Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 277 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I haven’t received anything"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Boston via Toronto in August 2019. There was a delay from Montréal so we missed the flight to Boston because we had a stop in Toronto. As soon as we arrived to Toronto they were professional and suggested a hotel room in order to take the flight the day after, but we have to pay the taxi and we will be refunded. I did so and I sent them all the bills. I’m still waiting, I haven’t received anything and their response in the email is always the same : we are sorry.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Boston via Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"personable and relatable"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto to Montreal. I have a hearing disability and after a miscommunication and missed flight (which happens often for me, no fault of anyone's) the extent that the staff went to after understanding my hearing disability was incredible. An agent collected me from the restaurant and brought me to the boarding gate, was personable and relatable, most importantly authentic. I truly felt appreciated. Even as I was sat in my seat I was offered water, Jessica and Bianca (I believe) treated me like I mattered and I have never found that elsewhere. I'm so grateful to get home later than I hoped but have this experience in exchange. Customer service that other airlines simply don't have.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Air Canada from now on"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Timmins to Ottawa via Toronto. Having flown a week before with Porter under the basic airfare, I assumed the same bag containing the same things would be acceptable for my return flight. I was told when checking in that I would need to pay an extra 50$ for my bag as it was over the capacity for a personal item. I explained the situation and was told I would have to pay the 50$ to take my bag as they must not have checked my bag thoroughly enough leaving Ottawa. It's important to note I have been flying with Porter for over 3 years, flying approximately 10 times a year, with the same bag and this has been the first time it has been an issue. Luckily Air Canada still offers a personal item and a carry on for a cheaper rate. As such I will be flying Air Canada from now on.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTimmins to Ottawa via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"very rude ground staff"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Halifax to Toronto via Montreal. Brutal baggage fees on this airline and very rude ground staff. Charged me $51 dollars for a small backpack that fit no problem in the overhead bin. I don’t pay that much to check a bag to go to Europe. Thank goodness there is a choice as I will never fly this airline again. They simply don’t care about their customers which seems like a bizarre way to run a business.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Toronto via Montreal
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Lovely flight"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Newark to Toronto. Lovely flight, friendly flight attendants. I particularly like the leather seats and cabin ambience. The free beer and snacks were unexpected. I have to say, after completing a ‘red-eye’ from Oregon earlier that morning I was pleasantly surprised. Thank you, Porter.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"charged us 50$ for one bag"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Windsor to Toronto. Terrible customer service. Worst experience. They charged us 50$ for one bag because we couldn’t fit it into our other bags.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWindsor to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"1h 15m for my luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Montreal. Waited 1 hour and 15 minutes for my luggage. The porter representatives told me they wait for all their flights to come in before realeasing the checked in luggage. Spoke to a representative on their Facebook chat and they seem to not care about their service and did not respond not even a sorry for the inconvenience. Not normal to see the Air Canada flight come in 30 minutes after I landed and they got their luggage within 10 minutes! I will never fly this airline again never! For the same price I’ll book AC next time for my upcoming trips!
AircraftDHC8 Dash 8-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Montreal
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"want to acknowledge the fantastic care we received"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Flew Ottawa to Halifax. My wife and I want to acknowledge the fantastic care we received from an employee of Porter Airlines, who helped us so much at a very difficult moment at the airport in Halifax. The other agents also took great care to change our tickets that could suit my medical condition after I suffered from an unbearable migraine while landing onto Halifax airport. Thank you.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Halifax
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"charged us a cancellation fee"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ottawa to Saint John. We purchased tickets, costing over $1300 and due to a medical emergency we had to cancel our vacation. Porter Airlines did not refund our money, charged us a cancellation fee and gave us a credit that is basically unusable. Do not fly Porter Airlines
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Saint John
Date FlownAugust 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charge you small carry on luggage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Montréal to Toronto. The customer service is rude and they lied about the size of carry-on luggage so they can charge you more money. They charge you small carry on luggage as long as the luggages have wheels. In the end you will pay more than any other airlines.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMontréal to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no