Rwandair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 66 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"never fly with Rwandair"

(Zambia)

Not Verified | This was our first time flying Rwandair and had chosen the airline due to a combination of directness of flight and price for the Lusaka - Tel Aviv route. Booking went well. Then on Thursday 8 January, the day of the flight, we received word 4 hours before our flight when our bags were packed and we were preparing to be at the airport 3 hours early that the second leg of our flight was canceled. The customer service rep explained they could put us on another flight on Friday 9 January arriving later Saturday 10 January. I explained that this was not possible as we had to be in Tel Aviv by 9 January as we were booked into a hotel with our tour starting early 10 January. Obviously this next hour was stressful but the Rep was able to find a flight using Turkish Airlines flights TK606 Kigali to Istanbul and TK786 Istanbul to Tel Aviv that would get us to Tel Aviv later on Friday 9 January. We were relieved and thankful for the kindness and hard work shown by Rwandair's Rep in making our tour possible. Upon arriving at Kenneth Kaunda Airport everything seemed to be going well until we entered the boarding area, only to find out the flight, WB107, was delayed. We were told the flight was delayed by 1 hour, then the 1 hour delay became 2 hours and then 2 became over 3 hours. Frustrated and tired we finally left Lusaka. This delay put pressure on us to make our connecting flight out of Kigali. Fortunately Kigali airport staff were able to rush us through security and we made our connecting flight after running through security. We were exhausted and stressed by all the problems but thankful to arrive in Tel Aviv in time to enjoy our tour. But things were to be even worse on our return flight. We were to leave Ben Gurion airport on Rwandair WB503 at 00:01 Friday 24 January. Again this flight was delayed by 1 hour. But given what had happened when flying with Rwandair to Tel Aviv on 8 January we were not surprised. We also knew that we had a 4 hour window between flights. We arrived in Kigali and were prepared to leave on flight WB106 at 10:10. As we waited in the boarding area it became apparent that we would be delayed again! This meant that except for our connection through Turkish Airlines every Rwandair flight going to Tel Aviv and coming home was delayed. Communication in Kigali was not good. Initially we were told not to worry as the delay would be 1 hour. But after much miscommunications and frustration our flight was canceled. Some passengers were angry and others crying. Finally we were told the aircraft was grounded due to technical difficulties and we were rescheduled to fly out on WB112 at 23:10. We were thankful that Rwandair decided to calm things by sending us to a hotel so we could rest, freshen up and have supper. But we couldn't believe that even after all this our last flight was delayed by about 1 hour. We fly Toronto to Lusaka four times each year. We have done this for the last 8 years. We have flown many different airlines with only 1 incidence of a delay. But our experience with Rwandair has taught us a this lesson - never fly with Rwandair as you will never know if they will be able to keep their commitment to get you to your destination in a timely manner. I want to be clear - We had no issues with the on flight service and would recommend Rwandair in this regard. But being able to keep time and deliver passengers to their intended destinations on time is of first importance.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLusaka to Tel Aviv via Kigali
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"first and last experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nairobi to Kinshasa via Kigali. This was my first and last experience. The plane seems consistently late for boarding. 30% of passengers had to file a baggage claim and over 50 bags sent on our flight were left unclaimed. They were for previous passengers. T Still awaiting my bag 3 days later!
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Kinshasa via Kigali
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Very disappointing experience"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Lagos via Kigali. My first time flying with Rwandair was a worst experience ever that l received from any airline. On the 21 December 2019 the aircraft had to leave at 3am we ended up leaving OR Tambo airport in JHB at 6:30am. Delays do happen but what was so disappointing not even an sms was sent to notify us about the delay. What was worst as you check in nobody tells you about the delay, as soon as they finished checking us in we were told there was a 3 hour delay. Would it has been more professional if we were told before check in.Besides me and my 2 kids l had another 7 family members on board that l convinced that lets try Rwandair for the first time. Finally we left, as we were collecting out luggage in Lagos some of our luggage was left in JHB, l was on my way to Benin City which costed me to come back the following day for my luggage, all they say we are sorry about the delay. We stayed like fools at OR Tambo. We pay for our fares we need to be treated with dignity and respect. When we finally got to Kigali we were rushed with the announcement this is the final call for Lagos passengers, they could have made arrangements with customs that we go through first because they knew about the delay way early. The immigration slips were not even supplied during flight from OR Tambo we wasted more time completing that upon arrival in Kigali. Very disappointing experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Lagos via Kigali
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Horrible flight experience"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Kigali to Nairobi. Horrible flight experience. The flight was delayed in JHB and then on arriving at Kigali, we had to wait for another 4hrs. Sad that no one seemed to care about the customers. We had kids and nothing at the airport is kids friendly. On arrival to Nairobi, the flight supervisor was so mean to my wife while trying to help our infant. Really disappointed as flying via Rwandair was my favorite route. Now am dreading my return flight to JHB via Kigali again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Nairobi
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Worst ever flight"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Tel Aviv via Kigali. Worst ever flight - first and last time with Rwanda air. Delays of 2- 6 hours unexplained. No customer care at that delay time. Broke luggage - thoroughly broken and missing parts. Old plane, broken seat,no entertainment beside a Pakistani movie in a loop. Food is an Insult for airline food. Staff is friendly but need lots of training. Never again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Tel Aviv via Kigali
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This airline is sickening"

