Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 568 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"no entertainment"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Flew Manila to Singapore with Philippine Airlines. No TV monitor in the economy section. Basically, no entertainment. Surprisingly, the aisle is narrow that the cabin bag does not fit on its width when you pull it. But the aircraft is at least big for this route, and was still full.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"flight was cancelled"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Kuala Lumpur via Manila. After 2 times delayed, the flight was announce cancelled at 2230 & I was stranded with my 2 kids. I requested a hotel room but they said all are fully booked & they just put me and the other passengers in the lounge with no proper place to sleep. We cannot have a shower because there is no shower room inside. After so many calls to PAL office in Dubai, me & my kids can fly using PAL PR659 25th December at 1945. Due to 3 hours delayed we arrived at 1045 and the PAL staff said the flight from Manila to Kuala Lumpur was already full, they give us flight at 1720 using MAS. Because it is another airline we have to go to other terminal (the terminal of our arrival only for PAL) So we had to check out from immigration & claimed our luggages & check in again at other terminal. When we want claim our luggage we just realized that our luggage was not in our flight. It's still in Dubai and they asked me to lodge luggage delay report and said that my luggages will be send to Kuala Lumpur with PAL flight from Manila. So we travel to Kuala Lumpur with no luggages and when arrived at KL I have to lodge another report to make sure my luggages will be sent to me directly.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Kuala Lumpur via Manila
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Food was abysmal"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Sydney via Manila. On one flight, there was no in-flight entertainment. Food was abysmal. Then, there's the layover at the Manila airport that does not reflect any of the standards of a basic airport. For one, we spent a fair bit of time trying to locate the departure screen because our gate seemed to have changed 15 minutes before boarding. Staff on the ground were unwilling or unable to help, saying, just listen out for an announcement. Eventually we found a 30" screen perched above some kind of stand that was not obvious at all and not at eye level for a screen that tiny. And if you have a long layover, it's best to pack your own food and drink.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Sydney via Manila
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Flight back was bumped"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Legazpi to Manila. A round trip flight. Flight out was really nice, delays and ‘cattle-car’ boarding were acceptable, food was unique and enjoyable, staff was perfect. Flight back was bumped and atrocious, delaying departures for days, for an apparent overbooking error that they never wanted to deal with or accept. Customer service was blatantly ignored and everyone was very politely adept at kicking the can to the next destination.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLegazpi to Manila
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"fantastic improvement"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Manila to London. I flew out on the 29th December to Manila, and returned on 10th January to London. The journey out was faultless. It was a new plane and I was incredibly impressed. The return journey was again a new plane. There were a few small issues on the return. We were held for a 1 hour delay on the plane before take off. The entertainment system had lots of problems coming back, and had to be fully plane rebooted twice on the journey. A pity because it's now a great system with a big screen, and a wide variety. However despite these grumbles, I wanted to compliment Philippine Airlines on the fantastic improvement in the plane quality. The staff have always been friendly and helpful in previous years, now the planes match it. Food served was of a good standard. No complaints at all. Will happily travel with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to London
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"an 8 hour delay"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Manila, my flight from JFK to Manila on the new A350 just prior to this flight was great. he MNL-BKK leg was uneventful and average. BKK-MNL started with a notice to say the flights is delayed by 40 mins so no big deal but then no board updates which turned into an 8 hour delay and 11 hours at the airport finally we were allowed to board. And after a 3+ hour flight and just 10 mins to touchdown in Manila they tell us there is a runway closure and we have been diverted to another airport in Clark and are not allowed to get off. This is not the first time a flight has been diverted from Manila to Clark so does PAL have both memory loss not to learn from these previous diversions. So they let us off and then put us in a waiting room with no representative from PAL anywhere in sight. Even the captain made no announcements from the flight deck and left the cabin crew with angry passengers and no way to explain. Immigration closed/sleeping in Clark so they won’t give us luggage to make own arrangements and are making us wait another 4 hours to force us to fly back to Manila at 6am.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Manila
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"rew was outstandin"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Manila. Premium Economy was pretty good. The seats are a little bit wider and they recline a little bit more than regular economy. Food portions were greatly reduced from past flights. The food quality is still very good, but the quantity is much smaller. Also, some passengers were not offered bread rolls for some reason. The flight was very smooth and nice, which is kinda normal for this Jan. time of year. And as usual, the crew was outstanding and professional
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHonolulu to Manila
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Flight fantastic"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Manila. The Manila-bound flight with PAL went smoothly. Definitely there was an improvement in the FA's manner of dealing with the passengers. The food was delightful, like getting a preview of one might look forward to dining in the Philippines. The IFE selection was a little limited, hope it was because it was a 3-hour flight only. Aircraft looked and smelled clean. Arriving at the NAIA Centennial Terminal is a different story, of course but for the sake of giving goodwill as it was almost Christmas, I shall keep this to myself and hope that they can recognize that there is a big room for improvement. Flight fantastic, cannot complain at all. Manila Airpor- needs improvement in many aspects. Will continue to fly with PAL whenever I can as I would like to see if they manage to sustain the big improvements they have had after such a long time of being in the doldrums of flight comfort and customer service.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Manila
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"cabin crew were the best"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Singapore via Manila. This trip was my first time flying with Philippine Airlines and I was pleasantly surprised. The flight from Bangkok to Manila was originally scheduled to be an A350 however this was changed to a 77W. The aircraft was very clean and well maintained, my only issue was that it had a 3-4-3 configuration rather than a 3-3-3. The flight departed and arrived on time. The cabin crew were the best that I have experienced on any airline, they were polite and courteous, and present throughout the entire flight. After a tight connection in Manila, my Singapore flight both departed and arrived early. Service on this flight was also excellent and the A321 utilised was fine for a route of this length. I would not hesitate to use Philippine Airlines again.
AircraftBoeing 77W / A321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Singapore via Manila
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"new aircraft was great"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Manila. Flight was delayed by 40 minutes due to Manila air traffic. Cabin was new, clean, and fresh. It was my first time trying the Premium Economy class in international flight. The seats were comfortable that I dozed off in few minutes after take-off. Food was tasty but the crew did not make rounds for coffee/tea. I didn't like much the staff assigned in our cabin because she seems to be rushing always. Overall, it was uneventful. The new aircraft was great!
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSingapore to Manila
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes