Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 256 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"appalling Basic Economy Structure"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I have traveled Porter many times from their inception. I have seen them grow and have participated in my of their growing pains. I was also very thrilled with the level of service I received and was impressed by the friendliness of the Air Hostesses. The ground staff - though not always pleasant were never rude. The reason for my review this time is the appalling Basic Economy Structure I was surprised with. They charge you $39.40 or something when you try to check in. This should have been made clear when I first booked the ticket and should not have been a surprise item. This was particularly painful because I had the onward journey with Air Canada and the return with Porter. With the new facelift of the terminal Porter niceties are gone - like free coffee and cookies etc. Now a breakfast sandwich costs $15.99. I am all for paying for convenience but this in my opinion is a ripoff. I am happy to note the rest of the service remains the same.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Boston
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"extra fees for carry on"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Toronto. Not happy with the service. Porter airlines advertises cheap prices but then surprise you with extra fees for carry on bags. Don’t fool yourselves, it’s not actually as cheap as they say. Air Canada is way better and better service. This is my first and last time flying with Porter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"over the 9kg limit for carry on"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Porter has fallen from the level of service and quality it once had. YOW lounge permanently closed. Cheapest fares (basic) now do not include a carry-on, and their definition of "personal item" is very narrow. I paid for the carry-on allowed fare, and was told that my bag was over the 9kg limit for carry on. These are not practices of a premium or comfort airline. These are practices I haven't encountered since I flew super discount airlines in Southeast Asia. Flight was delayed almost two hours because crew was late. Upon landing at YTZ, we had to wait 15 minutes because another plane was at our gate. Then it was another 15 minutes to wait for carry on luggage to be released because they were short staffed that night. So much for "flying refined"...
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"over $44 for my baggage fee"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Montreal. They have completely changed over the last five years I will never use them again. They rip you off on your baggage fee if you don’t book it online. However they don’t tell you that!! When you arrive at the airport you cannot book your baggage charge on a separate booking station you have to wait for over one hour to speak to aN airline associate. I had to wait over one hour in the line up because their was only one person serving hundreds of people flying out yesterday. Then when I got to the line up she charged me over $44 for my baggage fee! On the way down I flew with westjet who charged me $30 On top of everything else, I had to ask this associate four times to give me a receipt and to return my photo Id. They use to be the best airline, Use air Canada or west jet in the future
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"good days are over"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Washington. The good days are over (from a customer perspective)! I've been flying Porter for years, literally the day after they opened the Toronto-Washington route in 2011. Everything was fantastic until they reached a critical mass, and they sold the airport to an external investor. No more free coffee and snacks in the lounge, overall service is terrible, check-in staff is now just as indifferent as with any other major airline (maybe also as a result of a looming first time strike, as they protest bad management and disappearing benefits), price and frequent flyer structure is far less attractive than it used to be. Don't get me wrong: Porter is not worse than any other (North American) Airline, but they used to be so much better in almost all areas, and they are now just the same. I used to feel special based on how they treated me (even without their "VIP" program), now I have the same stupid cattle feeling as I have flying any other major airline. Growth and prosperity is certainly desirable, and I saw how Porter developed over the last few years. Unfortunately it has slowly followed the trend of most other carriers, and I have no incentive anymore to choose Porter. It's just too bad.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Washington
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"they don't wave change fees"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Newark to Toronto. I am appalled how bad this airline is. Loud prop planes with no TVs and not even wifi. But worse is the fact that a huge snowstorm was hitting the day I was due to return and they don't wave change fees in advance like other airline. They only wave change fees if your flight is canceled or delayed significantly which means everyone is left scrambling the day off a major weather event. This is especially galling for an airline that operates out of a city that gets its share of winter weather.
AircraftQ800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Toronto
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I have never received such terrible customer service in my life. My flight from Moncton to Ottawa was cancelled due to weather conditions (understandable) and I was sent an email asking not to contact Porter, stating that they would contact me with the next available flight information. I waited for hours and heard nothing from them. I ended up heading to the airport in hopes that I would be able to get on to the next flight that was going out. When I was told no, I asked when the next available flight was and they told me 8 days from when I was supposed to fly out,they told me I should have phoned them because everyone else did and they were able to get onto the next outgoing flights. Though, the email stated not to contact them. And apparently, they had no intention on contacting me either. They just hoped I would find another way home and they would get to keep my money. I ended up having to get a 24 hour, $200 train ticket to get home. To top it off, I received terrible customer service from everyone and was told they would not compensate me in any way for this terrible and costly inconvenience. My flight to Moncton was delayed by several hours. Porter is cheap but by the time you pay for missing your transportation (not to mention the time you spend waiting on a delayed airplane) it's just not worth the penny pinching.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMoncton to Ottawa
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"forgot to put it back on"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | They lost our luggage on a one hour flight from Sudbury to Toronto. One of our checked bags made it however the other did not. The reasoning was due to an off loading and unloading error. Meaning they took it off and forgot to put it back on. Absolutely ridiculous, almost comical the care factor from the luggage people. Do not recommend unless you plan on traveling with no luggage.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSudbury to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"usually love flying Porter"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | New York to Toronto. Always love Porter for the free food and drinks. Staff are usually lovely, but the stewartess on this flight was awful. When we walked in she was picking her nails and didn't even look up as she grabbed our ticket to check the flight number. Everything she said was said rudely and as if she would rather be anywhere else. She may as well have been rolling her eyes when doing the safety presentation. She is the only reason I am writing this review. Maybe she was having a bad day, but her demeanour was wildly unprofessional. Otherwise I usually love flying Porter.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Newark. If you are flying with a family or if you are pregnant, do not fly with porter. We are a seasoned traveling family, we have two kids and a dog and my wife is pregnant. Generally, flying is tough, but we know what we are in for and come prepared. We checked two bags, and had a small carry on as well. They asked us to weigh the carry on, which they do not ask of people who check in online, and it was 2kg overweight. Rather than use her judgment and let it slide, the attendant made us unpack a bunch of stuff and put it in another bag. She sighted “policy” and “safety” as reasons why it needed to be done, but clearly it was unnecessary. And why enforce the rules on a family with two kids, a pregnant mom, and a dog, when single business men get away with heavy carry ons? It’s been a terrible time on this airline in both directions and we will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no