Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1563 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"empty middle seat offers more space"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to London. I upgraded to Business on this sector as it was a reasonable cost and since I had a long layover at Frankfurt from Bahrain, needed the use of the Lounge. The flight was on time, and as expected it was the usual professional, polite but non engaging service on board. As it was a midday flight, a cold lunch/snack and warm bread was served, along with drinks. Comfort wise, there is no difference between Economy and Business seats. The seat pitch is the same, and though the empty middle seat offers more space, considering this is just an hour flight, it did not make any difference. The experience on the outbound journey in Economy and return on Business was just the same except for the food and bar service. I would recommend this because it was a low price for the last minute upgrade.
Aircraft A320 NEO
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to London
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"polite and efficient service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Bahrain. I had done this route with Lufthansa before, and was happy to fly again with them. Despite the connection in Frankfurt (I was coming in from London), I find this flight more enjoyable than some other alternatives. On boarding, I was offered the usual nonalcoholic welcome drink, and we were away on time. Once the bar service was opened, I opted for a scotch on ice, but with a half litre bottle opened, I got a very small drink served! That was followed by a tasty lunch, wine, and I settled down to watch a movie on the IFE. The choice here is a very limited (compared to the likes of Emirates). On my return flight, which was late night, the service started with drinks and a delicious beef sandwich. 90 minutes before arrival a bland breakfast was served consisting of omelet and cold items. The seating on Premium Economy is very comfortable (2x3x2). The usual water bottle and small amenity kit was also provided. But as I was at a window seat, stepping out to use the toilet was difficult, especially as the passenger in the front seat had his seat reclining. My fellow passenger had to get off his seat to let me out. Overall Lufthansa offers a polite and efficient service, and good value for money, if you're not fussy about dates and times.
AircraftAirbus A330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteFrankfurt to Bahrain
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"nothing to complain about"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Frankfurt. From a day before departure, through to online check-in (with free seat selection), and right up to boarding, I was kept informed. Departed and arrived on time. The seat was comfortable, with a standard 31 inch pitch, and as I am small, was plenty enough space for me for the one hour flight. Soon after take off, unlike some other European airlines, a pastry snack and drink was swiftly served. Service, was formal, non-engaging, but quite adequate. However, on landing we had to be moved to a far away parking slot and it incurred a long bus ride, and further rail ride to the actual allocated terminal area. It took an extra 40 minutes to find my way to the gate to make my connecting flight to Bahrain. However, I think Lufthansa's Short Haul Economy product is OK. Nothing extraordinary to write about, yet nothing to complain about either.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Frankfurt
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"onward flight was already boarding"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Manchester to Dallas via Frankfurt with one hour to move from one gate to another. When we arrived in Frankfurt (nine minutes behind schedule) , our onward flight was already boarding. We ran down corridors, up escalators and caught a train to get us to the correct Z area of the airport, and then we were told that we would have to go through security again. We were taken to the so-called fast security queue where 15 to 20 members of staff stood around doing nothing and doing it very slowly whilst increasingly stressed passengers listened to last calls being announced. Over an hour after landing, we had missed our flight. The girl on the customer service desk arranged for us to get our luggage back and gave us a cursory apology for any inconvenience. Missing your bus is an inconvenience, but this has required us to alter our car hire, the friends meeting us in Dallas have had to hire another car, hotels for them and us at both ends of the journey, and we’ve missed the start of our tour. We are now booked onto tomorrow’s flight but we won’t be able to sit next to each other. We asked if we could sit in another area of the plane but the response was ‘I can’t bump other people out of their seats‘ which was obviously not something we had asked her to do.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Dallas via Frankfurt
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"service was good"

(Jordan)

Not Verified | Frankfurt to Amman. The seat was more comfortable than Air Canada’s 777, and the food was good, and the service was good, and the ground service was good, and the landing was beautiful, and I highly recommend it.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Amman
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"serving vegetarian snacks"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Krakow to Lisbon via Munich. I salute Lufthansa for serving vegetarian snacks and vegetarian dinners. It would be wonderful if other airlines followed suit.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKrakow to Lisbon via Munich
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the service was terrible"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We flew on a 4.00pm flight to Glasgow via Frankfurt. We were going to visit family with our 2 month old baby girl. To be short, the service was terrible. Stewards never offered to warm bottles, never bothered to check or ask how we were doing and when we did ask for some hot water it was given very abruptly. After only 2.5hrs of a 9.5 hour flight the cabin lights were turned off completely. This was not a red eye flight so I have no idea why this was done. When I got up to stretch and stand I was told within 2 minutes to go and sit down by the rudest stewardess I have ever encountered. She also badgered other passengers throughout the flight. There was also no safety briefing at the start of the flight and all the announcements were so garbled you couldn’t understand what they were saying, in German or English. There was no offer of assistance while de-planing and no offer of assistance in regards to where we go next for our next flight. Once we arrived in Frankfurt we were almost run over (literally) by a golf cart doing at least 15-20mph! We had to walk almost 2km to get to out next gate and when we went to the Lufthansa service desk for directions there was no one around (of course). Once boarding started we were driven halfway across the airport to board the aircraft outside. Flight to Glasgow was tolerable. I would never fly Lufthansa ever again. Old aircraft, cranky service and generally inhospitable.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Glasgow via Frankfurt
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"have received no reply"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Munich. We booked almost two months in advance. When we arrived at the check in they said they had overbooked and if we could volunteer to go on another flight (KLM) leaving at the same time. I figured no harm so I ran to the other side of the airport only to be told by KLM that we had not been booked on that flight and that the gate was closed. So we had to run back all the way to Lufthansa to then be told they could get us on our original flight. In form of “compensation” they offered us €250 each and put us up in a hotel with a shuttle bus from the airport. But like the previous promise of another flight, the shuttle was non existent so we ended up paying for taxis out of pocket. Next day when we arrived early to follow the given instructions about the compensation once again, no one knew anything and everything they told us was wrong. The only thing we could do was file a claim online. Of course this is a very convenient way of not dealing with customers. I called and was told if I wanted to make a reservation of course I could talk to someone, but if I have a complaint that can only be done online, nice way of avoiding responsibility and not facing your many unhappy passengers. We filed the claims, I sent all the required emails and have received no reply. I am very frustrated with what I consider to be lies and lack of responsibility. Why should I have to miss my flight and pay €70 because they overbooked? So claims filed, and still no reply. Lufthansa promises are lies, don’t fall for it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Munich
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Senator Lounge is in free fall"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I flew from Berlin to Tivat via Frankfurt on 6 October in Business Class. The Senator Lounge in Berlin is in free fall. There was a lot of talk about the new Senator Lounge. In the end, the new one is worse than the old one. The choice of food and drinks is very limited. For breakfast, there used to be at least three choices of cold cuts and cheese; now, it is one each. The croissants are gone, the toast has gone, there is only one kind of sliced bread. There is no free champagne anymore, the alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks selection has suffered considerably. Shame on Lufthansa for giving such a bad impression in their lounges in the German capital. The departure from Berlin was 30 minutes delayed because of the late arrival of the incoming aeroplane. However, the announcement was only made when it was already time for the pre-boarding announcement. As I was in a good position overlooking the apron, I knew that the aeroplane had not even come yet, but, to many other passengers, this came as a most unpleasant surprise, as a lot of them seemed to have short connection times in Frankfurt. The aeroplane left with a delay of more than 30 minutes; the flight itself was quite good. In Business Class, they served a tray containing a plate with slices of roast chicken, vegetables and pesto, accompanied by some bread rolls with butter as well as some panna cotta with cherry sauce and clotted cream. For me, there was enough connecting time in Frankfurt, as I knew exactly how I could get from Terminal 1 to Terminal 2 quickly. I spent some 20 minutes in the Senator Lounge. It was quite empty for that time of day. The food served reflected the fact that the Oktoberfest in Munich had started. It was all very Bavarian – the same you get in the Munich lounges all year round. Within the 50 minutes I was in Frankfurt, the departure gate changed at least four times from B30 to B20 to B27 and finally to B28. The flight from Frankfurt to Tivat was the real disappointment. The flight was more than twice as long as the inner-German flight from Berlin to Frankfurt, but the food served on board to Tivat was exactly the same as on the previous flight. I mean how is this possible? How can it be that Lufthansa – a so-called 5-star airline – offers the same kind of food on two different flights at two different times of day with different flight duration? Frankfurt is Lufthansa‘s main hub; the vast majority of the passengers have connecting flights here. Is that the impression Lufthansa tries to leave? Austrian, a Lufthansa-group member, is able to serve a hot meal on all international flights no matter how long it is. Why is the parent company, Lufthansa, not able (or willing?) to do the same?
AircraftA320/A319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBerlin to Tivat via Frankfurt
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"Overall a great experience"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Athens. Made it to the airport at the last second. Thankfully we got to check in our luggage just two minutes before the time was up. Everything went so fast thanks to the helpful staff at the airport. Flight didn't board on time. The cabin crew was late because of the delay of another flight. We departed half an hour later than scheduled and arrived 15 minutes later than planned. The flight itself was very good. I don't prefer flying during the evening but this flight was really delightful. Excellent cabin crew, one was by far the friendliest flight attendant we have encountered in the past 15 years of regular flying within Europe. Overall a great experience, even though the food could have been a lot better.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Athens
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes