Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 618 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Terrible customer service, you can't actually speak to a human, their auto-bot replies come weeks after you make an inquiry & after going back & forth for 8 weeks I'm not entitled to any cost reimbursement for our trip despite paying for the additional medical or baggage insurance. Also our return flight was delayed. I was traveling for business while my family was tagging along for a vacation. I thought this would be low cost option however by the time you pay for all the fees (don't forget to pay for your seat selection so your aren't separated from your child - as stated right on their booking website?!?!) and ALL baggage - carry on included, it works out to be the same or more than flying with a real airline. Lesson learned however it meant getting the times required so I figured lesson learned. Next I paid for Swoop's extra baggage & cancellation insurance (provided by CHUBB Insurance Brokers) just in case. Prior to leaving our one family member fell ill and was subsequently diagnosed with lung cancer. To accommodate specialist appointments our travel dates changed and the affected family member was no longer going to join the trip - I couldn't simply modify the booking but was advised by the customer service department for the CHUBB Insurance (Swoop's bot directed me here) to rebook the flights for the new dates & submit for reimbursement to their claims department after we returned. However, you cannot simply book for only those going but rather for the entire party even when 1 passenger is no longer going on the trip. At flight check in time, we had to advise the boarding desk of the 1 passenger not joining (should be a simple task) however take off was still delayed both ways as the check in desk didn't inform the flight crew so they were trying to track down the missing passenger. All on board purchases were very expensive & must be paid for by credit card. The plane itself was very small & seats felt cheap & uncomfortable. The onboard wifi was choppy and kept cutting out and the cabin crew were very rude. On return departure a ground crew member was complaining loud enough that us other passengers could hear how annoyed they were at having to help a passenger onto the plane that was in a wheelchair! I have flown other budget airlines before and found their service & planes much better. So since nothing (flight change fee, new flights for all 4 passengers even though only 3 were traveling, additional insurance) was reimbursed even though I paid extra for this optional insurance, I am now out $3348.17 plus the costs of the multiple physician notes the insurance adjusters kept requiring (had to send in 4 different notes over the course of the 8 week claim battle). This company and it's optional insurance is a joke. Way to take people's money for nothing. I am hoping to save someone else their hard earned money.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Halifax
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not entitled a refund or compensation"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My husband and I booked a trip to Winnipeg to see our son. When flying with Swoop to Winnipeg, the flight was good and the accommodation was excellent. When it was time to return home, received an email from them that our return flight was canceled. I tried to get a hold of someone to see what would happen next. This was not to be. I request for a refund as the next available flight was not convenient for us. When I finally was able to get home, I sent a request for a refund and compensation for another night of accommodation, difference in flight cost and the Uber ride we had to use to get our car that was in Hamilton. I have just received an email stating that they are sorry and that it was not their intention but it was out of their control. ( resources) and I am not entitled a refund or compensation. This Company is offering a service, taking your money then not providing the service. I want my money you owe me SWOOP
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Winnipeg
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no service at all in my case"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Worst service ever - actually no service at all in my case. I had to fly from Edmonton to Ottawa. Got my breakfast close to gate for departure. Did hear any advertising for starting this boarding, end of boarding, no "last call". On the same time I did hear the advertising of another air companies . Finally came to the gat#68 at 10:35 a.m The the supervisor didnt give me to get in. The flight has departed at 10:51 a.m. Supervisor didn't try to do nothing to let me walk in. So, the low cost came on account of service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Ottawa
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Do not fly with Swoop"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Do not fly with Swoop, Horrible and unreliable personnel and flights. July 2nd father with 3 teenagers travelling from Pearson to Las Vegas for a 6 day trip including a surprise birthday party being held on July 3rd. July 2nd 7:00 am- receive the itinerary and receipt via email (paid for 3 carry on bags ($186.00), 4 modifly ($40), 4 selected seats $108.00)- Total $334.00 departure time is 2:55 pm (airline recommends arriving 3 hours before) 12:09 pm-receive an email of flight delay. Now departing at 3:30. Board the plane along with the other passengers at approx 3 pm. 4:04 pm-receive an email of flight delay. Now departing at 4:15 pm 4:16 pm - receive an email of flight delay. Now departing at 5:15 pm - 5:02 pm-receive an email of flight cancellation! The best is that they use the reason "unplanned maintenance" which apparently gives the airline the right to refuse any claims for compensation. All passengers were told that the airline would pay for a hotel if needed. My family got into a taxi and returned home, stopping for a bite to eat as we were all quite hungry after being in an airport for 7 hours! I Was not able to get another direct flight until after the weekend on West Jet thus missing the family birthday gathering and shortening our vacation by 2 days. Swoop refused to reimburse the extra costs paid for the flight that was cancelled nor any reimbursement for expenses incurred as a result of 3 delays and 1 cancellation! July 11th filed a request for reimbursement-no response September, filed a 2nd request and received a reply denying any reimbursement. No verbal communication nor is there a phone number for customer service!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Las Vegas
Date FlownJuly 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Terrible customer service. Impossible to speak to a person when you have a problem. Flight was rescheduled and changed several times. They changed the flight to Sept 12th when I went to check in on Sept 10th for my original flight departing at 9pm in Sept 11th. The email and website says new flight is Sept 12th at 2:26pm. On Sept 11th I go to check in for flight and find 5 emails saying they miscommunicated the date of the flight starting from 2am the morning of Sept 11th. It actually leaves on Sept 11th at 2:46pm. It was impossible to make it to the airport on such short notice. After trying to contact them for 5 hours so I finally booked a new flight. They are are refusing to comp the new booking even when they miscommunicated the new departure date. Horrible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Abbotsford
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Last time I fly with Swoop"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Last time I fly with Swoop. The potential saving are minuscule compared to the potentially awful situation you may end up as a result of this company's absolute lack of customer service or the staff's care for others. As a result of this I am now stranded in Edmonton (instead of being in Ottawa). Going into the details would be lengthy and wouldn't paint a accurate picture anyway, but I will say that as I was instructed to go buy a new highly priced ticket at their counter, there were other people trying to resolve unrelated issues with Swoop. Seems like every time I've interacted with Swoop people have Major issues with it, this time it's me, and I must say, the way they handle things is enough for me to give up the Swoop savings. PS. I also learnt in the process today that they are not part of Star Alliance, which essentially means they can do what they want and not care about any quality, which from the looks of it is exactly the method they've adapted.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Ottawa
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"customer service is non existent"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I needed to cancel my ticket within the first 24 hours and wanted to discuss my options with an agent. I spent an hour working with the bot trying to figure it out. So, frustrated I went to look for a phone number. No number on the site, and I had to Google it. The number rang forever, and finally got a machine that said not available to take calls. Sent an email, and was told 72 hour wait .. to cancel a ticket that has to be cancelled within 24 hours. Finally I bit the bullet and logged into my unused FB account in order to send a message. Because it took more than 24 hours. I was told No refunds, you either fly, or we will still take your money. You can't change flights for a fee or cancel for a fee. The customer service is non existent.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCharlottetown to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Last flight with Swoop for us"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Always delayed. Last flight with Swoop for us. It’s a bargain that will cost you time so just do yourself a favour and fly any other airline. It’s not worth the headache.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Las Vegas
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Steer clear of this airline"

(Canada)

Not Verified | If booking with this airline, make sure you've got everything in order! Even in the midst of covid they dont do anything for their customers. Sorry, nothing I can do is what you'll hear, they'll take your money and no even that sorry or a cheeky thank you. The story is with my booking for last December. Still deep in covid. Change of plans means fend for yourself. A week before the flight I try to call and cancel. I'd gladly pay a cancelation charge but there was no option. I hear "I cannot cancel the flight, there's nothing I can do" This is after trying literally for HOURS. Over the course of 3 days. They must have only 1 guy I their call center. Their no refunds or cancelation policy has to change. Tried to cancel a week before, I get NOTHING, they take my money and nothing. Steer clear of this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKelowna to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"We were stranded in Kelowna"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Our flight from Kelowna to Toronto was cancelled. No offer for another flight, could not get a hold of anyone to speak to. We were stranded in Kelowna and it cost my husband and I an additional $1600 and a layover to get back home the following day. This is an absolute disgrace and they should not even be allowed to fly. I will never fly Swoop or will I ever recommend Swoop to anyone
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKelowna to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no