Thai Lion Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 93 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never fly Thai Lion again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Hanoi via Bangkok. I booked a ticket that cost $20 more, with the belief that I was getting a pre-paid bag included. Apparently this was not the case. So, I learn at check-in that because I didn't pre-book my bag, I would have to pay 300 THB ($10 USD) per KG. My bag wieghed 16.6kg. So, they wanted me to pay $166 USD to check my bag! I said hell no! My bodyweight plus my carry-on was 84kg of weight and I paid $84 USD for my ticket. (It was listed at $67 but I paid extra, thinking the checked bag was included) I said I would just book a flight with another airline and check my bag for that price. I checked prices online and I would still have had close to $50 left over too, even with it being last minute! So, what did they do? They looked at the competing prices and said if I bought a new ticket on a domestic flight, the bag would be included "free". The new flight cost $83. This undercut the competition just enough where it made sense for me not to go to a competing airline. I really couldn't afford to do anything but accept their offer. And I did not get refunded for the first flight that I booked! I was also told that if I had been there four hours before the flight left, I could have checked my bag at a much lower rate. I sat and waited for their counter to open, from 3:15AM until 5:00AM. My flight wasn't scheduled to leave until 7:25AM. The employees came and sat at their desks for more than an hour before letting me come to the counter! If I had been given service when I got there I could have gotten the discounted rate, but I couldn't get it. This is unacceptable! I will never fly Thai Lion again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Hanoi via Bangkok
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"have to pay for luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Kuala Lumpur. I tried to pay for baggage online. They did not allow to make payment after putting pnr number I have used my mobile as I did or have laptop or PC Then I called them to pay for 60kg for 4 person, they said 15kg per person is included to check in. I was 3.5 hours before my flight at airport they said you have to pay for luggage and the cost is 400 baht per kg per flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't allow extra luggage"

(India)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Bangkok. They do not have transparent luggage policy. While booking you will not see any kind of luggage limit or so on, but while travelling they won't allow you with extra luggage. My travel cost was around 2300 THB for two person, and for extra luggage I have to pay around 7000 THB. Very cheap service, they are not contactable anyhow, nor they will reply to your feedback or emails. Even the water is chargeable during flight. I personally suggest do not travel with this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ended up cancelling the flight"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Bangkok to Taipei. First, it is very hard to get the customer service to reply by email or phone. Once you are luck to reach them by phone, you will find out the process - reschedule or cancellation is horrible. I ended up cancelling the flight as I am tired of listening to all those unprofessional customer representative that probably trained to put the best interest of the company instead of being realistic and fair to the customers. The cancellation process is horrible that you have to send the passport and flight details again which they should have those info already. I will never book the flight from Thai Lion Air as this is my first time to book and the experience of booking, reschedule, cancellation and customer service are all really bad that I can not imagine the experience of getting on the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Taipei
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"scam on baggage costs"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Chiang Mai to Bangkok. This company operates a scam on baggage costs where the website and call centre will not accept pre payment for checked baggage and then when you arrive to the airport they charge exorbitant fees per kilo (working out to be 4x the price of ticket in first place.They then recommended us to buy a new ticket with 20kg luggage included which worked out cheaper, then on complaining they eventually recommended it’d be cheaper for it to go on a cargo flight instead!) Ridiculous. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Then the flight was delayed and the seats so uncomfortable with no legroom.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Bangkok to Chiang Mai. Never fly with Thai Lion. They charge you 300 baht per Kg for your baggage. They do claim on their website the premium economy allows 20kg baggage for free, however, they don't even have premium economy seats. If you want to experience worst customer service, delayed flight, pay hundred bucks for your baggage - then fly Thai Lion.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the mobile site did not work"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Surat Thani to Bangkok. When we tried adding extra baggage the mobile site did not work. We tried the process on 2 different phones on the evening beforehand. Since we were travelling and had to reach deadlines we were not able to complete the process online. When we arrived at the airport they charged 300 baht per kilo of checked in baggage. Initially they were asking for 4500 baht (around 150€) for the 15 kg bag, but I managed to get it down to 9 kg by throwing belongings away and packing stuff into the carry on baggage. This exceeds the cost of the flight and is unacceptable in my eyes. While booking they never showed the costs for this and I am steaming over the fact their mobile site was this useless. Personel was of little to no help and I refuse to fly with them in the future.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSurat Thani to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible prices for luggage"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Khon Kaen. Horrible prices for luggage. Not clear in booking confirmation what was included. Paid 4300 ฿ for 2 tickets and had to pay 7800 ฿ at the airport for 2 pieces of luggage (one each passenger).
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Khon Kaen
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"impossible to buy baggage on line"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Udon thani to Bangkok. Baggage Rip off airline - the airline makes it impossible to buy baggage on line or by phone, and slaps a 300 baht: kg bill at you at check in. I say intentionally because none of the channel works, we tried it for more than 24 hours. Online does not allow purchase, customer care number rings out no one picks up (15 calls), social media contacts do not respond, so is an email not responded. All channels down at the same time can not be accidental. Ultimately we had t purchase a new ticket at 2240 baht with 20 kg baggage allowance while the purchase online would have costed 400 baht. Airline does not offer remedial measures as the mistake is clearly theirs and I was forced to pay instead.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteUdon thani to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Don't fly with Thai Lion"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Like many other Thai Lion customers, my partner and I experienced terrible customer service in Kathmandu. When we attempted to check in to our flight to Bangkok the attempted to charge us an exorbitant $289 baggage fee, effectively doubling the cost of our flight. When my partner and I pushed back on this unnecessary expense and asked for more information, they explained each additional kilogram over the first seven cost $17. However, my partner's bag - the one causing the expense - weighed approximately 17 kilograms, meaning the excess baggage fee should have been $170, per Thai Lion's own policy. The staff could not explain the $289 calculation. When we refused to pay the fee, these customer service agents withheld our passports and threatened to bar us from boarding the flight. Needless to say, my partner and I were furious with this extortion. After more angry back and forth, they explained that since we purchased our flight tickets in November 2018, we were exempt from Thai Lion's baggage policy, which went into effect in January 2019. They did not apologize for misleading and threatening us. In 20+ years of frequent flying, I have never encountered such poor customer service, even on budget airlines. Word to the wise: Don't fly with Thai Lion. If you must, check the date of your ticket purchase. Any tickets purchased prior to the January 2019 policy change are exempt from the draconian baggage policy.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKathmandu to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 93 Reviews