Mango Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 97 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no notification of the delay "

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Port Elizabeth to Johannesburg. I don’t think I have ever been on a Mango flight that has not been delayed. I received no notification of the delay until I rocked up at the airport at check in time to see an 1:30 delay. I have a very important meeting which I will now miss.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePort Elizabeth to Johannesburg
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no information relayed to us"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Lanseria. I had a 6:10am flight on the morning of the 1st February. However once I was notified to go to my gate, I waited until after 6:30am to see that the pilots and cabin crew were only boarding the plane to prepare it. After waiting another 20mins and having no information relayed to us as passengers, I went and asked what was happening. Only to be told that one of the cabin crew was yet to arrive to work.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Lanseria
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"asked to pay for baby items"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Durban. Terrible! I travelled with my husband and 2 kids. I was told at the airport that I have to pay for additional luggage if I need to take my son's pram and car seat. I explained that their website is in contradiction. The supervisor on duty agreed but still wanted me to pay. I pointed out that an infant who doesn't pay for a ticket gets more baggage allowance than my 4-year-old who I do pay an adult price for? How is that fair. The baby items are statutory and necessary. Still no understanding. I travel extensively and this is the only time in 12 years that I was asked to pay for baby items.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Durban
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the card number had worn off"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Johannesburg. The service with baggage check-in was terrible. On the flight itself, the attendants are not helpful - they accept card for payment but have very weird and specific requirements about what type of cards. They did not allow me to use my card because the card number had worn off. The so called "mango rewards" does not actually work - I tried to redeem my rewards 2 days ago and have not received any voucher.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"waited 45 minutes for my luggage"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Durban to Johannesburg with Mango Airlines. Flight on time, no problems. However, after we landed, waited 45 minutes for my luggage! Nearly as ling as the entire flight! Ridiculous. It was also very late at night (about 11 at night). Really not nice to wait for the luggage for such a long time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Worst airline"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Durban to Cape Town delayed by 1hr 20 mins. Worst airline you could possibly pick. I suggest any other company that will get to your destination on time. Staff seem poorly trained.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Cape Town
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the flight doesn’t exist"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever! I booked from Cape Town to Johannesburg on 17th November at 6am (JE 134). We arrived at the airport for check-in just to find out that the flight doesn’t exist! We were not notified about it at all. Lady at the airport said we received an email, I can assure you we haven’t, because if I have known I would have cancelled the flight and booked it with some reliable airline! I check my email regularly - even spam folder and we were not the only ones without receiving any notification - there were other people at the airport with same problem! We have booked the car in Johannesburg at 8:30 because we needed to drive 7-8 hours to our accommodation. It was our first time driving on the left side and we wanted to avoid driving at night on unpaved roads which is what we had to do with this flight three hours later. I understand flights can get cancelled but if they at least have notified us we could have avoided all this stress and made different plans. I will not book with them ever again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst day with Mango"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Durban to Johannesburg. We have had the worst day with Mango. First we were sent to a new boarding gate for a 13:45 flight, from A11 to A19. Without any notice or communication, our flight was delayed. The notice on the display screen only saying ‘INDEF DELAY’. What does that even mean? Then we get sent to A14 to start boarding. Eventually, 15:30 we are on the plane, only to be told the aircraft is not fit to fly. Like sheep we get sent off to go fetch our bags, and stand in a queue at the Mango guest counters. Finally reaching the counter after waiting for our bags for ages, we are rewarded a voucher for the inconvenience caused. At the moment we are sitting in the dark, waiting to know what the next move is. Mango has not ket us know anything. This is extremely poor management and customer service displayed. None of the staff knew what was going on. And no one from management or the so called ‘team leaders’ could give us any direction.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"exhausted and angry"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | We flew Mango to Johannesburg comfortably.No problems at all. After our trip to Johannesburg we were excited to come back home to Cape Town. We arrive around the airport 2hrs before boarding and we online checked in. No messages were sent to us informing us that the flight had been delayed by 2hrs , we then went to the lounge for 1hr 55mins we arrive at our gate ready to head home only to find out that it had been delayed by and additional 2hrs! We are furious! We will only arrive home now at 12:30am On a Wednesday morning. My friend and I are exhausted and angry. Never again will we fly mango only Flysafair.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They don’t try and help you"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Port Elizabeth. We will be flying with Mango on 13th December 2019 . All went as planned up until they notify me via Email that our departure time has change to an evening flight. I immediately called them and asked what the reason was for the changing of the departure time. They could not give me any reason. I asked them if they could please change my flight to any time between 11 am and 2 pm that same day. I have an important meeting to attend at 16:30. They said no they don’t have any seats open on their other flights. I then asked them If they could place me on another airline departing in that time frame. They then told me I will be losing my money that I payed. I payed extra for choosing where to sit etc. I decided to stay with them the because I was fighting a loosing battle. Fast forward a week or two I get a chance to get on an earlier flight and I took it. When I received my flight information I noticed that my seats that I booked were blank. I called them again and asked what is going on. The lady told me I changed my flight and I had lost that money that I have paid for my seats. I told them that they changed my original departure time etc. All what the lady told me was sorry. Their staff are useless. They don’t try and help you in any manner.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Port Elizabeth
Date FlownDecember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 97 Reviews