Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 547 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Were told could board without the luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flight was at 1245. Arrived at the counter at 1204 and told that we could not board with our luggage as the counter was closed, even though there were 3 swoop employees there and no other customers at the small Abbotsford airport. Were told could board without the luggage. Opted not to board as would be away for a week with no clothes etc. Called Swoop twice. Hung up after on hold for 1.5 hrs then next day called and was on hold for 2.5 hours Was told that no refunds nor a credit for the return flight would be issued. Asked to be transferred to someone higher and was told that they were the higher resolution department and were answering phones as they were extremely busy. (wonder why they are having so many phone calls of complaints). Not impressed with their handling of the entire matter. The on line flight tracker shows the plane departed at 1231, 14 minutes early. Possibly the real reason they did not want to accommodate boarding with luggage as they wanted to leave early. If your looking for a stress free enjoyable interaction with an airline do not choose SWOOP.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Delayed over and over again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Delayed over and over again, until there was almost no point in flying. Waste of money, waste of time. Cheap flights don't need comfy seats or service, but they need to actually fly.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCharlottetown to Hamilton
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Not a great (first) experience with Swoop"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Received 24hr check-in notification from Swoop, able to check in, to receive a notification that my flight would be delayed three hours due "Scheduled Maintenance". Because it was less than 24hrs and after hours no business centre is available to inquire about flight changes, and then in the morning was told it is under the 24hrs and no destination changes are permitted. Was further told that no other local airports have no other times, yet co-worker was flying out that afternoon from a neighbouring airport. Will be missing my business meeting. Not a great (first) experience with Swoop and will not be using them in the future.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteToronto to Edmonton
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"turned away and not able to fly"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Had the hardest time booking a flight on their website. At the airport I was turned away and not able to fly to my destination because of a lack of antigen test. Customer rep was so rude and told me to go home. I’ve had 3 vaccinations and explained how their website kept crashing during the booking. They didn’t care. I lost all my hotel money and can’t get in touch with Swoop to discuss situation. Spent yesterday on hold for 6 hours and nothing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Clearwater
Date FlownMay 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"deep lack of respect for their paying customers"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I can't express enough how terrible my treatment has been with the trip I am currently. I may be forced to cancel the entire thing and return home with a more reasonable airline. I noticed the day before departure that both of my flights were moved to a day earlier than originally booked. Naturally, this was very disruptive to all of my plans, and impossible to work around for my return trip. I did not receive any email notifying me of this change and have checked every corner of my inbox thoroughly. I also purchased their Modifly option for flight flexibility, but it turns out that this only covers the switching fee and not any differences in fares. I have now been engaged in a long chat with their customer service team, starting at 11:50am, it is now past 5pm and they have still not helped me. Sometimes message responses come after 20 minutes of silence from them. They allege that I confirmed the changes (I, of course, did not) and have not provided any evidence of their allegations. They are also unwilling to change my flight back to it's original date, They say I can make the change using my ModiFly add-on, but I will still be charged the difference in fare. I argue that I should not be charged to fly on the date of my original booking, especially given that I never confirmed the change. I have not complained about all their other flaws. I am not even requesting a refund. I simply want to fly home on the date that I booked. Instead I am being asked to pay again! Poor treatment, slow responses, and aloof attitudes from their costumer service representatives shows a deep lack of respect for their paying customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Halifax
Date FlownMay 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I subsequently had to leave the flight"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Upon entering their aircraft last week, I had a coffee in my hand, and was holding 2 other bags - one over my shoulder and one in the opposite hand. I had been sipping from the drink and thus, my mask was temporarily down, below my mouth. As I approached the flight attendants, one of them told me to pull my mask up. He was rude when he spoke to me. I politely told him that I was drinking, and that neither of my hands were free because I was holding my bags and my drink. He responded "you are not actively drinking now, so pull your mask back up." I nodded and said "OK" and pulled my mask up, covering my mouth and nose, and went to take my seat. About 5 minutes later, the same flight attendant approached me while I was in my seat. My mask was pulled up over my mouth and nose. Once again, he spoke to me in a rude manner. He said "is there something you don't understand about your mask?" I answered "no," and he proceeded to tell me that I had "already been a problem" and he threatened me by stating "if you continue to be a problem, I will have you removed from this flight." I reminded him that when he had initially approached me, I was sipping from my drink and neither of my hands were free, and that these were the reasons that my mask was temporarily down and I was not able to immediately pull it back up. During the entire time he spoke to me, I had my mask pulled up over my mouth and nose. After he spoke with me, I took another sip of my drink, and then once again pulled my mask up over my mouth and nose. Without warning, this flight attendant approached me again and told me that he needed to remove me from the flight. When I asked him why, he told me it was because of "mask compliance." I reminded him that he had warned me previously about my mask, and that after that point, I had kept my mask pulled up over my mouth and nose the entire time. He continued to speak in a rude, pushy and condescending manner, and insisted that I had "violated mask compliance." When I asked him for evidence he responded with "I saw you." I politely reminded him that my mask was pulled up over my mouth and nose, and that I had followed his instructions the entire time since he gave me the instructions. He continued to tell me that I had "not followed his instructions"; this is an outright LIE. He also mentioned that he "did not feel safe" on the aircraft with me, which does not make sense given the fact that I had my mask over my mouth and nose for the entire time that he spoke to me. He condescendingly asked me "did you forget to read the rules and regulations of this aircraft when you bought your ticket?", an unnecessary comment that seemed to be made only in order for him to be even more disrespectful towards me. I subsequently had to leave the flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"there was no help from Swoop"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Terrible counter customer service. My first impression with SWOOP has been a disaster. While travelling from Toronto to Edmonton, we were left stranded (family of 5) along with 20 other passengers. We had checked in online for our boarding passes but we bought 2 checked luggage options which required to be dropped off at the counter. If we had not done this, I probably would not be writing this negative review but I would be running naked in Downtown Edmonton for 10 days! Or flight was at 7am, we were at the airport at 5.20am. They do not have a bag drop-off counter, instead they made us line up. There were too many passengers for 2 customer agents, which later turned to 4 but it was too late. We were at the counter at 6am, that is a 1 hour delay. Their flight supervisor checked us in. There was no indication from her that we were late for our flight. TSA only made matters worse, they delayed us another hour. However, there was no help from Swoop, no announcement, no agent was sent out to help us get through the line at all. By the time we showed up at the gate, the flight was closed, and were left stranded along with another 22 passengers with no help at all other than a card for the customer service department. We managed to book ourselves on a later flight with Flair Airlines but it meant spending an additional $1700 that was unplanned for. I am extremely disappointed with Swoop!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Edmonton
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"thank her again for all her help"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had a problem with my return flight to Edmonton. I tried to correct it on line and no go. I went to airport in Kelowna and talked to someone at the counter. They called the supervisor Martyne and she was very helpful. She helped me rebook a flight home and found me the best price. Martyne went way beyond and above to help me solve my problems. I want to thank her again for all her help. A very treasured Employee.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Kelowna
Date FlownMay 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"has always been a pleasant experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I’ve flown Swoop several times now (mostly Kelowna-Toronto routes) and it has always been a pleasant experience. I’m glad there’s an option to fly to Kelowna direct. This being said, this is a budget, low cost airline… as long as you’re aware that this will come with its set of challenges and painpoints, you shouldn’t be too shocked; they aren’t always reliable but if you’re flexible, it’s always a great option to travel without breaking bank. The good: - cheap prices - extra legroom option is spacious (and worth it imo) - great staff and service on board ( don’t know about customer service) - wifi works great The bad: - planes are old and worn out - Swoop often cancels and rebooks passengers on different flights (when flight isn’t full they will cancel and rebook you, or are a random layover to board more people).
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Kelowna via Edmonton
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible service, no help at all"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My father’s flight time was changed to 90 minutes earlier and we were not notified, not by email or any other means. My father missed his flight home from BC and got offered zero compensation for it, he now has the book with another airline to get home. Terrible service, no help at all. Left him stranded.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Abbotsford
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no