SilkAir

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 202 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"an incredible disappointment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Cairns. Best descent and landing, however this does not detract from awful experience. 6 hours with no inflight entertainment, cramped seating, appalling food and limited access to facilities which when needed where very unhygienic and unpleasant to use. It was an incredible disappointment having booked with Singapore Airlines to ensure a quality flight from the UK - this truly spoilt it. I would advise folks to avoid this route
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Cairns
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"ride was uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. The boarding time stated was 1.30pm but after accumulating nearly a full plane load of passengers in the queue, a change of gate was announced at 1.50pm. We boarded late, which ended up in a late departure. On board, the seats were acceptable with good recline. However, we were on board with a huge group of Chinese tourists, they reclined seats before take off, get up to go to the toilets whilst the plane is taking off, stood up and got their bags before the plane stopped. Cabin crew tried their best to control the mayhem but simply gave up towards the end of the ride. The ride was uncomfortable and felt dangerous due to safety violations of passengers. Although many things are out of SilkAir’s control, I think it would be good if SilkAir gives proper training to the air stewardesses who make announcements. We can never really understand what they are saying because they either fake an American accent but do it so badly that their words are all jumbled up and unclear.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"was not really comfortable"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Kuala Lumpur. Boeing 737s are always a bad plane to board, so this wasn’t comfortable but this is the same for every 737 flight. Boarding was very strange. We were asked taken to board via bus - but oh my, how we were packed in. Flight was not really comfortable as the plane did not cool down enough. Drink service only - coffee, tea, juice or water. Good that it is such a short flight though.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"SilkAir is really very ordinary"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Cochin to Singapore. The positive is that we left and arrived in good time. However the price does not justify what you actually get. Premium price, very old plane with no personal screens. Note you can download their app to watch a variety. The food was dreadful. Served at something like midnight, I opened the foil and recoiled. It was that bad. Fortunately I kept dropping off to sleep which helped the flight pass faster. Overall if I was choosing this route in future I would just go with the cheapest option as SilkAir is really very ordinary.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCochin to Singapore
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It delays all the time"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. Terrible. It delays all the time as normal LCCs do. They tend to being a little better than the other LCC but it has nothing different. No one apologize for the inconvenience caused by the flight. I don't know why I should take this LCC though I purchase ticket from Singapore Airline all the time. There is significant difference between the two brand and it causes obvious minus for the customers paid premium. Please don't use the poor option because of cheap cost.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"customer service is the worst"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Manado to Singapore with SilkAir in October 2018. Singapore Airlines may be the best airline in the world but its customer service is surely the worst! I called the customer service on 2 different occasions. In both occasions, it was not long until a representative picked up the call, but soon after I shared my enquiries, I was asked to wait for unreasonably long. And while waiting, I was put on hold. In the first occasion, I was put on hold for 46 minutes. Today, I was put on hold for 22 minutes when the whole call was 27 minutes! I wonder what took them so long to find my reservation. Lesson: Never ever call the SIA Customer Service. You may have saved some time by going to their office instead. I have done it a few times. The SIA office is far more efficient than the customer service line.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManado to Singapore
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"in need of a re-branding"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | SilkAir is a subsidiary of Singapore Airlines. It recently started a 4-weekly service to Busan, South Korea. The outbound flight is a red eye flight which arrived early the next morning. As it was a late night flight, only drinks and snacks were served after take off. A simple breakfast was served before arriving into Busan. There is no personal inflight entertainment system on the B737-800. Instead, passengers have to stream movies and music over their personal devices via the SilkAir Studio app. The problem is that if you do not have earphones, you won’t be able to listen to the soundtrack. There is an overhead TV screen showing Korean comedy series. Nobody was paying attention to the TV as most passengers were asleep. I was seated in the exit row so the leg space was generous. However, the same cannot be said of the other rows. Being a service to Korea, there was a Korean flight attendant among the 4 serving the economy cabin. They were pleasant and efficient but somehow lacked the finesse of their counterparts in Singapore Airlines. SilkAir will be absorbed into its parent company Singapore Airlines in due course. It is in need of a re-branding and overhaul to its cabin product.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Busan
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"suitcase delayed for one week"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I had the worst experience with SilkAir flying from Singapore to Dili-Timor. Not only my suitcase was delayed for one week, as they initially refused to take responsibility and pay any kind of expense. Silkair's representation in Dili did not contact me once with information on the location of the baggage. After more than one month of discussing this issue with costumer service, I was offered the compensation of 75 dollars as a token of apology for spending a week in Dili without suitcase on a business trip.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Dili
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"bad punctuality"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Surabaya to Singapore. Bad airline, bad punctuality, not worth the price. Silkair has always prided themselves to be able to get the passengers to the destination on time. However after multiple times of boarding their flights, paying top dollars compared to other airlines, this airline is not worth the money. Cabin is at most average. It is clean, but it is not exquisite. Service is standard. But the biggest disappointment has always that they are late.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSurabaya to Singapore
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"A very good airline"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Flew SilkAir from Penang to Singapore. A very good airline with friendly cabin crew members. Foods and drinks provided on this flight are basic but it's still quite delicious and enjoyable to eat.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePenang to Singapore
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes