Royal Jordanian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 252 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"do not fly with Royal Jordanian"

(Lebanon)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Beirut via Amman. Do not fly with Royal Jordanian. This company used to be good. But it is going downhill. Their delays are so frequent that it is always the same scene in Amman Queen Alia Airport: RJ employees rushing customers from connecting flights. I traveled with them back in December 2018 to Spain and returned in January 2019. The departure flight was the worst flight experience of my life. Everything bad that could have happened did happen (except for a plane crash, luckily). Our flight started in Beirut, then Amman and Madrid. Due to fog in Amman airport, the airplane was delayed and delayed and delayed. Now, a respected airline could have canceled and told the passengers go home. But RJ took off and then we were stuck in the air hovering over Amman for hours. Had they acted differently, they should have rerouted those passengers destined to far away destinations and ask those who can wait for the following day to go home and sleep. So after hovering in the air for hours, they were running out of fuel and unable to land in Amman they went to Aqaba airport. Passengers were stuck in the aircraft, it was hot and we were not offered any clear answer. The staff was in complete disarray. The passengers were nagging, children were crying and the crew could not offer any clear answer. Empty looks in their eyes revealed how clueless they were. After over 3 hours wait, the plane went to Amman. We needed a new boarding pass so we can resume our flights to our final destination and enter a new wave of utter chaos, yelling, pushing, screaming, and more for over 3 hours. For the hundreds of passengers, RJ decided to put only 2 ticketing employees to solve our woes! Needless to say what a complete chaos it was. As our flight to Madrid took off, we had to stay in so RJ offered us a night stay at their Airport hotel. Again the experience was horrible. We had to wait over an hour for the employees to take us to the hotel. By then we were just exhausted and ready to sleep. The flight to Madrid goes according to plan, luckily, although with some minor delay, after all, it's not RJ is there's no delay! We arrive in Madrid, but our luggage didn't! We talk to the crew telling them about the total lack of professionalism and so on. We report the missing luggage in the hope that they will be shipped to us. Two days later, nothing arrives even though the RJ office in Amman confirmed that the luggage was shipped the day after our arrival. We call RJ office in Amman, no one answers. So we went to the airport to see if we manage to recover our suitcases. To make the story short we had to run through two terminals (T4 and T2) to get back our suitcases. On the return flight, the flight from Amman to Beirut was delayed for 4 hours with no explanation. In summary, do not, I repeat, do not fly with Royal Jordanian, even if their tickets seem fairly priced, you will pay for it by delays, lack of professionalism by their ground crews and more.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Beirut via Amman
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Flight time changed"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Amman to Jeddah. Flight time changed without enough prior notice and the airlines kept changing the flight time many times and every time flight got delayed for 30 - 45 minutes. This is not the first time, I used to have the same with earlier flights as well.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmman to Jeddah
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"food onboard is basically sandwich"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Amman. Small seats, food onboard is basically sandwich, sandwich, sandwich topped with a bun and piece of bread. On the flight Kuala Lumpur - (Bangkok a 40 min stop without getting out) - Amman, online check in sat me in middle row, that is not changeable. On the counter was one of first after opening, changing seat not possible to any better - baggage drop is available just 3h before flight, so had to wait before immigration, and food courts - unfortunately taking into account majority of passengers traveling to and from Amman, cabin crew couldn't control the mess on board. Spend more and take something more adequate.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Amman
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"friendly cabin crew"

(Egypt)

Trip Verified | Cairo to Montreal via Amman, everything was perfect, friendly cabin crew, flights were all online, food was great, comfortable seats, highly recommended.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Montreal via Amman
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the flight was cancelled"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok. Paid for an upgrade to Crown Class. Three hours prior to departure the flight was cancelled. By this time I was already waiting in the Business Class lounge. The lounge staff very kindly arranged for me to be moved onto a Malaysia Airlines flight at the same time. I was placed in economy class and not reimbursed for the paid upgrade. I will pursue the refund with the airline, in due course. I cannot praise Malaysian Airlines more highly. They were put in a very difficult position, at short notice, by Royal Jordanian Airlines and dealt with the situation magnificently. I shall fly with Malaysian Airlines next time. I will not choose to fly with Royal Jordanian Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"attendants were not straight forward"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The staff who work for this airline are awefully rude. Our flight was delayed for 10+ hours with no further information given. We were supposed to leave from Chicago to Jordan to our final destination. Our flight got delayed for 12 hours from Chicago to Jordan. We asked multiple times for information about our next flight from Jordan to Cairo. The attendants were not straight forward to inform us that there were no flights the day we would arrive leaving us up in the air. At first, they said when we arrive to Jordan the passes to Cairo would be first come first serve. Then, informed us that we may or may not catch the morning flight. All the information provided was very confused and not straight forward. I do not accept the treatment and tone of voice used to inform the passengers. One of the attendants started making jokes and comments when my mom got furious at her way of speaking. I do not appreciate the way they treat their passengers and you must modify how to plan your flights and run on time. Unbelievable.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Cairo
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"staff lacked customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Amman. I flew from MSP to Chicago on American Airlines. The flight was on time and staff was great. My fight from Chicago to Amman, then Amman to Cairo is on Royal Jordanian Airlines. The flight from Chicago to Amman is scheduled to leave at 1:20 pm. I arrived to Chicago at 11:00 AM so I said that is a reasonable transit time. I went to the designated gate (M11) to find from people who are there that the flight is delayed to 3 pm, then 7 PM, then 8 pm although the moniters still say 1:20 pm. I did not get any communication from Royal Jordanian Airlines regarding the delay. I decided to go to their counter outside to understand what is going on and see if they can get me a hotel room or a voucher to first class lounge since the delay is so long. There was no apology from the agent and she was frustrated and overwhelmed. I addressed her with a very quite and calm tone. All she offered was $15 voucher for a meal. I asked to speak to a supervisor. He took about 15 minutes to come from his office (behind the counter). He did not offer any sympathy or apology for the inconvenience. He asked me if I am concerned about the amount they are offering. The manager / supervisor even lied to me saying that first class lounge is not taking any more people as they are full. I went by their door after my conversation with him and saw tens of people getting in. I have been flying from the US to Egypt for the past 20 years. This is my first time to fly Royal Jordanian and it will be the last. They will be wasting about 1 day out of my vacation as I will be missing my flight from Amman to Cairo and will have to wait for hours or possibly the second day. I just wanted to share my experience with Royal Jordanian Airlines as I felt that their staff lacked customer service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Amman
Date FlownDecember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"seats were a little cramped"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Check in agent was quite terrible, no hello, no smile and really slow. The boarding was pretty smooth and the cabin looked clean. The seats were a little cramped for business class and fortunately it wasn’t a longer night flight. The food was a spicy Thai style curry which was lovely. Good Chablis served and topped up without asking by a friendly FA. Overall a nice flight despite a not so nice start.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service was generally good"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flying New York to Amman means one gets access to American Airlines' excellent Flagship Lounge, which is, in my opinion, the best lounge by an American carrier (it is certainly much better than RJ's own Crown Lounge in Amman). Boarding was, however, chaotic as I had no idea when and which line business class passengers were supposed to board. Cabin service was generally good with a pleasant crew. Food were fine, and I particularly liked the way RJ served main courses on a trolley cart so I could view and picked my dish. Cabin had a 2-2-2 arrangement, so window seats did not have direct aisle access, and seat storage was limited. I had a bulkhead seat, which provided roomier footwell than others. The 787 was quiet and comfortable. RJ had its own priority immigration line for business class passengers upon arrival at Amman airport, which was a big plus.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Amman
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"lacking customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Amman. The flight attendants need training. They are rude and are not helpful at all in terms of performing their routine duties. Royal Jordanian Airlines seems to be lacking customer service.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Amman
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no