Rwandair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 57 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"my ticket was changed multiple time"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Johannesburg with Rwandair. I had the longest flight ever, my ticket was changed multiple times, the ticket itself did not say we stopped in Lushaka as well. My luggage was lost with presents in for my family and have not heard anything about retrieval.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Johannesburg
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"suitcases had been broken"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Hubby and I travelled via Rwandair for the first time from Johannesburg to Lagos via Kigali, upon arriving at Lagos, discovered our suitcases had been broken with all our valuables stolen. Made complains but no positive response yet.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Kigali
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"did not have vegetarian meals for us"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Three of us booked with RwandAir from Johannesburg to Brussels via Kigali. We pre-booked vegetarian meals and received confirmation from the airline that our meals were booked, but they did not have vegetarian meals for us on either flight. When we arrived in Brussels, four out of our five checked bags were missing, and there was delay and confusion with getting our fragile/oversized item. We were also informed that RwandAir does not deliver our bags to us, which is absolutely unacceptable as the negligence was on their part, yet we are expected to travel back from Leuven to Brussels to collect our bags. As an international student relocating to Belgium for studies, the contents of our luggage are all vital for relocation and relocating without them (even temporary while waiting for the bags to be found) is extremely difficult and expensive.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Brussels via Kigali
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Airline appears to be fairly professional"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Flew KGL-NBO on 14/6-19 on a well maintained B737-700. The ticket was reissued by Kenya Airways several weeks in advance due to a cancelled flight further ahead in my itinerary. They changed the flight to WB for smoother connection. Unfortunately, this night-flight (departing 1 min. after midnight) had an annoying stop-over in BJM at 1:30 a.m. where one has remain on the plane. The stop was suddenly changed to be in in EBB instead of BJM at the time of check-in. This happened without any reasoning or clear information. It extends the duration by 2-3 hours and deprived me of any decent sleep. This is not professional and can have implications for a number of passengers. Check-In online worked out. Thus, I entered airport and accessed the transit easily. Onboard, drinks offered inc. acceptable wines. Fabricated, useless snack provided on 1st leg while on 2nd leg a cold sandwich was given. Seafood meal (sandwich) requested and given. Flight on time. FAs were plenty and kind and caring. Airline appears to be fairly professional but could need more internationally exposed FAs. No IFE. Granted mileage for their FFP program, Dream Miles. Codeshare with KQ for onward travel.
AircraftBoeing 737-700
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Nairobi via Entebbe
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"my luggage was misplaced"

(India)

Not Verified | The food quality is not good enough. Seat inside aircraft with no comfort. I arrived with no luggage, my luggage was misplaced by the crew and they told me that we will deliver it after 2-3 days - if i need it urgent then I need to collect with no compensation by company, which lead to very disappointing situation. This will be my last travel with Rwandair.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Kigali via Entebbe
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Simply a horrific experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Rwandair cancelled and rescheduled our flights multiple times and did not reissue our tickets - which made it difficult for operating carrier (ET) to find us in the system and check us in. After RW assured us that they have fixed our tickets, they again made changes to our returning flight from Kigali to Addis without informing us. We purchased a direct flight from Kigali to Addis departing at 16:20 and without informing us prior, they changed the flight to 15:15 (one hour earlier) with a stop in Bujumbura. When we arrived at the Kigali airport, Rwanda airline representatives were not transparent with us about the stop in Bujumbura and the change of the flight times. When we wanted to receive some answers about the flight time changes and the sudden stop in Bujumbura the airport staff became rude and tried blaming us for this situation (this discussion took place at 15:09 - and they seriously wanted us to proceed through security and immigration) when the departure time was 15:15. When I asked them if the aircraft is still there and if it will wait for us, they did not give me an answer. Hence we were not able to board the flight because of their failure to inform us about the flight cancellation and rescheduling - incredibly enough they did not want to take responsibility and in all seriousness told us that we had to purchase a new ticket for $900 per person! After holding us at the airport for 9 hours without eating and drinking we spoke with airport security who finally decided that the airline was in the wrong and pressured the Rwandair staff to put us on a new flight (which was their responsibility all along). Rwanda Air is incredibly incompetent and unprofessional in providing customer support and service and have absolutely no training in how to treat their customers. Throughout our nine horrific hours at the airport, we were harassed by Rwandair staff - and called "liars who wanted to miss our flight" by the head of Customer Relations himself. They put us into an incredibly bad situation and took no responsibility until they were forced to by airport security. In addition they lost our luggage (it never left Mumbai and it is nowhere to be found), which still has not arrived in Addis. Do not take this airline, because you do not want to be stuck in their hands when they make mistakes and are unwilling to correct them. Simply a horrific experience.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAddis Ababa to Kigalii
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"good seat sizes and leg room"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Dar es salaam via Kigali. Plane has a good cabin configuration with good seat sizes and leg room in economy. Configuration at the rear of aircraft allows a large number of 2 seat, allowing easy/more access. Boarding at LGW was quick and easy. Cabin staff are efficient and happilyarrange passengers with infants and mobility to be in better seats/near bathrooms. Meals were very good, surprisingly, as the presentation was not great, it was a very bland looking tray when it arrived, but the food was very tasty, basic, in my case Salad, Chick curry and a chocolate sponge. On arrival at Kigali I was informed of a 6 hour delay to my connecting flight to Dar es Salaam, these are the moments that test airlines, how do they deal with this. In the same breath and informing me of the delay, I was informed we have a shuttle bus waiting downstairs to take you to a local 4* star hotel. Escorted to Immigration, front of que, a 10 second stamp of passport, to be whisked to the Hotel in 25 minutes to have a welcome juice/water, room keys and the wi-fi code. The room was a suite, toiletries and a note of what time lunch will be and pick up time back to the airport. Refreshed and fed, back 6 hours later, to have an uneventful connection to Dar es Salaam. Once again a bland looking lunch served on the plane, but again, it was very tasty, full of flavours. Kigali Airport, small, but works efficiently, the most armed Police I ever seen inside and surrounding an airport, but everything moves at a steady pace despite the numerous rigorous security checks.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to Dar es salaam via Kigali
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"excellent services"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | Entebbe to Dubai via Kigali. With great pleasure, I want to thank Rwandair for their excellent services. While I was on a flight from Kigali to Dubai, I started feeling nauseated and having a stomach upset at the same time feeling weak. A member of staff was called to see what could have been wrong with me. She made me green tea mixed with lemon that helped within a couple of minutes. Putting that aside, the way she handled me and extended great concern seeing the condition I was in, only this was mind-blowing. She kept checking on me from time to time and made sure I was fine. Even when we landed in Dubai she made sure to ask if I was feeling ok.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEntebbe to Dubai via Kigali
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"my first choice of carrier"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to Kigali. The best way to get around Africa due to the young fleet of planes that is well maintained. Exceptional staff. Rwandair is always my first choice of carrier. Kigali is my favorite stopover city as well. I am glad they will be expanding with flights to New York soon.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteGatwick to Kigali
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"our baggage has not arrived"

(India)

Trip Verified | Mumbai to Kigali via Dar es Salaam. The staff service was good and the flight in good condition, that's the only good part. When we landed in Dar es salaam we came to know that our baggage has not arrived and we would have to wait longer. Not only that non of the passengers who were traveling with us from Mumbai received theirs. On further enquiry came to know that they have failed to board the luggage of all the passengers traveling from Mumbai. Really disappointed. It's been a day and since not got any information regarding the same. Will never travel with Rwandair nor would I recommend this flight to anyone. Customer service and communication pathetic.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMumbai to Kigali via Dar es Salaam
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 57 Reviews