Thai Airways

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 766 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Seats were small"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Auckland. Cabin service very substandard, no follow through during flight, attendants seemed uninterested, not a smile to be seen and the food was appalling. Seats were small and on a full flight not a pleasant experience. Disappointing. I have flown business class with Thai on a number of times and the business class was very good.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Auckland
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"nothing too much trouble"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Heathrow to Sydney via Bangkok. To start with I was really fed up with Thai Airways as they had altered my return flight times. We were supposed to fly at 16.10 but it was changed to 10.00. This meant we lost valuable time with our daughter and granddaughter. We also ended up with nearly an 8 hour wait at Bangkok instead of just over 3 hours. That said we found the Thai Airways experience good. Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble. We always book middle row isle seats but these had been altered, even though we’d booked them and paid extra. I told them this and they moved us to different seats. Not overly crazy on the food and entertainment wasn’t as good as Cathay Pacific but overall a good flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to Sydney via Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"the staff were fantastic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Bangkok. Having just flown Heathrow to Hong Kong with Virgin Upper Class you would think the 2 hour hop across to Bangkok with Thai Airways would be a somewhat underwhelming experience, the reality was anything but. As soon as we stepped into the Royal Silk cabin it was as though the weight of the world was lifted from our shoulders and we could begin our holiday in Thailand. The staff were fantastic and genuinely there to make you flight as pleasant as possible. The Virgin staff were ok but essentially it was all about them, the Thai Airways staff were there to look after you. The cabin staff on the return leg Bangkok to Hong Kong on Jan 5th in particular were quite superb and deserve special mention. The cabin feels spacious with aisle access for all seats and is arranged in a 1-2-1 pattern. Alternate window seats have slightly better window access and are set slightly in from the aisle. The seat converts to a full flat bed but we didn't put it to the test on such a short flight. The meal BKK to HKG was a lamb massaman and actually very edible, a selection of cheeses, additional crackers were gladly provided upon asking. A couple of deserts were offered and they insisted we try both as the flight was not full so there was enough to go round. Check in at Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport was relaxed and courteous with a dedicated Royal Silk international drop off zone. There were even seats for you during the check in process. Didn't particularly use the in flight entertainment system, the rest of the family managed to squeeze in a film. No qualms about recommending this flight, lasting memory would be the staff, a credit to Thai Airways.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"Indian sector is the pits"

(India)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to New Delhi. The food on this flight was poor in taste, presentation and look. The flight had no vegetarian options unless pre-ordered. I had Lamb biryani with Half cooked rice and tasteless lamb curry. The service staff were quite unconcerned. .I fly this airline to other sectors too but the Indian sector is the pits. Worst aircraft and even worse food.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to New Delhi
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Wonderful, polite staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Phuket. Amazing experience for such a short domestic flight with Thai. Wonderful, polite staff. Comfy seats with inflight entertainment. Perfect snack of a chicken roll and some fruit, water then either tea/coffee or soft drink.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Phuket
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Everything expected is delivered"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | TG 606, which used to be flown by a 747 (with a first class), is now switched to a 777-300, with the new business class seats (no more first class) that offers aisle access to every passenger. Everything expected of Thai is delivered, good service and good catering on board for this 2 hour flight. We experienced a slight delay due to some no shows and had to off load their luggage. Everything went smoothly once we took off. I must say cost cutting is really obvious with their catering, with much smaller serving and all courses onto one tray. The rice that came with my curry were not more than say, 4 tablespoons! This is one of the very few times when the flight still feeling a little hungry. Other than that, it was a great flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I had booked the wrong flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Phuket to Bangkok. I booked a ticket with Thai Airways through Momondo for March 2019. On Momondo I selected the 7:15pm departure and was directed to Thai Airways website where the first listing was the 7:20am flight. I selected this flight by mistake. Two hours later, I realized I had booked the wrong flight and I called the customer service centre. I was told that the tickets were non refundable and could not be changed for another flight. I find this policy unacceptable and results in poor customer service. I am sure that if Thai Airways wanted to make this change they could. I would like to pay to transfer and pay for the more expensive evening flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"poor menu planning"

(India)

Trip Verified | Kolkata to Phuket via Bangkok. Overall a pleasant flight. However, poor menu planning. My 6 year old could not enjoy her meal at all. Only Hindu meal was possible. Rice was repeated in the main and the dessert also was rice kheer.The salad was hopeless and repeated on return as well. The oily pickle was not necessarily. the peas were undercooked. Staff refused to give any food tray choice. Staff does not stop unless asked even for drinks.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKolkata to Phuket via Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

" passion in serving the customer"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Osaka via Bangkok. The flight from KL to Bangkok was fantastic and crew were so friendly and smiling. Can feel their passion in serving the customer. Though it was a 2-hour flight, they managed to serve everything smoothly until landing. Second sector was from Bangkok to Osaka. Crew were like robot. Not even ask the passengers about their choice of meal and directly give passengers whatever the meal they are holding. Crew were not seen serving drinks during the mid of the flight. No warm towel prior to take off and landing. Inflight entertainment was passable. Seat is comfort. Third sector was from Osaka to Bangkok. Some crew were very rude. Rushing for the meal and expecting the passengers to finish it quickly. Even heard a enior crew raised her voice to at least three passengers, "Finish? Bring this go there (finger point to the back galley) I won't come back again, understand!" The flight was six-hour long and why don't give some time for the passengers to enjoy their meals slowly. No beverage serving / crew going round the cabin with drinks in the mid of the flight. Crew takes long time to answer call bell. The same goes to the last sector. Rushing to do their service and very impatient. Few times I observed the crew can't wait to push away the cart perhaps the passengers were still thinking of what the crew were saying or couldn't listen to it clearly. For money wise, yes it's cheaper than some other airlines. In terms of inflight entertainment, it's not as interesting as SQ, EK or CX. Lavatory doesn't provide any toiletries, only a bottle of cologne.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 / A350-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Osaka via Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"typically gracious and attentive"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Bangkok. I've flown with Thai between Bangkok and Bali in the past on a Boeing 787 and a Boeing 777-300 and both offered good service whether in economy or business class. Presently Thai have a Boeing 747-400 plying the route, so it's clearly a far from new aircraft. That manifests itself in pretty basic in-flight entertainment options where picture and sound quality is a bit iffy. However for a flight of 3 hours 45 minutes, not only is business class offered, but on the aircraft on which I flew, first-class seats were sold as business class. Oodles of space (fully flat bed if you wanted it), and typically gracious and attentive Thai cabin crew. Dinner included really tasty Thai options and the purser personally thanked passengers for choosing to fly with Thai. Plane at gate 20 minutes ahead of schedule. A very pleasant flight, and not expensive.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteDenpasar to Bangkok
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes