KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1088 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Cabin crew are excellent"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Santiago to Manchester via Amsterdam. Considering that KLM and Air France are one company there could not be more difference in their product. KLM is, for me, by far the better product. The biggest perk of flying with KLM is that at the end of the flight the cabin crew come round with a tray of miniature Deft Houses filled with Bols gin! There are I think 100 of these to choose from and each flight offers about 10 different ones. Sitting at the front of the cabin gets first to pick. Cabin crew are excellent and the catering on both short and long haul sectors was very good. The seat on the long haul sector was a lie-flat offering with plenty of storage space. As this was an overnight flight that fact was much appreciated. Transfer at Schipol was smooth and easy and the short hop to Manchester was in the European standard 3x3 narrow body economy seats with the middle one left empty. The only let down was the relatively poor quality of the IFE choices although the large screen was better than many competitors offer.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSantiago to Manchester via Amsterdam
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Never flying again with them"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Amsterdam to Vancouver. We use to love KLM. I'm a gold flying blue member. My wife is traveling with a 2 and 3-year-old children. We take front row seats to manage this with minimal disturbance to others. KLM changed the plane and did not give us equivalent seats. All of this without a simple warning. Complete disregard for their customers. Called 3 times. One supposed to get back to me, one hung up, one transferred to nowhere. They really insensitive and show no concern for young children. They even sited seat policy change to justify themselves. Never flying again with them.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteAmsterdam to Vancouver
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"enjoy this flight very much"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Dublin to Kuala Lumpur via Amsterdam. Great! This was my second business flight with KLM in 2 months and this one to KL was just as good as my Vancouver flight. I had a bad experience with KLM some years ago and avoided this airline but as my Xiaman flight was grounded (Cat 4 Typhoon at Xiamen airport) I was changed onto this flight. Big thanks to the staff at the Xiamen flight gate who went all out to get me to my destination as I had to be there. The flight crew was absolutely excellent. So professional and attentive. The food excellent, fresh and a good choice. The drinks selection was equally good. The lie-flat seat was just as usual and the IFE had a very wide choice. I did enjoy this flight very much and KLM are back on my radar!
AircraftBoeing 777 ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDublin to Kuala Lumpur via Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"recommend this airline"

(France)

Trip Verified | Brussels to Lyon via Amsterdam. Excellent flight. Friendly crew, frequent flight update from the crew. Very satisfactory snack and drinks. Departed on time, arrived early. Plane very clean and well maintained. I recommend this airline.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Lyon via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"refused to pay extra expenses"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Birmingham. My flight was overbooked , so that i had to wait an additional 2 hrs at the airport to catch my next flight. When I finally arrived in Birmingham, my luggage was not there. They've forgotten my luggage at the Amsterdam airport. My house keys and other important items that i needed were in that bag. The bag turned up 3 days later ... everything was inside at least. KLM refused to pay for the extra expenses i had to pay because they've lost my bag. They say it's not their responsibility. I'm very unhappy + angry.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Birmingham
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"foul mouth steward"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Lima to Kuala Lumpur via Amsterdam. I was on KL0744 from Lima to Amsterdam on 28th October 2019 and my seat was 19D. The flight started well as usual and I had no complaints for the first half of the flight. In fact, I'm not someone who likes to make fuss however this incident happened to me was a true shock and turned my usual good opinion of KLM to nearly zero. The foul mouth steward who served the front seats and my aisle said 'F' word because I didn't finish my tea. This happened during the second meal KLM served, I asked for a cup of hot tea after finishing the meal but didn't finish it as I was already full. This particular steward who served my aisle took away my dish tray but returned the tea to me, so I politely thanked him and told him I didn't want the tea anymore. However, he said F*** xxx with his lips. I was completely shocked and wasn't sure what I should do at that moment. I was on the verge of asking him to repeat what he had said to me but after thinking twice, I decided to talk to the chief of cabin crew. The chief of cabin crew came and I told him what his crew member had done and he said he would talk to him. A few minutes later, the foul mouth steward came back with a little souvenir of Dutch building telling me that it was a joke with his sneaky smile on face. Instead of a sincere apology, I didn't see any remorseful from him at all. I am so angry at myself that I didn't ask for his name and the name of the chief of cabin crew. I whatsapped KLM during my layover at Amsterdam Airport but don't think I received a fair answer from their people at all. So here I am for SKYTRAX
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLima to Kuala Lumpur via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines customer review

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Kuala Lumpur. Seating configuration is 2-2-2. Seat are very comfortable with a Lie Flat Bed. Inflight food tasty and drinks are plenty to order from the menu. Cabin Crew very friendly, helpful, cheerful and give suggestion when come to meals or drinks choices. Although the cabin crew are mostly senior their service are superb. I will fly with them in Business Class again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300er
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJakarta to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"checkin experience was very sad"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Dubai. First the checkin experience was very sad at the airport. The staff was testing some new system and it was not working at all and then they were sending customers to a check-in counter (where only 1 person was sitting) and it was leading to long line. Very bad experience. Then at the checkin date again their system was not working properly and not able to read the passport well and they were least bothered about customer at all. They are advertising big things about 100 years of airlines but very poor staff. Only saving grace was staff in aircraft. The seats were too narrow. My food was bad.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Dubai
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"requesting a 50% refund"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Houston to Vienna via Amsterdam return. First segment was unable to select seats, tried several times but system would dump them out. Unable to check-in online as advertised. When talking with Delta and KLM agents they seemed uninterested in helping at all, terrible customer service! Changed flights VIE to IAH from 20 Oct to 17 Oct, was charged $500 change fee and the nightmare began. Unable to select seats, unable to check-in online, via app, or at VIE kiosk. Talked with Delta and KLM customer service six times all within 24hr of flight and nobody was able to correct these issues. Delta and KLM agents did not seem to care. Walked 1/2 mile to KLM counter in VIE took 20 minutes to check-in, "could not find in system". KL1838 no provisioning on aircraft. Asked for water and was told there was none, meanwhile flight attendants drank bottled water and made hot tea for pilots in plain view of Business pax. KL 661 no seat assigned, had to sit in last row behind coach galleys. Terrible experience! Will never fly on KLM again! Customer service non-existent! Requested a refund of change fee to no avail. Now requesting a 50% refund of roudtrip fare.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHouston to Vienna via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Definitely fly with KLM again"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Athens to Aberdeen via Amsterdam. Great airline. Was really impressed with them from the lovely friendly staff to the food you get on board. I usually fly with BA but after the way I was treated during the computer failure and after was appalling so I will not fly with then again. I was also impressed with the usb charging ports on the KLM flight from Athens to Amsterdam. Definitely fly with KLM again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAthens to Aberdeen via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes