Sunwing Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 669 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst service ever"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Worst service ever. I need to change my reservation, and they would not allow me to as i booked through a travel agent, normally that would be fine, but my travel agent had a family emergency (her mom died) and its a small business of only her. I explained this and the would still not allow me to make any changes. I understand policy, but there needs to be exceptions for deaths or emergencies. I now might not even get to go on my trip. Not that a large corporation cares.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Varadero
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Sunwing doesn’t much care for you"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Last minute notification that instead of 8am Ottawa direct departure departure it would be 12:30 (early afternoon) and then stopping in Toronto first! This meant a total day of travel arriving at destination 10 pm. This is most times the case and shameful that Sunwing doesn’t advise you of this. Calling Sunwing is the worst. They have no idea how to communicate and treat you as stupid. “Systems” are always down and please call again another time. They rate a 1 out of ten for every call made to customer service. The only pleasant people at Sunwing are the booking agents. Use another all inclusive if you can. Sunwing doesn’t much care for you after they have your money….
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Cuba
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I never will choose them for my vacation"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | When we booked our vacation in November, we were supposed to get a direct flight from saskatoon to Cancun and vice versa. One week before our vacation they informed us that it won't be a direct flight anymore and it will go to Regina and over there you have to change the plane and I asked if we can cancel it and the rep said No because on terms you agreed that Sunwing could change it without notice, I paid a lot to get a direct flight with 5-star inclusive hotel and asked if they will issue us a voucher or return any money to us and she said No. you don't have any choice just we let you know. The 9am flight changed to 7am and it had delayed in Regina because obviously, they gather travelers from 3 different cities in one area to go so we had another 2 hours delay in Regina and when we reached to Cancun, we totally lost a day as around 7pm we were in our hotel so a vacation starts with a disaster and instead of 5-6 hours flight It took us 11 hours however we paid for premium, good for Sunwing's pocket! On the return, they took us 5 hours before our departure, without they inform us that it will be a Winnipeg, Regina, and Saskatoon combination flight, they issued our tickets to Saskatoon, announced the gate, and on the last minute, they changed it to Winnipeg gate and on the air told us that you should get unplanned in Regina. When we got to Regina, they weren't ready at all. they redo everything like a new traveler that just got to the airport till we reached to our gate and it took over 3 hours in mid of the night plus another 1-hour delay, a total of 14 hours from hotel to Saskatoon! We didn't receive any apology from them at all and it hurt us a lot. In general, transportation was a disaster and we all got very unhappy and disappointed with Sunwing and I never will choose them for my vacation. I had a good experience with them before it is why I didn't look at other options such as Westjet vacation but definitely from now on, they will be my last option.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSaskatoon to Cancun
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"surprised at the service offered"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | 5 days Missing luggage. Credit gift card offered, as compensation for the missing luggage, had “No Credit”. 5 days into our 7 days vacation, and only now was found in Toronto. It never left the airport. Sunwing website not functioning and No one to reach. My kid is 8 years old. He prepared for this trip a long time ago. Preparing his bag was the most exciting experience to get ready for beach time after two long years of quarantining and online schooling. And finally, it’s time for a vacation and beach time. Our air flights were booked through Sunwing airlines. We arrived to Cancun and his luggage is missing. No where to be found. We had to leave the airport. It’s now Thursday and we arrived to Cancun on Sunday. We pretty much bought all what we can from the limited gift shop at the resort, that fits his size. Which were 2 shirts, a swimming suit and something for his foot. Plus a toothpaste and tooth brush. And that’s all what they had for him to wear. The airline’s representative at the resort was trying to help us file a report online on sunwingcares.ca and the website is not working. He had to communicate this information and do the report manually through someone on the other end. Then he said that Sunwing will give us some compensation credit on a gift card to use, as a thank you for your patience and understanding. As much as the credit gift card won’t make a difference. I was still very appreciative and tried to get my little one to still enjoy and focus more on the trip and try to manage with anything we can get from the gift shop. But again, As I was paying for something for him to wear. The card Sunwing gave us as a compensation declined! We left everything on the counter with the girl at the gift shop and ran out to bring any other personal credit card to finalise the purchases. These were all a series of disappointments with Sunwing. I remember the name of the Sunwing representative; Andres, at the Riu resort cause he was initiating all the possible ways to help us on his end. Also, forget to mention that the Sunwing team at the airport did not file any report and did not initiate any action. They kept directing us to get on the bus to go to the resort. I thought that may be we should get it by next day or so, at the resort! I assumed this might rarely happen, but would get straightened out by next day, cause there is a team in charge and I can pretty much rely on the reputation of Sunwing airline and their service. Unfortunately, I’m surprised at the service offered from the airport team. I can understand that covid and the pandemic had put a lot of pressure and strain on airlines, but also thought this is an opportunity to score such an experience with more clients to use Sunwing airlines again and again, since we were considering our next trip already with the friends and group who came with us on this trip. I look forward to see how Sunwing customer service can handle solving this issue. Otherwise, I don’t want to repeat it again with Sunwing and won’t recommend it. First issue: my little ones luggage is still in Toronto. Second issue: if you offer a compensation, please do it right. Third: I hope your “Sunwingcare” website starts working for others who would be in my position and might have valuable belongings in their missing luggages. The least thing is to get someone to communicate clearly
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Cancun
Date FlownNovember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not be flying with Sunwing again"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I feel like I have been in a constant battle with Sunwing for the last year, I booked with them last year for April 2020 and had a credit with them due to the restrictions from covid. Which we didn’t mind of course we understood we got a voucher for our trip for the cancellation. Now we were able to go on our trip to Costa Rica so we decided to use our voucher. Not once when I’m the phone with them in 2020 did they mention that it we would have to pay for our whole trip again and the voucher would be applied in a certain time period. Again I understand that takes time just was taken back when on the phone booking our trip and at the very end of the phone call he mentioned that I would have to pay for the entire trip and the voucher would be applied to my card of choice. He stated it can take up to 3 weeks for it to go onto my card but he didn’t think it would take that long, he also mentioned he would send an email to fast track the money to get onto my card in 1-2 weeks. Take in I just paid another $3200. Now I am in Costa Rica 4 weeks later and still the money is not in my account. This is absolutely ridiculous to be out $3200 that would be used to our pay bills. Now while on vacation I am writing this review and stressed out because the people at Sunwing are incompetent. When calling our agent before I left for vacation (which was also ridiculous, hardly answers emails and his phone). I thought the point of Sunwing was that you could get in touch with your agent at any point but that is not the case, but when he finally did call back he now said “oh it can take up to 4 weeks but again I don’t think it will take that long” so my question is where the heck is my money? This is absolutely ridiculous and I will not be flying with Sunwing again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Costa Rica
Date FlownNovember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Very inflexible"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Very inflexible. I had to cancel my return flight from Los Cabos but they said we will not get any refund/future vouchers even though I had purchased a "worry-free" waiver initially. I told them that its nothing much I can do if my PR card hasn't arrived even though I had applied for it back in June (hoping to travel on 14 Nov). I called them several times and they said I can get travel vouchers only if I cancel the full booking (and that too I will get after 4-6 weeks).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Los Cabos
Date FlownNovember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never travel with Sunwing again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | We travelled to Cuba last year (I would have posted this sooner but it has taken them more than a year to resolve our issue) and while the resort was nice we ended up getting hooked into a scam. During the orientation session we were told it was essential to book a place in the VIP Lounge “as soon as possible” for when we were leaving because: - the main hall of the airport has no air conditioning - the main hall of the airport has no food vendors - you get priority check-in - you get expedited baggage checks Well the long story short is all of it was an unequivocal lie. There was food and A/C in the airport and no priority services were offered. To make the best of it, the VIP lounge was oversold and some people had no place to sit. We paid $70 USD for two people to book the lounge. I contacted Sunwing immediately upon our return to discuss and figured it would be a simple reply... “sorry for your experience, we will gladly refund that amount”. Well after dealing with three employees including a manager and having Sunwing go back to the local resort provider we received a negative result from both. I even suggested a credit of $70 which of course would have ensured future business for them but even that was refused. We will never travel with Sunwing again!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Cayo Santa Maria
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I have never seen anything like this"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I was on the second flight coming back under the new restrictions set by the Canadian government. When we arrived at our hotel we immediately set out to find our Sunwing rep to organize having the covid test done for our arrival home. He knew nothing about it, surprisingly. As Sunwings head office is in Toronto, I would hope they would communicate the laws necessary to travel. After two days of asking the Rep to find the information necessary for us to return home, we spoke with a few people on our resort who flew with Air Canada, they had a bus set up to take them to a clinic to have the test done. We realized Sunwing was not interested in helping us, we took matters into our own hands. I contacted the emergency hotline at the embassy in Ottawa, they emailed me a list of clinics in the Dominican that provided the test necessary under the new Canadian travel laws. We took a cab to the one closest to us, where we had to get a prescription for the test, we were told to come back the next day for the test. We went back the next day and needed a stamp? And were told to come back again the next day for the test. We realized we were being taken for a ride. After making friends with our cab driver, we finally had a translator and after 4 days of running around we got the test. What a waste of our time. After paying for our own way to the airport, as we had to go get our test results. We quickly realized that the plane to Montreal that was supposed to leave hours earlier left without it's passengers. It was chaos, I travel with work, I'm on a plane every six days, and I have never seen anything like this. People shouting, laying on the ground, sleeping in wheel chairs, screaming at Sunwing reps. It was crazy! As it turns out all of the information on the covid tests was written down inaccurately and Sunwing wouldn't accept it. The passport numbers were wrong, or the date of birth was wrong, or not even on it at all. Mine had my age but not birthdate (which is on my passport, and my passport number was correct making that a stupid and redundant argument). I called the doctor we used for the test, he quickly corrected the problem and emailed a new form, but then Sunwing wouldn't accept it because it wasn't printed? One Sunwing rep recommend that my girlfriend leave me because her information was ok but mine wasn't. Do you believe that? In the end they accepted our information but left dozens of people stranded, they just packed up and left, so unorganized, no announcements, nothing, didn't offer us a meal, a ride, not even a goodbye, nothing, they just up and left. The plane was almost empty, the flight attendant was not happy, but neither were any of us. I asked for a snack, after sitting on a tarmac for hours, she offered to sell me a sandwich. I declined. I never leave reviews like this, and I've never had a problem with Sunwing. But after watching Air Canada clients get there tests done without any issues, then watching them get on a plane without any issues, I had to say something. Sunwing was unorganized from the first second, I could go on, didn't email our confirmation, had no answers, didn't care about us. Our rep was happy to sell us an excursion, (which I would have loved to do if I wasn't spending my holiday running around to get a test) but could not care less about our safety or way home. I contacted Sunwing to offer them a chance to rectify or at least explain.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Punta Cana
Date FlownJanuary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shame on this company"

(Canada)

Not Verified | My Fiancé and I booked a great trip through SunWing Vacations that was roughly $3,500 months before COVID and even bought the insurance. A week before we were going on our trip our government made it mandatory to isolate for 2 weeks once we arrive back and were not guaranteeing that we would even have a flight home so we cancelled (using the insurance that we bought). We were then told that we would not be getting our money back but would be getting a travel voucher (same as everyone even if they did not buy the insurance). I have called SunWing numerous times just to be told "sorry this is how we do it" or "Don't worry your voucher is good for 2 years". We are in a pandemic and SunWing is not even flying out of my province this year which means I only have 1 year left to use the voucher. 1st off what was the insurance for as it was the exact same as everyone else. 2nd can you not at least make the vouchers not expire as I paid a lot of money for this trip. Its not a $50 dollar gift card this is $3,500 dollars that was saved up to go on our first vacation together and you guys have ruined this. I would expect in these times a voucher that cannot expire or our money back. I work at the airport and will not be recommending this airline to anyone as they clearly have no remorse or compassion for people and are all about the profits. Shame on this company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Cuba
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"it was very pleasant"

(Canada)

Not Verified | I flew with Sunwing Airlines from Montreal to Puerto-Plata in 2019 and it was very pleasant. Sunwing had very good food on board and it was a ham sandwich in a croissant. They have friendly service. the down side is the seat. The seat is very hard to sleep in and my flight was 4h30. i did not have a lot of sleep. bathroom is like a normal 737-800 but its a bit dirty.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Puerto-Plata
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes