TAROM Romanian

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 167 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"a mediocre experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Neither bad nor great. Mediocre, but they got the job done nicely. Ticketing/baggage staff and gate staff at OTP were friendly and professional as were Cabin staff. Their website makes a big deal about carry-on baggage being measured, but no such thing happened. Only water was served, no food. The aircraft had age on it and wasn't the cleanest. No in-flight entertainment or USB charging capability, and no WiFi. All in all, a mediocre experience, but pleasant enough. TAROM got the job done adequately, but I'd only pick them to fly to Romania again if they offered an amazing price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Paris
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Seats are very comfy"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Flight was delayed about one hour. Seats are very comfy. Only water was served and no other option. Not very much on a 2.5 hour flight. But everything else was fine.
AircraftA318
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Bucharest
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"never been to such miserable trip in my life"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The plane arrived Amman Jordan 3 hours late and as a result all other connections to Frankfurt, Vancouver and Edmonton were lost. I've lost my bag and did a report at Frankfort airport. I've emailed the airlines many time with no luck of any response. I've slept on the floor at Frankfurt airport and asked my son to book me another ticket on Air Canada, it costs me around $2,500. This is the worst experiment in my life since I was travelling for 50 years, I have never been to such miserable trip in my life.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmman to Frankfurt via Bucharest
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Worst airline ever"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airline ever. No food given at all no drinks given at all except water. No entertainment at all. Paid for seat to put my infant they made me carry him on my lap. Then they lost my baby stroller. Never again will I fly with them
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Barcelona via Bucharest
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"disrespectful staff on the plane"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had connection flights. Tarom did not cooperate well with the other airline I flew with, so baggage had to be reclaimed and signed in again with Tarom. There was a chaos happening at the checks in. They wouldn't accept debit/credit/cash for the luggage payment, but instead we had to make a transaction using our email. The flight attendants were rude to people any time they would ask for help looking for some place to put their carry on. They didn't provide food on the plane, even though I was willing to pay. Because of that I didn't eat for 10 hours. There was a flight attendant who saw how hungry I am and gave me her lunch and would refuse to accept any payments. Everything she wanted is to make better traveling experience for passengers! All the stress I had to go through in between my connection flights was already difficult enough. So, instead of having nice crew to make my (as their passenger) flight experience better, they had disrespectful staff on the plane, who only added to the stress I got from all the airport problems.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bucharest
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not to travel with this company"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had a terrible experience with TAROM. - On July 6th, 2022, I booked a flight from Amman to Bucharest (transit) then to Frankfort. I suppose to take off at 4:00 AM but the airplane was late and arrive to Amman/Jordan at 6:30 AM. ie 2.5 hours late. As a result, I miss the connection to Frankfort and forced to wait at Bucharest airport for 6 hours to travel to Frankfort. I lost my bag and received unprofessional treatment from the staff, they are totally unprofessional in Bucharest and Frankfort. I suppose to fly from Frankfort to Vancouver/Canada and Edmonton where I live on Condor airline but unfortunately, I lost my flight and spent one night sleeping on the floor at Frankfort airport. The next day, I booked another ticket from Frankfort to Vancouver then to Edmonton with Air Canada and spent $ 2,400 Canadian the price of the 2 tickets. My big problem is every time I email the company, I receive no response. - This is the last time in my life travelling with TAROM. I advise everyone not to travel with this company.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmman to Frankfurt via Bucharest
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"outrageous customer service experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am a US citizen, I had connecting flight from JFK to Romania with one stop in Amsterdam. One of the worst experience ever had, they lost my luggage by both, (check in bags) and now I have to wait a few days to locate my bags. This is unacceptable, when asking questions nobody has an answer, absolutely stupid, this is the last time I will ever go to Romania due to the unprofessional and outrageous customer service experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Bucharest
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't recommend the airline"

(Hungary)

Not Verified | We had booked a flight for 3 passengers, on June 22nd from Budapest to Beirut via Bucharest, departing from Budapest at 18.20 and arriving in Beirut at 3.05. On the morning of the 22nd at around 7.40am we receive an email stating that our flight was canceled at 18.20 and was set at 9.00am, the same day, the 22nd, with no prior communication nor informing us, just an hour and 20 minutes earlier, while we hadn't even left for the airport yet, specifically that BUD Airport is 1 hour and a half away, from the city we live in, Gödöllő, using public transportation. We tried calling Customer Service in Hungary, but no one picked up, we also tried Tarom Customer Service in Beirut but the staff were extra rude and were helpless. We didn't get the chance to board our flight nor receive our money back, and we are the ones looking for other flights while the airline is helpless. We highly don't recommend the airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBudapest to Beirut via Bucharest
Date FlownJune 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Horrible company, horrible services"

(United States)

Trip Verified | TAROM is by far the worst airline I have used. I flew from Detroit to Bucharest via Amsterdam. The first leg was operated by Delta and the second by TAROM (I purchased my ticket on Delta.com so I did not get to choose the second company). I arrived in Bucharest on May 27th and my luggage did not show up. I filed a claim with the company and asked for my luggage to be delivered to my original destination (which is roughly 120 miles from Bucharest). On the 3rd day, not having heard anything, I called the number on my claim, and I was informed my luggage had arrived but it would not be sent to me until there are several other packages with the same destination. When I informed the clerk that I was running out of medications, clean clothes and toiletries and that was unacceptable, he was very rude and said that this is how things worked in Romania and that I shouldn't expect them to send someone with my luggage just for me. Today is the 5th day since, I e-mailed TAROM to complain and of course I haven't heard anything back. I tried to file a complaint with ANPC (the US equivalent would be the BBB) but of course their site is not working. Horrible company, horrible services. I plan to also contact Delta's customer support as well as my credit card, see if they would cover some of the expenses I have (and still am) encountered because of this shady airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Bucharest
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unprofessional and rude"

(Germany)

Not Verified | I bought my ticket (Bucharest-Athens) from Aegean Airlines which I am used to fly with, but the flight was - unfortunately - operated by Tarom, which meant I had to check-in from Tarom counters in the Bucharest airport. I had 3 kgs overweight, I was of course happy to remove them. The Tarom counter employee was unprofessional and rude to me that it got so intense and I had to involve the police. The police calmed me down and told me that it is just a language (English language) misunderstanding. Then, I managed my luggage to be exactly 23 kgs and I went to check-in again, with her colleague. It was the end of her shift, she saw me from far away and came to me screaming ypu called the police to me! Her colleague was trying to calm her down, then she repeated her same sentence again, I told her that I do not want to have a discussion with her and that her colleague is managing my things now, but she insisted, out of the blue, on making my personal item included in my 10 kgs carry-on. Her colleague talked with her, I unfortunately don't understand Romanian, but one could tell he was not ok with her attitude. I told her that it is not ok, and she was so loud that her chief came, I honestly thought it is going to be better when her chief deals with the situation, but it got worse, he told me: I have 2 options in order to allow me to 'take' the flight, either to make carry-on PLUS my personal bag 10 kgs, or to pay 65 euro, otherwise I am not ok to take this flight. I mean literally 65 euros or my behavior is dangerous. I told him what he is saying is not ok and that he is using his power (he kept repeating the whole time that he is the responsible person for the flight) to cover his colleague's mistake. Finally, when I took my boarding pass from them after making my carry-on plus personal items the weight they need (completely nonsense), one of the employees came after me to the security check area and asked me to go back to the counter because she needs to re-check my carry-on after asking me if I added anything after taking my boarding pass. She checked it, it was the same thing and I left! I was so disappointed from the first moment the employee started talking with me in a really rude way and then her chief covering her in front of the police by applying his power on me and not allowing me to be on the plane.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Athens
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no