Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1110 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"care more about money"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to Orlando. Southwest Airlines we were supposed to go to Florida March 17-March 24, obviously with a two-year-old with asthma who sees a pulmonologist for it every 3 months, a 6-month-old-baby and someone who is 69 and people with underlying conditions, we, unfortunately, had to make the choice to stay home during all of this. They will not refund our flights because we booked as a “group” we still paid $260 a flight and the best they will offer is new flights to go by May 30 - in the middle of a pandemic. They care more about money than the safety of humans. Seriously disgraceful - at least 5 of us have called them and got the same response that “you can email them but they don’t know if they will refund you” (my sister just got the email response that they will not). Our kids are already having a hard time with us having to cancel, disgraceful. I will never book Southwest again and before you do remember this, please.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Orlando
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not receive a full refund back"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ontario to Sacramento. Purchased tickets on 2/1/2020 for May 15-16 2020 needed to be cancelled due to news that my graduation ceremony would no longer be taking part from COVID-19 concerns. I called customer service who referred me to executive office. They informed me that because I purchased "non- refundable" tickets, I could not receive a full refund back on my card. They only offered travel funds for future use until June 30, 2021. This is unacceptable as I did not have any idea that this outbreak would occur and it is not the customers fault. I have no history of complaining before and am shocked that Southwest could not make any exceptions during this difficult time. Southwest Airlines should be ashamed and embarrassed for the lack of sympathy and corporate greed they have portrayed.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOntario to Sacramento
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"used to prefer Southwest but no longer"

(United States)

Trip Verified | After flying from Indianapolis to Atlanta we had a 4 hour layover until our flight to Oakland. My girlfriend has a service animal and we had to the bathroom. We were in Terminal C and there were no pet relief areas open in the entire terminal. We had to walk 20 minutes to terminal B to find an open pet relief area. When we came back they had closed the doors, 15 minutes before the flight. We explained to the lady at the gate that there were no pet relief areas open yet she would not let us on the plane. We then watched the plane for 15 minutes sitting and then it backed out and left. There was plenty of time to correct the situation. The representative laughed and said "Oh I figured you were walking your dog because I saw a service animal on your reservation." I fly twice a week and I used to prefer Southwest but no longer.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIndianapolis to Atlanta via Oakland
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Bad customer relations"

(United States)

Not Verified | Nashville to Dallas. I had flights scheduled for Dallas and Napa. When I cancelled the flight because of the coronavirus I was told that the early bird fees of $50 per flight would not be transferred to the rescheduling of my flights. Feels like an old fashion holdup. Will not fly Southwest intentionally ever again if I do not at least get my early bird fees transferred to future flights. Bad publicity and customer relations for an airline that in the past had put customer first. They missed a tremendous opportunity to do the right thing.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Dallas
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the best flight I have ever been on"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Although many are upset because of these trying times, I have to say while we flew Southwest Airlines from MDW to Punta Cana, flight 2692 and had a great flight. We had our grandchild with us which was his first flight and the crew could not have done enough. While in the Dominican we started hearing so many rumors that the borders were being shut down and we were basically being abandoned. Well Southwest answered their phones confirmed our flight back to the USA and yes we called numerous times as United abandoned everyone at our resort and many people were left scrambling for any airline to please take them back. our flight was the second to last flight back to the USA, and we had a first row seat and I cannot tell you how many people arriving on the plane Flight 517 kept on thanking Southwest for taking them home. Our family witnessed this personally and Southwest had flown many planes empty to the Dominican to bring our people home. The best part was the crew of this flight showed all of us so much attention, and treated everyone great. One passenger had her birthday party sung to her by the whole flight and the crew gave her a bit of a funny gift and one of the crew also sang, to the passengers. By far the best flight I have ever been on. I thank the pilots for their hard work and the crew who put so many people at ease for the great time and flight. I have and will anytime always fly with Southwest due to their great service. If I could I would give them more than 5 stars.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteChicago to Punta Cana
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I will not be refunded"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago Midway to Denver. Adding my disappointment in what has been known as the airlines that have the best customer service and "caring" for their customers. I would expect them to take the lead on understanding and how they can help customers in these scary and challenging times. I also had an event canceled due to Coronavirus and it will not be rescheduled. So I will not be refunded. Or I can use this money for a year for something else, I guess I just pick a place to go to use the money, then also will have hotel and food fees, etc? we are not a family that can afford to just go somewhere to use this. Maybe something will come up that we have to go to in a year, who knows. But this has changed totally how I feel about Southwest Airlines and I will not choose them in the future. American airlines refunded my friend for a cancellation due to Coronavirus. Wrong move Southwest, wrong move.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago Midway to Denver
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They are not issuing refunds"

(United States)

Not Verified | Atlanta to Orlando. Never use this company! They are not issuing refunds during this unexpected epidemic. Families are struggling out here and may not want to travel within a year. They are not considering how they will need to have satisfied customers when this blows over. I would never fly or recommend them to anyone if this is the way you treat your customers.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Orlando
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not going to refund my money"

(United States)

Not Verified | Pittsburgh to Tampa Bay. My family had planned a trip to Florida to see our favorite team play in spring training then to the season opener in Tampa. Due to the pandemic and everything we had planned being post postponed or closed we are not able to go. Southwest are not going to refund my money, I have been lied to on different subjects by at least 3 different customer service reps. The last rep, who is supposed to be a senior customer service rep, pulled the act of god scenario on me. I can still use my credit till September, if this pandemic is over, but of course no one knows. So I am starting to accept the fact that I am going to lose almost $1,000. I’m just happy that Southwest is going to be ok.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePittsburgh to Tampa Bay
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Southwest again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Grand Rapids to Tampa. I am supposed to fly March 28th I am elderly and want to cancel. I want a refund they won’t do it because it is not there policy. Other airlines have the same policy but have changed it because of what is going on! I will personally never fly Southwest again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGrand Rapids to Tampa
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I can’t get my money back"

(United States)

Not Verified | Fort Lauderdale to San Antonio. As we all know things have become a lot more difficult these past few weeks. We are living in a global crisis. But. Southwest Airlines could care less so long as they get paid. Trying to cancel a flight that was booked before everything shut down. Before the threat of disease. And I’m told I can’t get my money back? This isn’t a regular circumstance. We are dealing with a global pandemic. But again. Nobody matters more than the almighty dollar. Nothing matters more than keeping those pockets lined does it? And people wonder why nobody has any faith in American consumerism. This is why. Because the only thing that matters is money. I will never do business with your institution again. . At the end of the day, you guys can keep your measly $500. Add that to the money you’ll get when you receive your bailout money from the government. You know, the money you “need” because we’re facing a global crisis. Imagine that. Quick to receive something because of extenuating circumstances but just as quick to hold fast to their “policy” when they have to do their part. Ah yes. Corporate America has never been brighter. Two words. Never. Again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFort Lauderdale to San Antonio
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no