Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 267 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never recommend this airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Windsor to Toronto. Worst customer service when checking in bags. The website lies about the size of the carry on bags. The staff that take care of check ins are very arrogant and rude as if they are paying out of their pocket for your flight. I will never recommend this airline.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindsor to Toronto
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"disappointed and frustrated"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | A colleague and I took a plane from Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario to Billy Bishop Airport in Toronto. We boarded the plane at 5:40 pm. Estimated time of arrival was 7:00 pm. We first realized something was up when the plane began descending and shortly after it ascended. This happened several times. No one informed us as to what was happening until a short time later. An announcement was made that they were having difficulty landing and that they were low on fuel and had to take us to Hamilton Airport. We finally landed in Hamilton at approximately 8:10 pm. We were informed that a shuttle bus would take us to Billy Bishop Airport. Slowly people were getting discouraged and began taking cabs back to Toronto. At 9:40 pm. I approached an individual who said he was overseeing the "incident" and then announced to me that the shuttle bus would be another hour. There were only a handful of people left at that time. We gave up waiting. We were tired and hungry. No offer of coffee or anything of that nature. Many were disappointed and frustrated. Some had tickets for the Raptors game. They basically dropped us at the airport and left us in the lurch. So much for customer service.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSault Ste. Marie to Toronto
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"an otherwise great experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Montreal. I had an otherwise great experience with Porter. The flight attendants, customer service people, etc. were very polite. However, I booked a basic trip and I booked this through cheapoair. Little to my knowledge, a proper carry on is not included and I was charged a fee when I arrived to the gate which I couldn't help but pay (I can't leave my carry on behind obviously). I would have been completely fine with that - I understand that airlines are increasing fees, it is part of the state of the economy. However, I was not made aware of this on cheapoair's website. A customer service agent (when I made a complaint) told me that Porter's website and cheapoair both warn you but when I tried to book the same basic fare on Porter website in fact it did warn me and very specifically (no carry on etc.). Cheapoair just said "only a 20 ib personal item" - well my carry on was extremely small and less than 20 pounds. Honestly, I wouldn't mind any of this but when I complained about it with Porter and I sent them the screenshots and the difference between the warnings on Cheapoair and Porter, they did nothing. That alone means that I will likely never fly porter again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"baggage fee was applicable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Boston. On the first leg of the journey, the gate agent indicated he would call ahead to hold the plane due to a long line at security. He apparently did not as five passengers did not make the flight. On the return flight, the gate agent indicated a carry on baggage fee was applicable which I disputed. Once through security, two managers followed me and then had my name called not for passport check but to ransom carry on baggage fee. Very poor customer service
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Boston
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"on board service was great"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The on board service was great - smiling flight attendants. However, we dealt with an unforeseen circumstance on the day that we were flying. My wife and I were at the boarding gate waiting for our flight. She was very unwell and I had to bring her to the emergency. As much as I understand that we had booked on a special fare, we were at the boarding gate and my wife was unwell. To add fuel to the fire, I realized that my cellphone accidentally fell off my pocket and it was in the car rental that I returned at the airport. It was too late for me to board that flight. The Porter Airlines employee at the check in desk showed no empathy or compassion about the circumstance and instead just reiterated about the change fee policy in a grouchy tone! I understand that we were on a special fare. However, it did not cost the airline anything to put us on to the next flight where there were lots of seats available given the fact that the reservation was directly booked through the Porter Airlines website. The airline employee chose to stick to the company policy and not show any compassion to a valuable customer and generate that goodwill. Porter has two lost customers due to this!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteThunder Bay to Toronto City
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I chose to book basic"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Ottawa. There was a $10 difference in standard vs basic and I chose to book basic. They charged me $39 not $25 for my golf bag and then told me instead of my 2 carry ons I was not allowed a carry on, only a personal item. I asked if a back pack could be my personal item and the guy gave me dimensions - when asked if an average sized back pack can be a personal item he said I don't know the size of an average backpack.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Ottawa
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst staff attitude"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | The worst staff attitude ever. I was on my way from US to Montreal via Toronto and forgot my portable charger in the NY to Toronto flight with 2 credit cards on the backside of it. As soon as I was at security check for my connecting flight to Montreal, I realised it and informed the porter desk in the lounge. They called the aircraft staff and got to know that they found the stuff. Since I had a flight in next 15 minutes, they told me to jump on the flight and that they would send my stuff in the next flight which was just after 30 mins of this flight. They asked me to speak with the portal staff in Montreal. I contacted their staff at the Montreal airport and they said we did not get any message about any such suff left. I said pls check my file and that they would put the note on my file as they assured me at the Toronto airport. The lady did not even bother to check this and asked me to wait for 30 mins till the next flight arrives. I waited for almost 40 mins and then asked the lady again so she said she is going to check on the flight which just arrived. She comes after another 10 mins and does not even bother to inform me as to whether she found it or not. I go to her again and she carelessly says that they havent sent anything in this flight. I told her that I have my 2 credit cards in it and no cash left. She suggested me to contact the manager in the departure area. When I went there, the manager contacted the staff at Toronto airport and he was continually asking me to whom I got in touch with at the Toronto airport. I said I did not ask the name. He said that he is not able to know whom I contacted and that they dont know whether they found my stuff? I said that I am sure that they had found it and they were going to send that in the next flight. Finally, they just gave me a recipe of lost stuff and asked me to wait for a call.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Toronto via Montreal
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they offered me no compensation at all"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Out of all the many times I've flown and traveled, I must say Porter Airlines is by far the worst way to travel. During the Easter weekend after purchasing a one way nonstop flight from Toronto to Thunder Bay for almost $500, a week in advance, my flight was at the very last minute changed to a 6 hours flight that made a stop in Sue Saint Marie. Considering my driver was stuck waiting for 4 hours and I was not alerted about the flight change until boarding the plane, they offered me no compensation at all and told me that the case is closed and I should be happy that they were able to get to the people to Sue Saint Marie in time for Easter. So they forced me to be late so others could be on time even though I paid to be on time, a one way nonstop flight which I did not get. So if you're looking to get what you paid for, not get ripped off, and get good customer service, I would suggest you pick a different airline as they cant not provide any of the above. Worst customer service ever. Worst flight ever.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Thunder Bay
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"were very helpful today"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Thunder Bay via Toronto. Todd and Sandra were very helpful today and I wanted to point their efforts out. Flight was delayed/cancelled after boarding due to a mistake of a loading dock staff’s part. Todd was pleasant & calm in booking me & my travelling partners on a new flight. Sandra was a joy to deal with too. Thanks in part to them, our delayed experience was pleasant.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Thunder Bay via Toronto
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"insisted I have to check it in"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to Toronto with Porter Airlines. I paid premium for my flight and the agent charged me $39 for a carry on bag. She insisted I have to check it in. I fly with this on all airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteChicago to Toronto
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no