Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 338 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"did not have permanent residence cards"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Thoroughly useless airline. Did not allow my wife and myself onto plane because we did not have Canadian permanent residence cards. Staff at checkin counter in Las Vegas was not helpful. He lied he contacted and canadian govt official and refused to give us his name. I guess they had other customers on standby and did the usual trick of selling tickets for seats already bought
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Edmonton
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Awful customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Cancun. Awful customer service. Cancelled our flight due to fog after we had arrived in the airport, which is understandable but asked everyone to go to one counter with 2 customer service agents who said they couldnt help us. Eventually a rude supervisor came who refused to talk to anyone unless it was one on one which meant a crowd of people around just her at the desk. I asked for a leaflet with our rights on it. She sent my partner to the other side of the airport to get it, and when I said it wasn't there she said I was rude and wouldn't deal with me. Finally got checked in for a flight from London later that day. Had to rent a car (with my own money) and drive to the other airport for them to ask if i was male or female as the previous service agent had entered my details incorrectly. Then they tried to say it was my fault and they were finding it hard to check me in as i didn't know my sex. Our flight was delayed a further 60 mins leaving with mo info from swoop. Emailed them and still waiting on a response from the airline over 8 weeks later. Will not fly with them again. They make Ryanair look amazing.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Cancun
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Swoop customer review

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Abbotsford. Arrived at the airport at 6am for my 7am flight. Already did a checkin before even arriving to the airport. When arriving, the clerks said they cannot let anyone else into the flight because it is too late. Yet there is a sign saying, "if checked in, 45 min is needed for boarding."? We left and headed straight to Toronto Pearson airport. When we arrived to Pearson, we then get an email that my flight was delayed to 12:15pm. We rushed back taking the 407 only for them to tell me that i cant board because i didn't check in - I then show my boarding pass then the employee just stood there confused on what to do. He then says we can board but our luggage cant. I then request for a manager and she did not act sympathetic at all. Instead she got upset because i am trying to find a way to get my luggage on the same flight. While waiting, we are told the flight has been delayed till 1pm, then again at 1.30pm. Many opportunity to get my luggage into the plane. Finally decided to have my luggage shipped via fedex which cost almost the same as our flight. Never again and definitely no longer referring this horrid company. Spend the extra 100-200 and fly Air Canada. Well worth it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Abbotsford
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"bound to disappoint"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Abbotsford to Calgary. Don’t consider Swoop an option if you fly for business or personal. Unless Price is absolutely the only option, Swoop is bound to disappoint. Phone lines go unmanned chat lines go on answered on weekends there is no messages to advise you of their Operating times ( which appear to be nonexistent On weekends or evenings as you can be on hold for hours. The chat line is no better. I develop medical problems and couldn’t get a hold of a single person luckily I booked with a credit card such as visa which carries travel insurance etc. otherwise the airline is useless to accommodate you. . This is indifference to whether you get a refund or not which is also a typical policy for a discount airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Calgary
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelled due to storm"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Las Vegas. My flight from Hamilton is cancelled during boarding due to storm. Rescheduled flight is 5 days from now. Should be next available flight. Gave it another chance taking a bus to London and trying to fly out from there. The runway had no snow and no ice and yet it's delayed from 830 to 930 to 10 now. I'm not hopeful. I won't even fly if it's free next time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Las Vegas
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelled at the last minute"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Las Vegas. The flight was cancelled at the last minute because of the "weather", yet they flew other flights with similar aircraft from the same airport. They promised that it would be refunded, yet when I went to try and refund it and cancel, I simply got an error message. I tried for over 5 hours to get ahold of someone, but no such luck. They tried to re-book me on a flight from the opposite city, on a date 5 days from now. How is it even possible that you would re-book someone flying from Hamilton to Las Vegas, with an itinerary from Las Vegas to Hamilton?
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Las Vegas
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"overly stressed and upset"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We flew from Abbotsford to Edmonton to see a grandchild before Christmas. We checked in online the night before with 1 bag to check in. Flight to leave at 8:40 am. We arrived to check bag in at about 7:30am. Companion arrived in line prior to me who was parking. Customer service clerks x 2 were helping a customer for about 10 to 15 minutes and who was turned away & left. 2 other people in front of us. 1 clerk left & the other moved & asked if for Winnipeg flights? We spoke up & said no Edmonton. She told us sorry you're to late we are closed for flight. Maybe you can gate check. Surprised we went .. security now throws out toiletries from a bag that should have been on the plane. Ok np. As soon as we got through security a swoop agent was right at security and stopped us saying you can't take that bag very rudely before even getting to the gate. Tried to explain we saw her leaving and no one asked before shutting down if any of us in line were for that flight. She continued to not listen or give any solution other than ... pay full price for another flight, leave the bag (no lockers or holding), can not send bag on the next flight without us, no time to put in car as will not hold flight. After 20min of stress with the swoop agents at the gate how to resolve & make the flight we dropped the bag & tried to fit as much as possible into the 1 bag we had. At this time 1 agent came to us with 2 white garbage bags & said maybe you can fit everything in these. You can fit in over head. Angry this was not an option from start upset me beyond. We left the suit case behind. Upset this was not an explained option in the first place. Worse a young couple & baby went through the same thing behind us & they had a car seat that was gate checked. No reason why the 2 bags couldn't have been gate checked after going through actual security. I was upset but even more for the couple behind. Really the car seats are gate checked. What is wrong with you people? Where is customer service? Even if you can't gate check the bag. Agents were very rude and did not offer reasonable solutions till everyone is overly stressed and upset they may miss the flight all together. On the way back flight delay for 5 hrs. Swoop flights do not accept their own vouchers .. why? 1 star we are still alive & because of 1 flight attendant on one flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with Swoop again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Abbotsford to Las Vegas. Did not actually get to fly with Swoop, due to them cancelling our flight to Las Vegas the morning of! We were going down for a 40th birthday and needed to fly that date, so we could be there for the birthday as well as we had other members of our party flying in from another province. Had to book last minute through Allegiant (they were great) and have now been fighting Swoop for them to reimburse me for the return flight. They are saying that we should have taken the Flight home even though it meant flying into Abbotsford, BC and my car being in Bellingham, WA! They didn't care that it meant by car was in a different country from where I landed! All they care about is making a buck and not customer service. I will never fly with Swoop again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Las Vegas
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"absolutely recommend Swoop"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I flew from Hamilton and Edmonton on a Wednesday afternoon, and back to Hamilton on a Sunday morning. After reading others reviews I was nervous that my flight would be delayed or cancelled. Talked to a few people waiting in line and on the plane who said they fly Swoop often and that they have never had issues. Flight to Edmonton had absolutely no issues. Seats are actually a decent size and my plane had chargers at each seat, which was fantastic ( I am used to flying Frontier, which is tiny seats, tiny trays, and no charging ability). Staff were very nice and did a great job. We did have delays on the return to Hamilton, but Swoop sent emails quite a bit in advance ( like 2-3 hours) and explained the issue when we got on the plane. We were supposed to fly out at 9:50AM and we didn't end up leaving until 1PM, so not ideal, but I went into flying with Swoop knowing that could be an issue (based on what I had heard and read from others). But again - staff were very nice, understanding, and made the entire flight enjoyable. I'd absolutely recommend Swoop for a cheap weekend trip. I would likely not recommend it if you need to make a connecting flight and that any delay would mess you up, or if the trip is very time sensitive. My trip was just to visit friends and family and had no set pressing agenda, so Swoop was pretty perfect for that.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Edmonton
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"worst customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Swoop canceled my return ticket back to Edmonton from Puerto Vallarta and did not compensate anything. Even worse they took their time sorting things out so by the time I gave up arguing for them to compensate me, without any warning they closed the flight and now I was not even able to pay for another seat on the same flight that I was already supposed to be on. I had to watch them board the plane I had paid for a seat on and wait 8 hours in the airport for a Westjet flight. They have worst customer service I have ever dealt with. I do not recommend Swoop airlines, pay more for an airline that is organized and has staff that cares and wants to help.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Edmonton
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no