Rwandair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 111 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"staff in the airports are horrible"

(France)

Trip Verified | Fly at your own risk. First and last time to fly with this company. Changed the hour of departure 3 times without any remorse. Hospitality at its lowest,. At Kigali, they had the nerve of changing my seat without any explanation, i decided to ask why only to be rudely replied and no answer to my question. Treated like i was flying on their expense The food part, i am short of words. Security check in Kigali left me wondering if we are criminals. Their staff in the airports are horrible. If you want value for your money try something else. Never again, wish i had read the online reviews before booking with them.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Paris
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"undervalued by most travelers"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Flew Paris to Kigali 16th May 2024. A330-200 aircraft. Check-in Paris was easy and smooth. Rwandair uses “extime lounge” in T1: a splendid 3rd party lounge above expectations. Onboard, I was recognised by staff as gold-card holder and could choose seat. Eventually, I got an entire middle row with 4 seats for myself, which was a great gift, allowing me to sleep. Got delicious special seafood meal and later I tried the chicken dish as well, which also was good. Breakfast very modest. IFE system acceptable with individual screens; headsets was provided. Flight was half full. Left on time and landed early. Luggage was prioritized and well handled. I took advantage of a generous 2 x 23 kg luggage allowance They even allowed me 50 kg without penalizing me. Frequent flier miles credited instantly upon arrival. This, despite the ticket was promotional and quite cheap. Will fly them again. The airline needs obviously airline partners/alliance for smoother luggage transfers and better recognition It is, unfairly, undervalued by most travelers. Another weakness is their very limited number of aircrafts which, in case of irregularities, could cause snowball effects and delays due to few or none replacements easily available.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Kigali
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"A short and pleasant flight"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | A short and pleasant flight at an affordable price. The boarding is smooth, but way too early prior to departure. Plane was clean; water served and on-time landing. Will fly with them again
AircraftDash 8-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Cyangugu
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"still stranded in Kigali"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The most useless airline I have ever flown. They cancelled my flight three hours before departure. No hotel accommodation was give, no info about the next available flight. Had to go back to their headquarters today and I met a an incompetent supervisor who refuses to let me talk to the manager or someone with a higher authority than him. Imagine him telling me that they are protecting me by conditioning me to wait till tomorrow and fly 18 hours or wait till Monday evening and do 15 hours back to Brussel, when other flights like KLM, Brussels Air, Turkish Air are available today. My advice to anyone, please refrain from taking Rwandair because the customers rights are not guaranteed or in any way respected. Am still stranded in Kigali. Not sure when to depart.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Brussels
Date FlownApril 2024
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

“Staff were good, attentive, polite”

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Pleasant, direct flight Kigali-Paris 4th April 2024 one of their (3?) A330-200. Ticket inexpensive, purchased on their website under promotion. However, initial ticket was not adjusted for European summer time which had just begun at the time of travel. Upon their discovery hereof, WB made schedule changes from Kigali causing a much later arrival in France. This caused made me fear losing my connection in Paris, to which I had only 55 Minutes to catch in a remote terminal. However, the Rwandair flight arrived 20 minutes early, which saved me. Dream lounge in Kigali is nice, accessed through my Dream-miles membership. However, every time I go there, budget and catering cuts are notable. Recent cuts are on hot snacks, lack of any imported soft drinks and beers, lack of alternative brewery representation (only products from Bavaria offered). Wines are undrinkable. No presence of music, no volume on TVs so the lounge is too quiet like a national museum. To watch Premier League in silence is tragic. Check-in a breeze. Had a dialogue on seating and I eventually had 4 seats to myself in row 13, as few wants that row number. Boarding quick and easy; by foot over tarmac. Catering is among the best of African airlines. Preordered seafood of high quality was given early, within 5 Minutes after seatbelt sign was switched off. Got a chance to test another type of fish meal as well, it was also delicious. Breakfast forgettable. Drinks fine, wines are surprisingly good, much better than those in their Kigali lounge. IFE was fine headsets given to all who wanted. Staff were good, attentive, polite, accommodating, and caring. The passenger is the king is never patronised unless in extreme cases. KLM staff could learn a lot here. Flight almost full, but due to my faith in row no. 13, I could stretch out across seats, and got a lot of sleep. Recommended. Miles credited instantly. A drawback for Rwandair is its isolation by not belonging to any bigger airline alliance. Partnership with Qatar Airways is weak, not reciprocal and does not access the Oneworld alliance.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Paris CDG
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



5th April 2024 : Rwandair response

Hello Mr. Pedersen, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We have forwarded your comments to the concerned department for further improvements. Thank you for choosing to fly RwandAir.

9/10

"the seat itself comfortable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | RwandAir has a curious way of boarding passengers at Kigali Airport. Business passengers are invited to board first and are transported to the aircraft on a bus fitted with comfortable seats. However, after leaving the departure lounge, they are then held back while all the other passengers board an ordinary bus before they allowed on to their bus and driven to the aircraft. I can see what they're attempting to do but the reality is that you are left standing in a corridor, in my case for about ten minutes, before going to the aircraft. The A330 was clean and the seats, in my view, an almost perfect design with all of the controls accessible, the seat itself comfortable and the bed flat enough to sleep on. We were offered champagne, orange juice or water and orders for the meal taken before departure. The meal service was done effectively and although the presentation was more premium economy the food was tasty and there was a good selection of drinks. What was remarkable was the way in which one member of cabin crew managed to serve the entire business section with nobody kept waiting. Airlines will charge higher prices because they offer improved levels of service. RwandAir business flights tend to be far lower than rivals yet this flight demonstrated a quality far greater than the more expensive options on offer on its routes. All that it needs to do is to solve the weird boarding routine which I have experienced on more than one occasion.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteKigali to London
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I was impressed by the flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Rwandair’s A330 business seats are functional with no obvious weaknesses. There was ample storage space at the side, a nice screen, well-placed sockets and switches and they all had aisle access. The best seats for single travellers are the window seats. Rwandair uses the No.1 Lounge at LHR which is nothing special and it was full to capacity although I did manage to get a seat. Boarding was efficient with business given priority. Departure was delayed for almost two hours by an unspecified technical fault but the cabin crew were happy to supply more champagne when asked. The meal service was efficient although drinks took a while to come. The food and wine choices were uninspiring. The flat bed was moderately comfortable and the cabin was kept pleasantly warm. Overall, I was impressed by the flight and given that the cost was considerably less than most other airlines it was good value for money.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Kigali
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Its very disappointing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was very disappointed, their customer care is totally not good, they delay to take away utensils after dinner, the flight to Entebbe was delayed for more than a hour, Checking in at Heathrow was horrible, I was able to pay for my extra bag, but there was a lot of their staff all over me. I am now stuck at Kigali airport for more than an hour, no update for my next flight. Its very disappointing. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Entebbe via Kigali
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"beyond appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I was scheduled to return to London, UK from Douala, Cameroon on January 05 at 1700 via Rwandair. I was flying with my wife and two young children (1 and 2 years old). We arrived at 1500 at Douala airport only to be told that the flight had been rescheduled for an earlier time and had already left. The flight was changed and no effort whatsoever was made to inform me. The staff acknowledge that we were not informed of the schedule update and apologised for the situation. We were then informed that the next available Rwandair flight to London was at 1700 on January 07. When we asked the Rwandair staff about flights leaving on 05 January via other airlines, we were initially told there were no other flights leaving on any airlines on 05 January - they were all fully booked. After speaking to Brussels airlines directly I was able to confirm that there was a flight leaving on 05 January at 2000. However, the only seats available were in business class. When this information was put to the Rwandair representative, he confirmed that there were indeed flights available with other airlines on the 05 January at higher fare classes (i.e. Business class). As my family missed our flight as a result of Rwandair oversight, I informed the representative that it was Rwandair's responsibility to rectify the situation. Even if this meant my family being upgraded to business class on the 2000 Brussels airline flight. However, the Rwandair representative was unwilling to take this course of action. They stated that they needed approval from senior management to book a a flight on another airline with a higher fare. The staff stated that as it was 1600 on a Friday, the senior management were not reachable. After lengthy discussions, they agreed to email senior management and seek approval. However, they refused to call senior management. I therefore contacted different representatives of Rwandair myself (using contact details online) to seek senior management approval. I was eventually able to speak to who I was told was the country manager. The country manager was not surprised this situation had occurred and rather than trying to rectify the situation, simply stated that the "local (Douala airport) Rwandair representatives know how to handle the situation". At the time of writing this message (2200 Jan 05) I have still not being contacted by other senior managers at Rwandair to whom I reached out. For Rwandair to refuse to rectify a situation in a convenient manner, and instead force my wife and two small children to wait two days for a new flight is beyond appalling. By flying on 07 Jan instead of 05 Jan, we will not arrive in London until the morning of January 08. This means neither my wife nor I will be able to go to work and my children will not be able to attend nursery. I await to see how Rwandair will rectify the situation and await them to contact me.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Douala via Kigali
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"excellent value for money"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Paris-Kigali 31 Dec 2023. Nightflight, on a large A330-200. In Paris, transited between two distant laying terminals took more than 1 hour, despite luggage was already inscribed. Got access to a newer “extime lounge” in Terminal 1. This is a large, pleasurable, exotic lounge with outdoor areas and delicious buffets with well-prepared, tasty, exotic food dishes. At times, these 3rd party lounges surprises positively. Flight on time, not much seat choice possible as the flight was stuffed and quite cramped: New Year was knocking on the door. Onboard, I was well pampered, drinks flowing well, and food were plenty; two hot meals was served on this 8+ hours long flight. I had preordered seafood meal which was not only accommodated, but also tasty, filling, and well-prepared. Other dishes looked also nice. IFE worked OK (small, individual screens), earplugs, pillow, and blanket given. Managed to sleep 1-2 hours. Flight on time. Disembarkation and immigration in Kigali very quick and easy. Luggage arrived as expected although it had been soaked by water on the way. Cheap, promotional ticket, excellent value for money. Miles given. Never had serious issues with this airline after 20 flights. Will I fly again? How can I refuse!
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Kigali
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes