Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 248 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"usually love flying Porter"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | New York to Toronto. Always love Porter for the free food and drinks. Staff are usually lovely, but the stewartess on this flight was awful. When we walked in she was picking her nails and didn't even look up as she grabbed our ticket to check the flight number. Everything she said was said rudely and as if she would rather be anywhere else. She may as well have been rolling her eyes when doing the safety presentation. She is the only reason I am writing this review. Maybe she was having a bad day, but her demeanour was wildly unprofessional. Otherwise I usually love flying Porter.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Newark. If you are flying with a family or if you are pregnant, do not fly with porter. We are a seasoned traveling family, we have two kids and a dog and my wife is pregnant. Generally, flying is tough, but we know what we are in for and come prepared. We checked two bags, and had a small carry on as well. They asked us to weigh the carry on, which they do not ask of people who check in online, and it was 2kg overweight. Rather than use her judgment and let it slide, the attendant made us unpack a bunch of stuff and put it in another bag. She sighted “policy” and “safety” as reasons why it needed to be done, but clearly it was unnecessary. And why enforce the rules on a family with two kids, a pregnant mom, and a dog, when single business men get away with heavy carry ons? It’s been a terrible time on this airline in both directions and we will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"charged me for a check in bag"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | St John's to Halifax. Horrible airline. Last time I used them they made me remove stuff from my carry on for weight. And they broke my suitcase, I never received a replacement. This time they charged me for a check in bag and another $60 for carry on. Ridiculous. Also my suitcase was broken again, but after complaining enough I received a replacement.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSt John's to Halifax
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"does not deliver"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Boston. Simply put, Porter Airlines does not deliver. They take your money and book flights at specified times but repeatedly cancel and delay flights and bump you to later flights to consolidate flyers, while being slow, robotic, and apologetic. They will tell you it’s a maintenance issue or weather issue but as a frequent flyer, this cannot always be the case. This is bad business practice in my opinion and they get away with it. They have done Toronto a disservice, and are lowering tourist potential.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Boston
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"FlightHub no information came up"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Ottawa. Porter Airlines may charge you for carry on when you book with a third party. I recently got hit with 100 dollar fee to take a 6lb carry on bag on a Basic Economy fare. If you use a third party to try to ease the cost of travel, you may be unable to take anything. I was unaware of FlightHub arrangement for finding a cheaper flight. When I booked with FlightHub, there was no way this information came up visible to see. It may be there in the extra fine print, but not where I could have made a decision not to book with Porter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Ottawa
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"would not let me board"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Toronto. They closed the gate 20 minutes before departure, the plane was at the gate but they would not let me board. Nearly three hours later they issued a boarding pass for another flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Toronto
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Seats not that clean"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto City to Montreal. Flight was late departing. No option to select seat at check in (only for a fee). Over the years this airline’s meals have decreased from a sandwich into a pack of almonds. Seats were not that clean and it smelled bad (my seat was near the bathrooms).
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto City to Montreal
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I had a nice experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Newark. I had a nice experience with Porter Airlines. When I arrived to EWR, they automatically offered me a ticket on an earlier flight which landed in Toronto a hour and a half earlier than the flight I was booked on, so I accepted it. Check in was quick and easy and the staff was very friendly. The flight itself was great. The flight attendants were constantly cleaning the plane and walking through collecting trash. Landing in Toronto City airport was nice because it took about 10 minutes to go through customs, collect my suitcase from baggage claim, and head to free bus from the airport to the city. I had the same great experience on my return trip. I would love to fly with Porter Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"never fly again with Porter"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Washington to Montréal via Toronto. I flew with Porter to come to Washington. On Friday, my flight was delayed for 1 hour and 30 minutes in Montreal, which made me miss my connecting in Toronto. I had to wait another 2 hours for the next flight. On my way back, I had a flight coming back on Sunday. My flight was cancelled and they gave me tickets for the first flight in the morning. I'm standing near the gate right now. The plane arrived 45 minutes late and my initial flight is now delayed for 45 minutes, which will make me miss my connecting going to Montreal. I will never fly again with Porter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Montréal via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Our flight was canceled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My family had a very stressful experience with Porter Airlines. Our flight was canceled going back from Toronto to Boston and we had to miss two days of work. They did not offer any kind of compensation or help. Very disappointed and we will never use Porter again, since they do not want to give us any compensation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no