Jetstar Japan

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Almost missed my flight"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Chitose to Nagoya. My boarding ticket showed that the boarding time was at 14:00 at gate 201, so I was already at the gate at 13:30. I waited till 14:15, and still no call for boarding. I did not approach the crew because they looked busy waiting for other passengers for the flight bound for Narita. Until I heard that it was already the final call to board the flight bound for Nagoya. I was very confused as there were no prior announcements. If there was any announcement even in Japanese I’d understand. There was not any notice as well at gate 201. Shame on you Jetstar! Such poor service! Almost missed my flight. Will never fly Jetstar again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChitose to Nagoya
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"it was a big mistake"

(China)

Not Verified | My friends and I chose to fly from Shanghai to Tokyo with Jetstar and it was a big mistake. They cancelled our flight on the last minute because of bad weather conditions. After they cancelled our flight, they refused to refund our money insisting that we use their voucher to book another flight with their airline. Dont make the same mistake as we did and stay away from Jetstar. If there's another airline that can get you to your destination, go with them instead. Save yourselves from the hassle, the stress, the waste of money and all the bad experiences that comes with flying Jetstar.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteShanghai to Tokyo
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"bad customer experience"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Osaka. Very bad customer experience at check in. Expect everything to be weighted including all carry-on items. We are traveling with a toddler (who has here own ticket and seat, so carry-on item) couldn’t take our stroller to the gate but had to check it in. And they wanted us to sign a waiver for the stroller being ‘unsuitably packed’. We won’t be flying with jetstar japan again. Matt
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Osaka
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Talk about money grabbing"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Manila with Jetstar Japan. Disgusted. I was charged 50$ because my hand-carry luggage was 1cm too wide. Literally. One. Centimeter. I have never had any issues of this sort with this particular carry-on luggage with any other airline before and I had travelled with it many times. Talk about money grabbing.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Manila
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"First and last experience"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Narita to Hong Kong. First and last experience. Got to the airport three hrs in advance. No checked baggage only carry on. Done the online checkin prepared the boarding pass screencap but didn’t print it out. Got rejected at entering custom because they require a hard copy. 2hrs before take-off. Back to the single sole queue they have opened for my flight. Stood for 15 min long no forward movement of this queue with at least 30 people in the front. Tried local printing service but failed. Asked online checkin counter for printing just the pass, got rejected (how remarkable they have 2-3 counters with the check in counter included at that time). Requeued. 45min before take off, tried another single sole general counter they opened, got accused of not fulfilling my responsibility, seeing me queuing this general line as treating myself special thus reluctant to provide me with such priviledge that kind of attitude. She complied finally saying no next time, (this is also what I think in mind), ordering me to weigh my carry on and from her attitude she expected them to be over-weight so that I could be further accused. I understand rules are rules and customers are not king, but does it have to be this way? I did do my part, just not knowing they need hardcopy this time (last time I departed from T2 there is no need I got straight o the gate with my carry-on) Furthermore, who could have known this company with rude ground staff has only one sole check in counter operational for the whole flight without any automation aids. Not to mention all I need is the pass printed while the queue was full of customers with checked baggage. Epic failed in operational perspective.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"canceled while we are waiting"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The Jetstar from Narita to Osaka canceled while we are waiting for boarding around 10pm. All they can do is try to book the next morning flight. They dont help for booking hotel or transportation. They don't even suggest what we should do. They tell us go to Haneda airport for next morning fly. We are from US, and are near 70 years old. We end up call taxi to cost over $300usd to go to Haneda airport. We got there past midnight, the airport is closed. We end up sit outside if the airport waiting for 5am. Our hotel at Osaka charged a night when we were sitting out side of Haneda airport. Our tour of Osaka schedule is broken. First and last with Jetstar.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Osaka
Date FlownJune 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"denied boarding the flight"

(Mauritius)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Shanghai. I was denied boarding the flight. Despite showing the staff proof that I did not require a visa to travel to China, they did not allow me to board the flight. I am a Mauritius Citizen and under the laws a Mauritius citizen travelling to China for tourist purposes does not require a visa if the travel is less than 30 days.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Shanghai
Date FlownMay 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"don't understand why she wanted to be difficult"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Manila with JetStar Japan. First, counter lady tells me I canceled our seat reservation. I objected and showed payment for the choice seats. After much insisting, she eventually relented and issued my seats. Next, she tells me my carry on luggage was too big. I argued that it was a standard size bag. She brings it to the steel frame to show it wouldn't fit. I followed and showed her that it could fit. She let us through with the warning it was up to the gate. When we got to the gate, she was there and she took out a tape measure and this time says the height didn't pass. After much arguing, I just agreed to have it checked in. Even if so many other passengers had same size bags that were allowed. Even the bag of the FA was same size. I don't understand why she wanted to be difficult.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Manila
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely horrid experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Narita. Absolutely horrid experience. I initially had a two hour layover in Narita. The night before our return flight home to the United States I got a notification that the flight was delayed by 50 minutes.No idea. We wait.. no airplane... delayed 30 mins more .. at this point I’m not sure if I’ll make my flight. Finally the crew moved us to another plane that had been parked since before I got to the gate. Four hour delay is unacceptable. The worst part was that no one would help anyone who was about to be stranded, all of the desks at the airport or essentially closed. Half of the aircraft ended up having to stay in a hotel as well. they have no customer service and no way of complaining other than a robot names jess.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Narita
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"pay for my small duffel bag"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Oita to Tokyo Narita. Should have read reviews here’s before booking this terrible airline. Paid for “upgraded” ticket which included 20kg checked baggage & seat selection. Day before flight, Jetstar website did not allow online Check-in. Link to upgrade my checked baggage (I wanted to add 5kg just in case) did not work. Arrived at Oita airport and tried to use check-in kiosk, denied again. When Check-in counter finally opened, the Jetstar agent insisted that I pay for my small duffel bag, which was 7kg. Apparently it was “excess” because I also had a normal-size knapsack. I thought it was excessively nit picky but it’s typical for super-cheap airline. The excess baggage fee was USD109. I understand the need to control cabin baggage when the flight is full but it wasn’t even close to being full (now I know why). Clearly, the fees are not going toward upgrading the shabby plane seats and no-frills cabin. And the long transit in Narita is at the bus-station-like budget-airline satellite terminal. Sent a complaint to Jetstar Japan via Twitter and no response. Lesson learned...pay extra for a real airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOita to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 32 Reviews