Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1133 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"Excellent flights"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Excellent flights despite COVID-19. On the outbound flight, flight attendants didn't enforce the mask policy, which is disappointing, however they were still friendly and provided an excellent service. Return flight had Flight attendants enforcing mask wearing. Water and small snack bags were given on the short flight. WiFi/IFE app worked great
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBurbank to Sacramento
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Shame on you Southwest"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I scheduled a spring break trip for my teenage son and I prior to COVID. Because of such, I was forced to cancel the trip. Southwest credited the funds to my Southwest account but only under the original ticket names (my son's name and my name). I am no longer able to travel with my son and have twice requested the funds under his name be transferred to my husband. On both occasions I received only a form letter which outlined their policy and never addressed my actual question. I don't understand this being that they have nothing to lose by transferring the funds to another family members name. I suppose they are hoping, as is the case here, that the funds can't be used. Shame on you Southwest.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRaleigh/Durham to Albuquerque
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I couldn't use my travel fund"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have a Southwest travel fund for $167 that expires Sept. 17, 2020. I had planned to use it this Spring, until national restrictions due to Covid-19 prevented my travel. In May, a Southwest travel rep reassured me the travel fund expiration date was extended to Dec. 17, 2020. I was SO relieved because $167 is a good amount of money I didn't want to lose, and I couldn't travel again any earlier than October 2020. But when I tried to book my flight (in June), I got an error message that said my travel fund expiration date was Sept. 17, 2020. I immediately called Southwest customer service to explain that I was told the wrong expiration date by one of their reps and due to Covid-19 health concerns and regional restrictions, I can't use my travel credit until October 2020. FUN FACT: Did you know... Southwest is extending the expiration date for travel funds that expire between March 1 and Sept. 7, 2020, to now expire Sept. 7, 2022? That now gives travelers 2 YEARS to use their travel credit. I have to assume they've done this to protect the health of those Southwest fliers who don't feel safe flying any time soon and in the midst of Covid-19. What a nice, and very practical, gesture! Let me remind you my travel fund expiration date is Sept. 17, 2020. And because it falls 10 days later, my own health and safety is NOT prioritized by Southwest travel policy-makers. Instead, I'm forced to use my $167 travel fund by Sept 17, 2020 and risk not only my own health, but that of my friends, family and fellow fliers -- or it disappears forever. I spoke with several reps (including a customer relations manager) and none of them gave a damn that I couldn't use my travel fund, when I was initially told by one of their reps that it expired on Dec. 17, 2020. That doesn't sound like transparency to me!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to Oakland
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"they don't cover theft"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New Orleans to Detroit via Chicago. Let's start with my flight sent an update saying the flight was delayed 45 minutes which was fine with me. Then a page goes over saying those flying to Detroit please come to the counter. I get to the desk and I was told it was only 1 seat left but not on the delayed plane I would have to wait 4 hours or until the next day. Needless to say I was VERY UPSET. Once I finally make it to Detroit I find out 2 items were missing out of my bag I immediately called the Metro Airport baggage office. I filed a claim the same night hours later I get an email from Southwest saying they don't cover theft and I just have to suffer the loss. I will never fly Southwest they are on the list of the worst. Amazes me how these corporations do the very people who pay them. One lost customer won't harm them but I definitely can make sure my company doesn't use them again and I surely won't use them. Ever!
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Orleans to Detroit via Chicago
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"airline decided profits above people"

(United States)

Not Verified | They cancelled the flight 1/2 hour before takeoff without saying why. Then the put us on a flight 5 1/2 hours later without offering a meal voucher. All of the airport restaurants are closed. Everyone should be wearing masks but aren’t. I’ve been forced to sit for 5 hour in a cesspool of corona virus because the airline decided profits above people. If it was mechanical they’d have said so.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Austin
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"an inconvenience to this employee"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My wife and I usually always fly Southwest because we love the staff and the overall experience. Today’s flight was no different from all of our other great travels with Southwest Airlines. However, it’s a real bummer when you get an employee who is rude and doesn’t even make eye contact with you. I myself am in Customer Service and would never treat a customer in the way I was treated. It honestly felt as if I was an inconvenience to this employee. I simply asked about where by babies stroller would be... She first told me, “Sir you can’t go in there.” Fair enough so I asked her if she could help retrieve the stroller for me. When she brought it back out she didn’t even acknowledge me and was incredibly rude. I Her tone was bitter and she cared more about chatting with her peers about her 3 days off she has coming up. I didn’t get her name cause I had no desire of any additional interaction with her. I flew from Burbank to Denver into gate C23. We arrived around 2pm. I have no intention of getting anyone in trouble but that lady might need a little refresher on customer service. She must really need those 3 days off. Thank for your consideration
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBurbank to Denver
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"poor actions of this fellow"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We fly Southwest for their easy, fast ticketing and reasonable pricing. Yesterday was the first time since 1999 that an attendant failed to use common sense, a trait Southwest is known for. Staff in Denver announced loud and clear that we are allowed 2 bags only to board. That's always been the rule, however, countless times common sense is applied first, written rules second. I have boarded many, many times with my small over the shoulder purse, small backpack, and my carry-on suitcase. ( this was my return trip from Denver! i had traveled 4 days ago in identical fashion) I watched closely as others boarded ... 3 large bags, a woman with 4 items, one fellow had 2 large items, neither fit under the seat, and so on and so on. He never stopped anyone, so i knew his announcement was just routine in the case he truly had to limit someone. I was the last to board with B 21. (flight not even close to full) He stopped me and asked me to please put my purse into my backpack. My purse and backback are small, i am a small person, nothing was even hanging outside of my person. Both items were so empty they easily fit together. Both items tucked under the seat did not even fill 50 percent of the space. Why did he even bother? Why did he have to make one person's experience less than pleasant. In B 21 I was the last person. Flight was not even half full. There's no good reason for him to do what he did. The lady with 4 bags was so loaded down in size and bulk that she held up the entire plane for deplaning. She couldnt carry her items front ways or sideways! But me, small items that were tucked onto my person, me he HAD to target!? He does not represent Southwest well at all and should receive the same training countless others before him have been given. Southwest is by far the best airline my family ever travels and the poor actions of this fellow are an embarrassment to the company.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Denver
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"extremely disappointed and upset"

(Jamaica)

Trip Verified | I'm writing this with a heavy heart and a serious headache. I booked a flight on Mar 27 for May 11 on April 5th southwest changed the flight. I got an email and was told to rebook online at no additional cost. By that time Jamaica had closed the boarder and the situation was so uncertain so I asked to be refunded instead of changing or being credited. They told me no my only options were the two previously stated. I told them that it was unfair for me to be stuck on their timeline since it was ever changing. Anyway with no other option I revoked for May 22. That was canceled and I got an email notification. I changed again to June 6. Now june 6 was being held based on the multiple conversations I had with CSR. I applied for my leave days and everything based on the information provided by their app stating that my flight was still on. A few days before my flight I called southwest because of an Instagram post I saw about international flights entering orf having issues only to find out that my flight was canceled days before without notification. I lost wage revenue since my leave days were already booked with my company and now I have to request additional days to actually going to VA. Then they called and offered me a voucher like that was somehow going to help my situation. I cant pay bills or eat using a southwest travel voucher. I'm extremely disappointed and upset.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontego Bay to Norfolk via Baltimore
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"stealing customer’s money"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Southwest in the middle of a global pandemic is stealing customer’s money, the airline is are begging for tax payer bail outs but refusing to work with customers when they have elderly or family member with serious medical conditions that make it unsafe for them to fly with the covid-19 fully knowing that people with compromised immune systems are at a higher risk. I’m sorry to rant but this is frustrating we should not allow these airline companies steal from Tax Payers and then turn around and beg for a bail out.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to New Orleans
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Incredibly disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Incredibly disappointed in a company I’ve trusted for so many years. A company known for outstanding customer service. Southwest Airlines not only cancelled my late July flight with no notice, when I log into my account to book another flight is when I see I have no upcoming trips so I call customer service only to be told sorry it’s out of our control we can issue you a refund within 30 days. It certainly didn’t take them 30 days to collect my money when I trusted them to book a flight with them. Unfortunately they have permanently lost a customer, not acceptable Southwest Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGreenville to San Diego
Date FlownNovember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no