SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 212 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Comfortable, good service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Yangon. On-time departure from Changi terminal 2. The economy cabin felt clean and the crew were friendly. My expectation was for a basic and efficient service which was we got. This was an evening flight so we had a basic dinner which was okay, as good if not better than the Premium Economy meal from Melbourne to Singapore. Same wine Sauvignon Blanc. This time no other option so I opted for the red. Comfortable, good service, no complaints.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Yangon
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Long check-in queue"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Makassar to Singapore. Crowded flight, Long check-in queue and time. The take-off is smooth Great service, a good meal. The flight attendant is great.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMakassar to Singapore
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"not recommend using Silkair"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Am supposed to be on a flight on MI346 from Singapore to Penang on 28 Feb 20, 7.55am. After waiting for 30 minutes, was updated that plane is waiting for the engineering crew to check on some system fault, though it is not a risk for flight. The crew then served us some snacks to appease some of the angry customers and as I bite into the Old Chang Kee curry puff, the cover was already soggy and very nasty for consumption! At about 9.50am they told us that the system cannot be rectified and got us to another plane at gate E6 which is all the way to the other side of the airport. The flight is now delayed to depart at 10.45am. A good 3 hours has been wasted and thus affected my medical appointment. I do not recommend using Silkair, just go for other budget airlines, it just doe not worth the money paying premium and yet getting such lousy service!
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Penang
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Pretty decent flight"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Davao. Pretty decent flight with a very well organized crew! Happy to serve and with a smile from crew members. The style of the seats is a bit old fashioned (color of the seats). There is no entertainment on the plane but you can connect to the WiFi and get the movies on your device, but only if you have the SilkAir app! Silk air should let us know in advance before you get a 5:30h flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Davao
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst experience in my life"

(Australia)

Singapore to Kathmandu. The seat was so dirty and cover was stained. The food I was given was Rice and potato. No veggies no meat no fruits. Is it because Nepal is poor country? Also, no internet and no video surfing in the flight. Worst experience in my life.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Kathmandu
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Cairns. I would not recommend this airline. What a disappointment considering they are affiliated to Singapore Airlines which are great. Firstly the seating feels the way it looks. Must be the worst looking interior, old badly maintained (seat pockets were broken on both flights), the seats were super uncomfortable, the food was terrible and the flights were late on both occasions. Silk Air will not see me again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Cairns
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"SilkAir is shockingly bad"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. SilkAir flight departed late due to late arrival of incoming flight. When it was time to board, a hoard of people rushed to the gate. The announcement said business class and gold members first but the hoard was clearly neither. Staff did not bother to enforce the boarding process and didn’t even check the boarding passes of most passengers. Boarding of SilkAir is like a bogan fest of people without manners. On board, the seats are old. My seat has basically outworn it’s upholstery. The toilet is tiny and disgusting. Even upon boarding, the toilet smelled like it was full of stale pee. In flight, the plane was blowing hot air until the plane had enough altitude. One drink service of coffee, tea or juice. Overall, SilkAir is shockingly bad. I am glad to hear Singapore Airlines replacing SilkAir.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It's not worth it"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Brisbane to Singapore via Cairns. Short staffed, so poor food service, seats and plane was worn-out with major wear and tear. Small plane need to use own phone for in flight entertainment for 6.5 hour flight with nowhere to charge your phone. I wouldn't even give 1* for this flight. It's better to book flight with no stopover in regional areas even if I have to pay $300 extra. It's not worth it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Singapore via Cairns
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Do not expect too much"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Penang. For this short one hour flight to Penang, Silkair uses the A320 in a 3x3 configuration in economy, SilkAir is the regional branch of Singapore Airlines. A snack of curry puff and a drink was served on this flight. I had the exit row so the leg room was generous. There is no inflight entertainment. You have to download the Silkair Studio app and stream videos and music on your mobile device. So remember to bring along your earphones if you want to use the IFE. Do not expect too much on short regional flights on SilkAir and you will not be disappointed.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Penang
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"the worst business class seat"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Chengdu to Singapore. Absolutely the worst business class seat I have experienced. The width of the 2x2 first 3 rows is acceptable, but the legroom is absolutely appalling - less even than I would expect in a normal premium economy seat. Plus limited recline, circa 30 degrees from vertical, upon which when the person in the seat in front of you is reclined you have even less space to maneuver in and out and are pretty much forced to recline yourself to retain a semblance of spacing. Added to which the seat controls for recline, footrest, lumber massage are really stiff mechanical levers. For a brand new plane absolutely abysmal! There is no in flight entertainment in the seat backs. In business one is issued with an iPad which can stream movies etc. through the Silk Air WiFi. This does not support Internet connectivity, only the IFE. If you want to use your own device you need to have previously installed the Silk Air app from the app store - something nobody tells you before you board. In the cramped seat space there is very little place to put the iPad, even on the little plastic prop available on request, so one ends up holding it whilst also trying to juggle a meal or whatever. No noise cancelling headphones, just cheap in-ear buds, so I plugged my own noise cancellers in to the iPad. No capability to connect via Bluetooth of course. I found it impossible to doze on the 4.5 hours midnight flight so tried to pass the time with the limited selection of English language films on the iPad. Literally the only redeeming feature of the whole miserable experience was the cabin crew who try their best to give high quality and attentive service. I feel sorry for them having to pretend that they represent a proper business class operation, which this manifestly is not.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteChengdu to Singapore
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no