Thai Lion Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 148 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"a pleasant flight"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Short-haul international leg from Bangkok DMK to Singapore on the single-class B737-800. Even though it's the first time writing a review for this airline, I have flown with them no less than 10 times in the past, pre-pandemic. Everything went along smoothly, from the check-in counters (<10 min wait), to the boarding process and the entire flight itself. Everyone boarded on time, took off on time and landed on time. Even though it is a budget airline, it is a nice touch when they offer 20kg of check-in luggage at no additional cost, as well as a small snack and bottle of water onboard. Legroom was above-average for a budget carrier and good enough for most passengers under 6 feet. The crew were approachable and professional, and made for a pleasant flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok DMK to Singapore
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"most stressful experience"

(India)

Trip Verified | They cancelled our flight and the next one was more than a day later! They refused to give us any compensation or place to stay which most airlines provide in case of delays and cancellations. On call, which was very hard to get through to, they did not help at all. They said sorry but we can not do anything. Even the refund they did not want to process. It is the worst and most stressful experience with any airline so please do not trust them. They seem to do this often form other reviews which i did not know of before booking.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok via Mumbai
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't have any intention to refund my money"

(India)

Trip Verified | I booked a ticket on 26th July Phuket to Bangkok. They changed flight time and mailed me. Then I want to cancel my flight and want full refund as per airline norms. But they don't have any intention to refund my money. In fact i tried to call to there call center, no one reply to me. Also tried to call Indian call center. Same reflection. Thai Lion actual a cheater Airline company. They cheated our money. I have sent many many mail to them but didn't get any satisfactory result.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Bangkok
Date FlownJuly 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"most horrible flight in my life"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Probably one of the most horrible flight in my life. There is just nothing right with this company, from the check-in, delay handling, to security in the cabin and complaint handling. Flight was delayed over 3 hours because of supposedly bad weather conditions, while other airlines were flying just fine for the same routes. Left without ANY updates of confirmed departure time, and more importantly, we were refused the ability to cancel our tickets. We were not offered any food or drink for our over 3 hours wait in the terminal. Staff English at the counter was below acceptable, as they were barely able to understand questions in regards to how to deal with my music instrument. Staff on board failed to give instruction in English. I was addressed multiple times in THAI, which I do not speak and I wasn't even given the chance to ask what it meant. Ground staff at arrival (Lost and Found counter) don't speak English at all. Call center (called 18th March 3:20PM) excuses failure to follow laws and basic security and information requirements by "We are a low cost airline".
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKhon Kaen to Don Mueang
Date FlownMarch 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"a pleasant no frills flight"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | This was a pleasant no frills flight, flight was on time, friendly crew, clean aircraft. But what sets this carrier apart from other budget airlines are the 10kg checkin allowance. I can recommend this carrier.
AircraftBoing 737-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Krabi
Date FlownFebruary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"2 years of waiting for refund"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | They cancelled the flight last April 2020. That is 2 years of waiting for refund but I kept getting their response that it is still being investigated since there was huge volume of flights they cancelled. 2 years and still no refund up until now. Modern day thief!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteYangon to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst refund experience"

(Taiwan)

Not Verified | This is the worst refund experience, I ever have. They say only a credit account refund is possible, and you have to redeem within a year. My ticket was on 3 April 2020. And now the pandemic isn't over, there is no flight available from Taiwan to Thailand. However, there are no notice for any refund or extension.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Thailand
Date FlownNovember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I did not receive my money back."

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I had booked the flight from DMK to TST, at first they had changed my flight and I did not want to change so I decided to cancel it for to route going to TST. Then after that the flight back from TST to DMK had been changed again so I would like to cancelled because I had limited time so it was not convenient for me. I decided to cancelled for both flight and they told us to refund the money within 45 days or it could be a bit late as now there are so many passengers asked for the refund. I understood that so I was waiting patiently until now it's been 9 months, I did not receive my money back. I sent them email and they said it has been processing but do not know when it will come. Totally disappointed. To whom wish to fly with this airline, please consider again before you purchase their ticket because if there is something happened, you will lose your money forever.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Trang
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no intention of providing refunds"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had a flight booked in April 2020, which was obviously cancelled. I have emailed and called many times to request some sort of update on my refund, and the response is always the same: "In regards to your email, your refund is still in process. it takes an unusually long time to process the refunds. Sorry for your inconvenience". The response never changes and never provides any clear information. I definitely understand the last year has been challenging. However, I also had reservations with two other Thai airlines - one has processed the refund, and the other is at least providing updates and regular communication. At this point, it feels like there is no intention of providing refunds. I recommend booking with any other airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDhaka to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no money and no more contact"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Flight of march 2020 was (logically) cancelled. We requested a refund, which the system said was being processed and could take up to 45 days. Since then no money and no more contact. Phoned multiple times, waiting time up to an hour and when finally in the call, being pressed away again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Colombo
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no