Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1204 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I expect professionalism"

(United States)

Not Verified | The ticket agent thought he needed to be funny by rallying a war cry from the audience as we started boarding. Really!? Just take the tickets and shut up. Then he was yelling into the microphone but his voice was high pitched and we could neither hear nor understand him. If you want to be a comedian, go downtown. I expect professionalism at the airport. The same onboard. Just make the announcements and lets move on. Sarcastic comments that aren't funny tend to make me wonder if the mechanics maintain the plane with a sense of humor as well. If you announce that you will serving snacks, serve the snacks! We had a smooth flight so no reason to not serve what you said you were serving. Maybe this is good during a daytime flight but we were flying from 9-11pm.. Just do your dang job.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to St Louis
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"she lacked compassion"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight attendant made the decision to not let my 5 year old daughter use the bathroom all the while she was trying to hook up a car seat for the passengers in front of us which took almost 20 minutes. Another passenger was kind enough to give us a pull-up that my daughter ended using because she couldn’t hold the pee anymore. She then had the nerve to tell me if “I let you go, everyone will want to go as well.” How appalling, she lacked compassion in the decision she made and was trying to justify it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Philadelphia
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"this flight experience on SWA was average rather than hostile"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I've previously written about four negative experiences that I had in a row flying on SWA. I still had a small travel voucher that I didn't want to go to waste, so I decided to use it. My experience was average, I suppose. While I've also written generally glowing reviews about SLC airport, the SWA check-in staff at SWA were blasé. Not rude, not mean, but also not remotely interested-acting or helpful. Just robotic. I even get more helpful service on United (relatively speaking, and that says something). Same for the SWA gate staff. As for flight staff, the flight attendants were a mix of very cheery and upbeat (almost scarily so), or yeah, blasé and even kind of bossy to and barking orders at passengers. Not very helpful. At least the FA I had to interact with for the most part was the cheery and upbeat one. Once at Houston Hobby, it took almost 30 minutes to retrieve checked baggage from the carousel, while this may be more of a Hobby airport personnel problem, this is a problem that Southwest needs to address with airport management, as the airport is an airline hub. On the bright side, the plane was almost spanking new and very clean. The snack and Coke served were delicious. The plane was only about half occupied, though I don't know whether that has to do with bookings and demand, or with the fact that we're still in a pandemic. Social distancing was possible and enforced, as a result. Overall summary: at least this flight experience on SWA was average rather than hostile, so I guess that's an improvement for this airline. I still wouldn't recommend, as it will take many more average or above-average flights with them to convince me that they're not actually the worst airline in the USA (and I'm far more willing to fly on Delta or Alaska normally anyway for domestic flights).
AircraftBoeing 737 MAX 8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSalt Lake City to Houston Hobby
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"absolutely no social distancing precautions"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Way too many delays, absolutely no social distancing precautions. One plane comes in with minimal turnover time to disinfect before it leaves out. I understand why COVID numbers are rising!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"not once did we see anyone cleaning"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely horrible experience, I've flown 5 times since covid and you are the absolute worst. Flight was delayed 5 hours, and not once did we see anyone cleaning. There was no order to calling seats, section A was called but some B and C were allowed through at any time for no special reason other than getting in line before their turn and I use the word 'line' loosely, more like a cluster stampede. Masks were not enforced, people coughing unmasked. Tray on the back of the seat had sticky juicy all over it and the seat next to me, trash in pouch, obviously no cleaning. We were served open plastic cups that were carried on a tray down the isle that anyone not wearing their mask/ wearing it below their nose were breathing all over. Unboarding customers from the back were rude, unbuckled before we even stopped and then jumping to the front of the plane, instead of waiting your turn like it's always been. Stewards should be enforcing order from chaos. Plane was jam packed, no space in-between seats, strangers sitting right next to you taking off their masks to eat and drink. Keep in mind this also is a plane leaving Miami, Florida, 3rd highest covid state in the whole US.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Flight provided no social distancing"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight provided no social distancing. I checked in exactly 24 hours before. My son and I got C1 and C2. Southwest allowed other C people to board before us. We were the last people on the plane. We looked for seats together and had to move back toward the front to find middle seats in different rows. Never again!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMidway to Fort Myers
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"she went above and beyond"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A big thank you to Camille (at Raleigh durham) for helping us find our wallet that we left on the plane, she went above and beyond to make sure we found it. We really appreciate it!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Raleigh Durham
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"At least 60 people boarded before me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | As a service member in the Army I’ve never come last or after a group when it came to boarding. At least 60 people boarded before me and it was open seating. I had to rush off the plane to catch my ride to the base before it took. Every other airline prioritizes service members but not Southwest. I just figured all airlines recognized military personnel a lot better especially if we are in uniform. Nothing against the civilians but I feel like all we’ve done for this country especially on an open seating flight we should be able to be the first ones of and the first ones on.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSt. Louis to Atlanta
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will not be flying Southwest Airlines again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | For an airline that claims to put passenger service and safety first, I experienced the exact opposite. During my most recent travel (first time since the pandemic), I flew Delta Airlines from DSM to TPA with a few days in ATL in between. On the way home, I flew Southwest from TPA to DSM through DIA. My two experiences could not have been more polarizing. To begin, my Southwest flight was changed three times before departure in both departure day and time as well as the connecting city. Each flight I was on, they were fully booked and I was sandwiched next to strangers on each leg of my journey. I was treated rudely by gate agents and flight attendants as many of the passengers were confused and rather frustrated at both the boarding process as well as the capacity issues. For an airline that claims to put their passengers first, I will speak for everyone on each of our flights by saying we all felt like an afterthought. I will not be flying Southwest Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Des Moines
Date FlownFebruary 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They don't want to help you"

(United States)

Not Verified | After reading recent negative reviews about Southwest, it seems that our experience is one of many. You wouldn't believe the way this flight crew was behaving. Totally unprofessional. They don't talk to you, they talk at you. If you have a question, get ready for a snarky, clipped answer. They don't want to help you. They just seek out reasons to scold you. I realize that good help is hard to find, but Southwest should look harder. I try to give people the benefit of the doubt. Maybe they're overworked. Maybe they had a bad flight experience earlier that day. But taking out your frustration on the passengers is no way to behave. It's really not difficult to be nice.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePittsburgh to Ft. Lauderdale
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no