Lion Air

Customer Reviews

2 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 164 reviews
4/10
2 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"felt totally humiliated"

(China)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Krabi. My friend and I paid for return flights and hold luggage. We could not check in on-line for the return journey as their website was not working and when we got to the airport we were told we had not paid for hold luggage. Despite showing a receipt they made us pay THB 3900 and THB 3000 on our debit and credit cards or we could not fly. We both felt totally humiliated and it ruined a good holiday to end it that way. I will never fly with this airline again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Krabi
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service "

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Singapore to Jakarta. The airline entered my name twice on the ticket and upon calling them they kept on asking me to ring another number, noting that not all were local numbers. At one stage I was on hold for 45min (international) before I spoke to a person and then they hung up on me! In the end they charged my $32 for removing the duplicate name from my ticket. The worst customer service I have ever experienced!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Jakarta
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Intransparent baggage policy"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Bali to Labuan Bajo. Immense high cost of checked baggage. Ultimately, we paid more for our luggage than for the flights. How much is the amount, we have learned only at the airport. Intransparent baggage policy The scheme is arbitrary - even the call center is obviously not informed. It was not possible to know in advance what the costs are. Very bad customer service. To 5 E-Mail inquiries I received until today no answer. There are several service numbers that no one answers. After the 11th attempt, I finally managed to reach one of the call centers. Unfortunately nobody could help me there any more. The staff can not speak English, but that's not the problem. Even a friend from Indonesia could not get valid information from the airline. For me, that's systematic and deliberate rip-off. The fact that the flight was delayed by more than three hours and we spent a total of 8 hours at the airport is no longer significant. There are many other airlines that are not or only slightly more expensive. Save the ordeal with Thai Lion Air and Bay another flight. DE: Immens hohe Kosten für aufgegebenes Gepäck. Letztendlich haben wir für unser Gepäck mehr als für die Flüge gezahlt. Wie hoch der Betrag ist, haben wir erst am Flughafen erfahren. Intransparente Gepäckpolicy Die Regelung ist willkürlich - selbst das Call Center ist offensichtlich nicht informiert. Es war nicht möglich vorab in Erfahrung zu bringen, welche Kosten entstehen. Sehr schlechter Kundenservice. Auf 5 E-Mail Anfragen habe ich bis heute keine Antwort erhalten. Es gibt verschiedene Servicenummern, auf die niemand antwortet. Nach dem 11. Versuch habe ich es schließlich geschafft eines der Call Center zu erreichen. Leider konnte mir dort auch niemand weiter helfen. Das Personal kann zwar kein Englisch, aber das ist gar nicht das Problem. Auch ein Freund aus Indonesien konnte keine validen Informationen von der Airline bekommen. Für mich ist das systematische und bewusste Abzocke. Das der Flug dann noch über drei Stunden Verspätung hatte und wir insgesamt 8 Stunden am Flughafen verbracht haben, fällt gar nicht mehr ins Gewicht... Es gibt viele andere Airlines, die nicht oder nur wenig teurer sind. Erspart euch die Tortur mit Thai Lion Air und Bucht gleich einen anderen Flug...
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Labuan Bajo
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"could not prebook check-in luggage"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I could not prebook check-in luggage online for my flight from Bali to Bangkok. I called them (the first number on their website did not work, temp. out of order). They told me I either have to pay Rp 224.000 (22AU$) per kg at the airport at check-in; or I could prebook for just Rp 23000 (that is 10%) up to 6 hours before, but I can only do that at the airport. That is ridiculous! My luggage would cost more than my ticket if I would not go to the airport before and I would have no idea about that if I would not have called them. I know countries where this would be illegal.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Bangkok
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"shady and unprofessional"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Malang to Jakarta. Absolutely appalling.We booked tickets that said they came with checked baggage, yet when we looked the day before flying it said no bags. Pre-paid bags can only be paid earlier than 6 hours prior to the flight. Impossible to purchase online within 48 hours of the flight. Clearly we were not able to go to the airport the day before our flight to pay a slightly cheaper price for our bags. The worst part is they charge by kg, so our heavy bags cost us about 800k rupiah (~$80) at the airport. The staff understood nothing and looked almost smug taking our cash (oh yeah, they only accept cash). Completely shady and unprofessional.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalang to Jakarta
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I don't have visa"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur. Worst airline, especially the employees at boarding pass. I came 4 hours early, check in online, the immigration counter asked me to print boarding pass, I went to boarding pass counter telling them I don't have visa, and asking me for Hotel booking, and asking bank information, and she told me that I can't leave the country, or travel. Most incompetent employees ever.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"thumb down to this Airline"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Booked return tickets on 9/01/2019 from Denpasar-Banda Aceh 14/01 and return Banda Aceh- Denpasar 27/01. I called customer service on 9/01 to double check how to book the baggage on my way back 27/01 because there is no option to choose from Banda Aceh to Medan, but the customer service said I don't have to worry because I still have 20kg free baggage, because the new system is not officially confirmed yet. And on 27/01 in Banda Aceh airport when I do check in, I forced to pay 1.820.000; IDR on the spot which is half price of my travel fees, after 2 hours tried to get some help from customer service and they can't do anything just asked me to pay first the baggage and then the next day asked me to call customer service for comparing or claim. Called them the next day almost 1and half hour calls, they are just only able to say sorry and they don't accept their mistake and not able to return the baggage fee which actually I have to pay for their mistake, who didn't give me clear information and never update the information. It is really SAD, as we wanted to speak to the manager of lion Air but they say not available. I gave thumb down to this Airline as they gave me unpleasant experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBanda Aceh to Denpasar via Jakarta
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"usual no-frills flight"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Flight left only 40 mins late - on time by Lion's standards. It was the usual no-frills flight with no food, drinks or enterntainment, except for one annoyance. Despite checking in early, I was given a seat in the very last row right by the toilet which was stinking of urine as many passengers didn't know how to flush it! On the first leg stewardess kindly offered that I could move elsewhere, but on the 2nd leg from Makassar they insisted the plane was full and I had to stay there, when in fact later I found entire rows of seats empty at the front.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJayapura to Jakarta via Makassar
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"typical no-frills Lion style"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Surabaya to Jayapura via Makassar. Flight left Surabaya one hour late - nothing unusual for Lion Air. Transfer in Makassar went smoothly and we arrived in Jayapura just that one hour late. Apart from the delay, it was a smooth flight, typical no-frills Lion style.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSurabaya to Jayapura via Makassar
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"notorious for late flights"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Jakarta. Lion air is notorious for late flights with no information. You will not find cheaper tickets and if you are OK with waiting at the airport indefinitely then this airline could be for you! Typically flights accrue delays as the day goes on due to "operational reasons" which typically are late accumulated arrivals over the day. The staff is obnoxious about the delays and have heard all complaints from passengers over the years to the point that another one is but a grain of sand on a beach. Lion air, always delayed, always disappointing on everything except the price. The number of times I promised myself to pay the premium to fly anything but lion somehow got beaten again by the stated schedule.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Jakarta
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no