LATAM Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 278 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"insufficient customer service"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | I booked a flight with Latam from Cuzco to Lima on November 13th. Due to weather conditions in Cuzco my flight was cancelled and needed to be moved to the next day. While you understand the cancellation of my flight, it is the insufficient customer service which made my travel experience unpleasant. When the cancellation was announced only 3 employees were available to attend to a crowd of of approximately 100 people. Instead of rebooking the flight directly I was given a customer service number. I strongly recommend that LATAM looks into its staffing and customer service issues. For now I will avoid flying with LATAM.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCuzco to Lima
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"third time my flight is delayed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Iquitos to Lima. I don't usually write reviews, but seen as there is nothing else for me to do right now, here we go. This is the third time I'm flying with Latam domestically in Peru in less than a week and for the third time now my flight is delayed. I am waiting at Iquitos airport now. My flight was supposed to depart at 2.30pm, it is now 3pm. The aircraft is nowhere to be seen. Staff have no idea when it will arrive. I may miss my connecting flight from Lima to Madrid. You are a joke Latam airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteIquitos to Lima
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"been very impressed with LATAM"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I've been very impressed with LATAM airlines. We booked the flights on a cheapo website and had a flight cancelled a few weeks before. I sorted it out directly with Latam who were very efficient. We couldn't change the booking for the QANTAS flight back to Australia. We had carry on luggage and I was impressed that they were lenient in the weight of the luggage we brought on board. It was not excessive by any means. I saw people with some huge bags on board. Our flight from the Galapagos was delayed significantly, so they organised to put us on an Avianca flight back to ensure we made our connections. The aircraft and amenities aren't the newest, but I'm most concerned with getting to my destination. The Latam Play app is really good so its not necessary to have screens on seats. The lounges were really nice, including the sleeping areas in Santiago and Lima. I usually post reviews when something goes wrong, but I've been very impressed this time, enough to post a review! Thanks for making our Galapagos trip really great!
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteGalapagos Islands to Quito via Santiago
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"get a standard 30% refund"

(United States)

Not Verified | Boston to Punta Arenas via Santiago. Totally screwed by LATAM. I was absolutely heartbroken to cancel my solo trip to go hiking in Chile because of violence in fall 19. My hotels etc refunded me no problem, but LATAM was an absolute nightmare to deal with. Essentially, if I had flown Friday Nov 1 instead of Friday Nov 8, or if I had tickets to some soccer game on Nov 23 that had been cancelled, I could have gotten my $1300 back. Instead, I will get a standard 30% refund within 20 business days (great turnaround time!) I must have called LATAM 15 times after poor connections, being dropped from their system, etc. When I finally spoke to a supervisor, he was rude and combative. If I ever fly LATAM again, I will buy every protection that allows full refund, since they clearly have no regard for their customers safety during violent uprisings. Soccer, though, they have GREAT protections for soccer fans.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBoston to Punta Arenas via Santiago
Date FlownNovember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This company is a joke"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Lima to Cusco. This company is a joke. I was traveling with a group of 6 people (all U.S. Citizens). We had confirmed tickets from Lima to Cusco round trip. We arrived early at the airport just to make sure we have time in case we encounter any problems as we are in a foreign country, we preferred to take precautions just in case. Once we arrived at the counter to process our check in they told us our seats had been sold and that we had to wait for the next flight. We were very upset as we had not been notified at all of any changes regardless of the reason. They offered us a credit with the airline of $40 or a cash voucher of $20. We really didn't want either as it was cutting short our much waited vacation which we had look forward to enjoy for a year and now we are being literally forced to cut it short for $20 in exchange. Really.! Anyway, since they did not give us another option no matter how many times we said no, we took the $20 cash voucher. Here comes the worst part ... they told us that we could go to any LATAM agency and that they would exchange the voucher for cash, as the counter at the airport was not authorized to do that. So, we went to the LATAM office in Cusco and they told us that only in Lima could be done. Upon our return to Lima we went to the LATAM agency in Chacarilla, but they told us that they couldn't do it and that we had to go to a different agency in Miraflores. We then proceeded to go to the agency in Miraflores on our last day before our departure back to the US and they proceeded to tell us that they couldn't process the request as it had to be done over the phone. It has been 5 months since that day and in the interim we have been communicating with their "Customer Service" department. We have been changed at least 7 times of representative and every time they ask us for passports, copies of IDs, notarized letters to approve disbursement of funds for our children voucher credit, more questions and more emails. Once we thought we finally were done, and we would finally get our credit they said they needed an account in Soles, which is the Peruvian currency. Now, why in hell would they give a voucher that specifically reads $20 (dollars) if when you redeem it you need an account in a different currency! Anyway, I was able to contact a friend in Peru that was willing to provide me with her account information for the deposit to be done in her account for her then to transfer the funds. LATAM then said that needed another letter approving such transaction, we did, we sent them once again what they requested. This was followed by a response saying that only 5 vouchers will be credited, the other one was missing a voucher number. That was 45 days ago and we still haven't received any credit. I then received an automatic email saying that if I wanted to receive the funds I had to complete their forms again because they voucher was going to expire. Then I email them again asking where my "approved credit" was and they ignored my question by saying please provide copy of passport, ID, notarized letter, etc etc etc etc etc. This is beyond ridiculous and a joke of customer service, I don't do all this for $20, it is a matter of principle. I will forever discredit this company.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Cusco
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Disgraceful and breach of consumer law"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Santiago. I bid for an upgrade using LATAMs bid option. The website clearly stated that the card used would not be charged unless I was successful. They charged my card that night, but when I arrived at the airport I was told my bid was unsuccessful. But what would happen with my money? The LATAM representative said it would be back in 24 hours. It wasn't. I lodged a complaint on line heard nothing. I waited three days and then rang. Was told that it was with the right department and they would get back within six hours. They didn't. I just got off the phone with Diego in Colombia who told me in no uncertain terms to go kick rocks and wait 28 days maximum. Disgraceful and a breach of consumer law in Australia where I made the transaction.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMelbourne to Santiago
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"find I had no reservations"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Booked my Los Angeles to Lima return flights for 2020. Got ticket confirmations. Went to the website to find I had no reservations. Call multiple times - CSR say i never paid, therefore tickets cancelled. Credit card shows payment went through and received by them. LATAM recognizes they have computer issues and they did get paid. LATAM sends final confirmation of flights. I look on the website - no reservations. Call CSRs again (5th time) shows they cancelled tickets and are refunding money. Weeks later - still no refund & no tickets. Nothing! Conclusion - this is a poorly run airline. I will never attempt to fly them again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Lima
Date FlownOctober 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely horrid airline"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Lima to Buenos Aires. The worst possible airline experience. We had several trips booked from Australia to South America, and within South America. We arrived at the check-in desk 3 hours ahead of departure time for our flight from Lima to Buenos Aires. Were told the flight was overbooked, which took about 4 hours in total of standing at the desk waiting for ground staff to explain to us and sort out their administrative problems. Horribly slow and inefficient service, and staff were extremely unhelpful. They proposed hotel and meals for the night and $180USD travel voucher redeemable on LATAM services. Eventually we went along with their proposal and caught the flight to Buenos Aires the following day. Fast forward 10 days later .. we had a flight booked from Buenos Aires to Santiago. I unfortunately missed my flight as I was acutely unwell and taken to the Emergency Department in Buenos Aires. After my doctors consultation, we called LATAM Contact Center to notify them that my partner and I would be missing the flight due to a medical emergency and to please arrange for us another flight to Santiago, possibly the following day. They asked us to provide medical documentation, which I provided my discharge summary from the hospital and doctor’s clinical notes, signed and dated with seal. They had the audacity to say this was not enough evidence, and they could not help us because we were ‘no shows’. They said our ticket was void because was no written documentation of the flight overbooking in Lima. Absolutely horrid airline, would not go back to South America just to avoid flying with them ever again. The staff were unprofessional, inefficient and actually deceitful.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Buenos Aires
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"$140 round-trip on baggage fees"

(United States)

Not Verified | Orlando to Lima. Not a good experience. Had to pay over $140 round-trip on baggage fees for 1 bag, on an international flight. They have no warm food at all. Cold chicken & potatoes, while on a 6 hour flight wasn't tasty at all. Zero in flight entertainment! Better have some movies or good games downloaded on your smart phone.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Lima
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"LATAM were mediocre at best"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Lima to Cuzco. LATAM were mediocre at best, even for an on-time and uneventful flight. Legroom was equivalent to what you'd find on a budget flight and planes were also as filthy. Meal service was pathetic. Passengers seem to carry lots of hand luggage and the ground staff seem to enforce the hand baggage rule very selectively (i.e. Foreigners get checked). Expensive as well, as they are one of only 2 carriers flying this route (I believe the other being Avianca). Only consolation is that we were airborne on time and landed on time.
AircraftAirbus A320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Cuzco
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no