Royal Brunei Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 338 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"cabin crew very professional"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to London via Bandar Seri Begawan. The plane was elegant, the cabin crew very professional and made a long flight more pleasant. The food was great. I have to say that Royal Brunei is my favorite airline. The planes are new, Brunei airport is fairly small and easy to get around and to check in or transit, while the ground staff is polite. The inflight entertainment is very good, but there are spaces for improvement. Toilets and planes are the cleanest.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to London via Bandar Seri Begawan
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"demanded bag be placed in the locker"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Manila via Brunei. Seating and food was good, as you'd expect in business class, but the real irritant was the business class steward on the final sector who demanded my shoulder bag be removed and placed in the locker. To be clear this was a small bag, secured around my neck with strap and hanging on the opposite side, so extremely well anchored to me and not by any definition was it a loose article. But you know how it goes when it turns officious.... she told me that it was a loose article yet the pillow and blanket packages in the empty cabin seats were ok to sit unsecured on seats. The same again for landing. You can't argue with this attitude. Disappointing attitude, completely officious and illogical and for this hassle, I wouldn't go with RB again.
AircraftA330 / A320neo
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDubai to Manila via Brunei
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



2nd October 2019 : Royal Brunei Airlines response

Dear Sean Leceister, Thank you for sharing your review. At Royal Brunei, we strive our best to ensure strict safety standards for the benefit and safety of all our guests. It has always been a procedure for our crew to ensure that handbags of all sizes are stored in the overhead compartment as a safety requirement during taxi, take off and landing. This is to avoid any safety risks/ obstacles/ impacts during an emergency. We apologise if this has been inconvenient for you or if this was not properly explained in a courteous manner at that time. We do hope to welcome you onboard with a much better experience in the future.

8/10

"lacking in cabin crew services"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Bandar Seri Begawan to Kuala Lumpur. I must admit that Royal Brunei's service is excellent. Good on time performance, aircraft using a new fleet, exciting in-flight entertainment options, efficient check-in process. But to be honest I am a little lacking in cabin crew services, several times I had to call the cabin crew to ask for additional drinking water but it takes a long time for them to respond.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBandar Seri Begawan to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



26th September 2019 : Royal Brunei Airlines response

Dear Yudha Fitriansyah, Thank you for your kind review. While we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your experience with us on ground and on board our new fleet, we would like to apologize that it took a while for our crew to expedite your request on air. Rest assured that we will always strive our best to improve the cabin experience for all our valued guests, so your feedback will be shared with our team for review. Once again, thank you for your kind recommendation. We hope to welcome you again onboard our flights in the near future. Sincerely, Amal - Guest Experience and Delivery

2/10

"IFE not working"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Brunei to Kuala Lumpur. My seat at 43A, IFE not working, shortly all aircraft doors disarmed, I ask a female cabin crew if she can reboot my IFE. Inflight Entertainment System. She said later and walk straight away. 10 minutes after airborne, i ask her again if she has already done the restart, she looked lost and said she is doing it now. another 10 minutes gone, i approached a senior cabin crew and I ask her if I can switch my seat to the front (as the back rows were full) and told her my situation with the IFE. She is very reluctant to answer me that the front first three row (which is identical size to my seat but were reserved seat options) were for paying customer only. I told her if she can do anything for my as my IFE is not working. She said she will reboot the system. few minutes later, they start the inflight meal service. Crew were very busy doing meal services, so i just not be bothering asking anyone of them again. 15 minutes before touching down, iI went to the lavatory and saw the same crew again and I told her my IFE still not working. Without hesitation, she answered I have restart the system, if the system not responding, there is nothing I can do. A very disappointed cabin services.
AircraftA320Neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrunei to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



16th September 2019 : Royal Brunei Airlines response

Dear G Chan, Thank you for posting a review and we’re sorry to hear that your experience was not of the quality you expected. We would like the opportunity to investigate your feedback further. Please feel free reach out to [email protected] with your flight details and any further comments, concerns, or suggestions you wish to share. We would love to make things right and offer you a better experience with us onboard in the near future.

8/10

"I had a great experience"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I flew to Bangkok, Thailand from Surabaya, Indonesia with this airline for the first time. In my opinion, I had a great experience. The cabin crews are very kind and helpful. The seats are comfortable and I like the design as well. The food is tasty. There is enough legroom for me. Besides, I like the inflight entertainment since the movies are updated so it's not boring at all. The aircraft is clean and smart looking. However, it would have been much better if all the aircraft of Royal Brunei Airlines are equipped with personal inflight entertainment, not just overhead TV or WiFi connection because it would be so boring and not pleasant. Basically, I would like to recommend this aircraft to my friends and I would love to fly with Royal Brunei Airline again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSurabaya to Bangkok via Bandar Seri Begawan
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



26th September 2019 : Royal Brunei Airlines response

Dear B Lee, Thank you for your time doing this wonderful review. We are delighted to know that you really enjoyed your flight with us. We love trying to offer a great experience for all our valued guests like yourself. Your review will be passed on to our cabin crew team and I am sure it will make their day. We look forward to serving you for many years to come! Sincerely, Amal (Guest Experience and Delivery)

9/10

"very happy with the service"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Melbourne to Bangkok via Brunei. I have flown twice now with Brunei business class and must say great airline and was very happy with the service and staff friendliness, terrific food as well. I also find the people of Brunei very friendly and welcoming. I am now a member of there frequent flyer program.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Bangkok via Brunei
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



26th September 2019 : Royal Brunei Airlines response

Hi Mr. Allan Paynter, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction and it sounds like we achieved that goal with you. We want every guest experience to be like yours. Our front line and catering team will be thrilled to hear your feedback. It's also so wonderful to know that you are now our loyalty member, as we look forward to serving you for many years to come! Sincerely, Amal (Guest Experience and Delivery)

5/10

"Horrific experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Melbourne via Brunei. Horrific experience. Travelling solo with a 15month old. I understand that he does not pay so doesn’t automatically get a seat. He sat on my lap for the first 15 hours. Staff offered no support with helping me with bags, to entertain him while I needed the toilet etc, they didn’t provide a meal for him, when I asked they told me I should have specially requested one. I asked for them to do this for the second leg of the trip- they didn’t. When asked if they could provide some fruit, I was told by one staff member ‘we only give it out at snack times to the adult passengers.’ The nappy change table is a weird oval shape and the babies legs hang over, setting the sensors for the tap off. It’s hard enough changing in limited space, but the nappy change table meant some creative yoga poses. The second leg the flight was half empty, my child was once again on my lap. I asked if I could move to the row in front so he could lay on the spare seat and we could both get some sleep. I was told no, that those seats you have to pay more for - they were identical to the one I was sitting on. I asked to speak to someone more senior who then agreed. There is no way i’ll be flying with Brunei again for the poor service. The airport is horrific, nothing to do. Basically no food to purchase other than chocolate and crisps. Go with someone else!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Melbourne via Brunei
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"their response was nothing short of appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Avoid this Airline at all costs for long haul flights. If you buy a ticket with this airline you only have yourself to blame when things go wrong. For the second time in 2 weeks Royal Brunei have cancelled their Brunei to London flight resulting in delays of more than 12 hours and hundreds of stranded passengers. They knew full well when we left Manilla that there was no serviceable aircraft waiting in Brunei and one was having to be flown in from Jeddah. Despite knowing they had 100 plus passengers arriving their response was nothing short of appalling. Staff giving contradictory info as to what next. Passengers left outside the terminal in the early hours of the morning to wait up to two further hours for 16 seat buses to get checked into a dirty smelling hotel with no food and water provided. Passengers in wheelchairs just dumped outside. The replacement flight was due to leave 11.45 next day this also delayed due to "technical difficulties" on a different 787. Ground staff could not care less, we had to argue for nearly 60 minutes just to get access to WIFI so we could update friends and family of our late arrival. To top it off despite having our bags in the airport overnight they did not join us when we eventually arrived in London. 28 hours to get from Brunei to London. I've been flying over 20 years and we've all had delays it's part and parcel of long haul travel. The difference here is how Royal Brunei conducted themselves both during and after. They should be absolutely ashamed of the way they treat their customers. Royal Brunei point blank refuse to compensate passangers. Lesson learned I guess, beter to pay that little bit extra and fly with a experienced long haul carrier that holds that 5 star rating.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManila to London via Brunei
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"directing my custom elsewhere"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I'm a regular traveller to Europe and gave Royal Brunei Airlines a try based on price and a recommendation from our travel agent for a quick trip trip to Europe with my teenage son to attend a football game. Beware one may save some dollars over flying alternative airlines but you have to consider last minute changes and delays which appear to be a common thread travelling Royal Brunei Airlines. It's so true you really do pay for what you get. Melbourne London and return with Royal Brunei Airlines to travel around Melbourne Cup week. Booked business class, told 3 weeks later we would be flying on a 3rd party airline but don't worry it will have flat beds travelling on an A340 etc. Checked at Melbourne only to be told our first leg would be flying on an A320 with what could be best described at premium economy, not ideal for an overnight flight. All 4 flights to and from London were either late departing or late on arrival (in most cases both). A reasonable compensation proposal was forwarded to Royal Brunei Airlines with the airline declining our request stating some of their standard T&C's. I will be directing my custom elsewhere and would advise anyone thinking of flying Royal Brunei Airlines to reconsider.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to London
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"failed to show any understanding"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Our experience with Royal Brunei was appalling - we were given our boarding passes to fly from Manila to London via Brunei without any staff mentioning they knew there was a technical fault with our connecting flight so they had delayed the time on the boarding pass of the connecting flight by 3 hours. We arrive at Brunei and are left to wait 4 hours until 4.30am before anyone came to tell us there was a problem with the plane and we couldn’t fly. They advised they’d organise accommodation in Brunei and we would fly at 10am. By 7am we are finally in a hotel after waiting hours to be checked in as Royal Brunei had not contacted them in advance. One hour later we were expected to leave and return to the airport. At the airport we were denied entry into the Royal Brunei lounge despite having entry cards as you can’t re-enter within 24 hours even though they forced us to leave the airport. And the best part - our 1 hour in a hotel was considered our compensation in full for what was a 12+ hour delay and no food or water was offered at all in this time. Avoid at all costs, they failed to show any understanding of what was going on and gave us no direction on when to leave the hotel etc. Pay more, fly another airline, you won’t regret it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManila to London via Brunei
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no