SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 207 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Cairns. I would not recommend this airline. What a disappointment considering they are affiliated to Singapore Airlines which are great. Firstly the seating feels the way it looks. Must be the worst looking interior, old badly maintained (seat pockets were broken on both flights), the seats were super uncomfortable, the food was terrible and the flights were late on both occasions. Silk Air will not see me again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Cairns
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"SilkAir is shockingly bad"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. SilkAir flight departed late due to late arrival of incoming flight. When it was time to board, a hoard of people rushed to the gate. The announcement said business class and gold members first but the hoard was clearly neither. Staff did not bother to enforce the boarding process and didn’t even check the boarding passes of most passengers. Boarding of SilkAir is like a bogan fest of people without manners. On board, the seats are old. My seat has basically outworn it’s upholstery. The toilet is tiny and disgusting. Even upon boarding, the toilet smelled like it was full of stale pee. In flight, the plane was blowing hot air until the plane had enough altitude. One drink service of coffee, tea or juice. Overall, SilkAir is shockingly bad. I am glad to hear Singapore Airlines replacing SilkAir.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It's not worth it"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Brisbane to Singapore via Cairns. Short staffed, so poor food service, seats and plane was worn-out with major wear and tear. Small plane need to use own phone for in flight entertainment for 6.5 hour flight with nowhere to charge your phone. I wouldn't even give 1* for this flight. It's better to book flight with no stopover in regional areas even if I have to pay $300 extra. It's not worth it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Singapore via Cairns
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Do not expect too much"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Penang. For this short one hour flight to Penang, Silkair uses the A320 in a 3x3 configuration in economy, SilkAir is the regional branch of Singapore Airlines. A snack of curry puff and a drink was served on this flight. I had the exit row so the leg room was generous. There is no inflight entertainment. You have to download the Silkair Studio app and stream videos and music on your mobile device. So remember to bring along your earphones if you want to use the IFE. Do not expect too much on short regional flights on SilkAir and you will not be disappointed.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Penang
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"the worst business class seat"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Chengdu to Singapore. Absolutely the worst business class seat I have experienced. The width of the 2x2 first 3 rows is acceptable, but the legroom is absolutely appalling - less even than I would expect in a normal premium economy seat. Plus limited recline, circa 30 degrees from vertical, upon which when the person in the seat in front of you is reclined you have even less space to maneuver in and out and are pretty much forced to recline yourself to retain a semblance of spacing. Added to which the seat controls for recline, footrest, lumber massage are really stiff mechanical levers. For a brand new plane absolutely abysmal! There is no in flight entertainment in the seat backs. In business one is issued with an iPad which can stream movies etc. through the Silk Air WiFi. This does not support Internet connectivity, only the IFE. If you want to use your own device you need to have previously installed the Silk Air app from the app store - something nobody tells you before you board. In the cramped seat space there is very little place to put the iPad, even on the little plastic prop available on request, so one ends up holding it whilst also trying to juggle a meal or whatever. No noise cancelling headphones, just cheap in-ear buds, so I plugged my own noise cancellers in to the iPad. No capability to connect via Bluetooth of course. I found it impossible to doze on the 4.5 hours midnight flight so tried to pass the time with the limited selection of English language films on the iPad. Literally the only redeeming feature of the whole miserable experience was the cabin crew who try their best to give high quality and attentive service. I feel sorry for them having to pretend that they represent a proper business class operation, which this manifestly is not.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteChengdu to Singapore
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"an incredible disappointment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Cairns. Best descent and landing, however this does not detract from awful experience. 6 hours with no inflight entertainment, cramped seating, appalling food and limited access to facilities which when needed where very unhygienic and unpleasant to use. It was an incredible disappointment having booked with Singapore Airlines to ensure a quality flight from the UK - this truly spoilt it. I would advise folks to avoid this route
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Cairns
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"ride was uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. The boarding time stated was 1.30pm but after accumulating nearly a full plane load of passengers in the queue, a change of gate was announced at 1.50pm. We boarded late, which ended up in a late departure. On board, the seats were acceptable with good recline. However, we were on board with a huge group of Chinese tourists, they reclined seats before take off, get up to go to the toilets whilst the plane is taking off, stood up and got their bags before the plane stopped. Cabin crew tried their best to control the mayhem but simply gave up towards the end of the ride. The ride was uncomfortable and felt dangerous due to safety violations of passengers. Although many things are out of SilkAir’s control, I think it would be good if SilkAir gives proper training to the air stewardesses who make announcements. We can never really understand what they are saying because they either fake an American accent but do it so badly that their words are all jumbled up and unclear.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"was not really comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. Boeing 737s are always a bad plane to board, so this wasn’t comfortable but this is the same for every 737 flight. Boarding was very strange. We were asked taken to board via bus - but oh my, how we were packed in. Flight was not really comfortable as the plane did not cool down enough. Drink service only - coffee, tea, juice or water. Good that it is such a short flight though.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"SilkAir is really very ordinary"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Cochin to Singapore. The positive is that we left and arrived in good time. However the price does not justify what you actually get. Premium price, very old plane with no personal screens. Note you can download their app to watch a variety. The food was dreadful. Served at something like midnight, I opened the foil and recoiled. It was that bad. Fortunately I kept dropping off to sleep which helped the flight pass faster. Overall if I was choosing this route in future I would just go with the cheapest option as SilkAir is really very ordinary.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCochin to Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It delays all the time"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. Terrible. It delays all the time as normal LCCs do. They tend to being a little better than the other LCC but it has nothing different. No one apologize for the inconvenience caused by the flight. I don't know why I should take this LCC though I purchase ticket from Singapore Airline all the time. There is significant difference between the two brand and it causes obvious minus for the customers paid premium. Please don't use the poor option because of cheap cost.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no