TAAG Angola Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 42 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"worst airline experience"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Rio de Janeiro via Luanda. This was my worst airline experience ever. It started a few weeks before the flight with out flight being cancelled. Travelstart confirmed that this happens quite often. The layover in Luanda was dreadful and the airline staff were rude. The ground staff in Rio were exceptionally rude and refused to speak English even though we heard them speak English to an elderly passenger in the queue before us. Our return flight was on an ancient plane. When i asked for a second drink on the eight hour flight, I was told that they did not serve more than one alcoholic drink. Neither my partner nor I had on-board screens that worked.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Rio de Janeiro via Luanda
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Our worst flight experience"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Our worst flight experience in 40 years. Maintenance on the cabin area are completely neglected. We were sitting in row 15 and when you switch the reading lights on for row 15 then the lights in row 16 came on. The entertainment systems on all our legs were not working. The seats are dirty and damaged. To top all of this is that the airport building in Luanda is in a terrible state and a true reflection of the rest of the African continent. The ground staff cannot communicate in English and a simple boarding procedure is apart from always late absolutely chaos. I would never fly TAAG again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRio de Janeiro to Luanda
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"the worst flight ever"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Porto via Luanda. Must have been the worst flight ever. On departure in Cape Town i had such a bad headache. At take off my seat fell down to the back and we not get it up at all. Customer behind me was so upset as I was on her lap. I reported it and all that I got was they will report it. Toilet not working on the plane and no Screens was working. No crew check safety belts. In Luanda you have to pay $7 to have a cigarette which is insane. On our return flight no screens working, my husband seat was broken and 2 toilets not working. Yes its much quicker flying with them but where is the safety on this flights. I have been trying to contact the airline but with no luck.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Porto via Luanda
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"definitely my worst flight ever"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Rio via Luanda. I traveled to Rio on TAAG airlines via Luanda 24/05-31/05. Had the worst experience of my life. The vegetarian meal was awful. My husband, who’s not vegetarian was also subjected to their awful meals. We were served rock hard rolls with jam. On such a long flight, no inflight entertainment was available. On my return flight the air hostess insisted that I place my small sling bag (A5 book size) in the overhead compartment. I’m a seasoned traveler and despite me letting her know that it was a small bag that I kept under the seat, she’d insisted. This was definitely my worst flight ever!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Rio via Luanda
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"There was no inflight entertainment"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Sao Paulo via Luanda. I just returned from a lovely holiday in Rio. Sadly I have to comment on the airline. I was really surprised to find the plane in such a bad state the armrests where broken the foot rests broken the pockets on the seat torn. It gets better on an 8.5 hour flight we were not given a vanity bag like other airlines do on an overnight flight. I did carry my own though. There was no inflight entertainment which was really bad on such a long trip. No alcoholic beverages besides beer and wine was served of inferior quality. The air hostess did not understand English! Worst flights ever. Will definitely not use this airline or recommend it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Sao Paulo via Luanda
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"attendants were friendly"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Luanda. My initial scans of reviews made me comfortable to fly with Angolan airlines. However, two weeks before our flight there were some horrific reports and reviews. All these fears were allayed on our first leg of our journey from Johannesburg to Luanda. What surprised me was the leg room space. Flight attendants were friendly and toilets were clean. Food was very satisfactory. Compliments to the pilots, all take offs and landings were smooth. Yes we would travel TAAG Angola Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Luanda
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"staff are rude"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Luanda. It's a shame to see new, well-spaced between seats airplanes being treated so badly and so poorly maintained. The staff are rude and the movies in the entertainment system are the same since 2014. On this flight the entertainment system did not work and despite complaints the staff did not even restart the system. I only travel with them because there is no alternative from Luanda.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Luanda
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This airline is truly sad"

(Angola)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Luanda. TAAG improved dramatically under sponsorship from Emirates but all that is gone. The issues start even before you get on the flight. I have been trying for over 4 weeks to get my name corrected on the ticket I paid for. They booked me under my suffix Jr. and even though they have promised to fix this maybe 5 times now they do not. They have offered to book me on another flight or even for more money but not just change my name. I will always choose another airlines going forward. This airline is truly sad.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Luanda
Date FlownJune 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"chose TAAG for its really low price"

(Argentina)

Trip Verified | Rio de Janeiro to Johannesburg via Luanda. We chose TAAG for its really low price. The flight itself didn't have problems but cabin staff was arrogant. The seats were the most comfortable economy seats I've ever seen. Lots of room for your legs and they reclined more than other airlines. The food was okay, we were served 3 times from GIG to JNB. The inflight entertainment was okay, but in many seats the system or the screen was broken. The biggest issue onboard was the air conditioner. There is no individual air vent. So in the beginning of the flights it was really hot, and then it got progressively colder, until you could barely stand it. The blanket was enough for me, but you should have a coat handy. The ground service was mostly okay, except during our layover in Luanda: we boarded and they took us on a bus to the plane. There we waited for 15 minutes with the doors of the bus closed. Then they took us back to the boarding gate in the airport. Nobody ever told us what was happening or what went wrong. The flight got delayed 20 minutes. Not a big problem, but they should tell you what is happening.
AircraftBoeing 777-200ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRio de Janeiro to Johannesburg via Luanda
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"no maintenance seems to get done"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Porto via Luanda with TAAG Angola Airlines. Faulty seats all over buisness class on all the flights, did not allow me to adjust the seat at all, the seat next to mine the footrail was in the open position and would not go back. The funny thing is that the staff knew about these issues, faulty seats in business class, let me get comfortable and only after I complained did they say that they were aware and I must look for another seat - I tried another 2 seats with no luck but on the third attempt was lucky. Seat was good, but then the TV & inflight entertainment was not working. The magazines were from the previous months, all in a terrible state, some seats had the magazines other seats no magazines at all. At the lounge in Luanda in dialogue with other buisness class passengers they expressed similar issues. I am a frequent traveler and must say this has been one of my worst trips ever. It's a real pity that no maintenance seems to get done on these planes.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Porto via Luanda
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews