Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 808 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"doesn't scan bag tags"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Richmond to Phoenix via Atlanta. They lost my bag on veterans day. What a nice way to say thanks to an OEF and OIF veteran. What really annoyed me and spurned this review was finding out that this airline doesn't scan bag tags at loading/unloading and track bag movement like the other airlines. How can this not be integrated into a major us airlines technology infrastructure in 2018? Unacceptable. Furthermore, Southwest refuses to admit that the bag was lost and is instead just "delayed." Garbage. When I asked the agent where the bag was, she couldn't tell me (since they don't track). I then asked her what you call it when you don't know where something is. Her answer? Lost. I needed what was in the bag to prep for a business meeting on Monday which I am now unable to do.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRichmond to Phoenix via Atlanta
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"absolutely terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Puerto Vallarta to Houston via Dallas. It's not so hard to understand that delays happen, but we have had more than one delay trying to get from Puerto Vallarta to Dallas, and the workers are absolutely terrible about keeping customers up to date on what's going on.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePuerto Vallarta to Houston via Dallas
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"last 12 Southwest flights delayed"

(United States)

Not Verified | Originally going from Grand Rapids to Birmingham, through Chicago Midway. The GR flight was delayed 3 hours so I would miss my connection. I asked customer service if I could drive to midway and catch the connection. They said no that was not possible to do, but would rebook me on a different flight. I drove to midway for the rebooked flight to find that it too was delayed by more than 3 hrs and would miss my connection in Tampa. So they rebooked me on the second leg of the original flight (the one customer service said was not possible to get on). Sat at Chicago Midway for 3.5 hrs only to find that this flight too was now delayed 2.5 hours. None of these delays were due to weather by the way. I have now had 10 of my last 12 Southwest flights delayed. Shame on me for continuing to use this sub par airline. I guess I’m a glutton for punishment.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGrand Rapids to Birmingham
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Horrible service"

(United States)

Not Verified | Tampa to Nashville . I tried to check-in 24 hours early to get a good seating position. No checking button, but there was an early bird option. I clicked and paid. It said I would be checked in early, but didn't see any boarding info. I kept refreshing screen to see if it would give a check-in button. Finally, about 5 min after the 24 hour advance period, it gave me the checkin button and I checked in. Now have position B44. I have never had B44 when checking in right at the 24 hr mark. This was because the screen didn't give me the button. SW is obviously giving preference to other people and delaying the checkin button for others. Horrible service. Like traveling in a semi trailer full of cattle when you can't check in early. I called and they said that the early bird check-in button checked me in early for the return flight, not the 1st flight. Horrible user experience. Absolutely the worst. In the future I will fly a real airline that actually allows you to have better than a middle seat.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Nashville
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"disgusted with the lack of help"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Grand Rapids to San Antonio via Chicago. I have been flying Southwest for years and have been very happy with the airline and Rewards program until this last trip. I checked in my daughter and I 24 hours in advance and it asked me to check a box by each name, obviously can check in a person 1 at a time. That afternoon something happened and my daughter could no longer go. I got on line and went to cancellations. It asked for the passenger name and confirmation number. I put in my daughters name and was able to cancel her flight. Fast forward about 12 hours later and I arrive for my flight at 530am eastern standard time. I was told that my flight had also been cancelled, even though I only ever entered my daughters name. They were able to re-book me, but I had paid 51,000 points for 2 tickets and they re-booked me for 1 ticket at 59,000 points. I called customer service and they could not help. I called customer relations and I was told if I had called them before I re-booked they would have helped. However, they were not even open for business until 7am CST, 2.5 hours after i had to get on a plane. I am thoroughly disgusted with the lack of help and the fact that both flights were cancelled when only 1 name was entered.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGrand Rapids to San Antonio via Chicago
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"crew are unbelievable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have flown with Southwest several times, including my very first flight back in December 2017. It was also my 8 year old son’s first flight from STL to Denver and we were all so nervous. It was an extremely early flight, 5:30am departure. When we first boarded, the pilot was standing in the aisle and introduced himself to my son. We told them it was our very first flight ever and he could see that my son was in tears. After introducing himself he told my son that he will safely get us there and will make sure it’s a wonderful flight so he will love flying, so do not worry about a thing, and even showed my son the cockpit area, it made his day, week, year. They also gave him a little airplane sticker pin. We hit a little bit of turbulence on the way however the pilot told us every single time prior to possibly hitting it and even explained why and that it was perfectly safe and how long the turbulence might last. It made us all so comfortable. I have flown at least 20 flights just since then and have yet to have a bad experience with Southwest. Their crew are unbelievable, always going above and beyond for us. My son has flown two more times and looks forward to it every time, gets super excited to meet “his pilots” as he says. And they always shake his hand. We will always fly Southwest.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMemphis TN to Tampa FL
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"how rude the service was"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tucson to Sacramento. Flight attendants were super rude. They were not friendly or welcoming what so ever. One lady in particular was extremely rude on this flight. I am never flying Southewest again after how rude the service was!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTucson to Sacramento
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I am so grateful for him"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Oakland to San Diego. I missed my flight and Robert from Southwest San Diego helped me get to my destination. He issued me a standby ticket, but later as I was waiting outside for a ride back home, he found me and handed me an actual ticket. He helped me during this difficult time and I am so grateful for him.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOakland to San Diego
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"awesome crew and pilots"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Orlando to Colombus. Today when I was flying on flight 1490 I had the best time because of an awesome crew and pilots. There was one individual who made the flight very enjoyable, a flight attendant on this flight. He could not have been more awesome or more funny. Loved having him as a flight attendant
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Colombus
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"delayed for over two hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Sacramento to Houston via Los Angeles. This airline had me and 50+ passengers delayed for over two hours due to mechanical issues. Don't you think you should get all of us paying passengers to a different, safe and working airplane? The fact that I have waiting over 2 hours because this unorganized airline either doesn't have enough working planes or don't care enough to get us moving.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSacramento to Houston via Los Angeles
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no