LATAM Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 327 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"received vouchers which do not work"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | It has been several times that I have claimed reimbursement for my plane tickets whose flight has been canceled. The first time on June 4, 2020. Latam advised me that the refund would take 15 days, I'm still waiting! In the meantime I have received vouchers, which do not work: I wanted to pay for my last flights with and they were refused. This company is a company of thieves: they promise and do not not keep their promises. They don't even know how to use a translator and force you to send your request in a language that is not yours. Again the answer to my complaint is that I have vouchers to use (which don't not work!) and if I keep asking for the refund, it will take a long time. Cela fait plusieurs fois que je réclame le remboursement de mes billets d'avion dont le vol a été annulé. La première fois le 4 juin 2020. Latam m'a avisé que le remboursement prendrait 15 jours, J'attends toujours! Entre temps j'ai reçu des voucher, qui ne fonctionnent pas: j'ai voulu payer mes derniers vols avec et ils ont été refusés..... Ils promettent et ne tiennent pas leurs promesses. Ils ne savent même pas utiliser un traducteur et vous obligent à envoyer votre demande dans une langue qui n'est pas la vôtre. Une nouvelle fois la réponse à ma réclamation est que j'ai des vouchers à utiliser (qui ne fonctionnent pas!) et si je persiste à demander le remboursement, ça prendra beaucoup de temps.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSao Paolo to Natal
Date FlownOctober 2020
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"its been 11 months of nothing"

(Canada)

Not Verified | You always hear horror stories here and there about flying. I have had the occasional late leaving kinds of things and what I thought was going to be the worst flight I ever took I missed a connection in Toronto once in winter and had to stay in the airport for over 20 hours to catch the next one. I couldnt sleep because of the valuable camera gear in my bag with me I am also over 6 feet tall so when i got on an earlier leaving plane than I was scheduled I did it even though it was a middle seat and I had to put my bag under the seat in front of me. When I got to my destination i could barely walk. I thought that was going to be the worst flight and I travel a ton using at least 3 big trips a year and a couple small ones. Well then I decided to go to Antarctica. I had seen reviews and heard stories but its a once in a lifetime trip so off I go. I planned extra days in cities going down so I could help eliminate all potential problems. Rather than try to get connecting flights i stayed a night in each major city. Going down went fine all went as planned but to get home with lined up flights I wasnt able to do the same plan but I had my flights way in advance was going to the airport like 6 hours early to start and I figured i was set. I did not plan on Latam airlines though. I dont think anyone could plan for such a terrible airline. It started with them overbooking my first flight out of Punta Arenas. They overbooked the flight by 12 people which meant I was missing my connection in Santiago which again would had been with Latam airlines. My checked luggage had been put on my original flight. They had told me someone would be at my gate to help me. Was there? NOPE. Could I find anyone even near my gate when I landed? NOPE. could I get any help what so ever from the crew on the plane? NOPE. I did notice a couple that I had talked to in Punta Arenas was in the same situation. They had befriended someone that lived in Santiago to try and help them. They could speak the language and they took us to place after place trying to get us help. Zero help anywhere. After about 80 minutes of running around the airport with them i heard from my friends. They were staying in Santiago for the night and they thought they had seen my bag behind a desk. I had gone out of security though and couldnt get back in. I dont know how they did it but they sweet talked a guy there and were able to get him to bring it out to me and have me verify it was mine. Frankly I had wrote the bag off. I was out of options so I left with my friends into Santiago. It was about 11:30pm at this time. They had one night booked so the minute i got to airport i was calling the "help" line. after a couple hours all I could do was book a flight the next day with a different airline. My trip cost went up another $1,000 to do this but I was told I would be refunded at least my original cost. Well that was over 11 months ago. I have provided my banking info multiple times, have had countless emails saying it was being worked on and its been 11 months of nothing. I am not a complainer and I hardly give reviews but do everything in your power, stay extra days, take a bus, anything to avoid this airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePunta Arenas to Houston via Santiago
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst experience of my life"

(Uruguay)

Not Verified | Worst experience of my life. The day of my trip arrived 4 hours before I found out at that moment that my flight had been canceled. I called LATAM 7 TIMES, the first time he told me that the flight had been canceled and that he did not know the reason but that he could put me on a DELTA flight. when I go to the Delta entrance. He tells me that he had problems and that DELTA did not confirm. At that he told me to wait and I HANG UP the call. I call back and they tell me that I am not registered for any flight. Explain the situation and the guy named Alejandro hangs up the call. 1 hour and 15 minutes had passed and I still had no news of what to do. Like this for 5 times. On the sixth time he tells me one that can put me on a flight for 3 days later. Or that I could wait for the Latam line that opened at 9:04 PM 6 hours later to solve the problem and put me on another flight. Since I had driven 4 hours, I decided to wait until 9 for the LATAM person to tell me that they couldn't do anything and that I should call 1800 #.They did not give me the trip that they had offered me 3 days later because it was Canceled. I asked for a refund and I'm still waiting. La.peor experiencia de mi vida. Llegue el dia de mi viaje 4 horas antes pera enterarme en ese momento que mi vuelo habia sido cancelado. Llamo 7 VECES a LATAM , la primera me dijo que el vuelo habia sido cancelado y que no sabia el motivo pero que podia ponerme en un vuelo de DELTA. cuando me voy a la entrada de Delta. Me dice que tenia problemas y que DELTA no le confirmaba. En eso me dijo que esperara y ME COLGO la llamada. Llamo para atras y me dicen que no estoy registrado en ningun vuelo . explique la.situacion y el tipo llamado alejandro me cuelga la.llamada. ya habia pasado 1 hora y 15 min y aun no tenia noticias de que hacer. Asi por 5 veces. En la sexta ves me dice una que me puede poner en un vuelo para 3 dias despues. O que podia esperar a que la.linea de Latam que abria a las 9:04 pm 6 horas despues me resovieranel problema y me pusiera en otro vuelo. Como habia manejado 4 horaa decido esperar hasta las 9 para que la persona de LATAM me dijera que ellos no podian hacer nada y que yo debia llamar al 1800 #. Aaaa pero que no me dieran el viaje que me habian ofrecido de 3 dias despues por que estaba Cancelado. Pedi un refund y aun sigo esperando.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Uruguay
Date FlownDecember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"does not care about its passengers"

(Chile)

Not Verified | I would have liked to provide my ticket or proof of my flights but not even that has been sent to me, Latam has me in limbo, they left to send everything to my email and days of my trip they have not sent anything, only on their page is my route back and what is worse, they arbitrarily canceled the last leg of my trip to get home and sent some text messages, with a link, to my son's phone where he says I can reschedule my canceled flight. Now when I want reschedule the flight on the page there is a message saying "sorry, your reservation can only be rescheduled through our contact center". Try calling the call center and they cut the call. This airline was paid $415 for the date change, it has been impossible to obtain proof of payment from them, now moreover, after having paid them for the date changes, they cancel the last section. I understand that these days in the south of Chile there will be an eclipse of the sun and the flight has not been canceled, the issue is that they have high demand for tickets and they are selling more expensive tickets and what better way to get off the plane than who made the flight change in advance and payment cheaper. This airline is a real disaster, it does not care about its passengers.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Santiago
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they simply cancelled her return flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I purchased a flight for my mother to the UK under premium economy so she had more leg room. On the flight, this was not granted and was informed by the cabin crew that she could request a tariff refund online. When she arrived, I requested the refund through their customer service channel, and they simply cancelled her return flight. They refuse to have this rectified and told me that I had to purchase a new flight, obviously closer to the date that costs double the amount I originally paid for it. I tried speaking to their customer service over the phone, which are useless. They put you on hold for nearly an hour to get connected, and when you do, after telling them the problem, they put me on hold and simply hang up. I have been trying to through to them for days now, over an hour each time. An absolute on how they treat their customers. Never again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteRio de Janeiro to London via Sao Paulo
Date FlownOctober 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I have not had a response"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | At the beginning of June 2020 I bought my ticket to go from El Calafate to Salta with a stopover in Buenos Aires. That same month, they informed me that my flights had been canceled and that, as I had paid with a credit card, they would refund the entire amount within a maximum period of 3 months. It was not true. After the 3 months they told me, I requested a refund through their website, but I have not had a response. I have also tried it through chat and phone but I have only been left on hold for more than 1 hour. 6 months have passed and it is clear that they do not want to return my money, but I am willing to take them to court if necessary. It is a shame that they play with people's money in this way. They are thiefs!!. A principios de Junio 2020 compré mi billete para ir de El Calafate a Salta con escala en Buenos Aires. Ese mismo mes, me comunicaron que mis vuelos habían sido cancelados y que, como había pagado con tarjeta de crédito, me devolverían todo el importe en un plazo máximo de 3 meses. No fue verdad. Pasados los 3 meses que me dijeron, solicité la devolución a través de su página web, pero no he tenido respuesta. También lo he intentado a través del chat y del teléfono pero sólo he conseguido que me dejen en espera por más de 1 hora. Han pasado 6 meses y está claro que no quieren devolverme mi dinero, pero estoy dispuesta a llevarles a los Tribunales si hace falta. Es una verguenza que jueguen con el dinero de la gente de esta manera. Son unos ladrones!!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEl Calafate to Salta via Buenos Aires
Date FlownNovember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they will not do anything about it"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | During Corona, LATAM cancelled the flight 5 times within 2 months assuring our tickets can be rescheduled with no extra charge. Then they reissued the ticket one day before the flight when we didn't even have a chance of being there. Now they are charging us 200 dollars for change of the flight because they say it was a voluntary no show. We have all email proof and approach them about it but they said they will not do anything about it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalama to Cusco
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I keep waiting for the promised refund"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Terrible! I had my ticket cancelled in May due to Covid. It's October and I keep waiting for the promised refund. I have sent numerous emails and even had an official bank transfer receipt 2 months ago. After not receiving anything for a month I opened a new case. I was asked for all the bank transfer details again because it was obviously not done. I can see I am not the only one. Do not fly with them or TAP Portugal, they are even worse. They do not even answer at all! The only decent airline that refunded me was American Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSao Paulo to Toronto
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never seen our money back from LATAM"

(Romania)

Not Verified | This is a company that offers highly priced tickets to Easter Island with 100% refund policy in case of cancellation, while in reality they never pay the rightful amount for our case dated 11/2019 although we went through their tedious refund process, wrote them 20 emails, writing them minimum 40 Facebook Messages and calling them on our cost over 20x. We flown several times with them, and although they had serious issues with the online checking, our last experience with them convinced us avoid them forever. We had two flights scheduled from Santiago to Easter Island and Buenos Aires to El Calafate, both cancelled due to the civil crisis (Contingencia Chile) from in November 2020. Although we had 100% refundable tickets we never seen our money back from LATAM although we initiated this refund process 11 months ago. Our case has the same status since 8-9 months “in payment process” but the money never reached out bank account. They keep telling us that they are working on our case, but their credibility is 0 especially as I have seen that we are not the only ones waiting our money almost one year! They tried to argue that the Pandemic of Covid-19 increased the number of cases they have to process, but we have initiated our refund process 3,5 months before the pandemic started, therefore there is no excuse whatsoever. Worse is that I read on their Facebook page, lots of complaints of same nature, so I concluded that this is usual practice not an accident. Their customer service is a disaster and a total waste of time. Is like hitting a dead end with them! I definitely won’t recommend such a miserable operator. They are a total disgrace especially for using the pandemic as an excuse for their previous incompetence, while our cases has been open since months before Covid times. Stay away from them if you don’t want to lose your money and never see them back!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSantiago Chile to Easter Island
Date FlownDecember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolute nightmare to deal with"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Absolute nightmare to deal with. Don’t ever part with your money with this airline. I have been fighting to get my money returned from LATAM Airlines after I purchased flights in Early Jan this year to see my girlfriend in Colombia. (before Covid came about). My flights got canceled in late March and they said they would be offering travel vouchers. To this day I have not received any valid travel vouchers. When they did finally send some vouchers after 3 months, they misspelt my last name (despite providing my passport) and other identifying info. LATAM advised me that they would have to open a new case and it would then take longer to process (despite it being their fault). To this day I’ve not received a single phone call (pretty much 0 contact from them from get go). LATAM finally emailed after I called their NZ number about 50 times. They said that they would provide a cash refund, but I have yet to receive any of my money returned.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Medellin via Santiago de Chile
Date FlownApril 2020
Value For Money 12345
no