Thai Lion Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"cramped with little legroom"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Chiang Mai. Thai lion air is a subsidiary of Lion Air. Aircraft was cramped with little legroom. Landing was rough & bumpy. The flight took off & landed on time.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"such a terrible service"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Chiang Mai. One of the worst service from airline I ever had. The late evening flight was canceled recently, therefore they moved all flight to the evening flight. The change was made normally and I received notification as usual. But this time I received such a terrible service. Starting from mis-booking the flight by switching my departure flight and arrival flight, which making me unable to do the online check in. This problem occurs again on my return flight. I have contacted call center and the response I received is unacceptable. Firstly they started to ask me to check in online again in the morning, and of course, it did not work. So I kept calling again and received the response that “this problem is unexplainable, especially to customer. Even he explained to me, I am not going to understand anyway”. I had good service from this airline before, but this time could be the last one.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charges for luggage are very high"

(India)

Trip Verified | I was flying from Bali to Mumbai via Bangkok, while checking luggage I was told that check-in is not allowed and I had to pay extra 220$ for the same. Their charges for luggage are very high. Its totally unacceptable. Which airline charge check-in luggage wholly. I will never recommend this airline. And after paying so much you don't even get a glass of water you have to buy it. Totally disappointed and frustrated. They purposely tell you about check-in baggage prices on last moment when you don't have any other option.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Mumbai via Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very high price for baggage"

(India)

Trip Verified | Bali to Bangkok. Very unprofessional airline. Did not know about check in baggage. Charged very high price for baggage. Had to pay 220 USD for check in baggage. Never fly this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Thai Lion again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Hanoi via Bangkok. I booked a ticket that cost $20 more, with the belief that I was getting a pre-paid bag included. Apparently this was not the case. So, I learn at check-in that because I didn't pre-book my bag, I would have to pay 300 THB ($10 USD) per KG. My bag wieghed 16.6kg. So, they wanted me to pay $166 USD to check my bag! I said hell no! My bodyweight plus my carry-on was 84kg of weight and I paid $84 USD for my ticket. (It was listed at $67 but I paid extra, thinking the checked bag was included) I said I would just book a flight with another airline and check my bag for that price. I checked prices online and I would still have had close to $50 left over too, even with it being last minute! So, what did they do? They looked at the competing prices and said if I bought a new ticket on a domestic flight, the bag would be included "free". The new flight cost $83. This undercut the competition just enough where it made sense for me not to go to a competing airline. I really couldn't afford to do anything but accept their offer. And I did not get refunded for the first flight that I booked! I was also told that if I had been there four hours before the flight left, I could have checked my bag at a much lower rate. I sat and waited for their counter to open, from 3:15AM until 5:00AM. My flight wasn't scheduled to leave until 7:25AM. The employees came and sat at their desks for more than an hour before letting me come to the counter! If I had been given service when I got there I could have gotten the discounted rate, but I couldn't get it. This is unacceptable! I will never fly Thai Lion again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Hanoi via Bangkok
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"have to pay for luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Kuala Lumpur. I tried to pay for baggage online. They did not allow to make payment after putting pnr number I have used my mobile as I did or have laptop or PC Then I called them to pay for 60kg for 4 person, they said 15kg per person is included to check in. I was 3.5 hours before my flight at airport they said you have to pay for luggage and the cost is 400 baht per kg per flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"won't allow extra luggage"

(India)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Bangkok. They do not have transparent luggage policy. While booking you will not see any kind of luggage limit or so on, but while travelling they won't allow you with extra luggage. My travel cost was around 2300 THB for two person, and for extra luggage I have to pay around 7000 THB. Very cheap service, they are not contactable anyhow, nor they will reply to your feedback or emails. Even the water is chargeable during flight. I personally suggest do not travel with this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ended up cancelling the flight"

(Thailand)

Not Verified | Bangkok to Taipei. First, it is very hard to get the customer service to reply by email or phone. Once you are luck to reach them by phone, you will find out the process - reschedule or cancellation is horrible. I ended up cancelling the flight as I am tired of listening to all those unprofessional customer representative that probably trained to put the best interest of the company instead of being realistic and fair to the customers. The cancellation process is horrible that you have to send the passport and flight details again which they should have those info already. I will never book the flight from Thai Lion Air as this is my first time to book and the experience of booking, reschedule, cancellation and customer service are all really bad that I can not imagine the experience of getting on the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Taipei
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"scam on baggage costs"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Chiang Mai to Bangkok. This company operates a scam on baggage costs where the website and call centre will not accept pre payment for checked baggage and then when you arrive to the airport they charge exorbitant fees per kilo (working out to be 4x the price of ticket in first place.They then recommended us to buy a new ticket with 20kg luggage included which worked out cheaper, then on complaining they eventually recommended it’d be cheaper for it to go on a cargo flight instead!) Ridiculous. The staff were rude and unhelpful. Then the flight was delayed and the seats so uncomfortable with no legroom.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Bangkok to Chiang Mai. Never fly with Thai Lion. They charge you 300 baht per Kg for your baggage. They do claim on their website the premium economy allows 20kg baggage for free, however, they don't even have premium economy seats. If you want to experience worst customer service, delayed flight, pay hundred bucks for your baggage - then fly Thai Lion.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 97 Reviews