ITA Airways

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 15 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"worst bed I have encountered in any business class"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | The only real reason to fly business class on a long route is to be able to sleep on the plane. Impossible on this flight, I was awake the whole time. The seat did go down to perfectly flat, but it was so narrow that I couldn't sleep on my side and so lumpy as to be uncomfortable in any case. By far the worst bed I have encountered in any business class. The food and wine were OK but just OK. The entertainment system had a very limited selection, and the categories of "live news," "classic movies," and "world cinema" were all non-functional. Best aspect of the journey was the flight crew, who were nice, forthcoming, and helpful. Note also that I was sent an SMS and an email shortly before the flight left, both of them listing the same incorrect gate ("23C", which does not exist at JFK Terminal 1 - the correct gate was 4).
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteNew York to Rome
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"never experienced such humiliation"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flight out was without any problems, flight on time, staff very welcoming connection without any hassle London to Rome AZ207, then Rome to Algiers AZ802. Flight return one issue which i am quiet concerned the lady from ITA Airways at boarding gate in Rome for the flight to London after desk check in our way to the plane asked for our passports my wife and mine and carried on with very embarrassing questions because we felt singled from other passengers. She was selecting by look and clothes yes so she asked us from which country we come from, my answer was from Algiers, then she asked my address in London then my Job, despite our Passports where both British citizen so i believe this is because we were not of European look. I have ever never experienced such humiliation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAlgiers to London via Rome
Date FlownMay 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I ever experienced"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airline I ever experienced. Nothing deserves above 2 stars and no words to describe. I regret I did not read feedback before I booked my tickets.
AircraftA329
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Rome
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely disgraceful in-flight experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely disgraceful in-flight experience in business class. Plastic glasses, no champagne, no gin and tonic and then no white wine. Offered cheap prossecco which then ran out. To charge this money and not offer a fully stocked bar is unacceptable. The salad was disgusting. Worse than this at check in the agent told us the business lounge was at gate e41 so we went miles to get there and as my husband is registered disabled this was quite a long walk. We were told at the lounge that ITA didn't have use of this lounge but we had to go back to gate 11 - miles back. so we sat and waited at gate e44 for an hour and a half when we could have enjoyed the business lounge had that agent given us correct information. This was such a poor experience. I left a complaint with the purser who said they didn't have much loaded since the pandemic? If the cabin is full, you stock a full bar and provide a good meal maybe even some italian cheese and biscuits. Not even a hot towel. Poorall round.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteRome to London
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Appallingly bad UI/UX of the website"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Appallingly bad UI/UX of the website and the whole booking process. Barely usable on mobile, showing irrelevant information (“if you're entering the USA” - I was on a flight to Milan, ita). Email system is prehistoric. Just awful.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Milan
Date FlownApril 2022
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Chaotic, incompetent organisation"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Chaotic, incompetent organisation from start to finish. Ticketing purchase: only a single email confirmation, unable to check in online. Upon our return (Rome to Ams) one of us had been deleted from the reservation completely without any explanation. Took over 20 minutes to resolve at the check out desk. No explanation was given Boarding (Rome-Ams): passengers were asked to board but had to wait almost 40 minutes in the corridor leading to the airplane with no explanation given. Passengers included pregnant women, small children and elderly. There were no refreshments or anywhere to sit. The quality of the airplane and seats was fine but I would not recommend this airline to anyone!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRome to Amsterdam
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"It’s so third rate service"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | After arriving comfortably in Milan, I was thoughtless to any issues upon my return to Amsterdam 2 days later. How wrong I was when my travel company called me day 2 to ask if Id cancelled my return flight as I now had no return ticket to Amsterdam. Needless to say not my doing! It appeared just my ticket cancelled for the return as flight still listed as available. That said it was not possible to rebook a ticket (I tried out of curiosity) indicating flight cancelled but without any communication from ITA Airways. Luckily it flagged with my travel company. They had tried to reach ITA Airways to clarify but nobody answered any listed phone line! My travel company was as equally annoyed. It’s so third rate service. I’ve had to buy a new ticket back on another airline. I’ve left it with my travel company to follow up with the instruction of never fly this airline again. There appear to be no guarantees that when booking a return flight with ITA Airways they will honour any the booking and moreover will tell you what they’ve done.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Milan
Date FlownMarch 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"crumbling technology"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Milan to London. Utterly pathetic website, broken technology, shambolic customer service. This is like a company trying to operate in the 21st century using a 1980s platform. The flight manifest I got emailed even has a dummy Stockholm flight on which says "PLS NOTE THIS IS NOT A FLIGHT SEGMENT - ONLY FOR TECHNICAL PURPOSES. PLS IGNORE" This was the warning sign of an airline that has crumbling technology. I've been trying to get my boarding passes for 2 hours now for a flight tomorrow. I try and log in to the website, which refuses to show me any other language than Italian. I fill in a load of unnecessary details with my home address, passport number, date of birth, etc, etc (which they already have) then find out it will only give me a boarding pass if I pay 80EUR for seat assignments. I don't want seat assignments because this is a criminal surcharge. I phoned them to explain this and find a) they are all working from home because unlike the rest of the world they have not moved on from covid, b) 4 of the 5 people I spoke to sounded like they are working on the moon so I could not communicate with them (the problem is not at my end for sure), the fifth person who did sound like they were actually working and had a decent phone connection said I should be able to download the boarding passes from the website, because my seats are assigned. This is not possible from the website (and I do know how to use an airline website), which says "seats unassigned" so they tried to email me the boarding passes. They can only issue one of five! The system does not work and I need to phone back tomorrow. This is an abbreviated summary, it really is a fiasco that I am too tired to write the full details of. What an unprofessional airline, with technology in the dark ages, they should be embarrassed.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to London
Date FlownFebruary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"follow same bad way that Alitalia was doing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I tried to do the check in online for my fly but this was not possible so, i call customer service and, i discover that my flight was first changed for previous day then that fly was cancelled. ITA never inform me and my travel agency about flight changes and cancellation. I asked operator to re-route my fly with other airline but operator say that she was not allowed to do this then she say that was possible to fly from Cairo to Rome but for next fly from Rome to Trieste, the same was for next day and that hotel cost at Rome was at my charge because ITA company policy is not to pay hotel even when they are at fault. I have informed the operator that ITA is an European company and should follow the passenger right rules but obviously she cannot do nothing. ITA show an extreme bad attitude that follow same bad way that Alitalia was doing without care about passenger. Really disgusting service. Finally I have call my travel agency to issue a new return ticket with another airline.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCairo to Trieste via Rome
Date FlownFebruary 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"ITA Airways did not want to help me"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | My direct flight from Brussels to Milan was cancelled without telling me why. ITA Airways proposed to fly from Brussels to Rome and from Rome to Milan. A trip that takes many hours. This was not acceptable, so I asked for a refund. The travel agency involved did not want to refund me fully because they wanted a "service fee" of €30. I contacted ITA Airways three times to refund me fully and directly, but ITA Airways did not want to help me. Considering the cancellation and the way in which ITA Airways communicates with me, I have decided to never fly with ITA Airways again.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBrussels to Milan
Date FlownJanuary 2022
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 15 Reviews