Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1028 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"staff are accommodating"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to London via Kuala Lumpur with A380 and A350. For the long haul flight, the staff are accommodating, i can see that they are tired but trying to accomodate us as much as possible. Transfer in KL is with no hassle, just need to check the boarding gate (no carrying baggage, custom immigration clearance etc).
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to London via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"No kids meal was prebooked"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Hyderabad to Sydney via Kuala Lumpur. We requested for Hindu meal when booking and i can see that on our online booking. But on the flight they didn't know about it and offered us the regular meal. Overall the standard of food was poor. No kids meal was prebooked and was not available on demand. Food quality was really bad even on our way to India from Sydney.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHyderabad to Sydney via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"crew were professional"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Singapore. Flight departed on time & arrived early. Light refreshments of salted peanuts & orange juice were served on this short journey. Cabin crew were professional. Unfortunately, the aircon was not working properly throughout the flight & so it was really warm, considering it was in the afternoon. Would have been unbearable on a longer flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Singapore
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Check-in online was a disaster"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Manila to Kuala Lumpur. Check-in online was a disaster, not designed for doing that with your phone at all, especially not for seat selection. Contacted Malaysia, said I can just go to the counter, no options to upgrade the seat what so ever. Staff at the gate is unfriendly, want you to open the bag eventhough it already passed airport security X-ray. On board entertainment is limited and the system is old. Would never fly Malaysia Airlines again. It was a KLM flight operated by Malasiya Airlines.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"satisfied with this airline"

(India)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Bangalore via Kuala Lumpur. This has been a surprise, and really satisfied with this airline total experience. you get whatever you want to make a comfortable journey. Food and drinks options need to increase and if some one asks an extra meal, please cater that. Rest all good.
AircraftA350- 900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Bangalore via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"food in economy is poor"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Auckland to London via Kuala Lumpur. This will be the first and only time we fly with this airline. The planes are modern and well equipped but the food in economy is so poor and shoddy. Couple that with a poor level of current films on in flight entertainment on an LHR to KL flight of some 13 hours. The KL to Auckland leg of 10.5 hours really provided so little room in economy as to make sleeping almost impossible. Same lack of choice of entertainment as well. I would choose Singapore Airlines instead. Having said that some might argue that you pay for what you get and the price tag from London to NZ at 1k each was reasonable. £200 more we could have gone with a caring airline.
AircraftA330 and A350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to London via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"I will avoid in future"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to London Heathrow on the new A350. The trip was uneventful but this aircraft is not suitable for a 13 hour plus trip. Lack of toilets, very cramped seats and een the thinnest aisles I have seen make the whole feeling claustrophobic. I will avoid in future. The food drinks service was average, IFE not bad and good quality headphones provided.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to London
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Extra Legroom Seat is worth it"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to London via Kuala Lumpur. It was a pleasant flight. We had no trouble while check in at Changi. However, the service was efficient and polite. The 738 to KUL is a bit outdated. The crew were polite and the service was again efficient. Transit process in KUL airport is easy and we no need to clear the customs, re-check our baggage etc as it was tagged straight to Heathrow. The A350 is a wonderful plane. We were sitting in an Extra Legroom Seat which is slightly more expensive than the economy as it got more legroom. The crew was super attentive and friendly. They looked after us through the flight and constantly walked around the cabin offering drinks like orange juice, apple juice, etc. They even gave me extra food when i went to the galley to have a chat with them. The Extra Legroom Seat is worth it. With just around $100(SGD) more, you got a seat with generous legroom, footrests and the crew will start servicing you first rather than the Economy passenger. The seat is pretty comfortable for a 14h flight despite the fact that it is exactly the same seat as the economy class seat with only additional legroom and footrest. The meal from KL - based catering is good but nothing special. However the inflight entertainment could be better. I would suggest you to bring your own entertainment device as for me, the selection is not as good as airline like SIA, Emirates etc. I would recommend Malaysia Airlines for you whom intending to travel to London from KL or KL from London. It is value for money and with just around $100, you can get a pretty comfortable seat.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to London via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

Malaysia Airlines customer review

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Flying from BKI to TPE (MH68) was a satisfying one. The ground and cabin crews service, inflight meal, the condition of the airplane itself were all up to my satisfaction. However, the returning flight from TPE and BKI (MH69) on 23rd Dec 2018 was quite disappointing. One of the female flight attendants on duty serving economy class that morning had very long face, no smile, grumpy, impolite, unfriendly throughout the entire 3 hours flight. I witnessed how she treated passengers from seat row 9 and below during distribution of inflight meals. No "excuse me", no "thank you", no "please". She totally ruined / tarnished the reputable Malaysian Hospitality. I'd say that she really needs to attend a refreshment training so not to further damage Malaysia Airlines image.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKota Kinabalu to Taipei
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"definitely unpleasant"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Kuala Lumpur. The service provided by the cabin crew was a way below the expected level. The Cabin crew showed poor conduct in servicing by using unpleasant tones and voices. For example, they said in a high tone "coffee or Tea" and "here is your breakfast". For the laptop bag stored under the seat compartment, the crew insisted that the bag did not fit inside and asked to put at the overhead compartment. As I am a frequent flyer, I do not understand the intention behind the staff of insisting to put my laptop bag in the overhead compartment. Secondly, they only served 1 type of meal, which was beef rice on board. This was the worst part of not having 2 different types of meals as some people don't eat beef. Overall, the flight from Seoul to KL was definitely unpleasant and I felt like I should be serving the "crew" instead.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no