Lufthansa

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 2451 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"appalled by Berlin ground staff"

(United States)

Not Verified |   After an enjoyable experience on Lufthansa going to Germany I had high hopes for my return flight. However the airline did not come close to meeting the expectations I had from my earlier flight. Ground staff boarding the flight from Berlin to Frankfurt were extremely rude and the one male ground staff took my boarding passes and passport because my hand baggage was 1/4 kilogram overweight. Although I was in the wrong about my baggage that is no grounds to take a traveler's passport and refuse to return it. Cabin crew on the Berlin to Frankfurt flight were incredibly rude, and unhelpful. After a mess of a layover in Frankfurt, we only just made our connection to Chicago. The premium economy class seat was comfortable and crew were nice and quite helpful. The food served on this flight was not good, asian chicken that was sweet, with undercooked rice and vegetables. Overall I was appalled by Berlin ground staff service and by the cabin service onboard my Berlin to Frankfurt flight, I have tried to file official complaints but have not heard back from the company.
AircraftA320 / Boeing 747-8i
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBerlin to Chicago via Frankfurt
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

“very disappointed by the attitude”

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I am in possession of 6 e-vouchers and would have liked to use them on my forthcoming trip from Bangkok to Frankfurt as upgrade from Y to C class. Unfortunately, using these vouchers is like playing lottery: you have first to book (and pay) a flight, and then, only then are you told if an upgrade is possible. As I was flexible with my dates, I asked the (friendly) desk person if it was possible to tell me if there were flights where an upgrade could be envisaged, but even that was not possible. As a result, I booked my flights (booking code: ULCOQ3), and had the huge disappointment to learn that no such upgrade was possible; I could manage nevertheless to book an upgrade on the leg VIE to BKK from economy to premium economy, against payment of course. If I had known in advance that no upgrade was possible using vouchers, I surely would have flown Finnair, where a decently priced premium economy is offered. I am again very disappointed by the attitude of Lufthansa (last time was in July, where Lufthansa almost ruined the holidays of my family by canceling a flight BRU-MUC and refused to pay any decent compensation) No wonder that the Middle East airlines have such a success.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Frankfurt via Vienna
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

“flight was amazing”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | This flight was amazing compared to the other airlines I have flown with, my favorite Airline by far, better than Qantas, Singapore, Thai, food was top quality, service was great, cannot complain and the A340-600 was in great condition.
AircraftA340-600
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFrankfurt to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"luggage was not included"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified |   I bought a ticket through Lufthansa and I find myself traveling with Austrian airlines instead. I paid 12,500 Swedish crowns for an intercontinental ticket Sto-Bkk - Bkk-Sto and luggage was not included on the fare I bought. I've been traveling for 40 years and nothing like this has ever happened to me. With the same money or less, I could have traveled with Thai Airways, direct travel and with all the services on board and on the ground. Clearly, I will never fly with Lufthansa again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Bangkok via Vienna
Date FlownJuly 2023
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"no USB power and no Internet"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | No power outlets, no USB power and no Internet service. No work accomplished on this flight. Come on Lufthansa we are in 2024. Apart from this the flight was quite comfortable
AircraftA321neo
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Tel Aviv
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service was extremely poor"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | In February, I took Lufthansa from Billund to Seoul via Frankfurt. My flight was constantly changed before departure. On the day of departure, there was even more delays, so I could not transfer to Seoul immediately and was forced to stay for more than 6 hours. I applied for a certificate of delay and did not write down the reason. I was unable to apply for insurance compensation without replying to many emails. The service was extremely poor.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBillund to Seoul via Frankfurt
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"We requested an upgrade"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Board flight Manchester. Other people in our seats. Steward advises we take seats at back. I point out we have just an hour to change flights in Frankfurt to Singapore flight. Steward insists plenty of time. Doctor called to passenger take off delayed by 40 mins. Arrive in Frankfurt and I again point out our very tight change over. My husband and I finally get off plane and run to gate, about a mile away. We are both 70 this year. Passed by people who took our seat bring given buggy through airport. They are much younger than us. Arrive at gate but checkin manager day's she can't let either of us board because I do not have a visa for Vietnam. I point out I have paid Lufthansa to get me to Singapore where I can sort out my issue with my Visa with my daughter who lives in Vietnam and my son who lives in Singapore. Other passengers board as checkin staff refuse to let us board n tell us our luggage has been removed from flight and plane has taken off. They kept our suitcases. We walk back to find Lufthansa Service Desk where staff say we should have been allowed to fly. They book us in to a hotel for the night and book us on board flight to depart evening of 27th March, a day late for our connection to Vietnam. They said as our suitcases had been checked through they would make sure they were on our flight. Every member of Lufthansa staff was rude and arrogant towards us. We asked to check our suitcases were definitely on board at Lufthansa Service Desk before checkin. They were rude and treated our concern about our luggage with distain. We requested an upgrade given the treatment we had received. Checkin manager threatens my husband and myself with not allowing either my husband or myself fly because she says "we don't have visas" and there is no way she will give us upgrades. It was only me that needed a Visa EU passport my husband didn't and my daughter had by that stage obtained one, which would have been available if we had been allowed to board our original flight. We had to rearrange our Vietnam flight n first seats available were not until the Friday 28th March from Singapore so we had to spend Thursday 28th March in a hotel in Singapore. As we go to claim our luggage in Singapore on arrival my suitcase is missing. Singapore Lost luggage can say categorically that my case was not on our flight. We ring Lufthansa Frankfurt who say it's probably gone for good. I spend Friday 29th March shopping for clothes in Singapore. I borrow a suitcase from my son and we checkin for our Vietnam flight, two suitcases. As we had time I returned to Singapore Airport Lost luggage. A very helpful member of Singapore airport staff found my suitcase which had been put on the Tuesday 26th March flight, the one neither myself or my husband were permitted to board. I then had to check in a 3rd suitcase for our Vietnam flight at cost of £100. I have spent over a week trying to negotiate adequate compensation from Lufthansa. I have been assured by Lufthansa Customer Services staff that the cost of rearranging Vietnam flight, the cost of a hotel in Singapore, the cost of checking in a 3rd suitcase, the cost of taxi to and from hotel in Singapore are not their responsibility and they will only pay half the cost of the replacement clothes .
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Singapore via Frankfurt
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"WiFi did not work"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Purchased onboard WiFi package which after many attempts to activate did not work. Several crew members also tried but to no avail. They also suggested to contact customer service later to arrange a credit. A few days after trip I emailed customer service to request credit with response being that nothing could be done with no reason. After a few more attempts out of principle as 60Aud wifi fee was negligible compared to 8k value of flight.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMunich to Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

“Frustration and anger”

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Facts: - Flight LX1100 was delayed leaving from Zurich by approx. 40 minutes. Reason given: "Waiting for passengers from a connecting flight" - Landed in Munich when the connecting flight LH1650 to Bucharest was already boarding - No staff at the gate to expedite transfer to connecting flight - While making my way to the gate got message that I had been re-booked for another flight 6 and a half hours later - Flight LH1650 was therefore not delayed to "wait for passengers from a connecting flight" - Lufthansa Start Alliance Service Desk in Munich terminal K was not able to help with re-booking on an earlier direct flight. The only options presented were to take another connecting flight with a short (and risky) layover through Frankfurt or Belgrade. - Lufthansa Start Alliance Service Desk in Munich terminal K was not able to offer a reasonable or informative reason why some flights are delayed to wait for passengers and others are not. The answer they gave was: "I don't know, this decision isn't made here. Could be any number of reasons." - Lufthansa Start Alliance Service Desk in Munich terminal K also not able to offer any complimentary service (e.g. access to lounge, ticket to Munich to see the city, some sort of entertainment, or even more basic water or food) for the 6 and a half hours delay that I am forced to be here. - Feedback from does not pick up my Miles and More details even though I am logged in as I complete this form. It does for the bookings but not for the feedback. Consequences: - Anger for being treated differently than the passengers for which my flight was delayed departing out of Zurich - Wasted time: 6 and a half hours in Munich airport - Wasted money in the airport - Stress and frustration of having to re-book all plans for the day. I will have lost 6 and a half hours in which I had other appointments at the destination. - Frustration for not being given any reasonable or informative information or alternative flights at the Lufthansa Star Alliance Service Desk - Suspect the reason why my details are not picked up on the feedback form is because of lack of interest in gathering feedback. - Frustration and anger for having to waste even more time to fill out forms and leave reviews to be heard instead of being treated with empathy by a human at the service desk. - Dissapointment for having been forcefully put through this experience Question I now ask myself: Why do I have a Miles & More membership and will often pay more to book with member airlines? Conclusion: when flying Lufthansa with Star Alliance - Connection of 45 minutes are not enough for a transfer between member airline flights - Flights may or may not wait for passengers from connecting flights. It is unknown how this choice is made. - Passengers will not be treated like a human with empathy but like a number with a ticket in a queue - In case of delayed arrival there will be no effort made to expedite transfer to the connecting flight. - Service desk staff don't have the training/ courtesy/ means to offer adequate information or complimentary services, and lack the basic people skills for customer service: patience, problem-solving, empathy, adaptability. - In case deemed necessary by the system you will be automatically re-booked with no warning, advice, or choice. - Lufthansa with Star Alliance does not equal more reliable travel experience or better service.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteZurich to Bucharest via Munich
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"made Lufthansa special again"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | It is often the crew making a flight memorable and not the airline. Lufthansa’s minimalistic approach in Tourist Class challenges my goodwill to express anything positive. But as I could experience on this flight, the crew can make a difference and made it all extremely pleasant. A warm welcome (calling me by name) and being valued as loyal customer. Flying 50 flights a year (intercontinental in Business and within Europe in Economy) with Lufthansa in the last five years, this is the second time having been treated nicely in Eco. The gold frequent flyer Senator status can be seen by the crew on the passenger list and one wonders why a small courtesy, is something to write about. However, thank you dear crew, on this flight you made Lufthansa special again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Sofia
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes