Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 386 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Absolutely fantastic trip"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Absolutely fantastic trip. The crew put every possible effort to welcome me onboard and to accomodate every possible desire from extra snacks to champagne. Selection of food, presentation and attention are at absolutely highest possible level. Special thanks to the team of Taguchi, Takemura, Jarupoom, Oochi for hosting me aboard and to making this flight as easy as a breeze. Thank you again
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to Tokyo
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"an outstanding experience"

(India)

Trip Verified | I recently had the pleasure of flying with Japan Airlines and I have to say that it was an outstanding experience from start to finish. I booked my ticket through Delhi Office. Here one employee made the process seamless and efficient. He went extra to help me book Airport Hotel in Tokyo as well as getting my frequent flyer points credit on timely manner. Upon arriving at the airport, I was greeted by friendly staff who made the check-in process a breeze. The airport lounge was comfortable and well-equipped, with plenty of amenities to keep me occupied while I waited for my flight. Once on board, the flight crew was professional and attentive. They made sure that all passengers were comfortable and provided excellent in-flight service. The plane itself was clean and well-maintained, with comfortable seats and plenty of legroom. I was also pleasantly surprised by the quality of the Indian food and drinks offered on the flight. I am vegetarian and food was exceptionally good. Overall, I would highly recommend Japan Airlines to anyone looking for a hassle-free and enjoyable flying experience. They truly go above and beyond to ensure that their passengers have a comfortable and enjoyable journey.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDelhi to San Francisco via Tokyo
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"excellent service and comfort"

(United States)

Trip Verified | JL68 on Dec 14, 2022 - Best flight of my 4 (SEA-HAN & SGN-SEA) to Vietnam. I agree with another review that JAL serves good food ex-Tokyo, but mediocre on other routes. Very satisfied with the excellent service and comfort on this trip, and I rate this carrier just as good as other 5* carrier that I have flown recently (Asiana, EVA & Singapore).
AircraftBoeing787-8
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Seattle
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"served one meal and one snack"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | The food, cabin, entertainment, and fluency were all disappointing. Food: They raved so much about the food and even made a documentary to watch as part of their entertainment selection but my food from Indonesia to US and back were all very mushy, bland, and confusing. They are kind of fusion Japanese-western but failed to capture any of those elements. For my 14 hours flight, they only served one meal and one snack, both of which were not tasty at all. Cabin: The seats were spacious but the flight was so so so warm I started sweating 10 minutes into the flight. It felt very stuffy. Entertainment: They had very limited choices of movies. Fluency: For some reason they did so many announcements, especially about their food. This kept interrupting the entertainment system. What was worse, the English announcement was very difficult to understand so it felt like they disrupt your flight and entertainment to listen to undistinguished noises.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Jakarta via Tokyo Narita
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"food was a big disappointment"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | I was disappointed. On the positive side the service was excellent. My food was a big disappointment, it wasn't great and the portions were small in fact it seemed like an economy meal. The wine was limited and not what I expect from business class. The seat was okay, even though it was a 2 x 2 configuration it was quite comfortable. although I didn't know about the thin seat mattress until after the flight. The entertainment system was also limited with very few recent releases and limited selection. The headphones were rubbish I don't even think they were noise cancelling.
AircraftBoeing 787-8
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMelbourne to Tokyo
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"was beyond my expectation"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Overall, the service from dropped luggage until arrival was beyond my expectation. Dropped luggage was smooth with assistance of ground staff. The boarding was smooth, very proper announcements as zone stated in boarding pass. The cabin staff was very friendly and was service was amazing. The seat was comfortable. IFE was good. The light meal was ok as this flight are short. Wifi are good even though it is free wifi.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Osaka
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Food out of Japan is good"

(Australia)

Not Verified | New business class Suite III is inferior to the Suite II - the area where your feet / legs go tapers off. So if you are a tall person you are going to struggle to bend to the space. When the seat is not in full decline there is no support under your legs - from the seat to the feet area. This means you are going to be constantly trying to find a comfortable position if working / eating or not in full decline. - when you are partially reclined and have the table down it is quite small. The Suite II seat was superior (especially the window seat) on privacy and just in regards to the actual seat. No issues with the recline position/support or table. The flight attendants aren't trained to look at the list of who is a frequent flyer with their own airline. I am a Diamond flyer (the top frequent flyer status) and still watch in amusement that my Japanese wife gets a 'thank you for joining us again today. Thank you for on-going support'. In the meantime, me, a non-Japanese person, get no acknowledgement at all! (I have only been acknowledged about my status less than five times in all). This time - I got... 'You want the Japanese menu of course - that is why you chose to fly with a Japanese airline right? Is it your first time to Japan?' Ask your cabin crew to check the passenger list of non-Japanese travellers. If they are a JAL frequent flyer - then acknowledge them like you do with the Japanese. On arrival into Japan my flight was late (due to the flight arriving in Sydney late) due to the aircraft having trouble in Japan. I was not assisted to get to the next flight to Osaka even though the later flight had over an hour to go until departure I got that flight is already boarded - a domestic flight boarding an hour before departure? Instead, I was put on the Kansai Osaka flight and arrived at 2am in the morning instead of 8.30pm. Ground crew didn't even try and didn't have a 'can do - let's fix our mistake attitude'. Food out of Japan is good. Out of Sydney, it is not good! The quality is lacking. I recommend the western dish out of Sydney and then the Japanese dish out of Japan. Inflight entertainment is an old system and the choice is OK for a couple of flights. You will struggle to find choice if going on more than a couple of flights a month. The technology on the handset is very 2000s. The screen in business and economy are good. WIFI drops in and out - but it is normal on all airlines. Good enough to work and get things done.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSydney to Tokyo
Date FlownSeptember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"served by absolutely charming cabin crew"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very pleasant flight on JAL, first time I have used them. Boarding was slightly delayed. Very comfortable business class cabin with quiet atmosphere. Choice of Japanese or Western menu - I chose the wagyu steak option which was delicious and served by absolutely charming cabin crew. I found the reclined seat to be super comfortable in particular the very wide footwell which allowed me to catch a few hours sleep, Arrived right on schedule and cases were delivered very quickly. Would definitely fly JAL again in the future.
AircraftBoeing 788
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"comfortable premium economy"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | JAL provided a comfortable premium economy cabin. Their product is enhanced by business lounge access at LHR and Haneda. The flight attendants were very attentive. I did not use the Wi-Fi. The food was identical to economy but was functional. The only challenge was a not great selection of inflight entertainment in my view.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLondon to Sydney via Tokyo
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"our tickets were there all along"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | New York to Tokyo 11th October, we decided to use some points for a simple Premium Economy flight from New York to Tokyo with Japan Airlines. Easy, points used, flights booked all good… Until we arrived at JFK airport. 3 days earlier we had tried to catch the flight but due to Covid regulations we needed a PCR test, so the flight was postponed. We then paid the additional charge to Qantas. Japan Airlines then informed us on our arrival via their supervisor our tickets were fake and we were not confirmed on the flight. Earlier that morning we had double checked with Qantas. We showed our receipt of payment, answer no. I called Qantas customer service and they tell them to look at their screen. JAL Manager says its fake and walks away. At this point the manager is trying to avoid me, I say please speak to Qantas here is the phone. They say to tell you all you have to do is look at your screen. The manager looks at the screen and our tickets were there all along. No apology.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteNew York to Tokyo
Date FlownOctober 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no