Rwandair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 76 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"impressed by the consistency"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Third time using Rwandair business class to Kigali in the last 5 years and I am quite impressed by the consistency and professionalism of the airline. Recently, I had to deal with the customer service department and was even more impressed by their professionalism : emails answered promptly and perceived issues explained and dealt with efficiently. Nice to see an African airline punching above its weight in this business.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kigali via Brussels
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"FA’s are very friendly and caring"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Flew Doha to Lusaka via Kigali 10-11 Sept. 2022 on two different Boeing 737 versions. This, in conjunction with QR from Bangkok. Qatar Airwaysis new partner of Rwandair and it functions despite some hiccups on ticketing, pricing, FFP. Partnership with Qatar Airways is incomplete and unclear: e.g. issued tickets are only partly compatible and manageable on both airlines. Both flights on time. Very noisy aircrafts, very limited IFE. Food very good, as always. Special meal delivered to perfection. Additional meals were offered and I tested them as also being good, and well cooked. FA’s are very friendly and caring, all stunning elegant, more than 6 feet tall, well rested, humorous, and confident. Transfer in Kigali smooth, was granted access to Pearl lounge after a short discussion (de facto, its not clear whether a QR gold card should give you access as most QR-frills do not apply for their partners like smaller, non-OneWorld airlines. Luggage: no issues. Flights on time. IFE poor but present. Manage to change FFP from Qatars’ Priv. Club to Rwandairs’ Dream-Miles at the gate in Doha to maximise earnings on both programs. The airlines’ frequent flyer programs are reciprocal only within limitations, thus I had to split the Mileage earnings to 2 programs according to sectors.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDoha to Lusaka via Kigali
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



16th September 2022 : Rwandair response

Hello Mr. Pedersen, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback, rest assured your feedback has been shared with the customer experience department for improvements on IFE. We look forward to welcoming you onboard again soon.

1/10

"checked baggage did not arrive"

(Rwanda)

Trip Verified | Worst flying experience I have had. Hand luggage was weighed prior to boarding, and a lot of hand luggage was checked-in right before boarding. There was no air conditioning in the flight until 30 minutes after take-off. Even after that the entire flight was very warm. No COVID protocol was followed on board with most passengers wearing masks under their noses and some not wearing one at all. Our checked baggage did not arrive in Kigali. Waited for 3 hours to enter the airport and collect my luggage when the next flight arrived 2 days later, and missed work because of this. Never flying with RwandAir again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Kigali
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just throw the extra weight to trash"

(United States)

Not Verified | I was flying from Dubai to Gabon and my boyfriend and I had one carryon bag each. Once we got to the departing time at the gate, they begin to weight everybody carryons bag and asked people to pay for the extra weight. They told my boyfriend and I we have 5kg extra each and we need to pay $500 for it. At the cashier we gave them our credit card to pay and the refused saying they only take cash. We didn’t have cash so they asked us to just throw the extra weight to trash if we want to fly. We were in one of the most developed city in the world and we couldn’t use our credit card. We even ask them if they can keep our bags so we can pay cash for it once we get to Gabon because we couldn’t find cash right now at the airport we already spent our daily cash withdrawals limit. They refused all our proposals and asked us to pay cash or trash our staff. At the end they were about to close the gate and we had no choice but the leave our bags there and take the flight. Once we got to Kigali we asked to speak to an agent and he said they don’t deal with issues regarding Dubai and there is nothing they can do about it. Same thing in Libreville.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Libreville
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"It was such a horrible experience"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Nairobi to Kigali, then Kigali to Dubai. First of all the Flight from Nairobi to Kigali (WB 403) arrived 30 minutes late. At the Nairobi first check in counter, nobody informed me about filling up a Covid passenger locator form online which was request at the second check in counter. Upon boarding the flight it was so uncomfortable journey. Cabin crews served snacks and drinks but not even a wet wipe was provided to passengers despite the whole world facing a pandemic. Upon arriving at Kigali to connect my flight to Dubai (WB 304) I found all passengers having boarded and the flight was almost departing, an inconvenience that was caused by delayed flight from Nairobi to Kigali but was not communicated to the flight to Dubai and no one apologized for the inconveniences. It was such a horrible experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Kigali via Dubai
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"you will be utterly disappointed"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I have the utmost disappointment, anger and frustration over the service of Rwandair. I flew from South Africa on 23rd December 2020 to Tanzania. I arrived at the airport for check in 3 hours prior to flight departure and checked in successfully. Upon arrival at Kilimanjaro, Tanzania i was informed that my luggage had not arrived and was left in South Africa and that i should find a way to go back to the airport the next day at night at 20h00 to collect my bag. The first problem with this is that they said the system was showing that i had checked in only one piece of luggage whereas i had checked in 2 pieces. On 24th i called to confirm before heading to the airport and was told that they located both bags but one of my bagts was sent to Nigeria and the other was in South Africa. Everyday they say my bags will be sent to my final destination on the next day but this does not happen. Neither do the staff seem to care about rectifying their negligence. It is the 27th tomorrow and i still have not received my bags, i had to cancel Christmas plans and spend Christmas without my belongings or presents for family and friends. I would urge anyone not to use this airline if you have any choice whatsoever, you will be utterly disappointed! Even the inflight movie sound could not play properly, it kept on breaking up and then switching from English to French sentence after the other.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Kilimanjaro via Kigali
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Cabin crew polite and efficient"

(Rwanda)

Trip Verified | Flew Kigali to Dar es Salaam (on 8th November 2020) and back a week later. Convenient flying times (mid-day out, and afternoon home). Both flights were on the same aircraft, a De Havilland DHC-8, called “Dash 8”. This is a propeller, which is small (80 seats?) and noisy. Not many passengers on the outbound, but full on homebound. Cheap, promotional ticket (250 USD) with generous luggage allowance, 2 x 23 kg plus handluggage. Both flights on time. Free seat selection at check-in. Special seafood meal accommodated both ways and extra food provided on request. Check-in smooth and Cabin crew polite and efficient. A short stop in Kilimajaro airport on the way back went smooth. The Covid tests requirements (both ends, and again on arrival Kigali, total 3 tests!) are a nightmare and costly (150 USD); further comes 1-day quarantine at arrival in Rwanda, but one cannot fault the airline for this.
AircraftDash 8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Dar es Salaam
Date FlownNovember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"waste of time and money"

(Zimbabwe)

Not Verified | Horrible customer service. Rwandair cancelled my return flight from Harare to Kigali due to the Covid-19 pandemic. When I contacted them to figure out next steps the only option they gave me was that they would reroute my ticket to a departure point that they are still flying from so I can connect to my final destination. Essentially, I have to buy another ticket on another airline to fly from Harare (to Nairobi for example), and then use the Rwandair ticket to fly from Nairobi to Kigali. Absolutely ridiculous! When I asked for a voucher or a refund they told me that their system is frozen. I try sending following up emails and they were ignored. Don't fly this airline if you can avoid it. Absolute waste of time and money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Harare
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I was the loser"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Rwandair Business CAN-MUM-KGL-LUN-JNB return in February 2020. Flight cancelled due to Rwandan Government’s Decision to suspend flights from China. They corresponded slowly and offered rebooking with ET which was risky and was 2 days later leaving me in China. I suggested much better alternative with Thai and Kenya Airways which would fit me perfectly. After some days of discussion they agreed and I rearranged positioning flights. Less than 24 hours before departure they declined to pursue their own, new rebooking due to “ticket stock issues” (= no interline agreement with KQ). I then had to purchase a last Minute ticket myself on the suggested routing (confirmed by Rwandair-China in-country manager). They now refuse to refund that ticket which costed me 1750 USD. Small airlines cannot cope well with serious issues. They suggest to refund the original ticket which I cannot accept as it would leave me stranded in Africa. Original ticket bought 5 months earlier as [promotional business] and I intended not to forsake it. We were still negotiating in Kigali and I filed a case to pursue refund relentlessly. It was a tug of war. Eventually they just refunded the ticket but I was the loser as I had to buy new tickets in last moment for thrice the price of the ticket they suspended.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGuangzhou to Johannesburg via Kigali / Lusaka
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"kind, attentive and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Kigali to London. Comfortable, quiet cabin with loads of room and a long lie-flat bed. Crew were kind, attentive and friendly throughout flight. Easily the best way to get to Rwanda from UK. What a refreshing change to see smiles and laughter in the galley! I recommend for a genuine and lovely Rwandan welcome.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteKigali to London
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 76 Reviews