Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 287 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"got delayed, so far, 3 times"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Fredericton to Ottawa. A very bad experience for a first flight. I am currently waiting for the flight which got delayed, so far, 3 times for a total of 4 hours and 15 minutes. I tried to locate an agent to ask about the reason for the delay, none was available at their gate. No wonder why their tickets are cheaper than others.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFredericton to Ottawa
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"first flight was cancelled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Ottawa to Toronto. My first flight was cancelled, the airline said that it was plane trouble. I was bumped to a later flight and we landed 20 minutes ago. We are still sitting on the tarmac not moving waiting for a gate to pull in. This is terrible service. We have landed more than 20 mins ago and no one will tell us anything or get us off this flight.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"have to sit here for nearly 2 hours"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Ottawa to Fredericton. We have to sit here for nearly 2 hours to fly 1.5 hours. Plane was very warm and air didn't work. I can understand maybe an hour delay, but 2 hours. Come on porter, be prepared.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Fredericton
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"can't be on time if they tried"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Fredericton to Ottawa. Porter isn't much different than any other airline in size or quantity but they can't be on time if they tried. I have flown Porter 5 times now and every single flight has always been delayed.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFredericton to Ottawa
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rebooked me on a different flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | Ottawa to Newark via Toronto. Received an alert two days prior to the flight that due to weather flight would be delayed or cancelled and that I could rebook free of charge. They only gave options for the same day of the original flight. Thus, I booked after the storm would have passed. Less than 12 hrs before the rebooked flight Porter cancelled my flight and then rebooked me on a different flight that would have missed my connection, landing me back in NYC seven hours later than planned and with a layover of five hrs. Tried to call customer service only to be disconnected after hr and a half wait with no call back. Called back only for another hour expected wait time. Ended up booking AirCanada same route, same time with zero hassle or delay.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Newark via Toronto
Date FlownDecember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"experience has deteriorated"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Toronto to Ottawa. I have flown with Porter Airlines over ten times three years ago. I gave it five stars back then but haven't flown with it since until this month. I found the service quality and overall experience has deteriorated to a huge extent. What attracted me previously no longer exists. They start charging even an everyday backpack. I wonder if they are going to charge passengers who use the underwater tunnel or ferry to get onto the Toronto city airport in the future.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Ottawa
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"my bags were too big for carry on"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Halifax to Toronto via Ottawa. Charged me $80 because my bags were too big for the carry on. Even after going through checkin fine they charge me before I board. I already paid for a cabin and carry-on, they force me to check in my bag.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Toronto via Ottawa
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Enjoyed flying with Porter"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Ottawa to Toronto. Enjoyed flying with Porter to Toronto City Airport. This is a great experience landing on Toronto islands and getting to the city by walking down a tunnel for a couple of minutes. Porter is a small Canadian airline connecting eastern Canadian cities and having a couple of US cities in their destinations too. As far as my single experience with Porter, it was a nice one.
AircraftDash 8-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOttawa to Toronto
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"customer service is non-existent"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Newark to Toronto. The booking page repeatedly showed that my booking for an urgent flight was unsuccessful after several attempts. However, they charged my card without any acknowledgement nor confirmation. I was only able to find out the charge 4 days later and they refused to refund me for errors caused by their system glitch. Call centre is useless and customer service is non-existent - they’d do nothing but read off their scripted procedure.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNewark to Toronto
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"will never use this airline again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Since I never received a Boarding Pass due to no one being at the counter to fly back to Montreal, it can not be a verified review unless I use the one on 8 November, 2019 which had the same issues except I didn't miss my flight. You see Porter Airlines on has someone at the counter for 1 hr prior to the flight and that is the only way you can receive your boarding pass, which is a ridiculous practice and I can not imagine that this policy serves them well. On November 10, 2019 I arrived at Dulles Airport 55 minutes prior to my departure time due to a traffic incident. I go to the counter to find it empty and no one to give me a boarding pass, I called their customer service no. to be received by a very rude person stating that I should have been there one hour ahead of my flight, which I would have if not stuck on the 95 in Washington DC, I was 5 minutes short. You can not use a kiosk to get your boarding pass and you can not get a mobile boarding pass. I had to buy another flight on another airline in a different airport to get back home. In Montreal I was 2 hrs early for my flight and again no one was at the counter, and even though I was early I had to stand there waiting for someone to come to work at Porter to get a boarding pass, so instead of getting through security and customs a bit early I was rushed and running to my gate. I will never use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington DC to Montreal
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no