SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 187 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"A nice regional airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Penang to Singapore. A nice regional airline that shares the relative same standards or at least approach as its big sister, Singapore airlines. Cabin staff speedy and attentive. A small breakfast pastry and fruit with coffee served on a short hope one hour flight. Captain kept us updated particularly for those with short connecting windows. Planes a bit old and shabby but apparently large investment coming soon to this small airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"non arrival of my bag"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Davao to Singapore. I have had no problem with Silk Air until 6 October when I was returning from Davao. The trip was fine as normal, however somehow my luggage, one bag, did not leave Davao airport in spite of checking in almost 32 hours before take off and seeing my bag complete with baggage stickers having been applied by check in staff and seeing the bag depart on the carousel. The non arrival of my bag at Auckland Airport caused me no end of distress as aside from clothing it contained my toiletries and important medication.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDavao to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"was really impressed"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Based in Germany. I flew with Silkair in economy from Phuket to Singapore on September 22th, 2018. For only one hour and a half flight (short haul flight), I must admit that I was really impressed about the very good service on board. We had two complete menus to choose and many kind of drinks for free. Enough space between the seats and the stewardesses was really friendly. Unlike for flights within Europe, I am no more used to that. We usually get at least a small sandwich or snack. By low cost airline, we need to pay extra if we want to get something to drink or eat. It was great pleasure for me to take this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"need to step up their game"

(Sri Lanka)

Trip Verified | Colombo to Singapore. The check in at Colombo was extremely pleasant and the agent went above and beyond to ensure I had the seats I wanted, however this was the end of anything good about Silk Air. I found the crew to be robotic, unfriendly and rude. Meal service is mediocre. The worst part about Silk Air is that there is no entertainment, besides the app. Silk Air has disappointed me in the past but this trip with them is my final one. The cabin ambiance is depressing and they need to step up their game.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteColombo to Singapore
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"friendly and efficient"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Kota Kinabalu, my first experience of the SilkAir B737-800 product. Boarding was by zone number, and uncomplicated. I had the luxury of an empty seat next to me, so that made a difference when I took my seat. First impression was of fairly simple but clean-looking cabin environment. Seat backs were sculpted plastic and very basic, with only the tray table and a deep plastic pocket to lose your belongings in. The B737 always strikes me as a rather more cramped cabin than the A320; and so it turned out when checking Seatguru, with 1 inch less pitch and seat width than the A320. We were given cool towelettes and offered newspapers before takeoff, and a hot meal appeared (chicken spaghetti, which proved a bit difficult to eat for obvious reasons). Entertainment is available by the SilkAir Studio, and the choice of music proved disappointingly poor, although more movies appeared available. Service was generally friendly and efficient, and we landed feeling at least half human.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"would not recommend this airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Myself and my husband booked a flight from Singapore to Cairns. We believed that we were flying with Singapore Airlines (the price reflected this). Then we got on the plane and there was no onboard entertainment. Let me clarify. There were a couple of screens throughout the plane with Asian entertainment. No headsets were offered. The cabin crew were not accommodating and when asked for a drink (Diet Coke) I was made to feel like this was an imposition. Further to this they returned with a cup. Not even a can. The first offer of a drink other than an orange juice or water was at least 4 hours into the flight. I would not recommend this airline. I am disappointed as I have travelled with this airline multiple times and always had a great experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Cairns
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"nothing has changed in 5 months"

(Sri Lanka)

Trip Verified | Flew with Silk Air to Colombo from Singapore for the second time this year and nothing has changed in 5 months. The food is palatable but insufficient and nothing exceptional. Aircraft mainainance is practically non existent. There is no inflight entertainment except that you can purchase the Silk Air studio app and watch a limited range of a fairly pathetic selection of movies. The flight crew however are very friendly and can be chatted with easily. In short, Silk Air should not charge its premium fare because it is practically a budget airline with free meals and marginally better legroom. In conclusion a dissapointing experience and forgettable to say the least.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Colombo
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"we would fly with them again"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | We flew SilkAir from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur on May 7th. Newspaper given on aircraft, comfortable seats for my wife and I near wing. Attentive crew, refreshing towels handed out. A short flight, nearing Kuala Lumpur we struck turbulance causing the plane to drop slightly. The flight attendants immediately sat in seats in front of us, staying there until we landed No announcement from flight deck. Overall a great flight, clean plane, good service, Our return flight to Singapore was on May 16th. Once again a good flight, short, no complaints We enjoyed this airline, and we would fly with them again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"it was a pleasant flight"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Singapore to Luang Prabang. Legroom is ok for this aircraft, however taller people will have slight difficulty. But is was understandable for A320 economy seats. Crew were attentive. Meal serving was sufficient for this route. A hot meal, followed by ice cream as dessert. Pea snacks before landing. There’s no personal screen, and you have to use your own tablets or phone. Entertainment selection on SilkAir studio was limited and not latest, however good enough to keep you occupied throughout the flight. For Apple user, remember to download their app first before boarding to enjoy the entertainment. Overall, it was a pleasant flight, given the amount you paid for.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Luang Prabang
Date FlownJune 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"my luggage was broken"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Penang to Singapore. I was arriving to Singapore on the delayed MI349 on last Saturday (12-May-2018). I always trust SIA would handle my baggage properly as compared to other airlines. While getting my luggage covered with luggage cover, and with my trust with SIA companies, I did not check my baggage when I was still inside the airport. I took a Grab home, took my dinner before I was to unpack my stuffs. I got terribly shocked to look at how my luggage was broken. When I opened the cover, it is all cracked inside from the adjustable handler until down 30% of my luggage. I did not place much stuffs inside my luggage, but spare luggage and clothes. I contacted the customer service through the online form provided on the same night, and followed up again on 16-May-2018 (Wednesday), no news from SilkAir at all! I have tried to call SilkAir, but keep getting the wrong information online. It is one week since I last arrived and complained now. Still no sign of following up. The fare is not justifying on what we can get.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Singapore
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no