PLAY

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 223 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"completely unreliable"

(United States)

Not Verified | Canceled the flight 12h before take-off and 4 days before Christmas. Did not offer any alternatives apart from a full refund. Do not book / travel with them, completely unreliable. No cabin luggage, no food, no entertainment. Fly with united or any other but not with them!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Paris via Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are sincerely sorry that your flight was canceled during the extreme weather event in Iceland this past December. We understand that getting back to your friends and families before Christmas was jeopardized. In all honesty, delays are an unloving product for both passengers and the airline alike. Not only is it costly, but we are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, such as a winter snow storm, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. If you felt the communication or information given on our behalf was lacking, we truly apologize for that. Due to the extremely high volume of incoming inquiries our once quick reply time slowed down, and for that we are sincerely sorry. We thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience, we can only learn from this incident and take everything stated into careful consideration.

2/10

"completely abandoned us in Paris"

(United States)

Not Verified | Never ever again. They completely abandoned us in Paris with no options and no one from the airline to talk to. Luckily I know my way around France and secured another flight on an amazing airline French Bee to Newark and had my husband drive 6 hrs to pick me up. I felt terrible for those that didn’t have other options. It is not worth the savings unless you have total flexibility and don’t care if you have no one to help you during a cancellation.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Baltimore via Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are sincerely sorry that your flight was canceled during the extreme weather event in Iceland this past December. We understand that getting back to your friends and families before Christmas was jeopardized. In all honesty, delays are an unloving product for both passengers and the airline alike. Not only is it costly, but we are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, such as a winter snow storm, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. If you felt the communication or information given on our behalf was lacking, we truly apologize for that. Due to the extremely high volume of incoming inquiries our once quick reply time slowed down, and for that we are sincerely sorry. We thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience, we can only learn from this incident and take everything stated into careful consideration.

1/10

"This airline did me wrong"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I was stranded at the airport in Berlin because Play simply canceled my Dec 18th 2022 flight to Reykjavik and on to Boston, as I was standing in front of their ticketing office on the 18th, two hours before the flight was to leave. They said "Sorry, we will reimburse you the price of the ticket." This is simply unprofessional. A decent airline would have rerouted me on another of their own or another airline's flights to get me to Boston. Because of this unprofessional airline, I am stranded in Germany and unable to return home for Christmas. The alternative would be to book a last minute flight on another airline for a huge cost. It is this kind of selfish and stingy behavior that leads to fly-by-night operations like Play Airlines developing a bad reputation. You might think you are saving money by flying a cheapo airline, but they are cheap in all senses. They do not care about you at all. You cannot even call them and talk to a human being. You get stuck talking to a chatbot. This airline did me wrong, and I am angry at them. I booked my ticket in May 2022 to fly back in December for Christmas. You get what you pay for. That is for sure.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Boston via Keflavik
Date FlownAugust 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are sincerely sorry that your flight was canceled during the extreme weather event in Iceland this past December. We understand that getting back to your friends and families before Christmas was jeopardized. In all honesty, delays are an unloving product for both passengers and the airline alike. Not only is it costly, but we are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, such as a winter snow storm, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. If you felt the communication or information given on our behalf was lacking, we truly apologize for that. Due to the extremely high volume of incoming inquiries our once quick reply time slowed down, and for that we are sincerely sorry. We thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience, we can only learn from this incident and take everything stated into careful consideration.

1/10

"about as bare-bones as it gets"

(United States)

Not Verified | The most disorganized airplane experience I’ve ever been on. The first flight (Stewart to Keflavik) was delayed two hours, and when we asked if we would be able to make our connecting flight to Berlin, they said that it was a domino effect that would delay that flight too. Well little did we know our flight would be delayed 5 hours due to Keflavik’s inept handling of de-icing. The lady at the gate said that she was receiving “wrong information all day”. The in-flight experience on Play is about as bare-bones as it gets. No outlets to charge phones, no in-flight wifi, cramped seats. The flight attendants on the connecting flight had the gall to charge passengers for refreshments even after having us packed like sardines on a bus on the tarmac while waiting to board the plane for hours. Would strongly advise against ever flying on this dogshit airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Berlin via Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are sincerely sorry that your flight was canceled during the extreme weather event in Iceland this past December. We understand that getting back to your friends and families before Christmas was jeopardized. In all honesty, delays are an unloving product for both passengers and the airline alike. Not only is it costly, but we are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, such as a winter snow storm, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. If you felt the communication or information given on our behalf was lacking, we truly apologize for that. Due to the extremely high volume of incoming inquiries our once quick reply time slowed down, and for that we are sincerely sorry. We thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience, we can only learn from this incident and take everything stated into careful consideration.

1/10

"Terrible airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Terrible airline, canceled our flight without a notice. At the airport the person didn't know what was going on. Never will use this airline again. Please be aware of bad airline, and bad service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBaltimore to Barcelona via Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are sincerely sorry that your flight was canceled during the extreme weather event in Iceland this past December. We understand that getting back to your friends and families before Christmas was jeopardized. In all honesty, delays are an unloving product for both passengers and the airline alike. Not only is it costly, but we are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, such as a winter snow storm, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. If you felt the communication or information given on our behalf was lacking, we truly apologize for that. Due to the extremely high volume of incoming inquiries our once quick reply time slowed down, and for that we are sincerely sorry. We thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience, we can only learn from this incident and take everything stated into careful consideration.

2/10

"This is a bare bones airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Not a great airline. It needs a lot of improvement. At its hub of Keflavik, their ground staff service is negligible. As a deaf passenger, I could not get help while my flight was delayed. It changes gates twice so I had to scramble looking for a ground staff to assist me. Also ground staff didn’t wear uniforms including the security personnel air KEF airline which made my experience with PLAY airline really uncomfortable and confusing. I got mistreated by the PLAY security personnel - I couldn’t understand their questions so I asked them to write their questions on paper. Guess what - they refused and sent me to a secondary security in a small room farther away from the gate D15. It was so disrespectful of PLAY to approach like that to a person with hearing loss being sent somewhere in the airport only just because they didn’t want to write questions. The food menu is limited and have to pay for food. I would prefer complimentary meals and alcohol drinks so better to go for Icelandair. No flight entertainment. No Wi-Fi. No power outlets. This is a bare bones airline. Add a few things and hire more staff and put them on uniforms - it shall improve or else, this airline will face a demise like its predecessor, WOW airline. As a disability advocate from the United States, it gets a grade F for lack of consideration and sensitivity to a deaf person like me.
AircraftA321neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteReykjavik to Boston
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are terribly sorry that you had to experience such a delay and we apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. We are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. We will investigate this further and deal with the matter accordingly. Again we'd like to thank you for letting us know about this.

7/10

"the new meals are really bad"

(Iceland)

Trip Verified | The service is good. The plane was older than the one that we flew into Tenerife. The one to Tenerife had better seats and space but the one returning to KEF was very uncomfortable even though we were in the same seats. We have flown with Play 4 or 5 times and the new meals are really bad (in the red boxes) compared to the previous ones (grilled ham and cheese used to be in a plastic bag or different container). The ones in the red box taste like they are freezer burned or like the cardboard box. We ate both the ham and cheese and pizza and it was not good.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTenerife to Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to write to us about your negative experience. Our main goal is to deliver top service. That's why we appreciate hearing from our passengers in order to improve and we take this very seriously. We will investigate this further and deal with the matter accordingly. Again we'd like to thank you for letting us know about this.

1/10

"Flight eventually cancelled with no explanation"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Awful service. Flight eventually cancelled with no explanation, after waiting for more than an hour. Before cancellation, I asked their ground staff what the problem was but he said we’d address any concerns for connecting flights when we arrived in Iceland. He said he didn’t know anything about any sort of delay or cancellation policy and said he didn’t have a manager. Later, when the flight was confirmed cancelled, I asked him another question and he directed me to his manager. So, a liar.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to London via Reykjavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are sincerely sorry that your flight was canceled during the extreme weather event in Iceland this past December. We understand that getting back to your friends and families before Christmas was jeopardized. In all honesty, delays are an unloving product for both passengers and the airline alike. Not only is it costly, but we are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, such as a winter snow storm, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. If you felt the communication or information given on our behalf was lacking, we truly apologize for that. Due to the extremely high volume of incoming inquiries our once quick reply time slowed down, and for that we are sincerely sorry. We thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience, we can only learn from this incident and take everything stated into careful consideration.

2/10

"not even given a water to drink"

(Iceland)

Trip Verified | We sat in the plane for 2 hours after 2 hours delay and not much information. And were not even given a water to drink. There was not enough water for everybody.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDublin to Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no

29th December 2022 : PLAY response

We are terribly sorry that you had to experience such a delay and we apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. We are well aware that a good reputation for flawless on-time performance is highly valuable, thus we strive to keep a clean delay record for everyone’s best interest. The reason for delays is most often an unforeseen cause, which we try to avoid with all the possible precautions and actions that we can take to minimize the effect. We do sincerely hope that you were able to enjoy the flight with us despite this.

9/10

"There was plenty of room"

(Iceland)

Trip Verified | Flight departed and arrived according to schedule. There was plenty of room in front of the seats although we did not pay for it extra. Stewards were helpful and positive. In the end of the flight captain even announced results of World Cup football games that finished while we were in the air. The plane cabin looked clean and neat, toilets were in a good condition.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTenerife South to Keflavik
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes

12th December 2022 : PLAY response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and let us know how happy you are. We strive to deliver top service and we love feedback like this!