KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1168 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the last choice to fly with"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | I was going back from my 2 weeks stay in Mexico with the connection (Mexico) SLP-MEX-AMS-KRK (Poland) A day before the trip (10/09/2020) I received information from KLM confirming that I will travel next day and can check in - so just confirming that everything is fine. At SLP airport I received a ticket to MEX and was told that for next part of my trip I should go to the KLM Check-In Desk to collect remaining tickets. My baggage at SLP was sent directly to KRK. At MEX airport I went to the KLM check-in desk. During check-in it appeared that there is some problems with my tickets - I was waiting about 1 hour to get some explanation and the person was contacting with many other people next to him and calling by phone many others. After that I received information that my reservation is OK but my tickets are not OK due to some mistakes in the system done by my travel agent who was selling ticket to me - I could not understand such explanation - how can happen that reservation is OK but tickets are NOK. And was told that if I want to travel I need to contact my travel agency to clarify or buy new tickets. It was during the night and I was during my trip with total duration about 24h. Finally I manage to contact my travel agency and to due to emergency situation the new ticket was issued - but the whole process took probably more than 2 hours. I received some explanation from KLM with the screen shot of their system - and they were telling me that in one column there is a letter "E" in their system but it should be something else. But the same letter "E" was with the flight I had just before from SLP-MEX done by Aeromexico operator. I asked why it was possible to fly with Aeromexico with identical status and it's not possible with KLM - they told me - yes because it was domestic carrier but with KLM you can not. I do not know who created the problem: KLM or my travel agency - but from my point of view full responsibility is on KLM side. Why did they confirm a day before that everything is fine - do they know what they have in their electronic systems ? - looks like that they do not know. Why the same ticket status was OK for Aeromexico and NOK for KLM. Why in the middle of the night they told me - you can not fly - it's your problem - in our KLM system there is status with letter "E" but should be something else. KLM from now on is the last choice to fly with.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMexico to Krakow via Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"safety measures concerning COVID-19 was good"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | The information shared before departures were comprehensive. Check-in in Amsterdam was fast and safety measures concerning COVID-19 was good. They checked the documentation necessary to enter Japan as a foreign resident. There were 60 passengers, which meant that everyone had an individual seat row to themselves. There were no passengers in the rows surrounding me. The crew were very welcoming and smiling. Food was limited, there was no choice in menu, but they handed out an additional bag full of snacks a few hours into the flight. Departure and arrival on time. A smooth ride once more.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Narita
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"nobody social distanced whilst queuing"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Even though the airport is not too busy, the ground staff were not very friendly. They were just stern when checking your boarding pass and passport. We also needed to check in our suitcases ourselves, which seems to be a feature at the CDG airport. Everyone is required to wear a face mask in order to board the plane, and nobody social distanced whilst queuing to board. On board, we had a lemon cake and water. The main things that changed following the pandemic is that KLM now requires face masks, whilst the selection of food and drinks on board have shrunk. For example, this flight no longer serves alcoholic drinks but only soft drinks, water and coffee/tea. Upon arrival, passengers were encouraged to wait for the person in front to leave first prior to leaving the airplane. However, none of the passengers did that. There was virtually no social distancing when disembarking as well. No space was left between passenger groups either. It does not appear that this airline takes safety very seriously, as the only thing required is a face mask. On board, when passengers were not wearing face masks properly, they were not asked to put them on well either.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Amsterdam
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"very similar to pre-pandemic times"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | This flight is in July 2020, in the middle of the COVID19 pandemic. At check-in, the ground staff was meticulous and helpful. He helped us to check if we needed any special rules whilst going to Paris. KLM requires face masks to be worn throughout the flight, except during meal times. When boarding, the announcement encouraged social distancing although this is not generally maintained by most passengers. KLM also does not maintain separate seats between passenger groups. In economy class, the flight was full just like before the pandemic. For the flight, only a lemon cake with water was provided in a box. This is not too dissimilar from before the pandemic, except the sandwich has been replaced with a slice of cake. Overall, the entire flight on KLM is very similar to pre-pandemic times, with the exception of face masks required throughout the flight.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Paris
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Very poor seat, no service"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Very poor seat, no service. As shown on my boarding pass we were registered in business but the seats were given to crew passengers. A company to avoid. When they have a difficulty (and clearly the situation is difficult) it not their problem, it’s yours, without any adapted service or help provided on board or at the airports. I had may flights to change and even cancel during the last months, and the only company unable to provide any help is KLM.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePanama to Geneva via Amsterdam
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"had to pay 70 euros for my trolley"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I travelled from Amsterdam to Milan, and I had to pay 70 euros for my trolley to be put in the back of plane only because I knew the regulations of the italian government for covid-19. Knowing that I went to the check-in desk to ask if I had to hand in my trolley there (as I knew that the check in of the hand-luggage was free of charge), and they checked the weight of it, and as it was exceeding of 0.6 kilo, I had to pay 70 euors. The real problem is that more than half of the passengers of my flight as they didn't know about the new covid-19 regulations for flying to italy, took their trolleys and hand-baggage at the gate and they were not checked for the weight. This means that doing like this I didn't have to pay. I think this is not fair.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Milan
Date FlownJuly 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never want to travel with KLM again"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Came to Helsinki from Amsterdam on June 22 with KLM. I paid an extra € 45 for my luggage and in the end my luggage did not arrive in Helsinki. Calling for 5 days in a row and very difficult to reach and very unclear via website. My luggage is still not back and has to wait for KLM to answer online only. I get all of my insurance back in full as long as they provide confirmation that it is lost, but even that is difficult and is sent from chop to branch every time. I have chosen KLM for years and now that a problem has arisen from KLM itself, they cannot even offer a service or help properly. I now have a very bad experience and never want to travel with KLM again. Op 22 juni vanuit Amsterdam naar Helsinki gekomen met KLM. Ik heb €45 extra betaald voor mijn bagage en uiteindelijk was mijn bagage niet aangekomen in Helsinki. 5 dagen achter elkaar aan het bellen en zeer slecht bereikbaar en via website zeer onoverzichtelijk. Mijn bagage is nog steeds niet terug en moet maar afwachten op KLM die alleen online antwoordt. Ik krijg alles van mijn verzekering volledig terug als ze maar een bevestiging geven dat het verloren is, maar zelfs dat is moeilijk en word elke keer van de hak naar de tak gestuurd. Ik heb al jaren voor KLM gekozen en nu dat er een probleem is ontstaan door KLM zelf kunnen ze niet eens een service aanbieden of fatsoenlijk helpen. Ik heb nu zeer slechte ervaring en wil nooit meer met KLM reizen.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Helsinki
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"driven to support customers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The customer service and care I have experienced from KLM has been beyond anything I've experienced from any other airline. During the Coronavirus epidemic, I left London to isolate with my family in Sweden, just as London went into a full lockdown. I didn't know when I would get back, what was happening with my work. KLM were phenomenal. Getting through to speak to someone was surprisingly quick every time. I had a pet in cabin as a special request on my booking, so had to call each time I needed to make changes. This could have been super frustrating, but it wasn't at all. Their reps were always super kind and friendly, very helpful - every time just went out of their way to help me. I had to change my ticket 5 different times. Each was quick and easy to do. My dad also had a booking with them that did not fall under the cancellation / rescheduling rules linked with COVID, but they still went above and beyond to offer him a travel voucher, which he wasn't really entitled to. Using their app is easy. Their prices are good. Service on the plane was good too. I have just been so super impressed with their company - they genuinely seem driven to support customers, rather than just to make capital.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"parents were denied boarding"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Amsterdam. My parents were denied boarding after KLM rescheduled their flight. They speak no english and they refused to talk to us over phone. They provided no help whatsoever just left them there overnight without any help. The next day we make a complaint and we get an email saying that their records show they landed in Denmark. Is this a joke to you KLM? With everything that is happening we trusted KLM to rebook the tickets. Staff super rude and unprofessional. No one has called us back to this day.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Amsterdam
Date FlownJune 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"especially rude in her attitude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The flight from Quito to Amsterdam stopped at Guayaquil, and although I was aware of this, I had not anticipated having to get off the plane with all our hand baggage for the plane to be fully serviced and refuelled. We also had to go through check in and security again, which was also irritating having already done this at Quito after arriving there for check in the required 3 hours before boarding. During the flight, I found one of the stewardesses to be especially rude in her attitude to passengers. I had a seat with extra legroom, and I and adjacent passengers had placed our empty food trays on the floor in front of us, and the stewardess demanded that I pick them up saying that she hadn’t got time to do this. I complied with my own tray but declined to do the same for the other passengers who meanwhile had gone back to sleep. We had also paid extra for comfort seats, which offered additional recline, but these were very little different from the standard seats on the outward flight
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteQuito to Heathrow via Amsterdam
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no