KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 929 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"Overall reasonably happy"

(United States)

Not Verified | Bristol to Atlanta via Amsterdam. Nothing either good or bad to say about the experience. Everything seemed to function smoothly including the crew. Tight 50 min connection in AMS, but still made the connecting flight with time to spare. Although huge I always the AMS is a very efficient airport. I didn't think too much of the food, but was also not the worst I've ever had. FA's seemed happy even though it was a NYE flight. They came with champagne to help celebrate the new year somewhere over Canada, but at the Dutch midnight hour. Overall reasonably happy.
AircraftE175/ Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBristol to Atlanta via Amsterdam
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I will avoid flying with KLM"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Cape Town. Flight was fine. Food is always poor. Staff is less friendly than other major airlines. Once you sign up for their Flying blue program, prepare for spam. They will use multiple different email addresses and require you to cancel each one separately. After having cancelled all newsletters (and waiting for 2 days as described), I still receive emails. Then, try and cancel your Flying blue program. Until recently, you still had to send a paper letter to France in order to stop the program. KLM provides multiple options for contact, all which are unresponsive and slow. Multiple people have called and waited for hours for urgent matters. They respond quickly on their facebook page in order to save face, but continue to tell customers to private message them, which is terribly slow. I will avoid flying with KLM and Air France again, even though I was a loyal customer.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Cape Town
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"service is not the best"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Amsterdam to Atlanta. It was a good flight with good legroom, food and IFE. But the service is not the best for Economy. KLM have a little selection of music and movies.
AircraftBoeing 777-200 ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Atlanta
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"avoid this airline"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Amsterdam. Please avoid this airline at all costs. In the past month, my fiancé and I have travelled by air on two occasions, both including KLM. The first occasion consisted of 2 KLM connections and one IcelandAir. During this process, my checked in luggage was misplaced for two whole weeks. When it finally arrived after I travelled to Sweden, I checked the baggage tags and realised it never made it to Iceland at all (meaning one of the first two flights messed up: both KLM. They put the onus completely on IcelandAir (which is fine) and made no customer service attempt to help the customer (not fine). Now, today: we awoke for an international flight 4 hours before it departed, and found an email notifying is that our flight had been cancelled and that we'd been put on an 'earlier flight'. The flight's checkin closed the same time we woke up. Rude awakening to say the least. Our travel agent couldn't help because KLM had confirmed the tickets without getting our input, nor even attempting to contact us directly. Mind you, our notification came in at 12.30am (from our travel agent), and when we arrived at the airport, the ticket staff grilled us asking us 'why we were checking in so late.' (and this was after explaining the situation). In my experience: KLM operate in bad practice, lose baggage, and point the finger at others every chance they get. Again, please reconsider using this airline if you can help it.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Plainly dissatisfied"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Amsterdam nothing special, Amsterdam to Mumbai a wonderful flight crew, biz section full. Aisle seat, comfortable weird indent on left side armrest, food awful, a smoked salmon/Thai salad? Mashed potatoes with green beans and two pieces of truly overlooked fish, no Dutch cheese lots of info about new cuisine. Crew there with drinks etc no interesting snacks and Dutch snacks can be superb, do not fly for food but expected better. Return flight on 6th January was transferred to Jet airways as KLM was over booked, seats face aisle so had two screens flashing away all night but got some sleep and only half a breakfast delivered. Lounge in AMS was packed so no food here and flight to London was super cold sandwiches. The crew to London were great. Plainly dissatisfied.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Mumbai via Amsterdam
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"We will avoid this airline"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | My wife and I flew from Jakarta to Atlanta with KLM. When I booked the flight it was nowhere mentioned that we would stop in Kuala Lumpur, as happened when I booked the flight from Amsterdam to Denpasar, that included a stopover in Singapore. That is not honest for such a “serious” airline. Therefore, in both flights we “lost“ around one hour and a half because of those stopovers. Besides, KLM’s system seems to be that of a third class airline since I was never able to change seats even though the system was inviting and “allowing” me to do it. Food in the Jakarta- Kuala Lumpur leg was indeed awful and in the rest of the trip was just bearable. After boarding the plane for the leg Amsterdam - Atlanta we observed something that was “strange”: the cabin crew in the back part of the plane did not show any interest in helping passengers solve their seat and hand luggage problems. The two crew ladies were very happy chatting aloud between themselves and showed no concern for the passengers. Poor service! We had’nt flown with KLM since a long time ago. We will avoid this airline as much as possible. In flight entertainment, movies in particular, is very limited. They have a limited and poor assortment of films.
AircraftB747
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteJakarta to Atlanta via Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"booking still not in order"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Geneva to Vancouver via Amsterdam. I initially booked this over the phone and then the trouble started, 10 one hour expensive internationals calls, each time with a different agent who had no clue about the previous call to fix payment issues, errors etc. 2 months later a day before the flight booking still not in order, more errors, promised to fix things not lived up to etc. KLM never again for me. They need to learn first what a client is.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGeneva to Vancouver via Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad customer service"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | We had a flight from Oslo to Amsterdam. Because of fog at Schiphol airport the flight was cancelled. I had to take another fight from Brussels the day after and my friend had important meetings the day after. We called the call center in Amsterdam but it was too busy. We could not speak to a call center agent. We decided to immediately book a new KLM ticket for the same day but earlier. This flight was not cancelled. The tickets were 355 EUR for a very short flight. We expected KLM to refund the tickets as the call center was too busy and because of the force majeure situation. In the plane we met people that took the same flight as us but initially booked the later flight like us. They went to the airport and KLM (in fact SAS) staff booked them to the earlier flight FREE OF CHARGE. We called several times with the call center the day after but they didn't want to refund the 710 EUR. They said we had chosen ourselves to make extra costs. But for the airline (apart from credit card charges) it wasn't an extra cost at all. There were enough empty seats and we didn't take the flight the day after KLM booked us on later in the evening. They said we could try to get money back from travel insurance. They offered 2 vouchers as leniency but this was by far not the 710 EUR we had to pay for a very short European flight. Apart from the issue described my plane chair was broken and could not stand completely straight. It was a very old aircraft and they did not invest in a new chair which is absolutely UNACCEPTABLE and UNSAFE. So for a price of 355 EUR I had to sit in a broken chair. Very bad customer service and we never thought KLM was capable of doing this. Even Ryanair treats his customers better.Shame on you KLM!
AircraftBoeing 737-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOslo to Amsterdam
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"It was a great flight"

(Sierra Leone)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Freetown. I've become a big fan of KLM lately, having taken them numerous times on long-haul flights in the past year. Once again, they didn't disappoint. I always find their staff are cheerful, upbeat, and clearly enjoying their work; there's a real sense of fun about them, and they're always happy and willing to provide extra drinks. The cabin was recently refurbished, and was stunning: bright, airy and light - it felt really spacious, modern and minimalist. The legroom was spacious, the seats comfortable, and the IFE screens large and crystal-clear. The selection of entertainment was good. I enjoyed the meal - especially the large salad they served, and a pizza shortly before landing - as well as the copious rounds of drinks. The staff were always present and attentive. It was a great flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Freetown
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"have three seats to myself"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Bogotá, such friendly staff and delicious food on board. I always go for the cheapest tickets and I guess this time I was super lucky, my outbound flight was with KLM because I was pleasantly surprised with the whole experience. From boarding on time to getting served a meal even when you weren't starving to the stewardess actually remembering how I drank my tea.! I was lucky to have three seats to myself so I could properly sleep, but the great film selection didn't encourage that much.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Bogotá
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes