Malaysia Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1296 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Premium price for budget airline product/service"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Premium price for budget airline product/service. First time with MAS long haul flight. Considering its a 14 hr flight nothing is done to ensure passengers comfort. You don't even get an amenities bag. Seats were small and cramped with hardly any leg room. (I'm 152 cm) Cabin crew seemed unfriendly and disgruntled. No smiles and very reluctant service. Ask for another drink with dinner you get a look. Ask for some water you get a small cup with barely 2 mouthfuls. Ask for more coffee with your breakfast, it never came. Meals were small, of poor quality and were served with a long 9-10 hour interval. Breakfast frittata was like eating plastic. Entertainment quite basic compared to other airlines. Movies TV shows were so heavily censored that you lose the plot sometimes. Truly the most disagreeable flight I've been on. I will stick with the Middle Eastern carriers from now on. Better value for money and they actually know what customer service is.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to CDG, Paris via Heathrow, London
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"a bad travelling experience"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | We, a family of four travelled to India in Dec 2022 and returned back in Jan 2023. On our departure from Auckland to Kuala Lumpur, the flight was delayed a few times and finally took off 12 hours after the original scheduled time and we missed our second connecting flight to India. So, we had to wait another 12 hours in KL to catch the next possible connecting flight. From KL to Bangalore, the airline staff refused to take one of our cabin bags into the flight saying our bag is too big for the cabin but later I came to know that our bag was not the problem but that there was not enough space inside the cabin. Our luggage had also not arrived with us when we landed and was supposedly lost in Malaysia. They also refused to let a few other passengers bags carry their carry on luggage into the plane as well. Staff should have admitted the problem with passengers rather than blaming the customers on perfectly acceptable cabin luggage. On our return trip flight from KL to AuckIand, our families seats were spread out into separate rows which made the trip uncomfortable as the people next to us hadn't selected the seats next to us but were also placed randomly. I had e-mailed and also spoken to MH customer service over the phone and requested them sort this out well in advance prior to our flight but they did not do anything. Airline food was average. We had a bad travelling experience with MH.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Bangalore via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"my luggage was left in Malaysia"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The flight from Heathrow to Kuala Lumpur was delayed because of luggage being topped up from connecting flight. Once I arrived in Kuala Lumpur i was running so fast to catch my next flight going to Manila. But when I arrived in Manila yesterday, my luggage are not there. Staff told me my luggage was left in Kuala Lumpur not to cause delay in the flight. They are proud of hospitality- where is this value? I cannot seem to feel it now where you cause me more stress.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Manila via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"the leg room was generous"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | The flight from Langkawi to Singapore was a two-flight combination using the B737-800. I had booked and paid for exit row 14 on both sectors and the leg room was generous. On the first leg, wifi streaming entertainment was available while on the second segment, personal TV was available. As I was seated at the exit window seat 14A, the left armrest was a truncated armrest so that it will not block the emergency exit. Both flight sectors were around 1 hour and shortly after take off, a packet of peanuts and orange juice was served. Being such short flights, nothing more was expected.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLangkawi to Singapore via Kuala Lumpir
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"definitely don't recommend them"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Would never fly with Malaysia Airlines again and definitely don't recommend them. I flew between London Heathrow to Auckland via Kuala Lumpur mid-December 2022, returning to Heathrow the first week of January 2023. Every single flight was delayed, luggage was lost on return to London (the delay was ample time to allow the ground crew to transfer the bags), and cabin crew were rude. On one leg the steward was so fed up telling every passenger the meal choices (first airline ever that didn't hand out meal choice cards) that all we got was 'spicy or non-spicy' before the tray & croissant were literally thrown at us. This is also the first time my luggage has never made it back at the same time as I did. The airline made no announcements regarding delayed flights, and no apology either. The outbound flight arrived over 3 hours late in Auckland meaning my sister had to order & pay for a taxi to pick me up. Should have arrived on Thursday evening at 2355 - instead we arrived after 3am on Friday morning! A complete farce from beginning to end.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to London via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer services was of no help"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Delayed my first flight from Singapore to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Airlines staff promised that the second connecting flight would wait for us, then later they changed my KUL flight to PEN the next morning. The staff on ground promised that luggage will put on priority to go on board together with us on scheduled flight, ended up none of the promises happened. Luggage now is missing. All their customer services was of no help, mishandling dept refused to answer any of the calls, emails got blocked. During the delayed we tried calling, after a while they even refused to accept any of our calls to let us know what is going on. Calls keep getting cut off. This airline is really spoiling the country's image.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Penang via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"One of the better MH flights"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | One of the better MH flights recently from MNL to KUL - was on time - recently the afternoon flights have been delayed a couple of hours. Seated in BC. Service was good- although the quality of food out of MNL was poor. Check in - the MH staff refused to allow me to bring my rimowa roll on. It’s the bigger cabin version of roll on- have taken it on over 80 flights last year with no issue. I don’t know what the issue was but think as usual the business class check in with MH at NAIA is staffed by the average Joe where as most airlines put their better staff on BC check in.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteManila to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"A much better effort"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | A much better effort by Malaysia Airlines in a refurbished cabin 737-800. Row 4 is economy front row on this aircraft. A quick trip in a heavy rainstorm but a good crew and obviously experienced cockpit.
AircraftBoeing 737-800ng
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohor Bahru to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Great service beginning to end"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Great service beginning to end. Recognition as per One World Emerald. Polite crew. On time. Easy - it’s a good job by Malaysia Airlines on this sector. The 737 is probably one due for a cabin refit.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Manila
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"don't want be on a 737 for 6hrs"

(Australia)

Not Verified | On December 24th, 2022, my family were going on MH124. Immediately trouble occurred at check in. The people there said we need vaccine certificates to enter Bangladesh so we were urgently searching for them. However, the immigration at Bangladesh didn't even bother to check if we had vaccine certificates so there was all that panic for nothing. The flight was pretty enjoyable since the IFE had a decent selection. Meal was also pretty good. To be honest though, I could not sleep and highly suggest that Malaysia Airlines fly A330s on this route because you don't want be on a 737 for 6hrs.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePerth to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes