Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 468 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"when booking a flight chose another airline"

(Canada)

Not Verified | First time booking a trip with Swoop, and likely the last time. They may have a schedule but I would suggest it be taken as a suggestion. Booked a flight for my wife and it was moved up a day and we had to make changes to her schedule to accomodate the change. I booked my flight to meet her a week later and arrived at the airport to catch my flight only to find out it was cancelled. An e-mail was sent at 10:40 the night before but when you have an early flight you generally don't look at e-mail when you go to bed especially after you have already checked in (at least I don't). The Swoop rep at the counter when I arrived was very nice but not helpful at all with providing options other than cancel the flight and get a refund, Swoop made no effort to accomodate the passengers on the flight other than we will give you a hotel and meal voucher, nice gesture but it doesn't solve my travel problem. I book in advance so I can take advantage of the best airfare and book my schedule according to the flight plans. To have to wait 2 days for another Swoop flight doesn't cut it. Then trying to re-book with another airline last minute and have to pay last minute exorbatent pricing to keep your original scheduled plans is BS! If I had booked with the other airline in the first place it wouldn't have costed me an additional $430. I understand situations occur causing delays and cancellations but the airline should step up and make arrangements to accomodate the booked passengers rather than letting them fend for themselves. I guess you get what you pay for but this will be the last time Swoop will get any business from me. Do yourself a favor and when booking a flight chose another airline that is reputable and reliable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Abbotsford
Date FlownJuly 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"saying that is late to cancel"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | This review is not for a flight. This is for their customer service. They do not care for customers at all. I book the flight and tried to cancel it within 15 minutes. I was not able to cancel it and I have tried to call them to cancel they were unavailable saying to contact them through Facebook. Than next day I called and waited 1.5 hours on the phone and they refused to cancel saying that is to late and that they have fine print saying that is late to cancel. I wanted to cancel within 15 minutes. Don't we have 24 hours time to cancel. We have always use swoop in the past. I will make sure to never use this company ever again and inform everybody I can about the way how they are running they business. Again this review is for Swoop customer service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownJune 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Swoop is not reliable!"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Swoop is not reliable! Any money you think you save will be lost going though the hoops. You really do get what you pay for with them. It was near impossible to reach someone at swoop to find out about our account in early 2020 when they were cancelled because of Covid. No refund, only credit. Booked flights in advance (2021) and had Swoop change the flights on me with short notice. Their flight change added over $900 to my trip just for the extra lodging and rental car alone, not counting meals. I had booked vacation time the original dates selected assuming that Swoop was an honourable company. Bottom line = Swoop is a hack airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteEdmonton to Victoria
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Will never fly Swoop again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Overpriced, unreasonably expensive carry-on baggage fees. I booked 2 flights for my elderly parents and we were forced to pay $158.20 at the airport just to carry-on their baggage (one each). Not even to check it! Will never fly Swoop again. Plus my parents complained about how overly cramped they were with poor seat/leg room, and they're both average heights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline ever"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The worst airline ever. Do not fly this unless absolutely necessary. Not only did swoop change our flight by two whole days only two weeks before our trip, but it has been nothing but issues since boarding this plane. Swoop nickel and dimes you for everything little thing so don’t be fooled by the “cheap” prices. They are disorganized, rude, do not communicate, are not a large airline so many issues with airports.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"you don't get a refund, just credit"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Worst Airline in terms of being customer centric. Hard to believe some of their practices are even ethical. If they change the schedule on you, you don't get a refund, just credit. Why? If they cancelled my flight during COVID, I don't get my refund to my credit card because I booked using Airline Credit. Why? No flexibility in their credit either to book hotels. You can only use their credit for their limited flights. Promised me initially that I'm eligible for a refund and strung me along for 8 months. Every other airline that's cancelled a flight has refunded me in less than a week. 8 months for a refund that still didn't happen?
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they refused a refund"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I booked with Swoop in mid December 2020 for a return flight leaving from Toronto to Kelowna for March 28 returning April 2. In February, I received an email saying that my return flight has changed to April 1 from April 2, shortening our trip by 24 hours. I accepted the changes and on March 3rd, i rearranged our travel plans for this new return flight. The next morning [March 4th] I received another email saying that my flight has changed to April 4th from April 1. At this point, we can no longer make the trip as it has changed so drastically. I called the airline and they refused a refund, only offering a credit. I asked to speak to someone else and was transferred. The supervisor said they can make changes as necessary and would not refund me. I have since filed a formal complaint with the Canadian Travel Agency and with my credit card provider.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Kelowna
Date FlownMarch 2021
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No more flights for the day"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Swoop canceled our flight Edmonton to Abbotsford BC 5 min before boarding by email! They couldn't even announce till everyone was upset all at the counter. They said there was no power in Abbotsford to land flying from Edmonton. But yet there was a family on the other side saying there was power and weather was fine. We had to book a hotel in the airport, Swoop said they cant pay the hotel or send on another flight because it was weather. No more flights for the day. But WestJet who owns Swoop is still flying into Abbotsford even an hour after ours! Now out a day travel, work and have to pay hotel! Nice lies Swoop, blame weather so all us people are stuck paying out of our pocket!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton Alberta to Abbotsford BC
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Swoop doesn't care about their customers at all"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I arrived at the Hamilton airport at approximately 7.55am for my 8.45am flight to Edmonton on February 14th, 2021. It took me a few moments to get out of my vehicle and get into the airport. When I entered the airport there was a line, there was one man in front of me and 2 other people who entered after me. The man in front of me was checked-in and walked away, and I approached the desk to check myself in, but was told I was too late. It was approximately 8.03am. The disturbing and unacceptable thing is that the guy in front of me could enter, yet myself and the people behind me were not. Beyond this, I had no bags to check (just a carry on), the flight was delayed 10 minutes, and it was the only flight to leave the airport on February 14th, the airport was dead quiet! The employee I spoke to was disrespectful, hostile, and rude. He wore no identification to suggest we worked for Swoop, and was wearing a very unsuitable mask (it was a kerchief). He showed no leniency or pity for our situation, though the middle-aged man with an infant’s car seat in front of the three of us was shown plenty of leniency. I am a young female university student, so was the other girl behind me in line, and the guy in line was also a young university student. I would be willing to venture that this abuse of power could be related to ageism or a bias. The employee basically told us that we were out of luck and we would have to rebook our flight. I am not sure why this guy did not offer to see if we needed transportation, if we had a place to stay, or even pretend to care that he had just left three young university students with wasted money and out of luck. We were left feeling helpless and angry just for being mere minutes 'late'. The employee walked away from us without offering any kind of help or support, and I went to talk to a security agent who advised us to wait until after our flight had left and other Swoop agents could help us rebook our flight or accept a voucher. We waited for nearly two hours by the Swoop check-in desk, but no one came to help us. I ended up having to call someone to come speak to us. The same employee that refused to check us in arrived and told us there was nothing he could do, that we would have to call Swoop’s line to rebook or receive credit, which I did, and was told by the agent I spoke to over the phone that because I missed my flight there would be no kind of reimbursement. The way I was treated was horrible and unfair. I feel like I have been robbed, and I was denied my first flight home to Alberta since moving to Ontario in September. I am extremely disappointed in Swoop and the Hamilton airport. If you value good customer service, actually getting on the plane, and not being robbed, do not fly Swoop. If you have to travel during the pandemic, fly Flair, they actually allow refunds for COVID related matters, as well as changes to bookings up to 24 hours before your flight. Swoop doesn't care about their customers at all.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Edmonton
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very disappointing and ridiculous in the face of Covid-19 restrictions"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Interestingly enough I never got on the Swoop flight in February 2021! I was supposed to fly home from BC on Swoop, but was unable to fly to BC because of ON and BC inter-provincial travel restrictions. Despite the restrictions that prevented me from going to BC, Swoop was happy to eat my $260 (including 1 carry-on and 1 checked bag!) fee I paid in September 2020! Very disappointing and ridiculous in the face of Covid-19 restrictions! It's garbage policies and practices like this that encourage people to break the Covid-19 regulations! It literally cost me $260 to follow the provincial rules!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKelowna to Toronto via Oakville
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no