Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1810 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

“Worst business practice I’ve seen”

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst business practice I’ve seen. They canceled my flight and did not notify me. The only explanation they gave was, it was a glitch in their system. Found out I had no flight when I tried to check in. When I eventually got ahold of someone the only choice they gave me was to rebook my flight at a much higher price.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlbuquerque NM to Panama City FL via Houston
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"I did not get a reply"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This review is for the Southwest hotel concierge. I usually book hotels through Southwest for the rewards points. On the last booking of 12/23, I was charged an additional $900+ the day after checking out. I made two inquiries to Southwest as to why and the first response was a link to understanding hotel charges. The second expressed concern, asked for proof, which I sent a copy of my credit card statement, and was told to expect a reply answer in 3 to 5 business days which never came. I replied to this email 3 weeks later asking for an update and then 2 weeks after since I did not get a reply, nothing yet. All I asked was for a reason as why the double charge. I'm a person of habit and been flying only Southwest for at least 20 years. I will probably continue using the airline for flights, but not their extended services.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to El Paso
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"the worst flight attendant"

(United States)

Not Verified |   We had the worst flight attendant on flight 1735, we were told that if we paid extra to board early we can save seats for our family members. The flight attendant was so rude and said that the person at the ticket counter wasn’t a flight attendant. She then signaled people to sit on the seats we were saving for 2 family members, one of us is disabled and the other one is partial medical injured. She was so condescending and rude, even made a comment that “if I can stop being Interrupted, I can get back to my introduction” - not the attitude of a flight attendant. I’m beginning to think that these flight attendant’s instigate negative energy in order to create a hostile atmosphere so that they can kick you off the plane if you say something. This one needs to go home or at least some rest. Not an enjoyable flight on our way to a family funeral.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOntario to Cancun via Phoenix
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with the flight attendants"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was very disappointed with the flight attendants. They were complaining about their lack of pay and that they didn’t get paid equally to the pilots. They were also complaining about the fact that they didn’t get paid until the passengers were all seats and the door was closed. I don’t think they should have been complaining about the airline not taking care of them. Let alone in front of customers. This went on for almost the entire 3 hours of the flight. It must be a big problem as the connecting flight was also a discussion the same topic. I really didn’t want to hear about their problems of work. I did contact customer service to find out that they were not willing to listen and referring me to the airline website. So I did, only to receive an automated email back. Stating they were sorry for any inconvenience. Needless to say I am not going to make the return trip with this airline. It may cost more but I guess you do get what you pay for. I just wanted to give a little feedback to the airline. They are just like a lot of other companies “ it’s all about the dollar, not the customer experience.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Colorado Springs
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"now the worst airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Look elsewhere. I have flown with Southwest almost exclusively for the last 20 years, Can't do it anymore. They will Cancel your Flight for any reason. Presently sitting in Oakland for 5 extra hours. Thats if they dont cancel that flight. I have been stranded by them more then I can Count. SWA is now the worst airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to ortland
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

“SW is a total joke”

(United States)

Not Verified | SW is a total joke, our connecting flight from Sac. to Portland was cancelled due to bad weather in LV. I understand that can happen, but SW did little to nothing to get us to Portland the following day. SW's great idea was Sac to Ontario to Denver to Portland. 10 hours to get from Sac. to Portland, I could have rented a car and beat SW back to my hometown. Clowns!!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteIndianapolis to Portland
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they can't run a company"

(United States)

Not Verified | We booked a flight from Milwaukee to Cancun with one layover in Kansas city, upon arriving at the airport we were told of change of flight 40 minutes earlier! Problem to Baltimore! This is completely out of the way. We were to arrive in Cancun at 1:15 but with this new flight now 4:15. Today is our anniversary and we have to put up with this because they can't run a company! I'm hoping this will be the last time having to deal with them.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilwaukee to Cancun via Kansas City
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

“customer service was excellent”

(United States)

Not Verified | A great flight at a reasonable price! The 2 free checked baggage is awesome and customer service from start to finish was excellent. No assigned seating wasn’t an issue. Seats are fairly comfortable and at 6’4” I had enough leg room to be comfortable. Thanks Southwest!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Salt Lake City via Chicago
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"we were displaced around the flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible, we booked as a family of 10, expected to get together, and paid more than the standard flight ticket. Unfortunately, we were displaced around the flight, and they had no priority. Never do any group booking and advertise to family and friends. It’s just like Spirit Airlines, but a little bit of cushion on the seat, free bags, and a couple more inches.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Houston via San Antonio
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"never fly another airline"

(United States)

Not Verified |  Mary At customer service just hung in there throughout the worst cell phone reception I’ve experienced in my life ! to get our tickets done. Just incredible patient and determination. Pair that up with no luggage fee and no change fees I will never fly another airline as long as Southwest has the route!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to San Jose del cabo
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes