Shenzhen Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"only accept Chinese credit cards"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shenzhen to London. Just got on board and asked to upgrade to business. Was told the price and agreed to pay. After 20 minutes the airline discovered they could only accept Chinese credit cards or wechat payment and international cards such as MasterCard couldn’t be used. We got kicked out of business. Very poor.
AircraftA330-330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteShenzhen to London
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never use this airline"

(Slovakia)

Trip Verified | We were supposed to fly 10/06/2019 London - Shenzen - Kuala Lumpur. They canceled our flight Shenzen - Kuala Lumpur and give us another flight, but with 15 hours delay. Nobody in Shenzen Airport speaks English! After few hours and arguing we get a hotel, no water, no food! 23/06/2019 Kuala Lumpur - Shenzen - London. They also canceled our flight from Kuala Lumpur to Shenzen just few days before departure. They offered us to fly totally different day through different city (Singapore, where we had to arrive on our own!) , which was unacceptable for us. We were willing to buy ticket from Kuala Lumpur to Shenzen by ourselves and use their flight from Shenzen to London, but they denied to check us in to this single flight. Overall, first flight - 15 hours delayed, night in hotel in really bad conditions without food and beverages, necessity to buy different flight and our expenses on calls to their useless customers service. After all we were asking for some compensation for this horrible experience and according to their manager there is no compensation. They send us refund for canceled flight which was no near the half of the price of this ticket. Never use this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kuala Lumpur via Shenzen
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"required to have China Visa"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Shenzen. Our booking this year for our annual trip to destinations in Asia involved a return flight from Maldives to Singapore, Shenzen, and finally LA. The booking did NOT give us any indication that transfer via Shenzen will require an entry visa and complete customs process, immigration control and re-checking in. Shenzen Airlines food is lousy, weird Chinese option that my wife and I did not eat. Entertainment consisted of watching tiny ceiling mounted screens which require everyone to watch the same program which was Chinese material. Business Class seats were the same ones we get for a basic flight from LA say to San Francisco, except this is a five hour flight. Then there was the surprise upon arrival that we are required to have China Visa. We had been told our luggage would go directly to LA and there had been no mention of visa requirements. This involved about a dozen people. Other than the airline person who dumped us off at passport control, nobody spoke English: from the officer who got our passports and disappeared for about 25 minutes, to the immigration office who then stamped my passport and my wife's passport with the wrong sticker (visa is a sticker with name of holder and the name on it must match information on passport's photo page data. So the entire process had to be repeated. This also involved finger printing of all digits, email, US email address and phone number. Then we had to figure out mostly on our own how to get our luggage back, and take it to check in. After check in, we crawled our way to security check in which had a large line. They discovered via electronic transmission from check in area to security screening that there were batteries on our luggage and required us a stop by the inspection area. We had to wait for retrieval of our luggage and someone to inspect it, and that too took about half an hour. The few words they were able to tell us in response to my visible anger was - Sir, you have battery! Battery problem! We dive, we have lighting gear for dives and photography that are too heavy to add to carry on. So they had us empty our luggage to inspect the batteries. By the time we went through a second screening, I was so livid I was yelling at everyone at security. When we were done, we had wasted our 3 hours layover. By then I was so heated and sweaty, the only thing I wanted was to get a shower before our 12 hour flight to LA. Get this I was able to do it because flight was delayed by a.5 hours! So we used our additional time to shower at the business class lounge. Shenzen Airlines lounge had no showers, and the Priority Pass lounge near it had no towels. I showered there and dried myself up with my own polo shirt!
AircraftBoeing 739
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSingapore to Shenzen
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"caused me to lose tickets"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I bought return tickets London to Jakarta via Shenzhen. My trip from London to Jakarta in March was alright, yet I could not make it back. Shenzhen Airlines unprofessional gestures have caused me to lose the return flight. I tried to call and e-mail them to resolve the problem, but they never answered. It started with their flight cancellation on the 5th May from Jakarta to Shenzhen. After much hustles and hours waiting at the airport, the airline (through the Travel Agency) confirmed to transfer me with SC for Jakarta - Shenzhen flight on the 8th May, to continue with SA to London on the same day. I came to the airport in Jakarta on the 8th May for my flights, only for getting rejected to board by SC check-in crew because I don’t have Chinese transit visa, although I have valid UK Visa. I didn’t know that I needed it because according to my previous experience flying from London to Jakarta transferring in Shenzhen, the immigration could give me, Indonesian passport holder, a 24hr entry permit without problem. The officers threatened me that if I would’ve not been allowed to enter Shenzhen without visa by the Chinese immigration, I had to be repatriated and buy my own ticket back to Jakarta. In short, I missed the flight to Shenzhen for this. The next day I called the Chinese Embassy, they said that Indonesian passport holder may enter Shenzhen for 24hr free. I tried to call Shenzhen Airlines to confirm about the correct policy and ask about their procedure in this case, but they never answered my phone or e-mail. Shenzhen Airlines final words to me was given through travel agency, saying that they cancelled my flights for no show and couldn’t change or refund it. I think it was an unprofessional gesture from SA since it wasn’t my fault to miss the flight. They made a mistake by cancelling their own flights at first place, passed me to an airlines that demanded me a transit visa to fly with them, yet Shenzhen Airlines never instructed it clearly to me, or opened their communication line with the client in trouble. This visa requirement unclear information has caused me to lose tickets, which remains unclear to me up to now. It was such a horrible and traumatising flying experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Jakarta via Shenzhen
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Staff can’t speak English"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I never fly with them before, so the only reason I was book with was the open tickets of going back to London. The worst experience in my life. The flight was 9:10pm and it was cancelled at midnight they put on the screen that it is cancelled. No communication, no customer service, no offers food and drink from 11/04/2019 at 9:10pm till the next yesterday we on the new flight on 12/04/2019 at 9am. Staff can’t speak English, shouting at Customers. The connection flight from Shenzhen airport, you will need to go out and back in to get your connection flight. So if you buy stuff in duty-free And put in your luggage and you go over 3kg it cost you €52 for 3 kg even them cancel your flight. I will never fly again with Shenzhen airlines.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Phnom Penh via Shenzhen
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Bangkok via Shenzhen. Pretty much the worst experience I had on a plane. Staff where highly incompetent, flight attendants where unprepared, the seats were extra small, on-board entertainment was a joke, I mean, there where only 4 movies and all Chinese. Try to avoid.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Shenzhen
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"return flight was terrible"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | London to Shenzhen. Normally travel to Shenzhen via Hong Kong and was delighted to see this direct route to Shenzhen but unfortunately the return flight was terrible, food terrible, no in flight entertainment, cabin crew English not good enough, first class seating terrible. My thoughts are that Shenzhen airlines are just picking off the local traffic from Hong Kong, if they want to serve the western countries they need to prepare better. Would not recommend this service to anyone, back to Emirates who hold the mark for top class service.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Shenzhen
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the worst Asian airline"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Hanoi to Shenzhen. This is the worst Asian airline that I have ever flown with. The check-in personnel had almost no English skills. I was charged 75 USD for three kilograms of excess baggage and charged the same amount a second time as I transferred from Shenzhen to Hanoi. No apology or explanation was offered about why I needed to check my baggage out and then in again between the two legs of the journey, even though it was the same airline. We sat on the ground and listened to repetitious safety announcements made by a recording of a pathetic English translator. The scrap of food that was offered was abominable (a cold hot dog on a white bun smothered with ketchup). I would never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHanoi to Shenzhen via Quanzhou
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"it was delayed for hours"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Shenzhen. 40 blankets for 120 seats. Get it together. It’s not that difficult to manufacture some blankets. Hair on the seats and dirty windows. On my way to Thailand from Shenzhen, it was delayed for hours and everyone expected that. It’s a sad thing when your airline is known, and expected, to be awful.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Shenzhen
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"smooth and pleasant"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Xian to Xiamen in November 2017. Check in at Xian was hassle free. A320 without personal IFE. A drop down LED monitor is fitted on every subsequent 3 rows. The quality of the flight catering is similar to some other airlines in China, taste is average but the portion was sufficient. To conclude, the flight journey was a smooth and pleasant one.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteXian to Xiamen
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 40 Reviews