SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 197 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"customer service is the worst"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Manado to Singapore with SilkAir in October 2018. Singapore Airlines may be the best airline in the world but its customer service is surely the worst! I called the customer service on 2 different occasions. In both occasions, it was not long until a representative picked up the call, but soon after I shared my enquiries, I was asked to wait for unreasonably long. And while waiting, I was put on hold. In the first occasion, I was put on hold for 46 minutes. Today, I was put on hold for 22 minutes when the whole call was 27 minutes! I wonder what took them so long to find my reservation. Lesson: Never ever call the SIA Customer Service. You may have saved some time by going to their office instead. I have done it a few times. The SIA office is far more efficient than the customer service line.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManado to Singapore
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"in need of a re-branding"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | SilkAir is a subsidiary of Singapore Airlines. It recently started a 4-weekly service to Busan, South Korea. The outbound flight is a red eye flight which arrived early the next morning. As it was a late night flight, only drinks and snacks were served after take off. A simple breakfast was served before arriving into Busan. There is no personal inflight entertainment system on the B737-800. Instead, passengers have to stream movies and music over their personal devices via the SilkAir Studio app. The problem is that if you do not have earphones, you won’t be able to listen to the soundtrack. There is an overhead TV screen showing Korean comedy series. Nobody was paying attention to the TV as most passengers were asleep. I was seated in the exit row so the leg space was generous. However, the same cannot be said of the other rows. Being a service to Korea, there was a Korean flight attendant among the 4 serving the economy cabin. They were pleasant and efficient but somehow lacked the finesse of their counterparts in Singapore Airlines. SilkAir will be absorbed into its parent company Singapore Airlines in due course. It is in need of a re-branding and overhaul to its cabin product.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Busan
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"suitcase delayed for one week"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I had the worst experience with SilkAir flying from Singapore to Dili-Timor. Not only my suitcase was delayed for one week, as they initially refused to take responsibility and pay any kind of expense. Silkair's representation in Dili did not contact me once with information on the location of the baggage. After more than one month of discussing this issue with costumer service, I was offered the compensation of 75 dollars as a token of apology for spending a week in Dili without suitcase on a business trip.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Dili
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"bad punctuality"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Surabaya to Singapore. Bad airline, bad punctuality, not worth the price. Silkair has always prided themselves to be able to get the passengers to the destination on time. However after multiple times of boarding their flights, paying top dollars compared to other airlines, this airline is not worth the money. Cabin is at most average. It is clean, but it is not exquisite. Service is standard. But the biggest disappointment has always that they are late.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSurabaya to Singapore
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"A very good airline"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Flew SilkAir from Penang to Singapore. A very good airline with friendly cabin crew members. Foods and drinks provided on this flight are basic but it's still quite delicious and enjoyable to eat.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Singapore
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Such a disappointment"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Flight was delayed initially from 9.15pm to 9.45pm, then became 10.15pm. No water or snacks given for the delay, only apologies. I chose Silk Air expecting to be punctual whilst other budget airlines serving Singapore to Penang route all boarded on time. Such a disappointment. Seat was ok and good enough for a short flight. SilkAir has no personal IFE. Cabin crews were not bad. Food is terrible, only a wrap with fruits (the real fruits are only 3 slices of watermelon while oranges are sweetened can ones). It is ok to buy this flight if there is a promotion, if not better buy budget airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"the service is satisfied"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Wuhan. In general the service is satisfied. However, I can't agree that it's value of money. The price level of SilkAir is almost as its parent company Singapore Airline, but the cabin service is too far away from what its price suggests. I ordered noodle in this flight and the taste was plain. The only memorable thing was they do serve ice-cream. And the seat space was as narrow as budget airline. I couldn't believe that's what a Singapore Airline full service subsidiary looks like.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Wuhan
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"fine for a short flight"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Luang Prabang. Knowing ahead we had downloaded the SilkAir entertainment on our iPads as it would have been a boring 3 hr flight. We boarded efficiently and the aircraft left on time. Not so slick as their parent company Singapore Air, and the cabin felt old and basic however it was fine for a short flight. The refresher towels were cold and in a pack. We were given a meal, it was not very nice but that wasn’t important. We returned from Vientiane and again it was okay, Not special but we got there and returned with no stress.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Luang Prabang
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

" very slow but friendly"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Male. Lounge in Singapore was very crowded, food choice was ok but quality not great. Very weak internet connection. Boarding was efficient. Very old and dated aircraft with old recliner seats, for almost 5 hours flight not great. Service was not convincing, very slow but friendly. Food ok but not really good, more like Economy Class food. I would choose them only if no better option available, hopefully they will invest when they integrate into SQ.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Male
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"the flight was half empty"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Kota Kinabalu. Early morning departure flight from Singapore, flight crew were on their first leg and looked fresh and cheerful. Going out on the Boeing 737-800 and the flight was half empty, hence was lucky enough to have the side seats free which no doubt contributed to the overall sense of luxury. SilkAir B737's are decked out in an airy, light decor but the seats are a little bit spartan, with only the drop-down table and a large expanse of plastic moulding, which allows you to store any loose items you wish (and no doubt, forget about them when you depart). Legroom is adequate, if nothing to write home about, but certainly bit better than budget airlines, while the B737 is always a more width constrained than the A320. Pre flight service included face towels (disposable packets) and offers of newspapers. Despite a half full flight, they had run out of meal choices by the time they reached me, but small matter, the food was never going to be the reason to fly, anyway. Entertainment was via SilkAir Studio - bring your own electronic device, and stream via wifi. I was slightly amused to see that the music choices hadn't changed at all in the last 6 months, though I would guess that the movie options must have changed. The biggest downside is the limited toilet capacity at the rear - small, cramped, and if you are on a full flight, there will be endless queues. Not so on this flight, though, and we landed on time, uneventfully.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes