Tigerair Australia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 303 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"purchase the travel insurance"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Whitsunday Coast to Sydney. While on a business trip to Sydney we decided to purchase the travel insurance offered by Tiger air on there booking website. On our return journey the plane had an engineering problem which made us return to Sydney. We were then told the next flight available to get home was in 48 hrs. Tigerair offered us 1 night's accommodation and a place on the flight in 48 hrs at no charge. I was not concerned as we had taken out the Tigerair insurance to cover the short fall of staying in Sydney (transport,accommodation, meals). Upon returning home I lodged my insurance claim which was very straight forward and we had kept the expenses to a minimum so I was confident that that claim would not be a problem, however it would now appear that having a travel delay with Tigerair, the very airline that we were insured with is not covered. This is the response from Chubb Insurance Australia. Our decision After careful review of the information provided to us, we regret to advise that your policy is unable to respond to this claim as the cancellation of your flight was due to Tigerair engineering requirements. As outlined above, any loss caused by a transport provider delay, cancellation or rescheduling is unfortunately excluded from cover. In addition, we note that you accepted the recovery flight offered by Tigerair deeming your airfares as used. Please be advised Section 1 can only provide cover for the unused portion of a Tigerair ticket or the costs of re-scheduling a Tigerair ticket. Should you have additional documentation that may alter our decision, please feel free to forward it to us at your earliest convenience. Although this may not be the outcome that you had hoped for, we trust that the above explanation has given you a better understanding of your policy coverage. If you are unsatisfied with our claim assessment or the service that you have received, please refer to the attached brochure which outlines Chubb Insurance’s complaint handling process. Please feel free to contact us at the above address or by phone if you have further queries regarding this matter, noting your claim number as a reference.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWhitsunday Coast to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disgusted over the situation"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Gold Coast. Arrived at airport 2 hours prior. Checked in at the self-checkin machine and responded “issue with seat allocation, please see reception”. So we waited in the long queue assuming everyone had same issue. Checked my email itinerary and says 1 hour 20 minutes delay while I was waiting. Soon as we to speak to service desk, they told us the flight is all booked out and request to pay another $87 for the next flight available 4hrs later. We were disgusted over the situation after 20 minutes arguing. So we went to another representative and explained the situation. She was able to give us the next flight free of charge with no hesitation. They are lucky to get 1 star for service just because we got the next flight free of charge.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Gold Coast
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just asked for a refund"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Received a text stating flight cancelled and "call 1800... For any enquiries". This happened just under 3 hours prior to boarding. Proceeded to call the hotline provided which took another 40 mins to get through! The phone call was not very helpful as they said the next flight available was 2 days later (later they managed to find an alternative flight for 1 day later, but still). No further help or support offered other than the take it or leave it alternate flight offer (which is at least 1 day later). We eventually just asked for a refund.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGold Coast to Melbourne
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would never recommend them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to Cairns. Won’t ever buy a ticket from this airline again. They nickel and dime everything and charge you for any baggage over 7 kg. They also don’t tell you about their baggage fees and when you get to the airport to check your bag they charge you 3 times as much to check your bags. Most frustrating flying experience ever. I would never recommend them to anyone.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Cairns
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"No more Tigerair for me"

(United States)

Not Verified | Taking my first and last flight on Tigerair today. This is a nickel and dime to death airline. The baggage machine reader wasn’t working correctly, so had to wait for the two available people to work through several customers to get my bag checked. Got to the gate and found my carryon was 2kgs too heavy - there were two people standing by to process the additional payments from many passengers. Clearly this is nothing more than a money maker for them. Not an issue of aircraft weight since you can pay the extra $40 (for 2kgs!) and walk on board, and if the extra weight had been in my checked bag, they would have never known. But because you’re at the gate, you have no choice but to pay. I accept their policies are posted on the website, but the restrictions are tight, and the charges ridiculous. No more Tigerair for me - arbritary weight restrictions and a hassle.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteMEL to CBR
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Tigerair is a disgrace"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sydney. Expensive cab ride to airport, long line security, waiting for gate announcement when a text arrives saying flight cancelled! No reasons. No other flights. No word of assistance or help. We ended up renting a car and driving all night 9 hours door to door. Tigerair is a disgrace and anyone thinking of flying with them should make another plan
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancel flight 30mins before boarding"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Melbourne. Tigerair is an absolute joke, I would rather walk, drive, catch a boat or use whatever other forms of transport is available. To cancel a flight 30mins before boarding and then having to wait 3+ weeks after the cancelled flight to have the refund "approved" which just means a form is sent out to be completed and will have to wait another 3+ weeks for the refund to be actually processed. 2 Months wait for a refund?! Spend the extra and fly with an actual airline that cares about their customer service, and one that actually will get you to your destination without incident
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sydney. Tigerair decided to cancelled my flight 2 hours before the flight at that point I was already at the airport. They did not call me or message me, instead they informed me via email which I don't check often. They did not provide a solution for the cancelled flight, I was stuck at airport for the whole day and had to paid 300$ extra for a new flight with a different airline. Neither the loss in travel time nor the extra cost were compensated by Tigerair. Have requested for a refund from Tigerair, they told me it would take 10 business days to process it, it's now 20 business days and still waiting for the refund. Can this airline get any worse. You get what you paid for, choose this dodgy airline at your own risk. My friends and I will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a very poor experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Sydney. Both flights late. Outward one by 2 hours due to engine issues. Rude humorless staff who make it very clear they don't care, and would much rather talk to each other than engage positively with customers who they clearly find irritating. They might be cheaper, but the wasted time sitting around, and the attitude, makes for a very poor experience.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Sydney
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Brisbane. Our experience this weekend with tiger was the worst airline experience I have ever had. Our flight on Saturday morning was expected to leave at 9:35am, but it was delayed until 1:55pm. The main issue I have is the lack of communication and compensation for time lost. There was no communication as to what time our flight was being changed to until 11:30. We were simply sitting around for two hours without hearing anything from the staff. When they finally told us our flight would now leave at 1:55, they offered us a $5 meal voucher. Now I'm not sure if they have looked at the food prices at Melbourne airport lately, but $5 doesn't buy you much! For a 4.5 hour delay I would expect more like $10-$15. On our flight back home on Sunday night from Brisbane to Melbourne, another bad experience. Once again a flight delay, this time our originally scheduled 9:15 pm flight home was going to leave at 11:15pm, and there was absolutely zero communication from the staff. No announcenent, nothing. We found out on Google that out flight was delayed. Due to this delay our long term car park we had booked in Melbourne charged us extra because we overstayed our visit, and we only overstayed our visit because of Tiger. Never again flying with Tigerair.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Brisbane
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no