Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1386 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Service was okay"

(China)

Trip Verified | Manchester to Seoul via Munich. Return leg, with stop over in Munich for 4 days. Man to Munich was uneventful, standard A321, Snack was OK, seating as per economy with spare seat in middle empty. Service was ok. Munich to ICN on 8 month old A350, flight was on time. Seating the same as 747-400. Amenities kit poor. Food was stone cold, choice of wines limited to two red and two white. My choice of main was not available (or none left ). Flight was 90% full. Kids meal was OK as was amenity pack for kids. Service was okay, WiFi poor.
AircraftA321 / A350
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Seoul via Munich
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"boarding was a total mess"

(Romania)

Trip Verified | Miami to Munich. How Lufthansa is a 5 star airline has always baffled me but this time I really got the confirmation. I will not blame them for the 3 hours we spent on the plane before departing on our outwards trip (MUC-MIA), there was heavy snowfall in Munchen and we had to wait for the runways to be cleared and the plane to be deiced. However, during those 3 hours there was no service at all. I wasn't expecting much, but a glass of water would have been nice though. Now, the A380s cabin is seriously outdated. And even though it's clear that the plane we flew on recently underwent a C-check, being repainted in the new livery, the didn't bother retrofitting the cabin, so you get a 10 year old in-flight entertainment system. The touch screen barely works, it's slow to respond and responds only to every 3rd of 4th command. And on the inbound leg (MIA-MUC) the control keys (volume, channel, reading lights) didn't work at all. The IFE also froze and reset several times. On the outbound flight some passengers had the IFE not working at all and although they announced on the PA systems that they reset it several times, it didn't solve the problem. We also landed with the cabin light on (they should have been turned down) due to the same electrical problem. The seats are quite uncomfortable and the pitch in economy is just bearable and there are large metal containers protruding in the leg area. I have flown on low cost airlines which had the same seat pitch. There were no amenity kits provided, which if I'm not mistaken, should be provided by a 5 star airline, even in economy (I have flown on ones that do). The food is also nothing to brag about, it's half decent but certainly expected more from such a prestigious airline. On our backward trip the crew arrived late (but again, not their fault since there was an accident and a traffic jam), however the boarding process was a total mess. People aligned according to their seat numbers, but then they decided to randomly close lanes and just board people wherever. There wasn't even a boarding announcement, just for first and business class. When they started boarding Economy and Economy Premium they just opened two random lanes. This meant that no one really knew what's going on and the random boarding made the boarding time unnecessarily long for such a large plane (people in the back which should have been first ended up waiting for people in the front to sit down, who should have been boarded last). The crew however is pleasant, smiles and does a good job. The pilots also seemed professional and seemed to have everything under control, despite quite rough turbulence at times. At least this time our bags arrived safe, this is a miracle for Lufthansa since they managed to break 2 trolleys on my previous flights. In conclusion, definitely not a 5 star airline and regret choosing them over the other 5 star airline with which I could have flown (despite the fact that my flight time to MIA would have been an hour longer since they operate from a different hub and would have had other connecting flights).
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMiami to Munich
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I was randomly selected"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Barcelona to Munich on Eco-Light fare. Gate agent selected passengers to check-in luggage due to flight was almost fully booked. I had one luggage, I was randomly selected to check its size and weight even though many others were much bigger. Had to undergo their weighing process and unload my luggage to below 8kg with a half empty luggage and the rest of the content transferred to a backpack I had in the luggage before being allowed to carry the luggage on board. If the purpose was to reduce the amount of carry on a and randomly selecting passengers, it would be the more professional thing to do by telling passengers that this was the reason.
AircraftAirbus 320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBarcelona to Munich
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Staff very kind and smiling"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | WAW to NBO via FRA with LH. A pleasant journey - all aircraft were refurbished and very clean. IFE system on board A330 was very good with large variety of latests films and music hits. Food tasty, you could choose one of 3 types of meal and alcoholic beverages of some 10 types. Staff very kind and smiling, ready to help on any request. Seats comfortable, ideal for sleep throughout the flight. Would defnitely fly with Lufthansa again.
AircraftA320/A319 & A330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteWarsaw to Nairobi via Frankfurt
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"the most comfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to London via Frankfurt. Lufthansa 2 for 1 business ticket offer. Flights fully operated by LH. Evening check-in in BKK. The trainee at the counter forgot to give us fast track cards for security/immigration which was quite a pain as it was a very busy night at BKK so we had to go back to check-in to collect cards. Security/immigration was quick and efficient. Boarding started on time and was very quick. Blanket and pillow was waiting at the seat and amenity kits were handed out shortly after, as were welcome drinks. Orders from bar were taken prior to take off but dinner orders were only taken after the seat belt sign had been turned off. Despite this dinner was completed in just 90 min after take off. The food was ok but nothing special. The seat, while lacking privacy and not being all aisle access, have to be the most comfortable seats I have ever been in. Whether sitting up, lying down or picking the "relax" position the seat was great. The entertainment system was great and easy to use with a good selection of movies and tv shows. Breakfast served prior to landing while ok was perhaps the least tasty meal of this trip. The intention was good but the whole dish had ended up being very dry and boring. The crew were quite non-descriptive as they were going through the motions and while not unfriendly they did not seem to engage at all, a very forgettable crew. Landing in FRA was on time. FRA-LHR was on time and a very average intra European business class trip. The crew here were quite a bit better than the long haul crew as they were fun and engaging and eager to please on the short flight.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to London via Frankfurt
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"no privacy between the seats"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Munich to Miami. Overall the trip was ok. The configuration of the seats on the aircraft is slightly too compressed, compared to other airlines with the same aircraft. There is no privacy between the seats and the comfort of the cushion was a really bad surprise, not what I was expecting from a business class seat. The service on board is in line with the expectation, really friendly and regardful. Wi-Fi service costs extra money, even with a business class ticket or for members of Miles&More which is disappointing. starting with 7 EUR just for the slow connection and going up to 29 EUR for the premium one. Considering the high price of the ticket, it could have been complimentary. The entertainment is ok, nothing special. The screen is quite small and not in a very comfortable position. The selection of movies is good, also the possibility to see the external cameras.
AircraftA380-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMunich to Miami
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"food choice was poor"

(China)

Trip Verified | Seoul to Manchester via Frankfurt. Lufthansa cannot be compared to other 5-Star Airlines and is a poor relation. The first leg was in a 20 year old 747-400, although clean, it is showing its age. Wifi did not work. The food choice was poor and poorly presented, the wine list consists of two reds and two whites, both very average. The seat comfort was not good and the placement of the screen disturbs neighbour who may wish to sleep. Frankfurt airport is a mess. Second flight on a A320 Neo, was not better, seats very thin? Business class seats same as economy but with middle seat empty, same legroom as economy. Buy two economy would be cheaper. Snack served. Ticket was keenly priced though.
AircraftBoeing 747-400 / A320 Neo
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteSeoul to Manchester via Frankfurt
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"such a bad experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Nairobi. Our flight UA 58 from SFO was late arriving in Frankfurt which caused my sister and I to run from one end of the terminal to another. I am 75 years of age and my sister 67. Once we arrived at the security check in, the guards further the delay causing us to miss our connecting flight to Nairobi. We were then told the next available fight would be the following day at the same time. We had to leave the secured area to contact personnel to reschedule our flight, which was a night mare in itself. Once at the "Customer Service" the agent rebooked us to flight to Heathrow and the onto Nairobi on Kenya Air. We arrived in Nairobi at 05:00 the next morning, having put a very long flight into a much longer flight. The last leg of our flight was from Cape Town to Frankfurt and then on to SFO. Because of the missed flight at the beginning of the trip my sister was unable to check-in online to secure her flight arrangements. After many frustrating calls to your 866 number and talking to someone who English was not understandable, we retired for the evening and called again the next day and finally spoke to someone who helped with confirming our flight and my sister was then able to check-in online. I have no idea what my cellphone fee will be for the call, but this could have been avoided if the error was not made it the first place and when you hirer someone ensure that they speak perfectly clear English. In the future, I will avoid booking any flights with Lufthansa. This is the first time I have written a review, but I have never had such a bad experience with an airline in the last 10 years of travel.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Nairobi
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"very nice and professional"

(Jordan)

Trip Verified | Dallas to Amman via Frankfurt. It's our first time using Lufthansa Air Line, really it was a very nice trip, we enjoy it very much. Ground Service Manager in Dallas DFW Airport, was very nice and cooperative. He was so nice to all passengers. We recommend to use Lufthansa Air Line, they are very nice and professional.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDallas to Amman via Frankfurt
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very poor value for money"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Luanda to Rome via Frankfurt. Everything is cheap; the quality of the business class seat, ground service, lounges, the food. Cabin crew and ground staff were rude and unhelpful to me. Transiting through Frankfurt is a nightmare. Considering the prices of tickets, this is very poor value for money.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLuanda to Rome via Frankfurt
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no