Kenya Airways

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 332 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"most disappointing flights"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Bangkok via Nairobi. As a fairly regular flier, this was one of the most disappointing flights I’ve ever been on. The Boeing 787 is a great plane, but from check-in to baggage collection and everything in between I was underwhelmed. The aircraft interior is tatty and dirty with frayed seat covers and ripped seat-back pockets that your phone falls through the holes. The cabin service only started 45 minutes after take-off, no water or drinks and they first serve their very mediocre meals before you get a small plastic cup of water which we got 1 hour into the flight. Then the dirty trays only get cleared around an hour after meals are served so you can’t stow the tray table and sleep until they’ve cleared the cabin. On both the flight to Bangkok and the return sector I tried in vain to call a cabin attendant using the call button, but they literally walk past you with the blue light glaring and carry on doing whatever they’re busy with. I needed assistance on one occasion as the passenger next to me spilled their whole drink over me and I needed a towel to dry my leg and shoes, but after 20 minutes I eventually switched off the light and gave up and slept with a wet leg. On another occasion I needed the attendant to take my dirty food tray (nearly a full hour after the meal had been served) so that I could stow my fold down tray to get up to go to the bathroom but he refused to take it and said I must wait until they clear the whole cabin. I chose Kenya Airways because it was the quickest trip with shortest connection and I assumed there would be similar service to AF / KLM with them being shareholders, but if I ever fly to Bangkok again from Johannesburg I will certainly pay the extra money and take the longer layover in Dubai or Singapore and fly Emirates or Singapore Airlines, I will not fly Kenya Airways long-haul again unless it’s specifically to go to Nairobi or elsewhere in East Africa.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Bangkok via Nairobi
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"staff were almost completely absent"

(Kenya)

Not Verified | Just returned after spending nearly 10 hours at OR Tambo airport. Flight was cancelled due to a faulty spring on a flap. While I recognise theses things happen I was appalled by the way the staff treated customers. Little or no information was given. KQ staff were almost completely absent except when tracked. Sent from pillar to post trying to find luggage, no lunch vouchers provided, then informed you had to re-book yourselves on flights so complete mayhem trying to get to the KQ reservation desk back in the departures, non airside counter. Was informed no compensation except for new booking would be provide and if needed a hotel. I have family in Pretoria so headed back to them, incurring extra costs such as taxi fares but no compensation for these and all the other costs incurred let alone any compensation for wasting my and my 2 kids whole day, losing a days work, missing appointments etc. Am absolutely amazed at how badly KQ staff in Johannesburg are trained. This is not the first time. Last year when they lost my luggage for 3 days, KQ staff at ORTambo failed to inform me I was due 100 usd compensation. I only found out when I arrived in Nairobi and asked at the help desk in the arrival hall.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Nairobi
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"the worst experience I have ever had"

(India)

Not Verified | Cape Town to Mumbai via Nairobi. I have taken loads of flights in the last few years all across the world and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had. Our flight was delayed for over 10 hours because there was no crew availability. Because of that our connecting flight was missed, and we were rescheduled to a flight, which made us reach Mumbai 25 hours late. When we reached the airport, the system was not working, and we were given hand written boarding passes. The process delayed the flight by more than 4 more hours. The airline staff were clueless as they apparently said that the head office in Nairobi was not picking their calls. I don’t know what is up with Kenya Airways. It’s better to cancel the trip than to travel with them.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Mumbai via Nairobi
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"cancelled flight without notice"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Nairobi to Mahe. They cancelled our flight to Mahe without notice. We tried to check in evening before our departure date but their system indicated incorrect personal details. We called customer service but they could not explain to us but instead said that we should check in at airport. On arrival at airport our flight original time 1915 was cancelled so we couldn’t catch our connecting flights. We went to their office at Entebbe and found a staff who was very unprofessional and unwilling to help. When we indicated that we are gold members and frequent flyers and we wish to file a complaint and asked for her name, then she was willing to assist us. We missed our connecting flights, paid hotel we did not sleep in. Sleepless night. All they had to do is to inform us that our flight was cancelled and they didn’t.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Mahe
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"Staff lack warmth and are robotic"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Mumbai via Nairobi. Staff lack professionalism and can be quite brash and rude. Cabin was too hot even after take off and I requested if they could turn up the air but the cabin attendant didn't seem to understand my request. Far too much single use packaging - throwaway boxes, plastic cutlery when they could just as easily use stainless steel cutlery. No special meals on 2/4 of my flights and staff insisted this was not booked even when I was presented with my meal on 2 of other legs. Had to wait at least 30 minutes both times in Nairobi in the plane after landing in the heat as ground staff got the disembarkation ready but no apology or explanation from cabin staff for keeping people standing in the hot crowded airplane. Staff lack warmth and are robotic and the attention to service when compared with other airlines on similar routes is noticeably absent.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Mumbai via Nairobi
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst experience of my life"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Cape Town to Zanzibar via Nairobi. Worst experience of my life. We booked online directly from Kenya Airways on the 2nd Nov and the money was deducted on the 8th November. The day we booked we noticed a flight was cancelled and we phoned them to make sure seeing as we didn't receive an e-ticket. The woman said it's no problem we will receive our ticket the moment the flight is sorted we just need our booking reference. On the 15th Dec we were suppose to fly at 2300. With check-in they couldn't find our ticket and was sent to ticket sales. Ticket sales confirmed that we had paid and that we have a booking but no tickets were issued. When Kenya was finally reached they said they never received our payment. 2.5 hours later we missed our flight. Next day we start phoning them at 7am. When they finally answered they started this thing where they will tell you to please hold but end the line. After the fourth call we got through and the woman said we can fly at 14:30. At 10am we were at the airport at ticket sales. Once again no e-ticket and no response. By 12:30 we get the news. We have to pay for new tickets at a larger price than our previous tickets and they will refund our original price .. the absolute audacity. We lost our vacation and accommodation and these people wanted to charge us extra? Customer service is enough to make even the most calm and professional person lose it completely. We received a proof of refund and on the proof it shows that they received our money on the 6th November.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Zanzibar
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"my luggage is missing"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Dubai via Nairobi. First and last time travelling on Kenya airway. Firstly the flight took forever to take off and i had a connecting flight in Nairobi, which eventually had me running like a mad dog and almost missed my connecting flight. This Kenya Airways first time experience did not stop here, after landing and to this very moment my luggage is missing, try having a holiday and you have no luggage, and no one is helping at Kenya airways. Never again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Dubai via Nairobi
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"quite positive experience"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Antananarivo via Nairobi. It was my first time I have flown with Kenya Airways and it was quite positive experience. The cabin crew were friendly, and provided really good service with the smile. We were afraid about delays and lost baggage but everything was fine and on time.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Antananarivo via Nairobi
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"just left us without a word"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Mauritius to Amsterdam via Nairobi. We tried to change our ticket as some free seats were available. This information we got at different airport. So we showed up at the desk by gate 15-16 and the lady there just left us without a word. We were quite in rush because we had an option to change the flight. When she came back told us that it is too late and we should go to gate 6 and check for another flight and they will provide the service. We went there waiting 30 mins. No one showed up so I went to the previous gate desk to ask for assistance. She called a few numbers and informed me that her colleague is there all the time. When I went back to the desk by gate 6 my friend told me that she just arrived 2 mins ago and she is not able to help us as she doesn't have codes and we need to wait for someone else an hour. We waited for another person and she couldn't help us too. We kept waiting for 3rd person another 40 mins who said that we can't change the ticket coz the plan is full. They could tell us at the first time. My experience in general was positive.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMauritius to Amsterdam via Nairobi
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"good food, good service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Great flight from New York to Dar es Salaam via Nairobi. Smooth connections, good food, good service, comfortable plane. No problems. Comparable to my flights on Austrian Airlines from Vienna to New York
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Dar es Salaam via Nairobi
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes