TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 775 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"appalled by their customer service"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | I was supposed to fly from Lisbon to Milan via Porto. The flight was supposed to be at 4, but at 3.50 I asked the agents at the gate what i should do because i wouldn’t make to the next flight. They gave me a ticket to Milan arriving at 00.30: that means taking a taxi (95 euros) as well as wasting a whole afternoon. I was just appalled by their customer service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Milan via Porto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"seats were very comfortable"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I had a flight from Prague to Lisbon, and the flight was amazing, the cabin was very new and clean. The food was a very good and big sandwich with ham, cheese and lettuce, the seats were very comfortable, and the plane had many magazines that could entertain! I recommened TAP Portugal.
AircraftA321 Neo
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Lisbon
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"most dishonest airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Rome to Lisbon. TAP has to be one of the worst and most dishonest airline Ive ever dealt with. I booked two separate flights FCO-LIS, and LIS-VIE. My flight from FCO-LIS was changed to an outsourced air charter outfit, and I was downgraded to economy. When I enquired about getting a refund of the fare diff between business and economy (which would have been half the fare or about $280), I was told to ask at the airport in LIS.At LIS, I was told to talk to my travel agent with whom I booked the ticket through (Amex Travel), which I did. After 6 months of constantly chasing it up, I was told the airline had denied my claim. WTF? How can any company even get away with something like this? You cant legally sell a J ticket, fail to honour it by downgrading your customer and then deny a refund of the fare differential. Needless to say, I wont be flying TAP ever again, and I would recommend everyone else avoids this dishonest airline like the plague.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteRome to Lisbon
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall good service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New York to Paris via Lisbon in April 2018. Good service, friendly flight attendants. No delay on any of 4 flight segments. Full meal service on transatlantic flights, sandwich is served on short flights within Europe. Fast immigration clearance in Lisbon when entering and leaving from outside Schengen and convenient transfer to your final destination Decent IFE. Overall good service and I would fly this airline again when traveling from USA to anywhere in Europe. Another valuable information: they offer free stopover in Lisbon or Porto.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Paris via Lisbon
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"TAP lags very far behind."

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Porto to Faro via Lisbon. I have had my share of delays/airline and airport experiences and understand delays. TAP Portugal so far has been underwhelming and disappointing; I will not book TAP Portugal again. There is no focus on the customer and most importantly customer communication. I booked my flight from Porto to Faro via Lisbon to avoid the late night Ryanair experience, the only other alternative (ryanair would have been a direct 1.5 hour flight later in the day with an arrival around 11:30 pm) I did not want my family to have to pick me up late at night - so opted for Tap and 5:30 pm arrival. The price difference between Ryan Air and Tap was 100% +-> Tap is 2x++ the Ryanair price. My flight was delayed by > 1 hour, I did not make my connecting flight. TAP Portugal knew of the delay when I checked in, did not communicate it and could have booked me on a flight to Lisbon 10 minutes later than my scheduled departure, which flight left on time and I would have made my connection. However it did not - nor did it communicate the delay until the last minute - we stood for 25 minutes in boarding bridge after the plane had been cleaned and fueled - why was that. In the end I had a 7 hour layover in Lisbon and arrived at an hour that my family cannot pick me up and incur a 50 euro or more cab fare. A little bit of foresight and this could have been avoided. When I asked the TAP Portugal crew if those with connections might be allowed to disembark ahead of the others (which I have found to be quite common in my travels) I was met with blank stares. I also do not understand how we disembark from the rear when the premium and business seats are at the front - go figure - you pay more and you get off the plane later?? When I asked for Tap for assistance in Lisbon with transportation at the transfer counter - same poor response - as in this is “my” problem. Lastly the only snack served on the flight was an ice cream covered with nuts. I have seen the commentary on those with a lactose intolerance and vegetarians - I have a serious nut allergy. That I or others might be allergic to nuts seemed to come as a complete surprise to the crew. In a competitive world where customer service is important, I am sorry to say that TAP Portugal lags very far behind. I have never been prompted to write an airline review. However the service was so mediocre that I thought I should chime in.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RoutePorto to Faro via Lisbon
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"treatment and help was very bad"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Nice. I forgot a ebook (kindle) in the pocket of the front seat, which is of course my responsibility. One hour later after I realized it, I tried to call them so many times but they said the office was close on weekend, and to call back on Monday. On Monday i called but they made no effort to help me. Normally the cleaning staff is supposed to check every pocket and check forgotten items at the same time. Nevertheless, in some case, they don’t have much time which is understandable. So i asked them to contact the person that was seated to my seat after me, but they didn't want to help me and they hanged the phone. It shows really the behavior of a cheap airline, not customer focus, where staff are not keen to do the extra miles to help customers. Overall i don’t recommend this airline where the treatment and the help was very bad.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Nice
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"never fly with TAP again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to London City. My choice of airline was merely due to the fact that I could depart and return from City Airport. As far as I understand TAP is the national Portuguese air line company and as such (exactly like BA, Air France and so on) it costs a bit more but the customer is happy to pay a bit more because of the quality of the service. Well, I was shocked when I realised that on the flight London/Lisbon and back they don’t provide food for vegetarians (and they hadn’t run out). It’s a 2.5 hours flight but there is no food available for vegetarians. Not even a bag of crisps. Not even for sale. The only option available is a chicken seeded roll. This means that all the people that are allergic to nuts are not provided with food either. And again, the sandwich contains cheese, people who are allergic to dairy are left with no food either. I think that in 2018 this is ridiculous and I will never fly with TAP ever again and I will not recommend you to any of my colleagues or friends. You really should be ashamed and you are not representative at all of the beautiful, welcoming and friendly country that is Portugal.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to London City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Avoid if possible!"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | We were supposed to fly with TAP from Lisbon to Brussels. Upon check-in, we were told that the flight was overbooked by 14 (!) persons, although the company was still selling tickets on-line for the same flight. Also the other two flights to Brussels were overbooked, as TAP apparently overbooks ALL of its flights by 10%. A solution proposed by us (flying with partner organisation Lufthansa 30 minutes later via Frankfurt) was denied, as we first had to wait before our own delayed airplane had departed before they could rebook us. By that time also the Lufthansa flight had taken off. Hence we had to stay overnight, but the main problems only occurred when we had to contact the rude TAP-staff at the airport. It took us 4h to receive the hotel / food vouchers and the compensation according to the EU regulations (initially they only wanted to provide TAP-vouchers, only after reading out at loud the regulations they became somewhat more lenient). All in all, it's like flying with a low-cost carrier, but for a far higher price. Avoid if possible!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Brussels
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have ever used"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Dakar via Lisbon. The worst airline I have ever used. Customer service non-existent! The lack of customer care and transparency is appalling. I have been trying to receive a compensation for 6 months, but the airline would not even follow basic EU laws in accordance to the EU Regulation (EC) 261/2004. TAP failed completely in providing us with meals and refreshments in a reasonable relation to the waiting time. On April 13, I was informed at the check-in, lest than hours before departure, that my flight was cancelled. All passengers waited until midnight to be put on a bus and dispatched to various hotels. The hotel I ended staying at was slummys. In the meantime, I was not contacted by the airline to let me know what was going to happen next. On April 14, we were transported back to Dakar airport at 2pm where we found out that the rerouting had not been done yet. We got told to wait for the system to update the rerouting for all passengers. We were all supposed to board on the 5pm flight to Lisbon, but a dozen of passengers, including myself, were denied boarding despite the numerous seats available. TAP failed in offering free of charge two telephone calls, telex or fax messages, or e-mails. After I was denied boarding, I was forced to wait for 6 hours in Dakar airport, time during which we received no assistance from your company. I asked several times to receive the two free phone-calls but I was denied this assistance. TAP failed in providing us with meals and refreshments in a reasonable relation to the waiting time. During the six-hour wait, we were not given any food or water, despite our several requests and families waiting with young children. TAP did not contact me in any way informing of the new flight/re-routing; not one email apologising for the cancellation or the inconvenience caused. We were forced to sit on the floor for 6 hours, with no access to the internet. TAP failed to provide me with a rerouting to the final destination at the earliest opportunity or, if I prefer, at a later date. In effect, the only re-routing offered was extremely inconvenient as it was forcing me to fly 48 hours after the original flight, via Paris and Brussels, including another 7-hour waiting time at Brussels airport. I had to pay 345 Euros to take a Eurostar train from Paris to London. I request the entitled compensation of 600 Euros and my Eurostar ticket fully reimbursed given the numerous failures to meet EU regulations.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dakar via Lisbon
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"staff was kind and helpful"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Paris to Bucharest via Lisbon. After the nightmare experienced with Icelandair, TAP airline made my day. The staff was kind and helpful. They offered a great meal with choices of alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages. Time to time they checked on passengers if they need something. Great job TAP! The services that I received made my mind to have my next vacation in Portugal.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to Bucharest via Lisbon
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes