Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1744 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"on hold for over an hour"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Beirut via Frankfurt. I called Lufthansa and their answering service is so bad. I was on hold for over an hour trying to cancel my return flight due to an emergency. It is very frustrating traveling inbound where they cancel our flight and instead of 4 hours layover we ended up waiting 11 hours and no compensation. This is the worst airline. No consideration for family traveling with kids. As of now I can't cancel my trip and online service doesn't allow you to do so. We should have more reliable service when you have an emergency.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Beirut via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"a very good flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | My wife and I were given economy class seats aboard LH 457 to Frankfurt. Check in was methodical. I had on a cloth mask and was told I could only wear disposable masks on board the aircraft, the flight attendant gave me a fresh new disposable mask. Seat comfort was marginal at best, typical economy class seats for a long 10 1/2hr flight. Service was prompt and efficient. Dinner was a pasta with sauce palatable but I've had better. Breakfast prior to landing was a sandwich. Flight attendants very efficient. The 747-8 provided a very smooth flight albeit with some minor turbulence over the Atlantic. This aircraft had the old familiar livery of LH which I actually prefer to their new livery. Landing was smooth, deplaning very interesting. Passengers were required to remain seated until their rows were called to deplane which actually made existing the aircraft very organized and orderly unlike the US carriers where it's every one for themselves. All in all a very good flight from LAX to FRA. Food offerings could stand some improvement though.
AircraftBoeing 747-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"downgrade my seat to regular economy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I originally booked a direct return flight from Brussels to JFK for July 25th. My flight was supposed to be at 10.35AM. The day before the flight on July 24th, I went online to do my check in and just want to make sure everything is okay then I noticed Lufthansa had cancelled my flight without booking me another flight back to the US, meanwhile, I paid for round trip. So I spent last day of my vacation 4 hours on the phone trying to solve this issue. First, it’s so hard to find a valid number to call Lufthansa for customer service. When we finally found a number to call, then it says they only work Monday to Friday. Long story short, I finally was able to rebook my flight for July 25th at 9.10AM. Boarding is so slow and inefficient. We were supposed to leave at 9.10AM but we did not leave until 9.40AM due to slow boarding. I originally paid/ booked premium economy seat, while they rebook me they downgrade my seat to regular economy. Then I have a connection flight from frankfurter to JFK at 11.00AM. While in the air I asked a crew member that I have connection flight if I can still make it and she said yes, if I ran. I ran through the immigration and I asked the guy who worked at the immigration again if he thinks I can make it then he told me he doesn’t think so because of the gate is very far, the farthest gate it’ll take me about 10+ mins if I run (Z68). When I finally ran to the gate, airline employees told me the boarding has closed. I missed my flight while my other fellow American who ran with me said while they were told this connection flight will wait for us. Then we were told there is no more flight out to NY JFK anymore for the day. We can either wait until tomorrow or go to Newark NJ. (But my car is parked at JFK long term parking). Then we have to go to another gate (Z12) to the counter in order to rebook our flight. Anyway, so I took that flight at 1:20PM (again they put me in regular economy while I paid for premium economy). Because of the whole chaos that Lufthansa put me through now I end up in Newark. So I have to figure out an Uber home or arrange pick up by friends while I have my own car parked at JFK where I booked my final destination to. Lufthansa, are you paying my one extra day of long term parking? Are you going to refund me the cost difference between premium economy to regular economy?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBrussels to Newark via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Lufthansa went above and beyond"

(Kazakhstan)

Trip Verified | In 2020, when every other airline was trying to cheat me, Lufthansa went above and beyond and gave me even better terms than my contract entitled me too. They were also rather gracious when I showed up with oversized luggage, and did not charge me extra, although they could have. Of all the airlines I've been flying with, this is the one one that I have no complaints about.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBucharest to Nur-Sultan via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Waiting multiple times more than one hour"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Impossible to join them on the phone. Waiting multiple times more than one hour and nobody is answering, the call simply stopped by itself. The lady at the airport wasn't offering any option except than to call again the customer service (which both cost money and doesn't answer).
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBerlin to Lyon via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Disappointing service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Disappointing service on the Transatlantic leg, pasta and beer/wine, no liquor, and for the rest of that flight only water was available. From Germany to Turkey, a bottle of water and nothing else. Won't look forward to flying LH ever again.
AircraftA330/A320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Antalya via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"mediocre hard and soft product"

(Slovakia)

Trip Verified | Very mediocre hard and soft product for price paid. No choices for food were available by they time the got to me despite half the cabin being upgraded and getting their choice. I had to remind staff multiple times to get service like refills. Ground service also was unaware of latest covid rules for destination wasting about 30 minutes of my time. I was disappointed by the dirtiness of my seat departing from Vancouver.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteVancouver to Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all costs"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airline ever. Online portal is horrible and feels dated. Not something from a giant airline. Could not check in online or at my first gate and was told I would have to go through security at Seattle to go out and print my ticket. Booth was almost empty, one nice employee helped me but then I risked missing my flight. Because of this, I had a terrible seat as well during the pandemic. Avoid at all costs. Never flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Larnaca via Seattle and Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"nearly missed a 1h15 connection"

(France)

Trip Verified | Due to lower traffic, I was hoping that connection in FRA was going to be stress less. I was wrong. Despite a lot of empty fingers, flight from MRS was parked in a remote position. Disembarking was very slow due to COVID, bus was late, and it took hours to arrive at T "A" and we nearly missed a 1h15 connection.
AircraftA320/A321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMarseille to Munch via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"We felt deceived"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | The flight time was changed several times without letting us know. The first change was the departure from Budapest. Although we did not make any changes, the tickets were not rebooked as we initially bought them: we paid for one checked luggage on our way to the USA, and 4 checked bags on our way back. NONE of our paid luggage were reflected in the system when we made it to the airport. We bought 6 tickets but we had to cancel one free or charge and full refund (due to the covid regulation) and although we’ve been promised to be fully refunded in one week after cancellation even after 4 weeks we still did not receive the refund. When my husband called, was a waiting time of 30 min. On our way back to Budapest, our arrival in Budapest was supposed to be around 10:25 am based on the itinerary we received. Instead of that, we found out we had to wait over 4 hrs in the airport. Nobody told us that we will never make it home by 10:25 am! We felt deceived and taken for granted or taken advantage of.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Budapest via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no