Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 237 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"cancel a flight 30 hours before"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Toronto. Had to cancel a flight 30 hours before leaving and the web site says before 24 hours you get a refund. I only got 118 dollar credit for the return flight from a 475 dollar flight. Nothing from the departure. My guidelines were all by the rules to get a refund and I got robbed. I saved for three months and they took it like it was theirs.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"My flight was cancelled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Halifax. My flight was cancelled for a reason they could have anticipated (Toronto airshow). The staff at the airport was so rude. They said they were unable to help book my accommodation, it was Labour Day. The cheapest room I could find was $600 and 45 mins from the airport. I submitted my request for reimbursement 6 weeks ago. Initially I was told it would take 2 weeks, now 6-8 weeks. I’m sure once that deadline has passed it will be something else. I am a student. I have been carrying the cost on my credit card and they’ve refused to reimburse my interest. I would not recommend flying with Porter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Halifax
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Unbelievably disorganized"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Montreal via Toronto. Stay away. Plane underwent maintenance at the last minute, so 100 people had to be diverted onto other flights. And this was just on the way there. On the way back the same thing happened, again with no notice whatsoever. Unbelievably disorganized - even worst than Spirit or other budget airlines. Got a voucher for a hotel in the middle of nowhere, at least, with a $8 breakfast voucher. Complete joke.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Montreal via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelled flight without warning"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Toronto. Porter cancelled my flight without warning at 6:30am 30 minutes before the flight was supposed to leave. 20 minutes before my flight was supposed to leave, I received an email saying that I had been automatically rescheduled to another Halifax-Toronto flight taking place 3.5 days later. Other would-be passengers received emails saying they were put on flights a week late. Finally, when a customer service rep showed up at when takeoff was scheduled, she told us all we could do was go to the front desk and be refunded if we didnt want to take the flight Porter had automatically put us on. I waited in a very long line to talk to a customer service rep who was very unsympathetic and offered me no option except a refund, which I had to accept because I only arranged to spend the weekend in Halifax. I should also add that none of the passengers were given any explanation or the cancellation and when I asked, the rep said that a one member of the crew had called in sick. The flights to Toronto with other airlines at the airport were $700-900, which was much more expensive than the $339 ticket from Porter that I had purchased weeks before. I was not offered any compensation for this huge price hike but was given a meal coupon and told I could call a 1-800 number where someone may or may not cover some of the cost. When I asked for help in doing this, the customer service rep was unconcerned and said no. I ended up having to take the bus from Halifax to Toronto since there were no affordable flights and I needed to get to Toronto for school, work and appointments within the next 36 hours. The next day, while on a 31 hour long bus ride, I received an email from Porter with a $50 coupon for my ‘next’ flight with them, which I certainly will never use. Both the situation and Porter’s follow-up were unacceptable and I would advise against booking with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Poor service, poor personnel"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had a 7am Flight from Halifax to Montreal. At 7am no personnel, only a screen that said Flight Cancelled. We had to ask Air Canada to get a Porter agent to come up after 15 minutes. A general message was given, sorry for inconvenience, flight is cancelled due to personnel sick and no other options all other flights are booked. They reimbursed but left us run to get another flight. It is oct 9 Thanksgiving so last minute flight was 700$ (the cheapest price). The offered 50$ on the next flight with Porter. Leaving us on our own, not paying for the difference. I did phone the Complaint and they hung up on me when I asked to talk to a supervisor to discuss the situation. Poor service, poor personnel, very bad company
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Montreal
Date FlownOctober 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelled last minute"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Newark via Toronto. Flying with Porter for the first time. And the last one. AM flight cancelled last minute. No alternative provided for the same day. Other people in the queue have been cancelled twice in the same day! Never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Newark via Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"disappointed in Porter"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Montreal. I am Porter Premium Access, which you think would come with cool perks but really it means I've been consistently delayed, disrupted and cancelled. I've started taking air Canada for work trips because I can't afford the risk that I'll be late or miss a meeting. I booked porter on a Saturday and sure enough, most flights were delayed and mine ended up being cancelled so I spent my Saturday afternoon trapped at the airport. Billy Bishop is doing major renovations and it's looking really good, but Porter Airlines does not offer the services to match this. Really disappointed in Porter and will continue to take Air Canada.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteToronto to Montreal
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"charged for a carry on bag"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to St John's. I have flown twice with Porter but today was just something else. I have never seen an airline that charged me for a carry on bag at the airport. I didnt have any money coz i wasn't prepared for this charge. It was the most embarrassing moment of my life. I just think this is something the airline have to direct immediately. If you want to charge then include it in your online price not surprise me as I check in.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to St John's
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"driver's license is expired"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | St Johns to Montreal. I had a very negative experience I had with my Porter flight. I showed up at approximately 2pm for my flight - I showed my drivers licence ID to the customer service representative, and she said to come back in 1 hour to check in. I came back in 1 hour and was informed. “Oh, your driver's license is expired, we can’t accept it.” I was denied boarding. I argued that it was still a valid form of ID- and said ‘Only valid as photo ID’ on a sticker affixed by the licensing authorities in Ontario, but the customer care rep. Didn’t budge. I asked for a supervisor to be called but was denied. I was advised to call Porter Airlines to rebook / get a refund. After waiting on hold for 45 minutes I was informed “you have to call the travel agent that you booked it through”. Upon calling the travel agency, I was informed “porter airlines won’t let us refund or rebook the flight.” Part 2 By this time all the Porter Reps had left the wicket at the airport, so I had no further redress. Leaving me stranded, inconvenienced, and having to pay out an awful lot.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSt Johns to Montreal
Date FlownAugust 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"miserable job Porter did"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Quebec to Toronto. Cancelled/rebooked both flights on my way to and from Quebec. Weather conditions preventing flights is understandable but not the miserable job Porter did of rebooking flights with connections, and accommodating with hotels. They rebooked the 1st leg of a connection flight to a date after the 2nd leg.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQuebec to Toronto
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no