Lion Air

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 152 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"the usual Lion Air flight"

(Hungary)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Surabaya. Only 15 minutes delay. Otherwise the usual Lion Air flight. Pretty crew and free checked-in luggage, cramped seats that at least did recline, and no food or drinks.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Surabaya
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"extremely rude and disrespectful"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Check-in desks were over capacity, had to wait hours in the queue only to have it closed on us. This was apparently due to the fact that the check-in employees weren't even Lion Air employees but Batik Air employees that were asked to help them out. It is shameful that such a big airline will organize so many flight to then not have the staff to handle it. The staff that they did have there were extremely rude and disrespectful. Not the first time I have a bad experience with this company.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Kupang
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"unprofessional airline"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Honeymoon ruined and a huge expense incurred by this incompetent, unprofessional airline! We were flying from Sibolga to Medan where we had a connecting flight with another airline but a dog got on the runway at takeoff. So we had to wait over 5 hours until we could take off so we missed our connecting flight. I asked the staff at lion air to help us but they were totally unsympathetic and refusing responsibility and we had to buy replacement flights with Garuda air instead. I understand that I have rights as a consumer in Indonesia and was at least supposed to get some money for the inconvenience of delay, but we got nothing but scowls and lies. They lied about the delay and as it got worse and worse.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSibolga to Medan
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very pleasantly surprised"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Bengkulu to Jakarta. This is a budget airline and obviously the air fare is very affordable. I have flown this airline six times to and from Bengkulu in the last year. This last trip, unfortunately, the flight was delayed for over 5 hours. Now, I do not speak Bahasa so I was fortunate that my friend is Indonesian and was able to keep me posted, English is barely spoken at the airport and none of the announcements were made in English. They did provide food to all passengers at the airport and also refunded IDR 300,000.00 to everyone for the delay. That was cash on hand. The flight once we left was fine. Its all economy class jet and one hour flight to Jakarta. I was very pleasantly surprised on the refund part of this experience.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBengkulu to Jakarta
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly this airline again"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Bali to Jakarta. I will never fly this airline again. True to form Lion Air managed to be delayed both departing Jakarta for Bali, and returning. Not only were they delayed but there were last minute gate changes, in both directions, that had I not been keeping a close eye on we'd have missed the flight. For the return flight I received a text message, the day before departure, informing me that departure would no longer be 19.30, but 21.15. On arrival at the airport, after questioning Lion Air staff, I was told the flight was delayed by another two hours. When I mentioned compensation I was told we'd get a snack after a two-hour delay, a meal after a three-hour delay, and after four hours compensation of 300,000 IDR per person (+/- 20 USD). I thought he'd left a zero off the end. The flight finally took off at midnight. That means for a flight of 1.5 hours' duration, we were delayed 4.5 hours.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Jakarta
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it's always delayed"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Yogyakarta. All the times I've flown with Lion Air it's always delayed up to the point where I have expected that it's going to be late this time around. I was scheduled to board the plane at 5.55pm but the plane got delayed for who knows how long. I haven't heard on whether the plane has arrived or not and it's 7.20 pm now. The most baffling thing is that it's written on the general boarding screen that it's on schedule when it's definitely not. If you have no choice but to fly with Lion Air cause it's the only airline available, never make plans to arrive on time or it'll be ruined like how mine has been ruined. Oh well, lessons learned.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Yogyakarta
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline I have flown"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Originally my flight from Bali to Jakarta was at 11:50am. Got an email saying they have changed the time to 1:10pm. My connecting flight to Singapore is at 4:15pm, cool still have time. Arrived at the airport around 10am. Flight has been delayed to 2:20pm. Still have time to catch my connecting flight. Didn’t board until 2:50. It’s currently 3:35pm and still waiting to board everyone now. I don’t think I’ll make it to my connecting flight. Worst airline I have flown with.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBali to Jakarta
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"30% of flights late"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Tarakan. Late Is Our Name is what Indonesians I've met call Lion Air. They claim a 70% on time performance score. I fly on them at least once or twice a month because I usually have no other option (like it or not, they have flights to more places than anyone else). How is it that easily 75% of the time I am in the 30% of flights that are late? They invariably claim operational reasons are behind the delays. What this often means is that they give the plane that was scheduled for your flight to another flight that was delayed. That way they can get away with giving passengers some bottled water and a bun for your 2-hour delay instead of forking over Rp.400000 to each passenger who would have been delayed for 4 hours on the other flight (as required by Indonesia's Passengers Bill of Rights law). Before serious penalties are incurred, they will then give someone else's airplane to your flight so that they won't have to pay you any money either. And these switches continue at that airport for hours until they get caught up or the day is finally over.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Tarakan
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"yet another delayed flight"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Waiting for yet another delayed flight. During our holiday we flew several times with Lion Air and almost every flight was delayed, rescheduled or altered. No problem, price is right you’d think but the annoying part is that they don’t communicate. You are kept guessing and waiting. No fun if you have a connecting flight ahead of you. Indonesian nickname is lying air. Locals usually are very laidback but if you care to see furious Indonesians, Lion Air can provide. Yep, once but never again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBanda Aceh to Batam via Medan
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

" would not recommend"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Lombok to Jakarta. Missed connection flight in Jakarta because plane delay in Lombok. Staff offered no help to try and catch connection. Doesn't want to compensate fees for missed flight. Says I must go back to Lombok to receive compensation. The only reason why we booked with Lion Air was because we had an emergency situation on our hands. Our original itinerary was to fly Denpasar to Incheon via Kuala Lumpur with Malaysia Airlines. When trying to get to back to Bali from the Gili Isles, our boat was cancelled due to rough seas so we were dropped off on Lombok. With no viable way to catch our flights out of either Denpasar or Kuala Lumpur, decided to book with Lion Air to Jakarta to try and catch a flight to Seoul. After booking, we repeatedly asked the staff if there would be a possibility that this flight would be delayed and their response was no. So we booked a separate connecting flight from Jakarta to Seoul. When it was time to board in Lombok, an announcement says that our flight is delayed 1.5 hours. We ask staff Lion Air staff if there is anything they can do to help us when we land in Jakarta to make sure we get to our connection and they just give us this certificate of delay paper. Fastforward to landing in Jakarta with 20 minutes until our connection leaves, no one seems to want to help us catch it. So we miss our connection and get stuck in Jakarta for 24 hours. Next morning we come back to Lion Air customer service to argue for some sort of compensation and manager tells me that if I want receive compensation for anything I would have to go back to the Lombok lion air desk to get it - same company so I don't see why they can't just handle my case in Jakarta. I would not recommend.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLombok to Jakarta
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no