Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 399 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Overall a great experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Tampa. We had seen mixed reviews of Swoop so were a little nervous flying with our family of 7. We had no delays and flights were smooth without issue. We saved about $1000 vs flying with other airlines. Leg room seemed a little bit less than other Canadian airlines. The only issue we had is staff at departure in Hamilton were a little rude, but it seemed like maybe the employee had been having a bad day. My husband overheard her talking about a guest blasting her for something. Overall a great experience and we’d definitely fly Swoop again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Tampa
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"cannot let us board since gates are closed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to London. I had flight with 2 month old baby, flight got delayed at first and they switched it to WestJet, we were notified 4 hours before. No Gate number on boarding pass, wrong flight on boarding pass shown. When they switched they missed to transfer my Baby's ticket. When we got hold up by security, they didn't announce name. Finally after all this, we still made it to gate, they said they cannot let us board since gates are closed. Just turned their back, did not help to find alternative flight or could have let us in. They don't care about you, once they got money, done. I would suggest to pay more and get better one. Our baggage was sent and we didn't have anything since we are moving to ON with whole place.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to London
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff at Swoop check-in rude to us"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Cancun. We got up early and got to airport on time. When we got there, the staff working at the Swoop check-in were rude to us. They tried to make us feel it was our mistake that we did not know the flight was delayed for 8 hours and 40 minutes. They said we got an email and we checked but we had not got an email. They did not offer any vouchers or anything for a delay of almost 9 hours! This airport is also dirty, coming is trying to find parking is difficult, better signage is required. This is an awful airport.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Cancun
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"missed my flight from Edmonton"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | If you are flying Swoop ensure you are at least two hours early or else you will miss your flight. I showed up 105 mins early and missed my flight from Edmonton which I understand is my fault for not showing up before the recommended 120 mins. That was only the start to my troubles with swoop. I booked another flight with Westjet down to phoenix and still had my return flight with swoop home. Swoop sent me an email on the Friday (day after missed flight) stating if I did not reply to it within 24 hours they would cancel my prepaid return flight. I had lost my phone and had no way to reply to this message. I did my due diligence to check my emails Monday, two days before my flight, but it was already cancelled. So panicking I checked swoops flights and there was an opening on the same flight heading home. I called them asap and was charged $15 and put on hold for well over an hour. When I got ahold of the airline I explained my situation and asked if they could undo the cancellation. They said they could not undo the cancellation and requested I re-purchase the same flight home. I phoned again when I returned to Edmonton and asked if they could refund my prepaid luggage or the cancelled return flight however they held the fine print of there service agreement against me and would not even hand out a coupon to save on another swoop flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Mesa
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"a two-day nightmare"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Abbotsford to Edmonton. A simple 1-hour flight turned into a two-day nightmare with this airline. Delay after delay after delay. When they finally landed us onto the airplane the next day we sat on the tarmac for hours. The pilot comes on the intercom and says "the person who fuels the plane apparently did not show up for work - we have sent someone to try and get him out of bed" when I applied for a refund they wrote me back saying they aren't liable for routine maintenance and I won't be getting a refund. They cost me 10x the ticket price I paid due to missing work and being out of pocket for door and expenses. I had to sleep in the airport and they couldn't care less about the people inconvenienced.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"We love Swoop"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Cancun to Hamilton. We love Swoop. We have flown with them out of Hamilton approx 5 times in the last 2 years to Edmonton and Cancun. We’ve been delayed on 2 occasions (1-2hrs) but it didn’t bother us since we have reasonable expectations for a small budget airline. All the other times they were exactly on time was like a bonus! I’ve been delayed multiple times with Sunwing(2-6hrs), and delayed on occasion with AC and even WJ. It happens. Also to note we have flown with and without kids, check in counter staff has always been great. I have had no issues with Swoops booking system, online check in or the app. All easy and good. Each and every flight has been very smooth. As a private pilot, I can appreciate when I notice them avoiding the turbulent patches. Every single landing with them has been smooth despite landing (or taking off) in high winds in Mexico, Edmonton, or even freezing rain Last night coming in to Hamilton. And we always are flying in the wild winter season. Yes some of their flight attendants can be young as mentioned in a review here but they are polite, thoughtful and always smiling. I also like how this airline doesn’t allow people to jump around to free open seats without paying and how they don’t offer complimentary menu items. This means they are not in the aisle blocking for an extended time and it really diminishes unnecessary garbage for 200 people that want a little plastic glass of pop just to throw out 5 minutes later. Instead pay $1.99 for a pop can if you really want it and then we are all more responsible - not so wasteful.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Hamilton
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Never again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | First and last time flying this airline. My wife and I flew from Hamilton to Tampa on a 5 pm scheduled flight on feb 2. The flight eventually left at 7;30. My beef is the airline was aware the flight would be late early that morning due to the 4 hour late departure of the plane that was servicing the route were on. So all passengers arrived at the airport between 2 and 3 pm for a flight the company knew was leaving at 7! Never again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Ontario via Tampa
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"on time departure?"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Halifax. Just wondering if Swoop has ever had an on time departure? I know they have a fleet of 12 planes of which I’ve just observed 1/4 of fleet leave Hamilton late. Staff at Hamilton airport all young always on their phones not updating status.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Halifax
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"explained that I had to pay extra"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I was flying WO761 Vegas to Edmonton and the flight was only half full. I had a very bad back pain and decided to change the seat to try to lie down for a bit. The flight attendant Samantha came to me and explained that I had to pay extra. Despite explanation for the reasons (I am on MRI list) and the fact that the flight was half empty, she insisted for the payment. While I understand the low cost business and completely agree for all additional costs for extra bag, legs' room, drinks, I still think we have to be humans and look into situations with our hearts and minds open.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVegas to Edmonton
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"like to thank Swoop employees"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I would like to thank Swoop employees Princess a flight attendant and Nadia (check in counter) who went beyond their duties To ensure that my mother (senior with wheelchair assistance) had a good experience - getting to the gate and on flight WO719, Jan 31/20 from Lauderdale to Hamilton-and assuring me that she got on the plane ( by text). A gate pass which was promised to me was not available at Swoop Ft Lauderdale and their helpfulness is very much appreciated. Thank you
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to Hamilton
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes