Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 189 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Worst customer service ever. Flights are delayed on constant basis. I booked a flight from Abbotsford to Hamilton 10:20am, arrival was at 5:30. And my return flight was next day 7:30am. But my departure from Abbotsford first got delayed from 10:20 to 11:40 and another delay from 11:40 to 12:50. I could not reach Hamilton before 8pm and could not meet whom i wanted to meet. Swoop did not reschedule or refunded after so many requests. Basically I paid $500 to touch down Hamilton airport and come back next morning.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Hamilton
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"absolute cheapest price"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This airline is great, if you understand how it works, and relax. The price shown get you and a bag on a plane, to your destination, this means that you arrive when you booked with a bag (backpack, duffle bag etc) I flew from Hamilton to Vegas, round trip, in November for about $180 Canadian. I didn't pay extra for a checked bag, or seat selection, because i didn't need it. I did buy a beer on the plane, for I believe $5 Canadian. The plane flew, I arrived on time and safe, and most likely wouldn't have gone to Vegas if I had to pay what other airlines were asking. Im going to Florida in October, 4 people and the cost is $1200, round trip, for everyone. I checked other airlines leaving from Toronto, and for 4 people its over $3500. If Swoop wasn't around I wouldn't be going. I'm not sure what people expect. They are offering Canadians the absolute cheapest price to get you in the air and to your destination. if you want extras theres a cost. Why should I pay the same amount when all i have is a backpack, when someone else is packing 4 suitcases for a week vacation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Las Vegas
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"get what you pay for"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Abbotsford to Puerto Vallarta. You get what you pay for - this is a discount airline that we used to fly our family cheaply to Mexico and back on Spring Break. Pros: the price was good, the flights left and arrived on time, our luggage arrived safely, the staff were pleasant, the plane (a former WestJet plane) was clean and appeared to be in good condition. Cons: anything extra costs you money, including choosing your seat, seats with more legroom, both checked and carry-on bags, all snacks, and all drinks (including water). There is no real food on-board, not even sandwiches, so you must bring your own if you want something healthy to eat. The seats are thinly padded and not very comfortable. There is no on-board entertainment although apparently there is a Swoop app you can download ahead of time that will enable you to have some form of entertainment on your own device (we did not know about this beforehand so could not use it). Communication about boarding our flight in Mexico was poor - we were told that check-in would start at 4:20 pm for our 4:50 flight, then were surprised to hear a “final call” announcement at 4:20. Apparently we had to take a bus out to the plane, which was sitting on the tarmac some distance away from the terminal - we barely made it on the bus in time.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"credits expire in 90 days"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We were traveling regularly from Winnipeg to Hamilton as my wife's father was nearing the end of his life. We needed to change the date of our flight and, after calling into the customer service department, were advised to simply cancel instead as the flight money would be held in a travel account. Now we tried to use the flight credit and found out, after calling again, that flight credits expire in 90 days without notification. No email communication at the time of credit, or any other form notifying us of the expiry. (If you scour the website you can find it but not unless you are very diligent.) The Customer service resp are not at all empathetic and offer no apology on this policy. They may be owned by WestJet but their customer service is horrible in comparison. Seems like it's just their way of compensating their bottom line for cheap fares. We have learned there is inexpensive and their is cheap. Swoop is the latter.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Hamilton
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"definitely not a good deal"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Hamilton to Edmonton. I have flown my daughter and new baby grandchild every three weeks too and from Edmonton- Hamilton for the last 5 months. I have checked in for my daughter a total of 11 times. I must say I am extremely frustrated and dissatisfied with this airline, service and how they operate. For the past 5 months, the price to check in one bag has changed on every flight, there is no consistency. I asked staff why does the price change on every flight, their response was that there hasn’t been a price changed in one Year. Would you like to see my receipts. Today was $50.85 to check one bag, it was the same for a carry on. On todays flight the seat price increased to $34. Added, when my daughter went to the airport the staff demanded a $38 for her stroller. This is the same stroller that has flown back and forth across the country 11 times without extra charge. When she first started flying with swoop in October 2 infant items were allowed, then 1 item and now no items. I would love to know how and why and Airline can change its guidelines every week, I do not know of any other airline that does this. The cheap flight of $75 is now $200 for one way, definitely not a good deal! Added the wifi doesn’t work after payment is made. On todays flight the staff did not go through safety protocols for carry an infant on lap. I tried to call customer service today and after being on hold for 1 hour 21 minutes i finally spoke to someone. Of course, I didn’t get any resolution as the staff are following orders from above!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHamilton to Edmonton
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"$80 is ridiculous"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Halifax to Hamilton. I have flown with swoop many times now and I've never had any problems with their staff. They are always friendly and happy to help. I am not however happy with how much they charge for a checked bag. $80 is ridiculous. Everything else I am happy with.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Hamilton
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"charge for everything"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Swoop is budget airline and it is just that. Budget. Very cheap fares but they will gouge every last dollar out of you if you are not careful. I would definitely recommend for maybe solo travelers or travelers who can traveling with only a small carry on. I think a family trying to save a few dollars should be careful or the cost of travel could double pretty quick. They charge for everything. I was almost shocked they did not have a coin operated bathroom aboard. Staff was great. Planes were clean. Overages on luggage are high so maybe leave the suit case at home and pack a large duffle bag so you are not paying for the weight of a heavy suit case.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Puerto Vallarta
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a very pleasant flight"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Our flight was WO604 and I must say that the flight to Mazatlan and return was great. Staff were very good and efficient. It was a very pleasant flight both ways. I would not hesitate to fly Swoop again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Mazatlan
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Would not recommend"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We flew Hamilton to Las Vegas Feb 22 and had no issue with our personal item which is a small suitcase. No extra charge, fit perfectly under the seat and the flight was amazing. Crew was great! We arrive at the Las Vegas airport to check in with all our same luggage as we arrived with. At the check in counter we were asked to put a tag on our personal item and pay $55 for it as she has now classified it as a carry on. I explained to her that we left Hamilton with the same airline on Feb 22 and did not pay for the personal bag and was not going to pay going back home. Her co-worker quickly stepped in and said too bad about what happened in Hamilton, that if we wanted to take it home with us we were paying. The service from these 2 individuals was horrible, Swoop obviously does not have consistent processes for all locations and I would suggest paying a few dollars more to avoid the frustration. I emailed Swoop but no response. Trying to get in touch with anyone is almost impossible. They quickly take your money but dont want to deal with any issues afterwards. Would not recommend.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Hamilton
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew were very friendly"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Abbotsford to Puerto Vallarta return. The flight was (by far) the cheapest I have ever booked. In fact, even the couple of beers I had on the plane on the way to Mexico were half the price they were charging in the airport lounge in Abby! I admit the comfort level is not exactly first class, but neither is the price, and I expected that before flying. I’m tall (6’1”), but I survived. Honestly, the only slight downer was the lack of any real food on the plane. Chips and candy bars are pretty much all you’ll get, but really, who the heck wants to eat on a plane? The flight was smooth, on time both ways, the crew were very friendly, and really all was great.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Abbotsford
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes