Thai AirAsia

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 58 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"so-called prohibited item"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | Bangkok to Penang. I had an issue with bringing in an so-called prohibited item at Thailand Don Muang airport to board the plane via carry on baggage. Never faced restriction for this item on any other international airports. The item is Baj used by Sikhs for their Turban. The security staff of the airport asked me to get the airline staff to come and discuss with them if they would allow or able to help me in any way to bring on the item either through check-in baggage or any other way. When approached to the Thai Air Asia staff at the departure Gate 5 for help, they rudely responded that if the security said is prohibited then we cannot do anything without even trying to talk with the security staff. Then when asked if any way to bring in the item maybe through check-in baggage then they further rudely responded that all the baggage have been stocked into the plane and told me to direct cancel the flight and there will not be any refund. The Thai Air Asia staff at the departure gate 5 were extremely rude and not helping at all.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Penang
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"flight was comfortable"

(Kuwait)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Chiang Mai. Overall the flight was comfortable. Departed on time. Cabin crew were as usual keeping the standards of Air Asia. Hot seat purchased was an added advantage with better leg room and privacy.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Chiang Mai
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"hot seat which was comfortable"

(Kuwait)

Trip Verified | Cochin to Bangkok. Departed Cochin airport on time. This time I booked their hot seat which was comfortable comparing to the standard seat. The pre booked meal was ok. Will fly again with Thai AirAsia in this sector.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCochin to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"a very normal flight"

(Kuwait)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Cochin. Flight departed on time. It was a very normal flight. Every thing was in order though there was some nasty co passengers Nothing more or less. I love Air Asia for the very affordable rates by which you can travel plenty. Have one concern that I felt that the cabin was very hot. Might be because the flight was full but need to set little bit lower temperature in such cases.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Cochin
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"very comfortable flight"

(Kuwait)

Trip Verified | Chiang Mai to Bangkok in the afternoon, it was a very comfortable flight. Departed on time. Air Asia has the quality of its own though it is a budget airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChiang Mai to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"deny access to water"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Seats I paid for were changed by the airline, and I only knew about it because I checked on the reservation. It cost 2 hours on the phone and they couldn't offer me comparable seats so I had it refunded. Then I arrived at the airport on Oct. 1, as it said on my itinerary, with connecting transport and hotels booked after my arrival. At the airport, I found out the flight had been moved to the next day and AirAsia X did not even HAVE an office at BNE for me to go to, nor any number to call to fix the problem. It cost another night's hotel in Brisbane, and all connecting transport, plus the loss of two nights paid at our destination. On the plane to Bangkok, I was told there was no place to refill my empty water bottle. On the way back, they searched bags to confiscate any water, there was no water in the gate area. I could not in good conscience ever take my kids on an AirAsia flight. I don't know how it is legal in any country to deny access to water in a waiting area that's 30 degrees for an hour.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"seat was fairly comfortable"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Siem Reap to Bangkok Don Muang. Thai Air Asia provided a good standard of service as the best low-cost airline in the world. I choose Thai Air Asia as I am a loyal customer to the airline and the cheapest option to fly within the region. The flight departed on-time and arrived 10 minutes early! The boarding process was fast and very organised. The aircraft is fairly old but the cabin was really clean. The seat was fairly comfortable and the leg room was a good standard for low-cost airlines. The seat pocket contain magazines, safety card and air sickness bag. The crew was very friendly and motivated. I ordered a drink which was good but overpriced. The toilet on the aircraft was small but very clean. Overall, the flight was good as a low-cost airline and I would fly them again.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSiem Reap to Bangkok Don Muang
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Extra hidden charge"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Siem Reap to Chiang Mai via Bangkok. Worst experience ever. Extra hidden charge for luggage. Tickets: $182. 2 pieces Luggage @ 20 Kg ea: $560. Seriously. 15 Kg limit at the counter, 20 Kg with online check-in but the system wouldn't let us check-in online. We were told to go to counter. None of these rules can be found on their website. They charged us for each leg on a single trip.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSiem Reap to Chiang Mai via Bangkok
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"very rude staff"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Surat Thani to Bangkok. This flight went smooth, on time, not very narrow seats either. A few years ago, those flight with Air Asia were always delayed, often with several hours, so we stoped using them, but now they have really improved. We have had 4 legs, the last two months no delays. The ground staff at Surat Thani should have taken 'how do you get satisfied customer' lessons. When we checked in we had bought 20 kg of luggage, one bag was 14 kgs, and we thought of sending another bag, but then the total weight became 21 kilos. Instead of taking out something from one of the bags, we brought it onboard, 'plenty of space' for luggage in the cabin, not in the belly of the aircraft. When we were boarding a very rude staff, organizing the queues, by the book, not what was the most efficient way.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSurat Thani to Bangkok
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"great value for money"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | This trip was a choice between Thai Smile and AirAsia. Ultimately we chose AirAsia as they were significantly cheaper. I arrived at the airport pretty late as driving to the airport before sunrise proved to be a challenge, so many U turns and unlit signs. I prefer Suvarnabhumi Airport over Don Mueang as it's just one easy turn off the intercity motorway. Check in reminded me of Heathrow Terminal 2 where everybody prints out their own boarding pass and checks their own bag. AirAsia assigns a seat for you. If you're not happy with it you have to pay to change it. There was a staff member asking if anybody was leaving within the hour, and directed us to the manned check in counter. Probably the fastest check in experience I have had, after typing our names off our driving licences he handed us our boarding passes and we were off to security. I must note that these boarding passes are essentially just a receipt with a barcode on it. Boarding by bus was complicated but somehow in the confusion we left on time and touched down 10 minutes early. I had preordered a Nasi Lemak on this flight, and it was served piping hot with a complimentary bottle of water. Not very large but decent for 120 baht paid. The seat is quite small but somehow it is better than some legacy carriers, I'm looking at you Singapore Airlines! On the return flight, the kiosk check in did not work, so we went to the actual check in counters to get our boarding pass. What was really odd was that we were assigned seats 7A and 8C, yet 8B was empty which makes me wonder why the system somehow messed up our seat assignments even though we are in the same booking. On this flight, I didn't preorder anything and bought the last hot meal left, rice with chicken teriyaki. Not the most appealing option but I was hungry. They also asked if I wanted to try their Boba milk tea. It was quite unique to get that on a plane but too sweet for my taste. The captain had already started the descent when I was being served, apparently some really strong tailwinds put us 20 minutes ahead of schedule. This was a quick day trip, and we chose AirAsia seeing that we didn't need to check any luggage, both of us had a purse bag and that was it. The crew on all flights were excellent and worked tirelessly to make all passengers feel welcome onboard. The problems that need addressing: I think a mobile boarding pass would be a good idea, I could've just gone through security straight away after parking my car at the airport. The system should also ask if you prefer a window or an aisle seat, that at least saves you some trouble if you prefer the window or have to use the toilet during the flight. The biggest problem I have is the stocks of food onboard. A normal flight normally has only 10 hot meals available for purchase, the guy in the last row would have no chance of getting a hot meal. In the end, they have great value for money and since you get what you pay for, I wouldn't say they're a bad carrier especially given the price point. If you want to fly low cost in Asia, choose between AirAsia and Jetstar. Either one of those two options are very good for their price.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Khon Kaen
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 58 Reviews