KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1163 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"totally tasteless broth"

(Italy)

Not Verified | Chicago to Amsterdam, Business Class. The lounge in Chicago was horribly cramped and lacked a toilet. Onboard, I was lucky enough to be seated in A1, which is a separate seat in the front, without any companion seat. KLM has recently upgraded its business seats to full-flat, a far cry from its previous cramped seats. The steward suggested a lobster bisque for an appetizer, and I decided to try it out since I had never had a soup on a plane. He poured the bisque out of a thermos bottle, and I had two spoonfuls of it. It was a totally tasteless broth and left the remnant over.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteChicago to Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never want to travel with KLM again"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Came to Helsinki from Amsterdam on June 22 with KLM. I paid an extra € 45 for my luggage and in the end my luggage did not arrive in Helsinki. Calling for 5 days in a row and very difficult to reach and very unclear via website. My luggage is still not back and has to wait for KLM to answer online only. I get all of my insurance back in full as long as they provide confirmation that it is lost, but even that is difficult and is sent from chop to branch every time. I have chosen KLM for years and now that a problem has arisen from KLM itself, they cannot even offer a service or help properly. I now have a very bad experience and never want to travel with KLM again. Op 22 juni vanuit Amsterdam naar Helsinki gekomen met KLM. Ik heb €45 extra betaald voor mijn bagage en uiteindelijk was mijn bagage niet aangekomen in Helsinki. 5 dagen achter elkaar aan het bellen en zeer slecht bereikbaar en via website zeer onoverzichtelijk. Mijn bagage is nog steeds niet terug en moet maar afwachten op KLM die alleen online antwoordt. Ik krijg alles van mijn verzekering volledig terug als ze maar een bevestiging geven dat het verloren is, maar zelfs dat is moeilijk en word elke keer van de hak naar de tak gestuurd. Ik heb al jaren voor KLM gekozen en nu dat er een probleem is ontstaan door KLM zelf kunnen ze niet eens een service aanbieden of fatsoenlijk helpen. Ik heb nu zeer slechte ervaring en wil nooit meer met KLM reizen.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Helsinki
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"driven to support customers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The customer service and care I have experienced from KLM has been beyond anything I've experienced from any other airline. During the Coronavirus epidemic, I left London to isolate with my family in Sweden, just as London went into a full lockdown. I didn't know when I would get back, what was happening with my work. KLM were phenomenal. Getting through to speak to someone was surprisingly quick every time. I had a pet in cabin as a special request on my booking, so had to call each time I needed to make changes. This could have been super frustrating, but it wasn't at all. Their reps were always super kind and friendly, very helpful - every time just went out of their way to help me. I had to change my ticket 5 different times. Each was quick and easy to do. My dad also had a booking with them that did not fall under the cancellation / rescheduling rules linked with COVID, but they still went above and beyond to offer him a travel voucher, which he wasn't really entitled to. Using their app is easy. Their prices are good. Service on the plane was good too. I have just been so super impressed with their company - they genuinely seem driven to support customers, rather than just to make capital.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"parents were denied boarding"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Amsterdam. My parents were denied boarding after KLM rescheduled their flight. They speak no english and they refused to talk to us over phone. They provided no help whatsoever just left them there overnight without any help. The next day we make a complaint and we get an email saying that their records show they landed in Denmark. Is this a joke to you KLM? With everything that is happening we trusted KLM to rebook the tickets. Staff super rude and unprofessional. No one has called us back to this day.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"especially rude in her attitude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The flight from Quito to Amsterdam stopped at Guayaquil, and although I was aware of this, I had not anticipated having to get off the plane with all our hand baggage for the plane to be fully serviced and refuelled. We also had to go through check in and security again, which was also irritating having already done this at Quito after arriving there for check in the required 3 hours before boarding. During the flight, I found one of the stewardesses to be especially rude in her attitude to passengers. I had a seat with extra legroom, and I and adjacent passengers had placed our empty food trays on the floor in front of us, and the stewardess demanded that I pick them up saying that she hadn’t got time to do this. I complied with my own tray but declined to do the same for the other passengers who meanwhile had gone back to sleep. We had also paid extra for comfort seats, which offered additional recline, but these were very little different from the standard seats on the outward flight
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteQuito to Heathrow via Amsterdam
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly with this airline again"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | I am deeply disappointed with this airline. I was suppose to fly from Sofia (in Bulgaria) to New York with a 6h transit in Amsterdam. I waited 6h and when we were suppose to board the airline staff did not let me board due to the current travel restrictions. However, according to the US you are allowed to enter the country if you come from a non-Schengen country like Bulgaria. Yet, they refused to board me (I'm a student with an F1 visa and work authorization in the US). Two days later I call customer support for a refund. The woman I talked to refused to give me a refund. I asked her why she wouldn't let me and she said that the decision was made (she wouldn't give me a valid reason) and I couldn't argue against her. To me, this is unacceptable. I paid over 700 euros for a service they did not provide. Why would they let me buy the ticket in the first place if they would refuse me to board the plane? Based on these two extremely bad experiences, I am certain I will never fly with this airline again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSofia to New York via Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"told they had run out of food"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to San Jose via Amsterdam in January 20209. The short hop from Heathrow to Amsterdam was fine and we were surprised to be offered refreshments on such a short flight, including wine and beer which I declined as it was only 9:00am. However for the long haul flight from Amsterdam to San Jose, we waited almost two hours after take off for drinks to be offered, and when the food service eventually arrived, we were the last two passengers to be served in that section and were told they had run out of food. The staff were very apologetic but seemed to suggest that we could simply miss the meal. I suggested that they provide something from the Business or First Class menu but this was declined. They did eventually put something together, I suspect from leftovers, but it was very unsatisfactory. The flight was booked through an agent as part of a holiday package, but we reserved seats directly with KLM. This was problematic, because even though we paid for the seat allocation, they wouldn't guarantee them until the tickets had been issued, and meanwhile we could have lost them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to San Jose via Amsterdam
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"very disappointed with KLM"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I am very disappointed with KLM, I feel they have no respect for customers and are not interested in nurturing a reputation with customers. We were due to fly out in March, but because of the current situation the flight was cancelled and also Abu Dhabi had closed borders and still do at the time of writing this. I am fed up with being ignored and getting a generic answer of we are busy! I am sure they are but they have not helped themselves, they refunded my ticket, yet I am still trying to get a refund for my husband’s ticket. I don’t want a voucher I have no interest in travelling in the foreseeable future and I am entitled to a full refund of my hard worked for money.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBristol to Abu Dhabi via Amsterdam
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I have been ignored, lied to"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Birmingham via Paris / Amsterdam with Air France and KLM. Ripped off like many. I like many others had my Flights cancelled and have since spent many weeks of email correspondence trying to get a Refund. I have been ignored, lied to, mislead and led down the garden path by a Company which is defying International Regulations.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Birmingham via Paris / Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"staff were friendly and efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Amsterdam in October 2019. The check-in was efficient and it was my first time in ages flying from Heathrow T4. The boarding was also on time and staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunately, after boarding we were held on the tarmac for half an hour but this was due to fog in Holland so was not the fault of the airline. The plane was comfortable and new and very clean.
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes