Jetstar Japan

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 28 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"First and last experience"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Narita to Hong Kong. First and last experience. Got to the airport three hrs in advance. No checked baggage only carry on. Done the online checkin prepared the boarding pass screencap but didn’t print it out. Got rejected at entering custom because they require a hard copy. 2hrs before take-off. Back to the single sole queue they have opened for my flight. Stood for 15 min long no forward movement of this queue with at least 30 people in the front. Tried local printing service but failed. Asked online checkin counter for printing just the pass, got rejected (how remarkable they have 2-3 counters with the check in counter included at that time). Requeued. 45min before take off, tried another single sole general counter they opened, got accused of not fulfilling my responsibility, seeing me queuing this general line as treating myself special thus reluctant to provide me with such priviledge that kind of attitude. She complied finally saying no next time, (this is also what I think in mind), ordering me to weigh my carry on and from her attitude she expected them to be over-weight so that I could be further accused. I understand rules are rules and customers are not king, but does it have to be this way? I did do my part, just not knowing they need hardcopy this time (last time I departed from T2 there is no need I got straight o the gate with my carry-on) Furthermore, who could have known this company with rude ground staff has only one sole check in counter operational for the whole flight without any automation aids. Not to mention all I need is the pass printed while the queue was full of customers with checked baggage. Epic failed in operational perspective.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"canceled while we are waiting"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The Jetstar from Narita to Osaka canceled while we are waiting for boarding around 10pm. All they can do is try to book the next morning flight. They dont help for booking hotel or transportation. They don't even suggest what we should do. They tell us go to Haneda airport for next morning fly. We are from US, and are near 70 years old. We end up call taxi to cost over $300usd to go to Haneda airport. We got there past midnight, the airport is closed. We end up sit outside if the airport waiting for 5am. Our hotel at Osaka charged a night when we were sitting out side of Haneda airport. Our tour of Osaka schedule is broken. First and last with Jetstar.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Osaka
Date FlownJune 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"denied boarding the flight"

(Mauritius)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Shanghai. I was denied boarding the flight. Despite showing the staff proof that I did not require a visa to travel to China, they did not allow me to board the flight. I am a Mauritius Citizen and under the laws a Mauritius citizen travelling to China for tourist purposes does not require a visa if the travel is less than 30 days.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Shanghai
Date FlownMay 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"don't understand why she wanted to be difficult"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Manila with JetStar Japan. First, counter lady tells me I canceled our seat reservation. I objected and showed payment for the choice seats. After much insisting, she eventually relented and issued my seats. Next, she tells me my carry on luggage was too big. I argued that it was a standard size bag. She brings it to the steel frame to show it wouldn't fit. I followed and showed her that it could fit. She let us through with the warning it was up to the gate. When we got to the gate, she was there and she took out a tape measure and this time says the height didn't pass. After much arguing, I just agreed to have it checked in. Even if so many other passengers had same size bags that were allowed. Even the bag of the FA was same size. I don't understand why she wanted to be difficult.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Manila
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely horrid experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Narita. Absolutely horrid experience. I initially had a two hour layover in Narita. The night before our return flight home to the United States I got a notification that the flight was delayed by 50 minutes.No idea. We wait.. no airplane... delayed 30 mins more .. at this point I’m not sure if I’ll make my flight. Finally the crew moved us to another plane that had been parked since before I got to the gate. Four hour delay is unacceptable. The worst part was that no one would help anyone who was about to be stranded, all of the desks at the airport or essentially closed. Half of the aircraft ended up having to stay in a hotel as well. they have no customer service and no way of complaining other than a robot names jess.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Narita
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"pay for my small duffel bag"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Oita to Tokyo Narita. Should have read reviews here’s before booking this terrible airline. Paid for “upgraded” ticket which included 20kg checked baggage & seat selection. Day before flight, Jetstar website did not allow online Check-in. Link to upgrade my checked baggage (I wanted to add 5kg just in case) did not work. Arrived at Oita airport and tried to use check-in kiosk, denied again. When Check-in counter finally opened, the Jetstar agent insisted that I pay for my small duffel bag, which was 7kg. Apparently it was “excess” because I also had a normal-size knapsack. I thought it was excessively nit picky but it’s typical for super-cheap airline. The excess baggage fee was USD109. I understand the need to control cabin baggage when the flight is full but it wasn’t even close to being full (now I know why). Clearly, the fees are not going toward upgrading the shabby plane seats and no-frills cabin. And the long transit in Narita is at the bus-station-like budget-airline satellite terminal. Sent a complaint to Jetstar Japan via Twitter and no response. Lesson learned...pay extra for a real airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOita to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"lack of customer service"

(Japan)

Not Verified | Was ready for a quick and cheap flight from Osaka to Sapporo on a busy three day weekend. I arrived at the airport to find that my flight had been cancelled and was told that there was no other available flight that day. The staff at the desk, though polite, not only flatly refused to provide an adequate reason, they also failed to provide any other service apart from a full refund or at best a flight on the next day. Then, to add insult to injury, they recommended that I call their customer service desk in order to find out more, using a fee-incuring line no less. A stunning lack of customer service and professionality. I shan't fly with Jetstar Japan again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Sapporo
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"check in was really intense"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Flying from Tokyo Nartia to Taipei. Arrived at the airport 2 hours in advanced, the check in was really intense. Only 2 staff member were working at this time, had to queue for one hour and thirty minutes before check in. Some JetStar staff arrived to help their colleagues but I was really nervous, with many other passengers, that I will miss that plane. But they succeeded to checkin everyone on time, they had no time to be friendly but nobody was asking for that at this time. So good on them for this even though it made me very nervous, they stayed very professional and pretty organized. An airport staff was checking the weight of every luggage on the line to speed everything up. The seats are not very comfortable and no inflight entertainment but I paid for it. The plane had just 20 minutes delay, which was acceptable for me.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Taipei
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"no staff indicating the status"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Kansai to Tokyo Narita. Flight was already delayed two days before. I am sitting here at 6.30pm waiting for a flight that was supposed to be at 1.55pm. If Jetstar cannot sustain their credibility they should not be operating flights in Japan. There are no staff here indicating the status.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKansai to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"only 0.5cm too wide"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Osaka to Narita. My luggage was 36.5cm wide. Their policy is 36. They charged for checked luggage because of only 0.5cm too wide. I understand rules and policies. But this was only 0.5cm. I should not have been charged.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Narita
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 28 Reviews