks at all and only had them hanging from their chins, or some just had them on to cover their mouths but not their noses. On such a long flight, I expected to see everyone wearing their masks correctly (except for eating & drinking, but people were not wearing their masks (correctly) for hours). The flight crew didn’t say anything, only when I asked them directly they managed to ask a woman in front of us to put on her mask. She did, but as soon as the flight attendant was gone, she made an obscene gesture towards a sign that told the passengers to wear masks and proceeded to free her nose. When we in process of landing, one of the flight attendants was standing directly in front of us, next to us was a man that didn’t wear any mask at all and loudly talked to his neighbour in the middle row. Both didn’t wear their masks, but the flight attendant didn’t say anything at all. I am very disappointed with the crew and especially with TUI fly for not enforcing basic hygiene rules despite the Covid-19 pandemic still going on. I will not be flying with Tui again despite having flown with them for years and I regret already having booked the return flight to Brussels because this shows the company doesn’t care for their passengers’ safety at all. To be truthful, I was horrified at how little the crew seemed to care - they were busy chatting next to the kitchen while half the plane was sitting without masks.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBrussels to Punta Cana via Santo Domingo
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this company is the worst I ever seen"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | After several times contacting the customer services of this company, I am still waiting for an answer about why I didn't get the email cancellation before arriving at the airport, it cost me more than £150 to get the refund of my tickets. All the times I tried to contact customer services by phone (by email was impossible as they never send emails back), they hung up the phone without any reason. I can say that this company is the worst I ever seen, they are unprofessional and irresponsible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Malaga
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"excellent value for money"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This was our first time flying with TUI airways (UK) and we were surprised by the standard of service offered in this restricted time with the corvid restrictions. The boarding at Gatwick was done in a corvid safe manner and the cabin crew explained that a face mask had to be worn for the duration of the flight and whist in the arrival airport in Corfu. The Cabin Services Manager explained that due to Corvid there movement in the cabin was to be kept to a minimum and there would only be the 2 rear toilets in customer use and teh=at there was only t be a maximum of 4 passengers standing at any one time, also the there would only be one cabin service of food and drinks. We were given regular updates form the cockpit which were clear and friendly. The pilots pointed out places of interest on the route down to Corfu. Arrival at Corfu and deplaning was well organised and the Cabin Crew controlled the exit of the aircraft onto the waiting coaches. The flight back to Gatwick was an evening flight and again the Cabin Service manager explained that there were only 2 rear toilets for customer use and there would only be one drinks service. However, there was a tax free trolley has well on this flight has the banned had been lifted. Again, we had informative updates from the cockpit and were als able to follow the route on the drop down TV cabin Screens. On landing into Gatwick the exiting was well controlled by rows and seemed to be well practiced by the crew.. The onboard menu is very similar to other offered and is very reasonable in price and the food and drinks purchased was very good value for money. We did pay the extra for an extra legroom seat which was a good investment and there was plenty of legroom. Yes we would fly TUI airlines again and found the product to be excellent value for money.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Corfu
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"£84 just to choose a standard seat"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | When you book the flights on TUI website, it takes your seat upgrade money before it shows you what seats are available and what extra space you get for your money, which is wrong! After booking and paying, it said we only get extra 2 inches legroom for (£78 for 2 people). When I changed it, I was then charged a £40 amendment fee. I was basically charged £84 just to choose a standard seat, when Easyjet would be £16. The selfish TUI airline staff also shut the front aircraft toilets to public and kept it to themselves, and all people on aircraft had to use rear toilets. When I complained to TUI about people queueing in aisle and standing over me, I was lied to and told all airline companies have done the same during Covid 19 pandemic, which is a lie as Easyjet kept all toilets open to public on flight in same week. When I complained to TUI their response was the most unsympathetic, unapologetic customer service response I have every received. I will never book a holiday or fly with TUI again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Kefalonia
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"we were 4 minutes late"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Enfidha. We were denied check as we were 4 minutes late this morning and have now been told we will lose our package holiday. This is absurd we were late by 4 minutes only, plenty time to clear customs and board, minutes late and this is how we have been treated. Told to deal with it with your insurance company.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Enfidha
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Nothing was too much trouble"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Due to Storm Ciara our flight was delayed by several hours and then we flew to East Midlands airport with onward coaches arranged to Gatwick. The Captain, came into the cabin many times to keep us updated at every stage and to answer any questions. He also offered trips/pics in the cockpit. The crew were great too. Nothing was too much trouble. We would like to pass on our appreciation for the great communication during a difficult time.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKittila to Gatwick via East Midlands
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"economy seat with limited legroom"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We flew out to the West Indies two weeks earlier and had an excellent flight; we were pleasantly surprised and before disembarking I told the cabin crew how much we had enjoyed the flight. The aircraft was clean and tidy and the crew were very friendly and efficient with the in-flight catering was more than acceptable. What helped, perhaps, was that we left at 1000 and had a daytime flight heading west. We also found subsequently that we were in 'extra legroom seats' and this made a huge difference. The homeward flight left Barbados at 1700 and effectively became a night flight heading east with breakfast served at 0330(UK Time) or 2330 (Barbados time). We were also in a standard economy seat with limited legroom. I am 1m82 and found it difficult to get comfortable. When i reclined my seat after dinner the passenger behind took offence. If one pays economy prices one does not expect frills but it might be worth obtaining one of the 'extra legroom seats' on any longer flight.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBarbados to Gatwick
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"we were pleasantly surprised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My wife and I flew from Birmingham to Palma and ten days later we returned with TUI. On both occasions we were pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the planes, the cheerfulness & helpfulness of the crew, professionalism of the pilot and the overall flying experience. Gripes include poor sound over the PA, making pilot messages unintelligible; lack of legroom; and the usual hard-sell that economy passengers have to endure for much of the flight. Our return was marred by horrendous Swissport handling mistakes that centred on misplaced landing /e xit steps (a 25 minute delay while these were repositioned) followed by over an hour's wait for our luggage to be loaded onto carousel #6. They offered no explanation or apology for these failings.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBirmingham to Palma
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"efficient staff and service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew LGW to Naples to join cruise ship and vice versa. Very impressed with the efficient staff and service on board. Cabin crew and flight deck crew all informative and pleasant. Plenty of room on the Dreamliner, very quiet on take off compared to the average plane. Staff apologetic about the chaos at Naples airport seems it is quite usual! All in all a good experience with this airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Naples
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews