Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 296 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"The customer service is unbelievably bad"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I would rather crawl to my destination than ever have to fly with this airline again. The customer service is unbelievably bad. The facilities are old, dirty, and uncomfortable. The flight attendants are rude and unprofessional. The check in agents are virtually useless and have little to no idea what they are doing. The entire flight likely knows the life story of the flight attendants as they sat in the very back row and talked loudly enough for the pilot to hear the entire flight, which was at 7 in the morning. They had their belongings strewn across the back row, not properly stowed for any of the flight, including take-off and touch down, meanwhile chastising passengers for having purses on their laps. They cancelled our flight 7 hours before we were scheduled to depart due to "crew unpreparedness" and no reimbursements for anything were offered at all. We had to pay to stay another night in a foreign country after they rescheduled our flight to 24 hours later. I cannot believe an airline like this is allowed to fly or is still in business. Spirit seems like first class after this. I’m still shocked we made it to our destination safely. Avoid at all costs!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteQuebec City to Washington D.C.
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"last minute cancellation"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Thunder Bay to Toronto. Second time this weekend that there was a last minute cancellation for us with no explanation, no compensation besides having to wait for the “next available flight” which one of them was the next day and the other was a 2 hour wait.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteThunder Bay to Toronto
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incompetence or carelessness"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Newark to Thunder Bay via Toronto. Part of this poor experience with Porter was due to weather so that's out of Porter's control and I understand that, however when my husband's flights were rebooked (after being cancelled twice) he was always rebooked on the last flight of the day, which doesn't make sense to me because if earlier flights are delayed for long enough then won't the last flight be cancelled? And that's exactly what happened on the second day. Anyway, when his flight was rebooked the second time, he was in Toronto (after arriving from Newark) and for some reason the person who booked this flight selected the departing location as Newark again, so when he arrived at the airport for his flight they couldn't locate him (because he was in Toronto, not Newark) and they said they couldn't do anything for him. So while he's in Billy Bishop, he had to call customer service to fix the flight information and after about half an hour it was finally fixed and he was given his boarding pass. It just seemed like incompetence or carelessness, and we were ready to cut our losses and book with WestJet or something instead.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Thunder Bay via Toronto
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst flying experience ever"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | They cancelled my flight and after delaying my new flight 6+ times, cancelled that one too. Booked me for a new flight the following day and delayed that one too. Worst flying experience ever.
AircraftDash 8-400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very poor customer care"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We took Porter Airlines from Montreal to Toronto, our flight was supposed to be at 5:15pm, but we were told that they will not be able to take all of our luggage so we must travel with our luggage on the next flight at 9pm. By the time we arrived in Toronto on the later flights, we were told that Our luggage will be arriving on the next day flight. We got 4 of our luggage delivered on the second day in damaged condition. It took more than 1 1/2 month to process my damage claim after several calls and emails. Then one month after that I was told to buy 4 bags (around $700worth), submit a claim and they will reimburse me. I submitted my receipt for the new luggage, it has been over 7 weeks; I still did not get my reimbursement. I have made numerous calls to the person who sent me confirmation, the baggage claim, customer service and several other department to find out the status. No one is responding to my inquiry nor the claim. Very slow process to everything -no use of calling Customer service or any other departments -no one is owing up the responsibilities. Very poor customer care.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"paying $115 penalty for cancelling my flight"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | After booking a flight to visit family based on FB promotional ads promoting no fees on changes or cancellations, I purchased 2 tickets and in addition purchased the "refund option" as they call it, which I assumed was just hassle free cancellation / refund option in case we had to cancel. Due to the pandemic and new variants, and also changing travel guidelines within our province, we were no longer comfortable flying so decided to cancel. I paid $868 for the flights, and then through cancellation process the refund amount was showing $811 as the ancillary fee apparently does not get refunded. So upon arriving to the last step in the cancellation to confirm the $811 refund, I submitted only to find out I was now getting a $753 refund. So despite the promotions and buying "cancellation protection", I still ended paying $115 penalty for cancelling my flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMoncton to Ottawa
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I've still not received a refund|"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I booked 2 flight through Expedia for Porter Airlines. They canceled all flights to Atlantic provinces including my flights. I had to come up with more money to book new flights on a different airline. I was told that I was supposed to get a refund from Porter Airlines but despite my contacting them and having Expedia contact them twice on my behalf I've still not received a refund. I have been fighting ever since July 2021 to try and get my refund. I am out hundreds of dollars and I don't think I'll ever see it again. Absolutely ridiculous. Don't book with this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Halifax
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Really happy with experience"

(Bahamas)

Not Verified | Really happy with experience - friendly employees, the interior of planes looked recently updated, happy to avoid Pearson and fly through Toronto Island - brand new looking airport with good amenities. Price was great, too. Would definitely fly again.
AircraftDash 8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Toronto Island via Newark
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"impressed with the service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto to Montreal. Continue to be impressed with the service at Porter! My friends and I were travelling (returning home) on the brink of the COVID-19 crisis and the entire crew remained upbeat, pleasant and incredibly professional during our pre-boarding and flight. Thank you to the Porter Airline organization for getting us home safely and with ease.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"got delayed, so far, 3 times"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Fredericton to Ottawa. A very bad experience for a first flight. I am currently waiting for the flight which got delayed, so far, 3 times for a total of 4 hours and 15 minutes. I tried to locate an agent to ask about the reason for the delay, none was available at their gate. No wonder why their tickets are cheaper than others.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFredericton to Ottawa
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no