Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1035 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"Not a great first impression"

(United States)

Not Verified | San Diego to Phoenix. First flight was delayed over 30 minutes. Plane flying in was late. A day later returning home was seated promptly but plane was delayed over an hour. Not a great first impression of Southwest Airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Diego to Phoenix
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I just wanted the flatware"

(United States)

Trip Verified | In mid September, my husband and I took a short flight from Oakland to Portland, as we were moving up to our new place in Portland. I packed my wedding flatware, which I use for special occasions in my check in luggage, thinking that if I added it to my carry on, they could consider it to be dangerous. Up to this point, the other issue I had with Southwest over luggage was a few years ago when they smashed up my Samsonite luggage from OAK to Long Beach. They did correct the situation by reimbursing me for the damage. However, when I arrived at PDX and our new place, I did not unpack all of my luggage immediately, since we had 4 bags between the two of us. A few days after we landed, I looked for my flatware and found it was missing, except for the butter knives. Someone took out the 12 dinner forks, 12 salad forks, 12 Soup spoons and 12 teaspoons, I called Southwest right away and was told that they would process the claim. When I called customer service, I begged and pleaded for them to find it and return it to me. I don't even want the money for the flatware, I just wanted the flatware because it was sentimental to me. SouthWest said someone could have taken it out of my luggage and not returned it to its place and that many times it ends up at a lost and found in Atlanta. Well, I put in a claim, sent a letter and asked them to check in Atlanta. ALL I wanted was my flatware. it wasn't extremely expensive, but it was Mikasa and it had been discontinued. They denied my claim and when I appealed the denial, they sent me a letter stating that they cannot reimburse everyone for what they "claim" they lost and hoped that I would not give them bad online reviews because of it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Portland
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"caring and friendly manner"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Baltimore to Fort Lauderdale was my 1st flight in 23 years due to PTS from a white-knuckle Washington-RDU ValuJet flight, the month after the 592 disaster, that suffered engine trouble right over Raleigh that badly scared me. The attendants especially Steve and Christie (who me & my big brother in the rear saw most) lived up to their title, doling out instructions & the meager excuse for food and drinks, in a professionally caring and friendly manner. The atmosphere was convivial & untroubled by complaints or aircraft/crew problems. This airborne adventure bookending a Carnival cruise, after such a long time & many industry changes therein, was one which the crews involved truly highlighted with their skills & friendly, engaging service. rrow" finishes which can be described as a landing only charitably - & not leave passengers marinating in their buckled seats (I didn't) for long minutes waiting for the gate!
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Fort Lauderdale
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"all happy to take care of me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I took this quick trip to FL to visit my sister and help out with her friendsgiving dinner. I sat in an aisle seat and a woman sat at the window seat. It was a full flight however our middle seat was vacant somehow. I started a new medication the day before and I had taken it as well as my regular pain medicine. Being it was an early flight I had not eaten breakfast. I did have water and snacks with me on the plane if I got hungry. I started to feel hot and a little faint and it intensified to almost passing out. The woman next to me who turned out to be a spectacular nice friendly woman immediately came to my assistance. She made me eat something and she was fanning me hoping that I would not pass out. I was within minutes of doing so. The stewardesses on board were also spectacular! They asked for a nurse or doctor on board and luckily for me there was a physicians assistant directly behind me. She came over to me, took care of me, checked my blood pressure, listened to my heart and made sure that I was going to be OK. After drinking some orange juice and having some snacks my blood pressure did go down and I started to feel somewhat normal again. I never did pass out thankfully and was able to enjoy the rest of my flight and the great conversation. I can’t say enough about all four of those people who immediately came to my aid no questions asked. They were all happy to take care of me.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHartford to Orlando
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"being delayed to board"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tampa to Las Vegas. Theres one staff working on this flight that I recommend be taught some serious customer service skills that he is clearly lacking. Also to be told that you guys are one of the fastest airlines boarding and arriving was a complete lie after being delayed to board and having to wait for a gate on arrival.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Las Vegas
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"comfortable seating with wifi"

(United States)

Not Verified | Nashville to San Diego. Southwest has stepped it up. Ease of checkin quick security lines, expedited seating, comfortable seating with wifi and movie access. Finally a couple snack. Entire travel to and from vacation a pure joy. Arrived early on both arrivals. They've done a great job throughout all levels. Thank you for a great experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNashville to San Diego
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Early Bird waste of money"

(United States)

Not Verified | Baltimore to San Diego. Don’t waste your money on spending $25 for Southwest Airlines Early Bird option. I bought it nearly one week ago, but it did not show up as assigned at the 24 hour point. So I checked in myself at the exact 24 hour point. I got B02 - that’s what I think. I would get checking in at 24 hours, not a week in advance. They say no, you had early check-in. OK, that sounds fishy, whatever. But you maybe get B20-B30 tops if you check-in. Save the $25.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to San Diego
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a great airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Spokane to San Jose. I have gone on Southwest airlines since I was 3 years old and I think its a great airline because it doesn't charge for baggage, and I love the drink selection. Something bad that happened on this airline is that once I left my jacket on the plane, and the person we asked for help wasn't very nice or helpful, but I did get my jacket back.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSpokane to San Jose
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"They were very hospitable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Las Vegas to Salt Lake City. The Crew on flight 1227 was amazing. They were very hospitable and did an excellent job at making everyone feel relaxed. The pilot also flew the plane very smoothly. I have a weak stomach, but it almost felt like I wasn’t even on a plane.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Salt Lake City
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst airline ever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nashville to Las Vegas. Worst airline ever, the free movies and entertainment is useless, the free WiFi is spotty at best and when I applied for paid WiFi it never worked. Seats are incredibly small and close together. I will probably never fly with SW again. I won't mind paying extra if that need be because all other airlines I flown with are so much better.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Las Vegas
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no