Porter Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 242 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Seats not that clean"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto City to Montreal. Flight was late departing. No option to select seat at check in (only for a fee). Over the years this airline’s meals have decreased from a sandwich into a pack of almonds. Seats were not that clean and it smelled bad (my seat was near the bathrooms).
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto City to Montreal
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I had a nice experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Newark. I had a nice experience with Porter Airlines. When I arrived to EWR, they automatically offered me a ticket on an earlier flight which landed in Toronto a hour and a half earlier than the flight I was booked on, so I accepted it. Check in was quick and easy and the staff was very friendly. The flight itself was great. The flight attendants were constantly cleaning the plane and walking through collecting trash. Landing in Toronto City airport was nice because it took about 10 minutes to go through customs, collect my suitcase from baggage claim, and head to free bus from the airport to the city. I had the same great experience on my return trip. I would love to fly with Porter Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Newark
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"never fly again with Porter"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Washington to Montréal via Toronto. I flew with Porter to come to Washington. On Friday, my flight was delayed for 1 hour and 30 minutes in Montreal, which made me miss my connecting in Toronto. I had to wait another 2 hours for the next flight. On my way back, I had a flight coming back on Sunday. My flight was cancelled and they gave me tickets for the first flight in the morning. I'm standing near the gate right now. The plane arrived 45 minutes late and my initial flight is now delayed for 45 minutes, which will make me miss my connecting going to Montreal. I will never fly again with Porter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Montréal via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Our flight was canceled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My family had a very stressful experience with Porter Airlines. Our flight was canceled going back from Toronto to Boston and we had to miss two days of work. They did not offer any kind of compensation or help. Very disappointed and we will never use Porter again, since they do not want to give us any compensation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not eligible for reimbursement"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I was to fly to Toronto from Sault Ste. Marie at 13:55pm on September 3, 2018, only to have my Porter flight cancelled that day. I received an email about this cancellation, so thank goodness I noticed the email before leaving for the airport. As Porter rebooked me on the next available flight, I would not have arrived until well into the late evening. Then I was scrambling to make other arrangements, as I had kidney surgery the following day in Hamilton and arriving in Hamilton after 9:30pm would not have been acceptable.. My Aunt had travelled from Ottawa, to pick me up in Toronto, in order to drive me to Hamilton, from the Toronto airport. Not only did this disrupt her plans for the day, as she is not from Toronto, but I needed to be driven to Hamilton, in order to eat, rest and be at the hospital for 6am the following morning. I have all hospital documents to support my surgery information. The new Porter reschedule on September 3rd would have made me arrive in Hamilton extremely late at night, before a major surgery and not have time and energy to prep for the surgery properly. When I realized I could get on an earlier flight with Air Canada, I cancelled my entire, return Porter booking and was refunded by Porter. The Air Canada flights were more expensive and I expected to have those additional costs reimbursed to me. I then rebooked my September 7th flight with Air Canada, as well, as I am unsatisfied with Porter and the way this flight was cancelled. I was so upset by this cancellation and did not want to fly with Porter again. Porter did not respond to my request but sent me a $50 travel voucher. When I followed up about my fie they said I was not eligible for reimbursement.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSault Ste. Marie to Toronto
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancel a flight 30 hours before"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Toronto. Had to cancel a flight 30 hours before leaving and the web site says before 24 hours you get a refund. I only got 118 dollar credit for the return flight from a 475 dollar flight. Nothing from the departure. My guidelines were all by the rules to get a refund and I got robbed. I saved for three months and they took it like it was theirs.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"My flight was cancelled"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Montreal to Halifax. My flight was cancelled for a reason they could have anticipated (Toronto airshow). The staff at the airport was so rude. They said they were unable to help book my accommodation, it was Labour Day. The cheapest room I could find was $600 and 45 mins from the airport. I submitted my request for reimbursement 6 weeks ago. Initially I was told it would take 2 weeks, now 6-8 weeks. I’m sure once that deadline has passed it will be something else. I am a student. I have been carrying the cost on my credit card and they’ve refused to reimburse my interest. I would not recommend flying with Porter.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMontreal to Halifax
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Unbelievably disorganized"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Chicago to Montreal via Toronto. Stay away. Plane underwent maintenance at the last minute, so 100 people had to be diverted onto other flights. And this was just on the way there. On the way back the same thing happened, again with no notice whatsoever. Unbelievably disorganized - even worst than Spirit or other budget airlines. Got a voucher for a hotel in the middle of nowhere, at least, with a $8 breakfast voucher. Complete joke.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Montreal via Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelled flight without warning"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Halifax to Toronto. Porter cancelled my flight without warning at 6:30am 30 minutes before the flight was supposed to leave. 20 minutes before my flight was supposed to leave, I received an email saying that I had been automatically rescheduled to another Halifax-Toronto flight taking place 3.5 days later. Other would-be passengers received emails saying they were put on flights a week late. Finally, when a customer service rep showed up at when takeoff was scheduled, she told us all we could do was go to the front desk and be refunded if we didnt want to take the flight Porter had automatically put us on. I waited in a very long line to talk to a customer service rep who was very unsympathetic and offered me no option except a refund, which I had to accept because I only arranged to spend the weekend in Halifax. I should also add that none of the passengers were given any explanation or the cancellation and when I asked, the rep said that a one member of the crew had called in sick. The flights to Toronto with other airlines at the airport were $700-900, which was much more expensive than the $339 ticket from Porter that I had purchased weeks before. I was not offered any compensation for this huge price hike but was given a meal coupon and told I could call a 1-800 number where someone may or may not cover some of the cost. When I asked for help in doing this, the customer service rep was unconcerned and said no. I ended up having to take the bus from Halifax to Toronto since there were no affordable flights and I needed to get to Toronto for school, work and appointments within the next 36 hours. The next day, while on a 31 hour long bus ride, I received an email from Porter with a $50 coupon for my ‘next’ flight with them, which I certainly will never use. Both the situation and Porter’s follow-up were unacceptable and I would advise against booking with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Toronto
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Poor service, poor personnel"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had a 7am Flight from Halifax to Montreal. At 7am no personnel, only a screen that said Flight Cancelled. We had to ask Air Canada to get a Porter agent to come up after 15 minutes. A general message was given, sorry for inconvenience, flight is cancelled due to personnel sick and no other options all other flights are booked. They reimbursed but left us run to get another flight. It is oct 9 Thanksgiving so last minute flight was 700$ (the cheapest price). The offered 50$ on the next flight with Porter. Leaving us on our own, not paying for the difference. I did phone the Complaint and they hung up on me when I asked to talk to a supervisor to discuss the situation. Poor service, poor personnel, very bad company
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Montreal
Date FlownOctober 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no