Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 376 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"thankful for their hospitality and care"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We were allowed to enter the Sakura lounge because our flight departed at 23:35 and the next meal service would not be for another 8 hours after departure. It was very nice and the staff in the lounge were wonderful! It was a long flight from Tokyo to London and the cabin crew on JL41 on the 18/8/2022 were exceptional, the professionalism was outstanding. They were extremely polite and very good at their job.They even made me a makeshift bed in the back galley because I was feeling quite dizzy. I was very thankful for their hospitality and care. They truly excelled and I cannot imagine any other carriers being as generous, patient and caring as the crew on my JAL flight. I was blown away.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to London
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I had a great flight back home"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | I would like to share my appreciation for your ticketing agent, Tomoko. I wish I had a better photo of her or it would have been better if I had a photo with her. Tomoko was the agent who attended to me in LAX, FRI 8/5 at around 1pm Pacific Time for the JL 061 flight to Manila, Philippines. She was most efficient and demonstrated outstanding customer service. She was very genuine in ensuring that I am able to get on that flight and get back home safely to my family. I hope this message reaches you Tomoko! You are so excellent in what you do, helping JAL customers. Thank you again for being so awesome! I would also like to commend JAL’s inflight WI-FI. I had some work to complete and was able to do so with onboard internet. Thanks again for the great end to end service! I had a great flight back home!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Manila via Tokyo Narita
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"seat and vegetarian meal requests were ignored"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I honestly wish I could say better things about this airline, I was very disappointed. I flew Japan airlines from India to the United States with a layover in Narita. The staff was very friendly and patient. Not sure where everything broke down but both my seat and vegetarian meal requests were ignored. The issues began with online check-in: checked into my flight online and was told to pick up my boarding pass at the airport. 8 weeks prior I requested a vegetarian meal and window seat for both legs of my flight when I was booking. During check-in, I made sure to request a vegetarian meal again which did not make it onto my boarding pass. I noticed during check in that I was assigned an aisle and middle seat for the two legs (I’d booked a window seat). Tried to request a seat change at the gate at both airports but was (very nicely at Narita I want to stress) told “the flight is full and there’s nothing we can do”. And at both airports when I requested the vegetarian meal, again “there’s nothing we can do, they’ve already loaded the food onto the flight”. Not sure what happened but I’m extremely disappointed with Japan Airlines.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangalore to Los Angeles via Narita
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refund is not immediate"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | My parents and I are on vacation to attend my brother's graduation in Canada. We are now required to look for alternatives on our own because JAL cancelled our flight to Malaysia a couple of days prior to our flight due to it being an overnight transit. They are not assisting with alternatives and the only compensation they offer is a refund which is not immediate or a flight 4 months from now. I was told it was my fault for purchasing a ticket with overnight stay. And why is cancellation notice only given through calls and at the very last minute?
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"sit together in the middle row"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | My wife and I flied JAL economy class back from Japan to Thailand early this month. The check-in was very good, The staff were very nice and efficient. We have made prior window seat booking to sit together, however, we were informed that JAl change the type of plane from B77 to B787 which is smaller, So we were not assigned to sit together by the window. Instead they assigned us to sit together in the middle row of 2-4-2 which means that we had other passengers on both side which made us very uncomfortable throughout the flight. The service is good, the food is OK.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to Bangkok
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was good and the food was nice"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | My wife and I choose JAL business class night flight from Bangkok to Tokyo (Haneda Airport) because we expect to have good service and some good rest. Wr found the configuration business class seat of JAL Boeing 787 is quite unexpected. The seat configuration is 2-2-2 which make the seat not so large. We can not make flat bed but rather tilted bed which make us unable to sleep. Otherwise the service was good and the food was nice. We do hope that JAL may make some change regarding business seat.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"The best airline I’ve flown with"

(United States)

Not Verified | The best airline I’ve flown with. Everything is great and professional. Their food is generous and it’s the best airplane’s food I’ve ever had. One of their restroom is bigger than other airlines. My flight was delayed for more than an hour, and they sent us an email to apologize. I really appreciate that. Wifi is reliable and fast. I can video call my family from the plane.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTan Son Nhat to San Francisco via Tokyo
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"They asked me–nearly constantly–if I'd like something else to eat or drink"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I want to give every person who works for this airline a massive hug. Typically, flying economy from New York to Japan is a nightmare at around $900. This was not the case for Japan Airlines–let me count the bidets. They gave us ice cream. They asked me–nearly constantly–if I'd like something else to eat or drink. I had an entire row to myself–as did nearly everyone else on the plane. I slept, I worked. I have to say that–like everything else I know about Japan (very little) the plane exhibited a kind of antiquated futurism. Unlike most modern airplanes, it didn't have a plug for my laptop or really any movies I wanted to see. But that just meant I ended up not having to do too much work and I got to see the ending of Kenneth Branagh's Orient Express. Also, the bathroom lavatory has a heated toilet seat.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Tokyo-Haneda
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"it was good value for the money"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was the second time that I've flown with JAL, but the first time in almost 20 years. Service on the ground and aboard the plane was good. I ordered a specialty meal and the food was okay. For both legs of the flight, I received a total of 3.5 meals. The half-meal consisted of a small sandwich. The aircraft was only about 60 percent full during the NRT-JFK leg, so I was able to occupy all three seats on my row. That came in handy when it came time to nap, as I could lie flat across all three seats. It still wasn't as comfortable as a real bed, but it was better than sleeping sitting up. JAL's inflight entertainment offerings could use some improvement, though. Its selection wasn't as extensive as those of comparable airlines. But, given the price I paid for my ticket during the pandemic, I'd say it was good value for the money.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to New York via Tokyo
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"trying to reach JAL customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | For several days now I have been trying to reach JAL customer service to amend my return travel dates but have not succeeded. I called on different days and at different times. On every occasion, I was put on hold by the recorder for almost 2 hours where I was so frustrated and angry that I couldn't wait any longer. I am a Skyteam member and I chose JAL from many other carriers thinking that they are major airlines with customer service awareness and reliable after-sales support. However, It seems that I was totally wrong and disappointed. I would not recommend JAL to anyone with a flexible flying schedule as they will be disappointed as I was.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Los Angeles via Tokyo
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no