Kulula

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 66 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"delayed, no apology offered"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | East London to Johannesburg. After being warned of recurrent Kulula delays, i decided to take a chance then boom. Flight is delayed, no apology offered by airline, no food offered since its only a 2 hour delay. Who pays for this one. I do not recommend such an airline that cannot manage time.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEast London to Johannesburg
Date FlownOctober 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"without any notifications from Kulula"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Lanseria to Durban. We celebrated our 41st anniversary and our Son paid for the Airline Tickets to Durban and back. We were delayed by this grounding of the planes on 22 October 2019. First message 05:35 - flight MN502 due to depart 13:00 - delayed to 16:35. Second message 09:21 - Flight delayed to 17:35. We have to be out of our Hotel by 11:00 and the Hire Car must be back at 13:00 - so we just had to go to the Airport and sit and wait. Next message - 10:23 - flight delayed to 18:35 - next message 19:35 and at 15:36 the next message to depart at 22:05. Seven hours on the Airport without any notifications from Kulula. I went to the Counter and the Lady had this Sheepish expression on her face until I told her that you do not seem to be interested in what I am telling you. She informed me that all the flights are full and no available seats on other flights. Luckily the Lady next to her told her to check another flight and book us there and then this one got a bit of life. We were booked on the 19:00 flight. Long story short we eventually left with 8 seats open - arrived an hour later in Johannesburg. On the Airport I asked what about meal vouchers and only when I asked, she gave me 2 vouchers of R110.00 each.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLanseria to Durban
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never use this airline again"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Durban to Johannesburg. Worst experience of my life with Kulula, there have no customer service whatsoever. R4500 down the line return flight from Durban to Johannesburg and they can't be bothered that you delayed or not or make arrangements to accommodate you in someway or the other. Will never use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"check-in grumpy and idiotic"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Johannesburg. Ok flight, take-off delayed by 45 minutes due to late arrival of aircraft, check-in grumpy and idiotic (demanding to weigh a small framed painting that did not even weigh 500gr, despite ample luggage allowance not used up), supervisor felt staff did the right thing, amazing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"we are once again delayed"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to East London. Typical of this inefficient airline, we are once again delayed. How can this airline charge their customers full price when they continue to delay flight times and which in turn not only creates problems for the customer, but costly too.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to East London
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"wait for 2 hours for next flight"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town. We (parents, children and grand parents) had bought tickets for a connecting flight to Cape Town from J-burg more than half a year ago and only had a short time to find the Kulula check in counter, which wasn't so easy for us. We got there 20 mins before the counter was closing, but were told the flight had been overbooked. Everybody at the counter was hopelessly confused, and not very good at communicating to us. After a lot of waiting around, we had to wait for 2 hours for the next flight. Returning from Cape Town with Mango Air was way better.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"staff is friendly"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town. In-flight service is good, food is okay, beverages are okay, staff is friendly and ready to help but luggage handling is staffed with petty criminals. Had my luggage ransacked and robbed.
AircraftB747 800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Nice airline, on time"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town. Nice airline, and on time. My only gripe is the horrible cloth seats on the Europcar Aircraft, reminds me of British Rail seats of old. Time for a refurb me thinks
AircraftBoeing 738
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"They are always delayed"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Johannesburg. This is the third time I have used Kulula because of my vitality discount. I will never book another flight with them again. They are always delayed and take forever to get the luggage out.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"flights both delayed"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Kulula flights are always delayed. My flight from Johannesburg to Cape Town, as well as this flight back to Johannesburg, are both delayed due to technical issues. I am beginning to wonder if Kulula are just so ill-prepared that all the last-minute checks find issues.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews