TAP Portugal

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 975 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst service ever"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | 19 Dec 2019 me and my wife had a business class trip booked with TAP Air Portugal from Copenhagen to Las Palmas via Lisbon. Due to the late incoming flight to Lisbon, we missed the connection flight to Las Palmas. We went to the transfer center and the woman who “helped” us said that there was no way we could go to Las Palmas that day – and the TAP Air Flight the 20th December between Lisbon and Las Palmas “are already overbooked” she said. I showed her two different ways to go to Las Palmas from Lisbon the same day – “we don´t cooperate with those airlines” she said. (What a customer oriented airline TAP is.) So she put us on a trip Lisbon-Porto 12.00 (in Portugal) and then Porto-Madrid in Spain 21.40 in the evening (arriving midnight in Spain due to different time zones). Almost 9 hours at the airport in Porto. But she refused to book hotel to us in Madrid. The morning after we were booked on an Iberia flight from Madrid to Las Palmas departing 08.40 in the morning My luggage was the left in Lisbon – it arrived to out hotel in Gran Canaria 61,5 hours after check in at Copenhagen airport. In Porto we went to the TAP counter in Porto. There was a man and a woman in the counter – and no queue, only us there. More uninterested people you have to look for. They couldn´t care less! They also refused to help us to book Hotel and transfer. Finally me and my wife had to book a hotel by ourselves at Madrid airport! We arrived at Las Palmas airport almost 24 hours late – and my luggage arrived 2,5 days late. Summary: Worst service ever when in need, both in Lisbon and in Porto – and now, at the Service center where we claim compensation for our expenses. Suddenly, they stopped answering our emails.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteCopenhagen to Las Palmas via Lisbon
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such a bad experience"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Porto to Munich. What is supposed to be a 2 hours flight became a whole day lost due to departure delay after departure delay after departure delay ( 3 hours so far and still counting, hope I ll take off by tomorrow). No information ahead, no updates, nothing. Even when flying with low cost airlines I never had such a bad experience.
AircraftEmbraer
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePorto to Munich
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst traveling experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Boston to Barcelona via Lisbon. This was by far the worst traveling experience i have had. Our flight from Boston was cancelled on the night of the flight. After waiting for a long time to board, the airline representative simply told us the flight had been cancelled due to aircraft malfunction. We were told that we could wait in line to be re-routed. While we were waiting (for hours) and before we were able to speak to anyone, the airline announced that they could not help us anymore that we needed to go home and to call the airline, a number in Portugal to get a new flight. Once we finally got through we were offered a flight leaving the following day but not even from Boston, but Newark (3.5 hours away by car) when we asked if they were going to pay for our transportation they pretty much laughed in our face. But that wasn’t the end of the nightmare, they gave us a flight that now had an additional stop over in Porto with another flight to Lisbon before finally arriving to Barcelona. So we rented a car, at our expense, and travelled 4 hours the next day to Newark. While boarding the new flight, we were told that we needed to check our carry-on luggage, even though it met the necessary requirements as to size etc. we were pretty much forced by the airline employees to check the luggage, i felt i was in a fourth world country, third world doesn’t begin to tell the story. We had to cancel a road trip to Bilbao that we were planning to do the same week and lost the museum tickets we had bought weeks in advance because we no longer had time. We were traveling with our three daughters (twins 10 year old and a 13 year old). So we finally arrived in Barcelona Sunday at 5 pm instead of the Saturday morning arrival we had planned, completely exhausted and with a sick child. Almost two days of our vacation gone! So if you think you will be saving a few bucks by flying with TAP Portugal, think again! The experience turned out for us as the most expensive and uncomfortable flight we’ve ever taken. Our first and last TAP flight!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Barcelona via Lisbon
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Service was attentive"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Excellent business class product on this short Lisbon to London route. One of the few routes within Europe that receives a proper business class with their A330s often operating. Service was attentive and the food was good. Lounge in LIS was busy but the food and drink options were acceptable.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLisbon to London
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"The food was tasty"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Funchal to Lisbon. The food was tasty, tea served was perfect. In terms of seat confort it couldn't be better. Nice that they reintroduced the full curtain on executive. A big thank you for noticing my lost bag on the overhead compartments after I asked for help at the lost and found section and for alerting me of the duty free products that had fallen as I was leaving the aircraft.
AircraftA321neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFunchal to Lisbon
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"never fly again with TAP"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Lisbon. You expect an airline to take care of their passengers. TAP Portugal does not. On December 14, 2019 I booked a ticket out of Amsterdam to Lisbon for the dates of February 5, returning February 11 2020. The ticket price for me and my wife was 374 euros. On January 28 I noticed that we could not return February 11, but only on February 12. Calling the reservation department in Amsterdam of TAP resulted in a fine of 344 euros, almost the same price as a complete new ticket on those days. The price of such a ticket would have been 378 euros. Only later, on February 5 I found out that the penalty of changing a ticket is only 90 euros for each ticket and perhaps the difference of the ticket prices. That would have resulted in a fine for the both of us of 180 euros plus 34 euros, in total still 214 euros. When complaining on the Website of TAP, we got the answer that we should consult the reservation department. Calling the reservation department, we received as an answer that we should complain on the website. Asking for an address to complain in writing they said that such an address was non existent. They agreed, however, that it would have been better to have cancelled the ticket and buy a new one, as you receive the taxes back, which would have been more favoable for us. Unfortunately, they believe that they do not have to be that helpful for a passenger. So if you do not tell them explicitly that you want to cancel, they do not feel obliged to tell you what would be the most favorable option for you. Anyhow, we complained again by the website, explaining the situation. First of all, they considered the situation as finished and did not give an answer at all. Complaining about this, we received the answer that the flight was in the past and that they, therefore, could not be of any help. Receiving such an answer makes you feel completely helpless against TAP and your only option is never fly again with TAP.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Lisbon
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"business class very uncomfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Miami to Prague via Lisbon. Trip started badly, as my United frequent flyer number was not accepted by their system, only the TAP number could be entered. Emails are ignored, although I have tried! The plane was new, but even in business class very uncomfortable. Seats give little room to sleep, feels really cramped. The staff were very sullen and uninterested in the passengers, gave a poor attitude to any questions. Food was really bad, cannot believe that they cannot provide a better quality.
AircraftA330-Neo
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMiami to Prague via Lisbon
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"professional, efficient and friendly"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Lisbon to Funchal. Cabin crew was professional, efficient and friendly, something I think it is worth noting in a nowadays rather impersonal and detached business mode in aviation. Flight attendants were quick to demonstrate security procedures which make it possible for the aircraft to leave with a smaller delay than expected. Plane could be cleaner but it was the last flight of the day.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLisbon to Funchal
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Website payment system is archaic"

(France)

Trip Verified | Nice to Lisbon with TAP Portugal. Website payment system is archaic, payment went through but not registered on their website (2 times) which had the amount twice frozen on my bank account for 3 days. Customer support by phone was unable to understand my issue and didn't care for it. Changed my booking on return flight and called them, they hung up on me twice during the payment by phone, and charged me extra 20 euros cause I did it by phone, while their website wouldn't work.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNice to Lisbon
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Not a good choice and never again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I am Emerald Status with BA/One World and have slipped from Gold to Sliver with Star Alliance (Aegean). Reluctantly agreed to fly TAP to Lisbon because of slightly better timing. Big Mistake. Chaotic boarding at Heathrow. Very strict on Cabin Baggage - enforce the 8.0kg rule - mine was 8.5 and had to check it in. The announced that Silver Status was included in priority boarding along with Business Class and Star Gold. Got to the front of the queue and was dismissed to the back of the general boarding as 'only TAP silver' was recognised. On board - very cramped. Not a good choice and never again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Lisbon
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no