Southwest Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 941 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"had the whole gate area engaged"

(United States)

Trip Verified | New Orleans to Austin. Flight 2190 was delayed leaving New Orleans because of weather elsewhere but Janez at Gate 4B at Louis Armstrong Airport in New Orleans, La kept everyone in good spirits. She had the whole gate area engaged in a sing-a-long with incoming passengers; more than once inviting passersby to join in the fun. She went above and beyond her duty as a gate agent to insure that our day would not be ruined by a delayed schedule. Thanks to Janez and Southwest, frustrations were eased and smiles were plentiful!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew Orleans to Austin
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"extremely poorly handled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Oakland to Seattle. After being an hour late on mechanical issues, then loaded and taxing around then returned to the gate. Finally they bored a cop to escort off a passenger that "wasn't listening to attendants" along with his family. While doing it, the attendant joked about how cute folks thought the cop was. It was extremely poorly handled and now we are going to be 3 hours late. The keystone cops and attendants could not find their luggage. It was the worst flight I have had in the last 2 months and I have been on 5 business trips, so 10 flights. Now we have to gas up and get ok to leave again. Maybe we will never get there.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOakland to Seattle
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"won’t fly them ever again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Denver to Houston with Southwest Airlines. They cancelled the original flight, re-scheduled a new flight, delayed it three times. Too unreliable, I won’t fly them ever again, even if I have to pay more.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenver to Houston
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"food and beverages substantial"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flew Southwest back in June from Philadelphia to Kansas City via St. Louis and enjoyed the experience. Staff were amazing, flight was on time, and food and beverages were substantial for the short flights. My only minor gripe is that the seats could have been a little wider.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhiladelphia to Kansas City via St. Louis
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Boarding process is chaotic"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Houston. Horrible service. Boarding process is chaotic and unorganized. Sat on the plane for over an hour. No explanations given. Could have driven to Houston faster and with less hassle.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Miami
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"canceled with no explanation given"

(United States)

Not Verified | Richmond, VA to Houston, TX. Trip was planned with one stop in Atlanta, from there I would take another flight to Houston. The flight was canceled with no explanation given. Then they rebooked us to another flight that would leave 4 hours later. This meant we had to hang around for 4 hours in the airport. Then once it came for us to board see flight delayed for an hour, once again no explanation. Will never fly Southwest again.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRichmond, VA to Houston, TX
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall pretty average"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Burbank to San Jose. Overall pretty average. Staff was pretty good. Came with snacks and drinks. Inflight entertainment on app worked fine. Average selection of movies and TV shows. I think it had live TV too. Free messaging was pretty cool Slight departure delay SJC-SEA but we arrived just fine Legroom was pretty good-and I'm 6'2.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBurbank to San Jose
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Countless hours wasted"

(United States)

Not Verified | The past two Sundays my flights have been delayed then canceled. Countless hours wasted sitting in the airport waiting on Southwest. Staff not very helpful. Low fares come at too high a cost. This airline is not dependable.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Arlanta
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No concern for the customer"

(United States)

Flight from Tampa to Phoenix was rescheduled with no text message update. New flight was canceled an hour before flight after we got up at 3 am. Supervisor at Tampa airport was very rude when trying to reschedule flight for a third time. We lost an entire day of our vacation due to this and when I asked for priority boarding for our trouble I got a flat out “no”. No concern for the customer. Will never ever fly Southwest again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTampa to Phoenix
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"pushed to the side, delayed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Providence to Tampa. Not only did I spend over 10 hours on the Nashville airport floor sleeping on 6/9 because of flights and delays and no accommodations, I have now spent 7+ hours waiting at the providence airport on 6/13 Southwest Airlines where the staff here seem a little rude. I’ve been pushed to the side, delayed, and just have received poor customer service. My flights have been canceled twice now but have other flights flying from and to the same place through the same weather that has canceled my own flight, interesting. Now I have to arrange all my plans, spend more money, drive an hour to Orlando because the quickest way in was to Tampa, I missed work last week during that fight cancelation, I have to rent a car tonight, etc etc. It is just a little baffling there hasn’t been one employee to help accommodate completely ruining all of my plans and pushing me to the side when another customer decided his question was more important. I was told I’m getting two 50 dollar vouchers to southwest by a nice phone employee (the only one who seems somewhat reasonable) but I’ve been sitting here for 4 hours and haven’t received an email about that. Nice.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteProvidence to Tampa
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no