Tigerair Australia

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 319 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terrible, terrible, terrible"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Adelaide. Fly interstate one way only a 2 hour delay. Then return flight next day (Sunday) is cancelled. No option to move to another flight same day. Terrible. If they cancelled a whole flight surely they bring in a replacement plane to substitute the flight. Instead next available flight Monday 3pm. Stuff that you have to work or something like that during the week. No guarantee of hotel costs being refunded upon application. So spend with no guarantee. Also if you choose to take a flight with someone else. You have to not only pay for that but wait up to 2 weeks for your refund. Terrible, terrible, terrible.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Adelaide
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"over the 7kg carry-on allowance"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was stung for being over the 7kg carry-on baggage allowance. While waiting to board the Brisbane to Melbourne flight I was called me out of the line and asked to place my 2 bags on the scales. One of the bags was a laptop and I thought laptops are excluded from the carry on baggage allowance as I've traveled with other airlines, including other budget carriers and they made an exemption for laptops. I was then asked to pay on on-the-spot fee of $48. Also, the ground staff person was very rude and arrogant and showed zero sympathy for my situation. His only concern was in how I was going to pay. I'm not impressed. I won't be traveling with TigerAir again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Melbourne
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never flying Tigerair again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Adelaide. Never flying with Tigerair again. By far the worst company I’ve ever flown with. Found out our flight was delayed 2 and a half hours only 1 hour before our flight took off. Everyone on that flight would have been at the airport by then. Also got delayed by 3 hours on the way to Sydney. I would advise people to never ever fly with Tigerair.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Adelaide
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Appalling service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Brisbane. Absolutely the worst airline I have ever dealt with. My flight was cancelled with notifications coming 2hrs after the flight departure time. I need to catch a train for 3hrs before arriving at the airport. No explanation given at the time with customer services stating this is why you should have travel insurance. 100’s of people were left stranded. Appalling service. I’ve been all of the world on budget airlines and this has never happened.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Brisbane
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ruined 3 days of my holiday"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Brisbane. Tigerair ruined 3 days of my holiday and i had to inconvenience friends and family who picked me up and dropped me and provided accommodations so I am waiting for reimbursement. The service was pathetic and it is easy to see that everything done was to save money. I will take this further if I am not reimbursed for my inconvenience as well as lost time accommodation and transport costs.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Brisbane
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They are an absolute joke"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Perth to Melbourne. They are an absolute joke! I booked ticket with this company, on morning of the actual departure they sent me a txt saying it’s been cancelled. Called customer service waited 40 mins to get to talk with anyone, who cared the less. Advised me they have no recovery flight only 3 days later that’s been cancelled an hour later then another 5 days later. While they advertised the cancelled flight for sale on different website. They said they won’t refund the return ticket, because that flight hasn’t been affected, which is because if I won’t leave I can’t return. To annoy me some more they keep sending me confirmation email about the return flight. Not to mention I have wrote them numerous complaints no response. If they ever want to refund the money for a flight they would do in 3 weeks, which I doubt! but they could take money straight away. They take no responsibility for any other financial loss that caused by their action!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Melbourne
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"pretty good value on this flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Hobart. We got pretty good value on this flight with Tigerair. Boarding was efficient, the crew was friendly, the flight operated on time and our exit row seats were comfortable. Prior to the flight, the airline had done a good job at keeping us informed about a possible pilot go-slow that might have caused us problems. We had to wait a long time for our baggage at Hobart, but this is almost certainly an airport problem (it was very busy on the weekend before Christmas). Going by our experience on this flight, I would be game to try Tiger again.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Hobart
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never consider flying them again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Melbourne. We were informed of a delay on our original flight time but upon arriving at the airport we were informed that the flight had been cancelled with no more flights available for the next few days. We were offered a refund and have received no money, nor information after several attempts to contact Tigerair. We had a flight to catch back to the UK the day after so had to drive from Sydney to Melbourne, putting us out of over £400. Tigerair have been very poor with communication and overall customer service. Would never consider flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Melbourne
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No attempt of help from Tiger"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Cairns to Melbourne. Having flown Tiger before i did not expect this airline to burn clients as they clearly do. Upon arrival at the airport, advised of 1 hour delay. After 1 hour advised of 3 hour delay. after 5 hours advised of cancellation. No attempt of help from Tiger, everyone had to sort out alternative flights or accommodation airport transfers etc for the following days flight. Our cost so far $428. It gets better the next day my wife and I are charged $46 for one of us exceeding the 7kg carry on limit by 2 kg. This airline should not be licenced to operate in this country.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairns to Melbourne
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed and frustrated"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Completely disappointed and frustrated! Would not recommend to anyone, they delayed our flight about 10 minutes after we were supposed to have already been boarded and supplied no reasoning as to why. They then gave a new estimated time for boarding and also delayed that time after they had us line up for a plane that had only just landed filled with people from its previous flight, we waited in line for 30 mins before being told our flight was then delayed again due to "engineering problems"! Outraged is all I can say the staff at the gates were also extremely rude about how much longer it would take before we could board. Appaling company and staff, will never use Tigerair Australia again and I recommend that you dont either!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Hobart
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no