Japan Airlines

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 422 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"truly valued as a customer"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | I recently had the pleasure of flying with Japan Airlines on a flight to Tokyo (NRT) and was incredibly impressed by the exceptional customer service I received from Ha, a ground staff agent. From the moment I approached the check-in counter. She was incredibly friendly, helpful, and professional. She went above and beyond to ensure that my check-in process was smooth and efficient. Her genuine care and attention to detail made me feel truly valued as a customer. She went out of her way to make my travel experience as pleasant as possible, and I am incredibly grateful for her assistance. I was so impressed with her service that I immediately sought out her manager to express my appreciation. I am confident that she is an asset to Japan Airlines.
AircraftJapan Airlines 7012
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHo Chi Minh City to Tokyo
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"Service friendly and polite"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified |   Check in was very disorganised. We had checked in online, but I am not sure why anyone bothers. The clerk seemed very inefficient. Security was quick enough with Fast Track, as was Immigration. But the aircraft was a tired old plane, in need of refurbishment. Service friendly and polite, but a bit unco-ordinated, (my travelling companion in the next seat was offered and received a glass of water with lunch. I was not, and had to ask twice.) The AVOD is very limited, with programmes that are very out of date. The food (Japanese selection) was adequate, but not the quality that I remember. Business Class on JAL is really not worth it.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to Bangkok
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"very underwhelming experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | A very underwhelming experience. Narrow Sky Suite very uncomfortable in the lay down position. Awful Western meal with no options and even worse pre Landing meal. Bright spot is the warm service but they have nothing to work with. Unresponsive screen worsens the trip. Only a ten minute delay which is a bright spot. Lounge in Honolulu perhaps the worst I’ve experienced yet.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHonolulu to Tokyo Haneda
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"My trip was sublime"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Bought a ticket around the world and finally I could try the JAL one of the Japanese airlines. My trip was sublime. I rate this as the best airline. Cabin Crew were outstanding, food was delicious, wine are perfect. As it's Japanese it has the automatic toilets on board too. Seat comfy. Got rest, got cocooned, and now I know who to fly with !
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSeattle to Manila via Tokyo
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"absolutely not worth it"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Check-in perfect, with BKK Fast Track benefits. Sakura Lounge at BKK very utilitarian, with no breakfast options at 8 am. Boarding well organised. In-flight F&B very low quality. Sitting in the middle row with my travelling companion, he received and completed his lunch before mine was served, and when it was, I could not have been less impressed. I did not want a drink with my lunch, except a glass of water, but neither was offered. Seats are coffin-like with the herring bone arrangement. AVOD was very limited. Staff as usual very polite, but clearly the JAL of pre-pandemic is a long way off, and paying USD3,000 for the return flight is absolutely not worth it. Arrival at Haneda is another story of hell on steroids. No fast track, a pointless QR Visit Japan online check in, which provided zero benefits, and added to the 45 minutes of Immigration (like cattle) and a similarly nonsensical customs (same) QR coded machine that Lewis Carrol's Alice would have been proud.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBangkok to Tokyo
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"crew were very kind"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Excellent service with lounge access The crew were very kind, present and caring. The food as acceptable but not amazing Range of entertainment OK but not wonderful
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSydney to London via Tokyo
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

“crew were great on both flights”

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | The crew were great on both flights, very kind and helpful. Lounge access was great too! The seats were not that comfortable, inflight entertainment system not great, neither was the food. Considering the approx. 50% premium I paid for Premium Economy over the economy fare, I am less than satisfied. On the way back, Japan Airlines mishandled one of my bags in Osaka (not a very busy international airport), and got it a day later.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBangkok to Houston via Tokyo
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"happy to find my favorite Japanese sake"

(Japan)

Trip Verified |  I flew back to Tokyo Haneda out of London Heathrow in Business Class on New Year’s Day with JL 42. Unfortunately, it was not until 3 days before that I knew that I had been downgraded to Business from First because of plane change. My new plane was set to have no First Class. The services on board they offered me, however, reversed the unexpected. A chief purser assigned me a seat with next one empty. For dinner I opted for Japanese cuisine. After the first course was completed, I proposed that I should alter for Western cuisine. A flight attendant accepted it without hesitation and willingly served me a beef fillet steak as the main course, the sauce of which tasted a hint of Japanese soy sauce. I was only too happy to find my favorite Japanese sake on the beverage menu, Imanishi, brewed in Sakurai, Nara Prefecture. Also how lucky to discover a very palatable Bordeaux on board! I slept tight on a wide flatbed, which left nothing to be desired, until 2 hours prior to landing. Then I took some refreshments featuring cheese and fruits, naturally along with the Bordeaux. Japan Airlines helps passengers arrive in better shape.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Tokyo
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

“a great attention to details”

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Japan Airlines is no doubt best airline in the world and deserve a 6 star rating (as it is better than many of the 5 star airlines on Skytrax). The thing standing out is the service of the cabin attendants. They are always very polite, efficient and have a great attention to details (eg when they see bathroom on the other aisle is vacant, they will direct passengers to the empty bathroom). Seat pitch is wide, but the sky wider seat has poor padding. I would say Japan Airlines has built in a lot of service elements based on Asian preference - if you are not an Asian or are more comfortable sticking with the western style (say food or move options, or you are just a fan of alcohol), then you will be disappointed.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul Gimpo to Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"paying ¥6000 for extra weight"

(Bahrain)

Trip Verified |   I was able to secure a Business Class ticket for a very good price and it was such a nice journey. Service is top notch which is expected from JAL and the seat was comfortable. My only drawback is the weight policy for the baggage which allows only 20 KG for checked baggage (even for J Class) and as a hardcore shopper, I ended up paying ¥6000 for extra weight. This is not always a good option for me and I would rather fly with ANA to take advantage of their piece policy which allows 2 pieces 23 KG each for economy.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo Haneda to Fukuoka
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes