Lion Air

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 192 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst customer service"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | This airline has the worst customer service. When my flight got cancelled, I was told by the travel agent to contact their Customer service (CS) not knowing that Lion replaced it with a different carrier at the same time. The CS rep didn’t tell me this so I changed my flight to another with different timing. After knowing that I could actually take a flight at the same time I contacted CS again but was told that I had to pay the prevailing charges because they can only change free of charge 1x. The worst was when I tried to file a complaint - instead of assisting - a different rep made issues of semantics - saying I asked the wrong questions - hence I got the wrong answer. Isn’t it their job to give info and enlighten as well as assist inconvenienced customers?? Safe to say I may never use their services again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSemarang to Jakarta
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Filthy airplane, delays"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Filthy airplane, delays, and no whatsoever interaction with the crew besides welcome and goodbye. Horrible check-in (disorganised), after boarding a delay without any explanation, with people sporadically walking in (even after take off time was well beyond), no one to be seen during the 1,5 hr flight (not to buy some water, not to mention proactively offering something). To top it the disgraceful luggage collection at Soekarno Hatta Airport, which takes ages and truly is something they should be ashamed of.
AircraftBoeing 737-900ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Jakarta
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fare is far from low cost"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | You literally can expect to be always delayed with Lion Air. When it’s not, it’s going to surprise you like never before. I understand that this is a low cost airline, but Lion Air’s fare is far from low cost. It costs a minimum £50 to fly 1.5h from Jakarta to Denpasar. I need to arrive 2h before my flight but I’d have to wait for this airline to ruin my day? I know sometimes it’s inevitable as Lion Air serves routes that other airlines don’t, but oh my goodness, it’s just not worth it.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"avoid at all costs"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Worst company ever, avoid at all costs. Loaded a full plane with passengers on a delayed schedule. Machine and air conditioning were not functioning. Temperatures were beyond belief. Kept everyone on the plane in those conditions for 30 minutes with no respect for wellbeing of passengers. Crew acted like they knew nothing. Captain made no announcement. Proceeded to offload everyone and then provided no info for 30 minutes. Plane had technical issues and was unable to depart. Passengers were made to wait for a new plane.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteYogyakarta to Jakarta
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"has bad flight management"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Lion has bad flight management. They changed the schedule so many times without confirmation and I have to cancel my flight then choose another flight for a suitable schedule. Really disappointed, do not use this airline because it is really inconsistent.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJakatrta to Surabaya
Date FlownDecember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"many problems await you if you book your flight with Lion Air"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | My flights actual departure was 1 hour late, but the airline said nothing about the delay. Passengers were confused and tired waiting at the gate. On our ticket, the departure gate was D3. But without any announcement, the gate was changed to D7. I almost boarded the wrong flight (the flight from D3 was JT22, but my flight was JT42. Both heading to Denpasar, but JT22 delayed for 3 hours.). After boarding, there were 2 passengers yelling and arguing because their seat was the same. Poor communications is not only a Lion Air problem. Poor ground management, poor baggage handling, and many more problems await you if you book your flight with Lion Air.
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Denpasar
Date FlownNovember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They sold me a fake ticket"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Booked a ticket from Bali to Jakarta departing at 7am. But there is not flight until 10am same day. They sold me a fake ticket. Missed my meeting and lost my money.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Jakarta
Date FlownJune 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"go with anyone else but Lion Air"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Dreadful in every sense of the word. Two flights were summarily canceled by text message in the last ten days: No apology, no reason given. Lion Air cares nothing for their passengers and customer service is non-existent. Quite apart from having our flights canceled, we paid 1.3J for PCR tests (that's about £77 each) which were then rendered useless. If you have a choice who to fly with, go with anyone else but LionAir.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Kupang
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"transfer you mid sentence"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | The airline cant even inform you anyway through texts or emails if a flight has been cancelled. Called customer service and when it was something they didn't understand, they automatically transfer you mid sentence while you are talking and then you have to wait 10 -20 minutes for a new operator.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLabuan Bajo to Denpasar
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"manages to constantly disappoint"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Lion Air manages to constantly disappoint even when expectations are extremely low after flying with them from time to time the last four years. Planes are often canceled and almost always delayed by hours. Information is scarce and the unfortunate personnel is constantly stressed to make the best of a horribly managed airline. All other airlines in Indonesia are better. At the very least you would expect to get to where you are going, this is not always the case with lion air as they frequently cancels flights, and good luck getting refunds. If they do fly that day you can expect a delay of 1-6 hours. Again forget any compensation (which they are legally required to provide). During this inevitable delay, expect to get zero information. I'd literally go to the counter and ask if the plane will be on time 20 min before and they say yes. When I ask if the plane has arrived yet they do not know, and when they check it's still somewhere else. I then ask when it will arrive to this airport and the staff would then sms or WA the ground staff of the previous airport asking when the plane left. When the plane do arrive at the airport it will have missed any slot it was allocated and get allocated a gate on the other side of the airport. Due to low prices lion air is the only airline trafficking some destinations. Try to avoid always, pay triple to do so if you can, it's always worth it.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar Bali to Jakarta
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no