(Kenya)

Trip Verified | Nairobi to Accra via Kigali. True to the word cheap is expensive. First of all they lost a wedding gift and hence causing a great inconvenience to my plans. This is after crew at Kigali insisted that it had to go to the luggage cabin, Kigali to Accra, yet we had carried it perfectly fine as hand luggage from Nairobi. Second, someone broke into my suitcase damaging it and if that is not enough you have the audacity to attach a security check ticket. They broke my designer perfume, begs the question whether the check was based on security purposes or pure malice. This airline is sickening and the last time I’m using it. Totally disappointed client.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Accra via Kigali
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"don't use this airline"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Douala via Kigali. I regret ever flying with them. I booked to travel and something came up and I have to cancel my trip. They said they can pay me back but I can open the ticket and use it in future which I did. Now I want to use it they are asking for more money more than the total money I paid before. My advice to people out there is this don't use this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Douala via Kigali
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Horrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Kinshasa via Kigali. More than 2 hours late with hard to explain poor customer service. We have been lied to multiple times about our departure. Our bags were intentionally left in Kigali and the number provided for lost property is not answering. We found other people’s bags on the floor at the airport in Kinshasa. I have to admit that RwandAir is a company that I won’t ever fly unless it is the only company. Horrible experience
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Kinshasa via Kigali
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"awful and disappointing"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Nairobi via Kigali. What an awful and disappointing thing it was my first time to travel with Rwandair from Dubai to Kenya I arrived and I was looking and waiting my luggage for more than 3 hours and even after waiting it was all in vain. I called the main office and the gentleman who picked my calls had the guts to say there is no way he can help me I called several times and different people all they could do its to refer me to others and those that were also referred to me dint help it's so annoying I used a lot of my phone balance and dint receive any updates I also wrote an email and it ended up unreplied I have been trying to call the office even today morning but it seems something happened in between my flight and I would really have appreciated if someone could have told me am not allowed to carry any baggage rather than buying my things and they checked them in and they dint send them with me questions are what kind of services do you offer if the company cannot take the issues of their clients seriously right now I have missed a lot of things I was supposed to be doin . Before I forget thanks to cabin crews all the way from Dubai they were so nice and kind so all the good things I had seen was spoiled at the last minute. I wish I knew I shouldn't have spent my money buying items which was not delivered due to carelessness of the company. I would really have appreciated if you could have informed everyone on board that they wont get there luggage
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Nairobi via Kigali
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"my ticket was changed multiple time"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Johannesburg with Rwandair. I had the longest flight ever, my ticket was changed multiple times, the ticket itself did not say we stopped in Lushaka as well. My luggage was lost with presents in for my family and have not heard anything about retrieval.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Johannesburg
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews