TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 949 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"This airline is horrible"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Our flight from Faro to Lisbon was cancelled on us last minute with no warning .. we had to take a taxi to Lisbon to catch our connecting flight to Toronto. The taxi ride cost 400 Euro, once in Lisbon TAP tried to refuse letting us board our connecting flight! They said it was full and we couldn't board ... after hours or arguing and stressful debate we managed to board our flight. Once on the flight I counted 12 empty seats in my section alone. I'm not sure why they lied about flight being full. Once in Toronto we were notified that TAP had lost our baggage. Fast forward to now, 4 months later, I have been in almost a constant daily battle with TAP as to the status of my claim for the refund I am owed for cancelled flight we never boarded, baggage fees we paid for that we never used on first flight and that TAP lost on the second!! This airline has been horrible to deal with and completely ignorant to me has belittled me every step of the way. The last email I received stated they considered the matter done! So TAP is officially admitting to stealing thousands of dollars from me and walking away with zero remorse.. This airline is horrible and our flight experience was the worst I ever encountered .. we were lied to by every single employee we had communications with .. each one lying to not have to own up to the issues their airline created! If you enjoy throwing away money and spending a day from hell in the airport to try and do TAP staffs jobs for them then book with this airline.. If you want service for your money book with any other airline than TAP!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFaro to Toronto via Lisbon
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"cabin crew were good"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Barcelona to Lisbon. Everything was amazing. The cabin crew were good and professional, and everything was on time as well. Looking forward to fly with them again.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Lisbon
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Unpleasant experience"

(France)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Paris Orly. Unpleasant experience. A 2.5-hour flight was 1 hour late arriving. Boarding was chaotic. Two agents behind the counter checking boarding passes but nobody at the queues, so passengers started cheating by queuing for boarding zones that they do not belong. The PA system on the flight was so loud that my ears hurt. I flew Economy Plus and was "rewarded" with a mystery wrap sandwich that looked like a wet toilet paper roll. The flight was cheap, but not Ryanair-cheap.
AircraftA320 neo
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Paris Orly
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"book through a different company"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Malaga via Lisbon. I booked a ticket and hadn’t received a confirmation email in several hours, so I called customer service and provided the confirmation number I’d received when booking. The representative told me they’d canceled the transaction and couldn’t give me a reason as to why, so she put me on hold to talk with someone else. I waited over half an hour, and no one took the call, so I hung up. However, several days later, I saw that the charge for my “canceled” reservation had posted to my credit card, but I had no ticket to show for it. I therefore contacted TAP customer service by Facebook Messenger and spent several hours talking with them. They consistently denied that the charge had gone through, even though I could clearly see on my bank account that it had. Finally, they admitted it had gone through and reimbursed me. No one ever let me know that a) my reservation had been canceled (or why it had been canceled) or b) that my money had nonetheless been taken. If I hadn’t been more on top of it, I could have shown up to the airport the day of the flight, thinking I had a ticket, and they would have told me then that my reservation had been canceled. When I asked for some compensation for the hours I spent on this and stress this caused, they wrote to me “we apologize for any kind of distress caused, but there's no place for offers in this case. Payments done online are processed automatically by the system and it is not possible to check if all the payments go through or not.” This is a bizarre excuse—obviously they should prioritize returning money to customers when flights are cancelled on their end. Some sort of extra compensation would have shown they were truly sorry for what appears to be scamming a customer. So please, if you book through this company, check and double check that they haven’t overcharged you! Or better: just book through a different company!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Malaga via Lisbon
Date FlownNovember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not be traveling TAP Portugal in future"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Florence via Lisbon. Our flight was scheduled to leave at 6 pm; however, the airplane was late coming in and therefore, we were late leaving. However, when we landed in Lisbon, there was 30 minutes to get to the next flight and were first told we would have to run to make the flight - we were rushed through immigration and rushed to the gate just to be told that the airplane closed its doors early and we therefore, could not get on the flight. There were at least 8 or 10 of us in this situation. The next This flight was 6:50 am. The next flight was not until 4 pm. The airline automatically booked us on the 4 pm flight without telling us so were they lying to us saying we could get on the flight if we run knowing we weren't getting on it at all? Lastly, there was only one customer service rep available to assist all of the people stranded in Lisbon and we had to wait on a line for one hour to just be told they could not help us. I sent an email to the airline and to add insult to injury, they didn't even have the decency to respond! I guess we will not be traveling TAP Portugal in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Florence via Lisbon
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

TAP Portugal customer review

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Miami in a new A330 NEO. paid some extra for the Economy extra. The extra leg room and seat recline is a good add to the trip comfort. I noticed the silence in the cabin when compared with the previous version. The entertainment was really good with a good screen. The staff was charming and communicative during the flight. Positively surprised. The free whassap texts using the Aircraft wifi were a nice touch which I used to keep in touch with people during the flight.
AircraftA330-900 NEO
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Miami
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service was good"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very pleasant flight from Amsterdam to Lisbon on a Saturday morning. I booked the flight 2 months before and the week prior to the flight TAP Portugal emailed me inviting to bid for a Business class upgrade. I got the upgrade and was totally a good idea. Amsterdam is very busy early morning, so was great to go through security really quickly and chill having breakfast at the lounge. The flight was on time in a brand new A321 NEO. Very silent and quiet flight. The crew was very polite and the service was good for the European standard.
AircraftA321 NEO
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAmsterdam to Lisbon
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"we missed the connection"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Miami to Madrid via Lisbon. We decided to use TAP since they had an early arrival into Madrid which would allow us to enjoy the city before heading off to Valencia. When we arrived into Lisbon to transfer, we were told that we missed the connection although there were no delays at origin. We were put on the LAST flight of the evening. We asked to be put on one of the other earlier flights during that day and was told to keep checking back. We therefore stayed at the airport keep checking in... Nothing. Once we eventually took off +12 hours later, we encountered a freak storm which did not allow us to land in Madrid but had to return to Lisbon - no fault of the airline but at this point, we have been travelling a very long time and very exhausted. Due to the late departure from Lisbon, we lost 2 of our day tours, our airport car service and our hotel booking. We eventually landed in Madrid Tuesday morning around 3AM -( our original arrival was Monday at 8AM) The Agent in Lisbon informed us that anything over 4 or 6 hour delay, we are to be reimbursed for any losses and that we need to submit a claim. Upon our return Ifiled the claim, submitted a letter along with all of the receipts. After 2 months, we were contacted by TAP customer service asking for the booking back up again. I provided it. Then they asked for the hotel booking - i provided it again. Then they asked for the proof of charge. I provided that. They asked for proof that we did not check into the hotel. After i explained that there is no written proof i can provide, they responded that they will reimburse us for the hotel and nothing else. Not the loss of our expensive tours, not our transfers. I went back and forth with customer service for 3 consecutive days and got no where.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMiami to Madrid via Lisbon
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"service onboard lower than low cost

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Luxembourg. The service onboard is lower than a low cost. The seat have no room for my legs and you pay every extra. They have lost a lot in last year's.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLisbon to Luxembourg
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"airline decides to switch the seats"

(United States)

Not Verified | Lisbon to Miami. After booking our business class seats for my wife and I many months ago this airline decides to switch the seats we booked next to each other to a row apart and no one wants to fix this. What a joke. We saw this happen to another family on the way here so I guess it’s a conman practice. We should not have to beg other customers to switch seats
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLisbon to Miami
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no