Kenya Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 321 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"excellent service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Mauritius via Nairobi. This is the first time I have flown with Kenya Airways and I was impressed. The cabin crew were very friendly, and provided an excellent service. There was good leg room and the seats were comfortable. The inflight entertainment was touchscreen and provided a large selection of movies to watch. Three meals were provided during the 2 flights. My only issue was the long transit in Nairobi (8 hours) on the way to Mauritius. The transit on the journey back was quick (only 2 hours). I will definitely fly Kenya Airways again, as it was the cheapest option to Mauritius and provided great value for money.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Mauritius via Nairobi
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"food and customer service sucks"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nairobi to New York . The food is below average for someone who is paying almost $1000 for a flight. We received what they called a omelette which was really like the folded egg from mcdonalds, chicken with rice and a buffalo chicken sandwich that was terrible. Completely unacceptable at the quality given to customers. Kenya airways also had a separate security checkpoint after three were already done in the airport at the gate. In which anyone who purchased a beverage walking in the airport and then went to their gate were told it had to be consumed right then or thrown out. Water in the airport is $3, I saw at least 10 passengers who had to throw their water out and some after being told by a worker who sold them the water that they would be fine to board the plane. Also an observation, we were the only one with a checkpoint done by the airline at the gate. We walked by all other gates and saw people sitting like you normally would. So why would this airline impose a checkpoint for those going to the US after already being checked by the airport and customs. This left a bad taste after a great trip. Do better Kenya airways. Your food and customer service sucks.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to New York
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"received awesome service"

(Kenya)

Trip Verified | Nairobi to Zanzibar. My experience involves booking a flight with another airline (not Kenya Airways) and money being deducted and cancelled on the day of travel while at the airport with my family,, only for Kenya Airways to book me a flight and save me all expenses from flight to hotel bookings I had made.. I booked a flight with another airline from Nairobi-Zanzibar, money was deducted but I was not issued a ticket. I was at Nairobi on the day of travel waiting to get the tickets and travel with my family. We were told the Airline had canceled our tickets .. (later on the airline would refund me the money deducted). A ticket lady booked us a flight to Zanzibar and she went further to assist us with immigrations so that we do not miss the flight. Eventually I was on time for checking in at Zanzibar after a pleasant journey where the Captain kept updating us .. we received awesome service as we had travelled with an infant (1.5 year old) both to and fro.
AircraftE190
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Zanzibar
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"a comfortable flight"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | My family of four flew business class Bangkok to Nairobi return. I had purchased my business class ticket and 3 economy tickets for my family, 6 months in advance, all at a great price. My family got upgraded to business class 48 hours before each flight based on a computerized bidding system. Although it is not guaranteed you will get the seats, in our case it saved us thousands of dollars on our business class airfares. Kenya uses a 2x2x2 seat configuration in a two cabin business class design. Three rows in the front cabin, and two rows in the next cabin. The second cabin is quieter and more desirable. The flight attendants, both Kenyan and Thai were great - very friendly and attentive. Since both our flights were "Red Eyes", we went right to sleep for the 9 hour flight and did not eat the first meal. The pre-arrival meal was breakfast and was fine. The IFE was just average with a limited number of movies, most over a year old. I fly a lot of long haul business class flights and usually prefer the individual pods, but in this case with my family, the two side by side business class seats were very comfortable. In fact they had longer leg room and were wider than the pods, allowing you to sleep easily on your side without feeling constricted. We all got 7-8 hours of sleep. Our first flight arrived 45 minutes early. Our second flight 30 minutes late. All in all a comfortable flight with very good service.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Nairobi
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Delayed flight over four hours"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | London to Nairobi. Delayed flight over four hours. No compensation at all forth coming. My BA flight was delayed a little while ago and I had a Compensation without any issues in a month. Kenya Airways are making a mockery of the EU Law. I think this is basically a broke ‘matatu’ Airline and best be avoided. It’s a disgrace to the Country.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Nairobi
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"everything was fine"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | After all the negative reviews I was quite nervous about flying with Kenya Airways. But everything was fine. Flight out was on time, staff friendly and meals decent. Return journey from Johannesburg was delayed and bags left behind in Nairobi but staff were apologetic and bags delivered intact the next day to my door. Bag delay has happened previously with another major airline so not too bother. I would fly with Kenya Airways again as it is reasonably cheap and pretty decent.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Johannesburg via Nairobi
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never use Kenya Airways again"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | We missed our 8.30am Kenya Airways flight (the airlines fault, not ours) from Nairobi to Kilimanjaro. The staff at the Kenya Airways desk initially insisted that we pay the full fare for a new flight at 5.00pm. when we refused to do so they said there were Business Class seats available on the 1.30pm flight which we could have for the difference between economy and business. We were told twice that the difference was $US210 per person. We reluctantly agreed to pay but specified we would pay by credit card so we had a paper trail when we subsequently complained to KA. We were told that if we paid cash we could pay at the Kenya Airways desk. If we insisted on paying by card we would have to go back through Security, but another visa (as we had technically left Kenya) and pay at the KA desk on the concourse. When my partner eventually got to the Kenya Airways concourse desk the staff insisted that he needed to pay cash. When he refused they suggested they would void the reserved Business Class seats. He continued to insist on paying by card. At this point the price for the upgrade mysteriously dropped from $US210 to $US184 per person. Our conclusion was that the relevant Kenya Airways staff had intended to take the additional $US52 as a “commission “. By the way, my partner wasn’t required to buy another visa. And we discovered on the flight that our upgrade to Business Class entitled us to the grand total of a glass of water and a wet towel! We will never use Kenya Airways again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNairobi to Kilimanjaro
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend Kenya Airways"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Nairobi. The plane broke down and the situation was handled in the most unprofessional way. The passenger was not informed on time of the technical problems. The Kenya airways staff was not helpful at all the better the situation. The arrangement with regards to rescheduling and accomodation was also very unprofessional. Passengers were not guide where to pick up luggage and what to do next. I will definitely not recommend Kenya Airways as a airways of choice.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Nairobi
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"in-flight service was poor"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was to fly on Sept 7th 10.55 pm Kenya time from Nairobi to New York/JFK. I got to the airport and cleared 3 rounds of security checks. After reaching the boarding gate, it was announced that the flight is delayed and now will depart at 1 am.   Around 9.30, they made another announcement that the flight is further delayed and will depart at 2 am. We were offered some dinner and around midnight asked to proceed towards the boarding gate where there was another round of security clearance, there is no water available beyond this point unless it’s a sealed bottle bought at duty-free.   At around 2.45, when there was no sight of a plane and when we inquired with the ground staff, Kenya Airways personnel made an announcement that the flight is canceled and will now depart at 2 pm the next day.   We were given transit visa voucher, however, upon getting to the Immigration line, were told the voucher is void without KA personnel signature. By this time, all of us were frustrated due to lack of proper communication and guidance.   After we cleared the long queue at Immigration, we got to the KA desk for the hotel reservation. There was no clarity or communication around hotel assignment. We had to hand over our boarding passes at random to agents who’d then shout out the names of passengers. As the lines grew longer, their ability to manage crowds and cater to our needs diminished – they were not able to answer simple questions such as which hotel to go to, when our bus/shuttle would arrive or what the process would be thereafter.   We managed to get to our assigned hotel at around 4.30 am. The wifi in the room was not working so we could not communicate with family regarding our whereabouts. The bedspread was torn and the bathroom had roaches and other insects. With barely 3 hours of sleep, we woke up to get breakfast which was below average.   We left for the airport by airport shuttle where the KA agent only provided boarding pass for the flight to JFK. The agent asked me to go to the gate to collect boarding pass for the flight from JFK- PHX. After reaching the gate, I was asked to go to the KA desk so the agent can further help with flight changes. I had specifically requested to be booked onto an earlier flight which the agent at the main counter confirmed was the case. However, the agent at the KA desk near the gates could not help and said they could book me only on the 8 am flight to Phoenix the following day – after an 8+hour wait at JFK airport, she said my seat was confirmed for this flight. The agent also confirmed my bags would be checked all the way through to Phoenix and just that I had to collect my boarding pass at KA counter at JFK.   At the fourth security check, I asked another KA agent if my bags would be through checked to Phoenix – she said I would have to collect them at the port of entry which is NY/JFK. The flight which was to depart at 2 pm was delayed by an hour and departed Nairobi at around 3 pm. The in-flight service was poor, the agents were rude. I asked the attendant for an additional blanket as I started feeling the chills but I never got any.   We landed at JFK around 10.30 pm. After clearing customs/immigration, transiting passengers were advised to meet the ground staff. There was no ground staff at JFK for us to meet. So at around 11.45 pm (after clearing customs), I along with another passenger, headed to the KA counters on Level 2/boarding gates area. The staff had left for the day so we decided
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to New York
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Kenya Airways food is going downhill"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London Heathrow to Lusaka via Nairobi. Flights full on outward leg. Evening meal provided and a small "breakfast box" on 787, another small "breakfast box" identical to the original one and equally poor - a tiny croissant and a small bun on the flight from Nairobi to Lusaka. Kenya Airways food is going downhill - flown with them before and the food was more substantial. Return flight - Lusaka to Nairobi via Harare - a packet of salted nuts and a drink. Nairobi to London - "lunch" was a very small offering allegedly breakfast of a poached egg and spinach - again in a cardboard box. This is not the way for a cash strapped airline to attract or keep customers. Cabin crews were unsmiling but did the job. All flights were on time which was good - but if you are looking for seat comfort, forget it - seats were hard and narrow - the seats need refreshing.
AircraftBoeing 787, Embraer 190
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon Heathrow to Lusaka via Nairobi
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes