Swoop

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 446 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"all they really care about is money"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The entire baggage policy is a scam. Swoop claims to be a budget airline but all they really care about is money, not their customers. Pressuring people to purchase baggage options months in advance for ridiculously expensive fees (which is how they make their flights look "cheap") and charging the same obscene fee for a carry-on as they do for a checked bag - scam. Also, pressuring you to purchase ahead of time because they will increase it $74 per bag at check in - this is a terrible policy and other airlines do not do this which is why they are superior. Their customer service is apathetic and unwilling to cooperate. They don't care about losing customers, only about making money. They refuse to give refunds so customer beware. I would never recommend flying with them over any other Canadian airline. Not worth the extra five dollars you think you're saving before all the extra fees come in.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Hamilton
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"lack of customer service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I am absolutely stunned at the lack of customer service. I booked a ticket from Edmonton to Toronto to fly home for surgery. I had to postpone the ticket, due to delays in the medical system from COVID19, all this went fine but then I moved home permanently by car a few weeks before my new scheduled date. I contacted them to request a refund or barring that a voucher for use at another time. They told me flat out no, with several weeks notice. I called them again and asked if I could just change the flights to allow me to go from Ontario to Edmonton at a later date, also no. I called them a third time and asked them if I could change the name on the flight, to allow my daughter to come to visit me. same flights, same times, just change the passenger. Again, no. there is nothing I can do besides abandon the ticket and flush the money down the toilet.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"zero customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | In June 2020, I booked return flights for my three kids to visit me from Edmonton to Abbotsford. A few days later, kids plan changed due to changes in their summer school schedule. Now two of them could not fly on planned dates while one was able to travel as planned. I called SWOOP several times to make necessary changes but they declined to make any changes. I offered to pay additional money as a differential however, they still declined. I paid $665 for their trip and for this amount only one of my kids traveled which caused me a big financial hit just because of inflexible stubborn policies and attitude of SWOOP’s management. Unfortunately to fly from Edmonton to Abbotsford options is very limited. SWOOP has a monopoly for this route which leads them to show total inflexibly and zero customer service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Abbotsford
Date FlownJuly 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"suggest that cheap is never better"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We’re from Vancouver and we travelled to Abbotsford to fly via Swoop to Edmonton. Our flight was supposed to be at 7:45 p.m. on June 26th, 2020. We arrived 40 minutes early for our flight and upon arrival, there were no employees in the check-in booths. We go to baggage security at the gate and they ask for a boarding pass, we explain that there are no attendees at the check-in booths and that we only received an itinerary via email after checking ourselves in online (we only had carry-on bags) - they mentioned that for some reason, on a daily basis, somebody has an issue with Swoop and that they were not allowed to communicate to their staff directly when a customer requests so. The security at the gate suggests we call their customer service line but when we do, nobody picks up. We notice a young gentleman waiting at the check-in booths for assistance, I ask him what time his flight is and what whether he had a boarding pass. He explains to me that he only received an itinerary via email and that he also needed assistance for a boarding pass. I go back to the gate and I hear a Swoop employee asking the security at the gate what the commotion is all about, they explain that there are three passengers trying to get on and they ask her “Did you want to speak to them?” She chuckles sarcastically and says “No - close the gates!” Security then kicks us out as they apologize. I head quickly back to the check-in booths and wait for the employees to head out. When they come out to collect their personal belongings on the counters, they simply DO NOT CARE. They say it’s policy that we must be there exactly and hour before our flight and if nobody is there, they will no longer accommodate for whatever reason. They also say that it is our responsibility to search for a barcode - however, we explain that how would we know the requirements when it’s not even clearly communicated by Swoop itself? How would we know that a barcode was necessary if this is our first time? Their next response is to purchase a new ticket for June 27th and speak to their customer service line (we called twice and the call drops right after the menu option). The employees then ask for our last name and says “Yes, I’ve seen your name but you’re supposed to arrive 2 hours early”. The employees all pack up and leave. I suggest that cheap is never better. As of for the employees at Swoop, a kind heart goes a long way. It doesn’t cost an arm to assist customers to get where they are needed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Edmonton
Date FlownJune 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"5 minutes late for my flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Edmonton to Hamilton. I was 5 minutes late for my flight departure at 3:10pm. The told me we can’t get you in. I ask for tomorrow flight they told me to buy another ticket.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Hamilton
Date FlownJune 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"no complaints whatsoever"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Abbostford to Hamilton on 10 April. I just flew swoop 4 times in March. Everything was smooth. I'll definitely fly with them again. It's a budget airline but no complaints whatsoever. Looking forward to my next flight in May 2020.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbostford to Hamilton
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"gave no explanation at all"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Got my flight to Winnipeg. Originally was suppose to go back home in may 27th. About a week in to my trip I received a message that my flight was cancelled. I was forced to move to june 1st. This didn't work for me but I had no choice. They gave no explanation at all. Today April 29th, 2020, I got another message that my rescheduled flight was cancelled again and I can take the same day flight but instead of direct and a 2.5 hour flight it goes to a transferred flight and a 10 hour flight. Unbelievable. So I thought I would call. No! If you want to speak with some one it costs $15 plus taxes to call.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Winnipeg
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will not be reimbursed"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Our flight between Edmonton and Los Cabos was cancelled by Swoop in January 2020. Swoop emailed stating that if we re-booked with an alternate carrier they would reimburse us. Four months later we are now being told that because we did not re-book with Westjet (the only approved alternate carrier) we will not be reimbursed. Their email specifically states that we can book with an 'alternate carrier'. It does not say that the alternate carrier had to be Westjet, yet that is why we are being denied our refund. This company is unethical and cannot be trusted.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Los Cabos
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"could not get hold of anyone at Swoop"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We used to really like flying with Swoop but Our return flight was Scheduled Mar 23 2020 from Orlando to Edmonton but due to the Coronavirus and government saying to get home in case the borders get closed we decided to reschedule a return to Edmonton on Mar 16. We could not get a hold of anyone at Swoop for any advice as to what to do - just a recording saying they were too busy to take calls not even a option to leave a contact phone number to have them call me back. I ended up paying over $600 for 2 of us to get back to Edmonton. Now our regular tickets that were for Mar 23 are lost with no option even for a credit that we could use later. This in not right Swoop!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Edmonton
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not care about their customer"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Edmonton. This airline should not be getting a dime from the government when it is not refunding or given full credits to the people that have their flights canceled. They make you use their modify and pick dates right there. No one should ever use this airline as they do not care about their customers. Please do not use this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Edmonton
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no