KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 898 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"completely disorganized mess"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Trondheim to Florence via Amsterdam. The flight was canceled so we were re-scheduled and arrived 10 hours late. The problem is that the company has made a mess with the expenses for delayed arrival. Three months after, they have not initiated the transfer of money yet despite asking me for the same receipts over 5 times. Now they claim it is due to technical error. The whole situation seems like a completely disorganized mess. This has made me never want to fly with KLM again. I get the impression that they do not care at all about customer support.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTrondheim to Florence via Amsterdam
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"WiFi costly at €10 per 50MB"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Rio de Janeiro to Amsterdam. The business class on KLM’s B787 Dreamliner is configured in a 1-2-1 arrangement in reverse herringbone layout. I had the window seat 2A. As the seat is angled facing the window, there is a lot of privacy in the window seat. Even in upright mode, a person of average height like myself at 178 cm is able to rest my legs on the ottoman. There is a small storage compartment at the side with a vanity mirror which comes in useful when you want to style your hair after waking up from sleep. A 3-course dinner was served shortly after takeoff from GIG. I opted for the cream of sweet potato soup which was delicious. For the main course, I had the grilled chicken with quail risotto. It was something unusual but nevertheless tasty. Courses were served course by course and the entire dinner service took almost 2.5 hours before I was able to recline into bed mode for a restful 6-hour sleep before breakfast. It was a very pleasant experience and do hope that KLM will have more aircraft with the reverse herringbone configuration in business class. This aircraft was wifi enabled. However it was rather costly at €10 per 50MB and speed was just about adequate. Somehow this data tends to be used up very quickly after making a few Facebook posts and uploads and you will have to purchase another voucher to continue.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteRio de Janeiro to Amsterdam
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"do not care about their customer needs"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Ridiculous service. I recieved a message saying my luggage was delayed when I arrived at my final destination. They said they would drive it to my location even though it was 3-4 hours away from the airport. I would receive the luggage either the same day or the day after they said. Didn’t hear anything from them this day so I called them. Then they said it was going to another address, and were about to send it in the wrong direction. They said they would fly it to the nearest airport to me instead. Then they sent it back to Amsterdam in order to send it to the nearest airport, and now they said they weren’t sure I would receive it today either. I am on holiday for two days, and I basically have no clothes and equipment for the activities I prepared. There are no stores nearby either. They really do not care about their customer needs and my whole trip is basically ruined because of their lack of service. Really do not recommend to fly with KLM.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Stavanger via Amsterdam
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"nothing good to say"

(India)

Trip Verified | Delhi to Rio de Janeiro via Amsterdam. Hopeless service. Delhi to Amsterdam only food served vegetarian, that too only rice and pulses (daal bhaat in Indian), uncomfortable seats. The steward,asked me to get water from the back of the plane as 'they don't serve at the seat'. I will never ever travel on KLM again. Seats uncomfortable. Drinks - don't ever think of a repeat, you won't be served. I have nothing good to say about this airline.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Rio de Janeiro via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Not overly enthusiastic"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Denpasar to Amsterdam via Singapore with KLM. Not overly enthusiastic. Aircraft was tidy. Legroom was good. Good information from flight deck. Meal service far below average. In both flights no meal option was presented, you get what is on offer. In my opinion not sufficient for a long-haul flight while other airlines standard is to present a menu with meal options. Staff seemed a bit rushed and didn't really spend a lot of attention to its customers. Inflight entertainment is so-so. Movie options just about OK, but more options would be preferable. On the AMS-SIN flight there was an electronic malfunction while at the gate. Took an hour to be fixed while aircon was off. Will choose Singapore Airlines again next time.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Amsterdam via Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I would fly again with KLM"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Manchester to Houston via Amsterdam. Superb service, great flight and comfortable seats. The only thing they could improve would be the food. Great selection of movies, music and TV Shows to select from and I found the KLM app to be incredibly helpful. As a nervous flyer, I'm always cautious when using a new airline but I would fly again with KLM without hesitation. Thank you
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Houston via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Crew was very friendly"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Prague via Amsterdam. Crew was very friendly and paying attention. Food on long haul flight was delicious and seats was comfortable. For next time a would be happy if crew dim the lights for the flight, even if its day flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 / 737-700
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Prague via Amsterdam
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"nothing to complain about"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Southampton with KLM Cityhopper. I was bumped up from a regular coach seat to their extra legroom seat at no additional cost. The airplane was new and pulling up to the area where they all were it looks like their fleet of Embraer’s are also new. Because these are short hop flights you have to go from a bus and up a staircase. On this short flight that is 1hr 10 mins you get half a sandwich, soft drink, water, and a small dessert. There was nothing to complain about. The plane was new, comfortable, and they even fed you, something that an USA based airline would never do.
AircraftEmbraer 175
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Southampton
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"I upgraded to business"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was a Delta flight operated by KLM. I upgraded to business from economy for around $500 at the gate. I was a bit disappointed to find out that the equipment had been changed from a Boeing 787 to a 777 however I was looking forward to the KLM business experience. If you have Air France points always ask because the original price to upgrade was around $900 however just for being a member of the Air France loyalty program, the price dropped down to a little bit under $500 and I did not have to use points. Keep in mind you have to ask and hopefully find an agent that is nice enough to do it for you. Upon boarding, it was obvious that the 777 was old however it was well-kept. The bathroom was very nice and had Dutch themed wallpaper with all kinds of amenities inside. They serve you a hot meal that includes an appetizer, entrée, and everything you can drink every two hours. They use beautiful china, glass, nice silverware, and beautiful linen napkins. Two hours before landing they serve you a hot breakfast. They also give you a nice little Dutch themed ceramic house with liquor inside as a gift which I thought was a lovely touch and your choice of chocolate. The seat was large, very comfortable, and with plenty of storage. The amenity kit however was quite basic. It included a pair of poorly made socks, something to cover your eyes that resembled a mask, earplugs, only flimsy toothbrush with a tiny bit of toothpaste, all inside a cheap looking zipper bag that looked like a coin purse. Needless to say after using a few items inside I left it on board. There was no Wi-Fi on this flight and the entertainment options were decent for a 7 hour flight. Overall I have always been a fan of KLM they do it right whether you are in coach or in business, I would fly them every time if I could. They leave on time, they take care of you on board, the airplanes have plenty of space, and even the old ones are well-kept.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteNew York JFK to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"don't stand behind stated policies"

(United States)

Trip Verified | San Francisco to Glasgow via Amsterdam. As an airline, KLM does a nice job. However they totally give lip service to a stated policy for extra seats. On my recent trip to Scotland, I purchased an extra seat round trip to accommodate my size, so that I would not inconvenience anyone sitting next to me. On KLM's website, they state they will refund the cost of the extra seat should the flight[s] not be sold out. On all 4 legs of my journey, there were open seats. Upon return home, I submitted my request [with supporting documentation] for reimbursement. A month later, and my request has been met with stonewalling and silence. I am not wealthy, and it took a long time to save for that ticket. I resent the fact that they don't stand behind their stated policies, and want to warn anyone else thinking they are an upstanding business to think twice.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Glasgow via Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no