Philippine Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 913 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“air-hostesses inattentive and indifferent”

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Sat in Business Class seat 5H and my wife in 5G. Seat setting buttons were not working the entire flight. Media centre did not work for the first 3 hours of the flight after which we were asked to connect our phones to the onboard media wifi and watch movies or listen to music on our phones. Imagine doing this for a 16 hour flight. The air-hostesses were inattentive and indifferent and did not have the charisma or class to offer a Premium class service. The inflight Chief Purser Mr Eric Mariano told us the non-functioning seat buttons problem was an ongoing issue with his airline and even though their staff had made numerous complaint reports of the seats not functioning, the airline had stubbornly not repaired them. I did receive an email from their Customer Service rep who wasn't even reading my emails but just responding with the same standard reply (4 times). I hope Captain Stanley K Ng reads this feedback about how badly his airline is doing and what we the people who pay to fly on it think.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteToronto to Manila
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Had a great flight"

(Canada)

Not Verified |   So cool having both the window and aisle seat config in my business class pod from Vancouver to Manila. Attendants were very friendly and encouraging to try Filipino food for the first time. Had a great flight
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteVancouver to Bali via Manila
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We booked our flight four months out, the week before flying Philippine Airlines cancelled the flight and rescheduled to the next day so we had to change connecting flights, accommodation and boat transfers which we were not compensated just lots of sorry and refer to website. Got on the rescheduled plane, seven hour flight with NO access to entertainment due to age of the plane, meaning zero screens. Had we been notified we could have downloaded movies for the flight but non disclosure is a specialty with this airline. The staff just told everyone to close the shutters on a day flight so people would fall asleep. We are travelling with a group will never fly this airline again. They really have no respect for customers all about $.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrisbane to Manilla
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



9th April 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hi, S Hayne. Please allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the disruption to your travel plans caused by the cancellation of your flight. We prioritize our passenger's safety above all, sometimes, we even have to disrupt flights due to safety reasons. We hope for your kind understanding on this. However, we also understand that flight disruptions can cause significant stress and inconvenience, and we deeply regret any distress this may have caused. We assure you that our team is working diligently to minimize these inconveniences and to ensure that our passengers reach their destination safely. Regarding the inflight entertainment system, we would like to apologize if this has detracted from your travel experience. While the myPAL eSuite (embedded inflight entertainment system) may not be available on the utilized aircraft of your flight, please note that we have the myPAL Player which is an app that you may download on your personal devices to keep you entertained inflight. Although, we also understand your sentiments and we will have them forwarded to the relevant offices for their attention and assessment. We also acknowledge that we have let you down when you reached out for further assistance regarding your booking and we would like to try to make it up to you. Thus, please reach out to us through our PAL Help Page: https://www.philippineairlines.com/en/about-us/contact-us/customer-feedback so we can look into your concern further. Thank you very much.

1/10

"absolutely terrible service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We've received absolutely terrible service from Philippine Airlines and definitely will not book with them again. We booked flights from London - Manila with them for a large wedding party of 9 people. Having had the flights booked for 18 months, Philippine Airlines cancelled the flight just a few weeks before we were due to fly. It was such a huge problem for us, as this flight cancellation jeopardised our entire wedding. After contacting our booking agents, several alternative flights were suggested to Philippine Airlines, all of which were declined by the airline with no reason given. After several back and forths with this, I contacted Philippine Airlines directly. This led to a long-winded episode of explaining and re-explaining the problem to a host of uninterested customer service agents, eventually taking up over 5 hours of my time on phone calls. Each of the alternative flights were declined for a variety of unconvincing reasons, which I suspect masked the real reason that the airline would lose money actually providing the service that we paid them for. Eventually we were forced to refund the flights and rebook with another airline, losing out on literally thousands on pounds due to the increased costs between when we booked and when Philippine Airlines cancelled the flight at the last minute. I'm now going through the process of claiming compensation from Philippine Airlines, to which they have stopped answering e-mails. Phoning is also difficult, as it's always being referred to "another department" who, as customers, we cannot contact directly. Booking with this airline is a huge risk, so please consider other options before making your booking. Learn from our mistakes.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Manila
Date FlownApril 2024
Value For Money 12345
no



8th April 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hi, Ben. We’re truly sorry to hear that this has been your experience with us. We understand how frustrating it can be to have your travel plans disrupted unexpectedly, especially when it almost jeopardized your wedding and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you and your companions. We also acknowledge the importance of providing the best customer service possible, particularly in situations where flights are affected by disruptions, and we sincerely apologize for letting you down in this regard. Your disappointment and dissatisfaction with our customer service and the overall experience are valid, and we want you to know that we take your feedback seriously. We have taken note that you have already reached out to us via call and email, however, we are unable to assist you further without your specific details. Thus, may we kindly request that you reach out through our PAL Help Page: https://pal.my.site.com/s/? Thank you very much and we hope to hear from you.

10/10

"we had a great experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Overall we had a great experience with PAL. The lounge in Manila seems pretty new and they have a good selection of food that tastes great as well. Besides that the ground staff at Manila is absolutely horrible and super rude. In contrast to the ground staff PAL has one of the best cabin crews out there. Extremely kind and professional all the time and they were all checking on us multiple times. I think I never had such a great cabin crew before. The seats were great and we were able to sleep throughout the whole flight. Furthermore the IFE is pretty solid and they have a great selection of movies. The only thing that didn’t work was the wifi even though the aircraft was equipped with it, but it didn’t really matter to us. Furthermore the food was not the best, maybe because we ordered a special meal, but at least in Business Class you would think it it’s at least decent. Otherwise the value for money was unbeatable, and we wanted to sleep during the flight anyways, so the food wasn’t a big issue. If PAL wants to improve something they really sound work to train their ground staff to be nice and maybe improve their vegan meals (It doesn’t need to be something special, but at least make it taste good.)
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteManila to Sydney
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



30th March 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hi, N Walden! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We're thrilled to hear that you had a great overall experience with PAL during your recent flight, and that you found our lounge in Manila to be enjoyable with a tasty food selection. We're truly sorry to hear about the unpleasant experience you had with our ground staff in Manila. Rest assured, we take your feedback seriously and will address this matter internally to ensure that all our passengers receive the courteous service they deserve. On the brighter side, we're delighted to hear that you found our cabin crew to be one of the best, kind, and professional, providing you with multiple check-ins throughout the flight. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to our crew members—they'll be thrilled to hear it! It's wonderful to hear that you found our seats comfortable and were able to get some rest during your flight. We're also glad to know that you enjoyed our in-flight entertainment system and movie selection. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the wifi not working, and we'll be sure to look into this issue further. Regarding the food, we're sorry to hear that it didn't meet your expectations, especially if you ordered a special meal. We're continuously working to improve our meal options, including vegan choices, and your feedback will certainly be taken into consideration. Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to provide the best possible service to all our passengers. We hope to welcome you on board again soon for another pleasant journey with us.

2/10

“On every flight our seats were changed”

(Australia)

Not Verified | My partner and I flew from Sydney, Australia to Manila and then on to Boracay. In the 4 total trips, we paid extra to reserve our seats, months in advance. On every flight our seats were changed and we had to pay to change our seats. On the Sydney to Manila and Manila to Sydney flights which are 6 hour + flights, we had no screens so could not watch anything. This is really disappointing in 2024 for a long haul flight. Leg room was poor. Food was average. No charging ports for devices. Staff were friendly. We will try and use another airline in the future.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManila to Sydney
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



24th March 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hi, Galia. We understand your frustration and we truly regret the disappointment you've felt on your recent flights with us due to the changes in your seat reservations, lack of embedded inflight entertainment system and the legroom of our seats. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this has caused you and your partner. We assure you that we take your feedback seriously and we'll have them forwarded to the relevant offices for their attention and service enhancement. However, allow us to share some insights on your raised concerns as well. With regards to the changes in your seat reservations, please note that circumstances due to safety, security, and operational concerns may require us to re-assign seats, regretfully sometimes even after boarding the aircraft. Should this occur, we will make sure to provide an alternative seat of the same value or refund your myPAL Seat Select payment if otherwise. If we were unable to do this, please do not hesitate to reach out through our PAL Help Page so we can assist you further regarding this: https://pal.my.site.com/s/. As for the absence of inflight entertainment on your Sydney flights, please be advised that the inflight entertainment system varies on the aircraft to be used for your flight. While the myPAL eSuite (embedded inflight entertainment system) may not be available on the utilized aircraft of your flight, please note that we have the myPAL Player which is an app that you may download on your personal devices to keep you entertained inflight. We highly appreciate taking the time to share your experience with us as it is feedback like yours that help us in our continuous service enhancement. Thank you and we hope that you'll give us another chance to provide you with the service that you deserve.

8/10

"$70 USD for an exit row seat"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Flight and cabin crew services were excellent. Despite this, I will not be using Philippine airlines again in future. Main reason being that they wanted $70 USD for an exit row seat (for my flights, with 4 legs, this would have totaled $280 USD, almost as much as the price of the ticket. I'm not sure what airlines seem to be doing with their seats at the moment, but the bases of most of the seats lately have been very hard and uncomfortable. My decision not to use Philippine Airlines again in future was also influenced by my experiences at Manila airport.
AircraftA321neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCebu to Perth via Manila
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



21st March 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hello, Andrew. Thank you for your feedback on your recent Philippine Airlines flight. We are truly sorry to learn that your experience has led you to consider not flying with us again. We sincerely apologize for the discomfort caused by the seat selection charges and the firmness of the standard seating. We understand your frustration with the additional cost for an exit row seat, particularly for a multi-leg journey. We're constantly evaluating our seating options and appreciate your feedback on seat comfort. While we're glad you found the flight and cabin crew services excellent, we're sad to hear about your experience at Manila Airport. To better understand the situation and identify areas for improvement, we would be grateful if you could share more details through our PAL Help Page: https://www.philippineairlines.com/en/about-us/contact-us/customer-feedback. We sincerely hope you'll consider Philippine Airlines for future travels. We're committed to providing a comfortable and enjoyable travel experience, and your feedback is valuable in helping us achieve that goal. Thank you.

1/10

"a cascade of inconveniences"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | In our quest to challenge preconceptions about Philippine Airlines, our anticipation for a memorable flight was marred by a cascade of inconveniences. The abrupt cancellation of our original flight, flight delays, damaged amenities, and a dated hotel experience left us questioning the efficacy of our choice. Despite glimpses of effort in customer service, the overall experience failed to align with the standards we have come to expect from our previous business-class ventures with other airlines.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Manila
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



5th March 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hi, N Malardo. We understand how frustrating and disappointing your recent experience with us was and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you. We aim to provide our passengers with seamless travel experiences and we truly regret that we have let you down on your recent flight with us. We make every effort to uphold our on-time performance, but the safety and well-being of our passengers is always our top priority. Thus, there are instances when we have to disrupt the flight due to safety or operational concerns. We assure you that we are continuously working to minimize these inconveniences and to provide necessary assistance, such as hotel accommodations to affected passengers. While we understand that we were able to provide this, we have taken note of your feedback regarding the hotel and we'll have them forwarded to the concerned offices for their attention and assessment. Regarding the damaged remote of your inflight entertainment system, we acknowledge that this may have detracted from your travel experience and we want to make it right. Thus, please reach out to our PAL Help Page so we can assist you further regarding this: https://pal.my.site.com/s/. Thank you very much and we hope that you'll give us another chance to provide you with the service that you deserve.

3/10

“poor food offering”

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Very bad airline with long checking in queues. Next to impossible, patience required for slow checking in. Service is also not very good with poor food offering. Overall very bad experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChangi to Manila
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no



25th February 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hi, Heng Kei. We're truly sorry to hear about your experience with us. We understand that long queues and slow check-in processes can be frustrating, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. Providing efficient and seamless service is always our goal, and we regret that we fell short of your expectations in this regard. Your feedback on our food offering is also duly noted, and we appreciate your honesty. We're continuously working to improve our services, and your comments will certainly be taken into consideration as we strive to enhance the overall passenger experience. We hope for another opportunity to serve you better in the future.

10/10

"Service on-board was great"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | It was the cheapest Business Class ticket during the peak season (Christmas Holiday). Service on-board was great with crew being hospitable and attentive to requests. Food was OK, cannot complain about for the price paid. I will continue flying PAL for as long as they keep the price reasonable.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteRiyadh to Manila
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes



25th February 2024 : Philippine Airlines response

Hi there, C! We're delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us, especially during the peak season. It's fantastic to know that you found our Business Class service great, and our crew hospitable and attentive. We strive to ensure that our passengers feel well taken care of throughout their journey. Your feedback on the food is duly noted. Rest assured, we continuously work on enhancing our services to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon!