Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 305 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"good and comfortable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Tokyo. Very helpful land and cabin service. Food is comparatively good in the economy class. The aircraft isn’t the newest 787-9 but still feel good and comfortable. Overall satisfied like other Japanese flights.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBeijing to Tokyo
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Greatly disappointed"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Ho Chi Minh City to Tokyo. I had the worst experience ever after years of flying. First there was a one hour delay (JL070), we was disgrunted but let it go. Then after we settled in the aircraft for an hour without moving anywhere, they finally announced that the engine broke and will take 1 hour to fix. I am currently writing this review at 4:40 am (flight was supposed to depart at 23:35) and there is still no sign that the plane actually move. Greatly disappointed with the professionalism of this airline, do not blame on technical issues given that this could be prevented from their end. No compensation was given, not even a formal apology
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Tokyo
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Japan Airlines again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Okinawa to Tokyo. My daughter and I just took a mini vacation to Tokyo we flew on Japan airlines. After we arrived in Tokyo my daughter was informed that her dog was in the hospital and very sick. She tried with many different employees of Japan Airlines to change our flights to fly back earlier but they refused because she bought the tickets from Expedia. Well these two customers will never fly Japan Airlines again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOkinawa to Tokyo
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"impressed with the improvement"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Helsinki to Tokyo Narita. It is 10 years since I flew JAL and I was very impressed with the improvement. Charming ground staff in Helsinki and the crew have their mojo back and were faultless despite a full flight. The meal was good and it was nice to get flavoured steamed spinach as the "salad" instead of the standard offering. My only negative would be the IFE choice. The cabin temperature was perfect despite usual all comments about heat.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteHelsinki to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"a disappointing experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Osaka via Tokyo, transferring from Narita to Haneda in Tokyo. Overall this was quite a disappointing experience, considering how much more expensive JAL is on this route than other carriers with a single stop. On all legs the cabin crew were great - very welcoming, responsive to requests and eager to please. All flights operated on time. The seating was fine, though there is very little storage space in the B787 business class seat. In Melbourne JAL uses the Marhaba lounge, which is OK but offers no hot vegetarian food options. At Haneda airport the JAL Sakura lounge has great views of the runway, but food and drink choices were very limited (tea, coffee, soft drinks and rice crackers only). No welcome drink prior to take-off was offered on any sector, but after take-off the cabin crew were very efficient in meeting any requests. Unfortunately the vegetarian meals were never Japanese, and ranged from bland to unpleasant (I'm thinking of a certain vegetarian hamburger). On board the domestic flight from Haneda to Osaka Kansai the seat was very comfortable and the service was excellent - but only tea, coffee and soft drinks (no snack) were served. JAL does not help business class passengers or provide tickets for the transfer between Narita and Haneda airports in Tokyo. You have to make your own way. I enquired on check-in in Melbourne about that, and was just told vaguely that "there is a bus". It feels like there is a great airline in there struggling to get out, but held back by obvious penny-pinching.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Osaka via Tokyo
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"meals were just plain awful"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Sydney to Tokyo Narita. Sadly disappointed by Japan Airlines. While the crews and seating were superb the meals in premium economy (and economy) were just plain awful. I like Japanese food very much but, except for the Udon-in-the-Sky snack, the meals, especially on the Sydney to Narita leg were disgusting. Economy meals on Japan Airlines used to be some of the industry's best - these were some of the worst. I'd be happy to pay an extra $100 or more to get a decent set of meals instead of the awful food served on this route. On the other hand, its fair to say the cabin crew were superb, intelligent, and efficient in every way, the flights were on-time and the aircraft absolutely spotless, Its great that JAL uses the Qantas Lounge in Sydney and this is better than the JAL First Class Lounge at Narita, where the food has gone downhill. Also a lot of the staff in there are very officious and made me want to get out as soon as I could.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteSydney to Tokyo Narita
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"attendants extremely caring"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is my first time using Japan Airline, I flew from Bangkok to Tokyo, flight# 708, and from Tokyo to Los Angeles, flight# 62, on October 27, 2018. I would like to thank the flight attendants who were extremely caring, the took care of me. Thank you very much and keep up the good work.
AircraftBoeing 788 / 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Los Angeles via Tokyo
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"service was ok, but nothing special"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | I was excited flying JAL longhaul for the first time. Checkin and fast lane Security Check took just 5 minutes. I had access to the JAL First class lounge due to my One World Platinum status. The lounge was very crowded and noisy on this Sunday morning. I was looking for a nice breakfast, but just some Croissants and muffins were on offer. The Sushi counter is great, but not at 9 am, overall, the JAL first lounge was rather dissapointing. This impression continued for the flight itself. The B789 had the so called Sky Suites III installed, which do not come even close to Qatar’s Qsuite, which I had the pleasure to fly last week. They are very narrow and uncomfortable. The service was ok, but nothing special. The Japanese choice of food was good, but not really wow. Overall, a rather average experience. I expected a lot more from JAL. This wasn’t 5 Star.
AircraftBoeing 789
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"In flight service much better"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Haneda to Bangkok. Ground services again slightly underwhelming, with limited food choices at Sakura Lounge. No priority security check permitted, despite travelling Business .Boarding bizarre to say the least, with 80% of passengers boarding through Business Class gate by dint of their airline membership status, not their class of travel. In flight service much better on this return leg, with prompt drink and food service, and infinitely better quality of food. Seat discomfort still a big issue, with the "coffin" style design, limited flexibility, maneuverability etc. Staff extremely attentive and polite.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to Bangkok
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"JAL seems overrated"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Tokyo Haneda. Outbound from BKK to HND has a different quality to the inbound. First off, lounge facilities in BKK are not very inspired, with poor food choices - including curry rice at 8 am and its accompanying smell. Boarding at the gate is by one queue for all class of passengers. In flight service takes 1 hour for a drink to be served and meal service 1 hr 20 mins. Food quality very different to that presented from Tokyo. Staff always very polite and pleasant. Seat is not comfortable with limited options. AVOD not fully functioning. No priority arrival facility at HND. 5* rating for JAL seems overrated.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes