ITA Airways

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 61 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Extremely disappointing"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | BCN-FCO-VCE in business class. Extremely disappointing. ITA has no agreement with BCN to offer business class customers lounge access so one important perk gone, ITA in name is a SkyTeam member but you can't earn frequent flyer miles for other SkyTeam programs and you receive no alliance elite benefits so another perk gone. Aircraft are crazy old and in disrepair, seats terribly uncomfortable. On the FCO-VCE leg no difference in snack or meal than economy. So in the end what's the point? On the positive side both flights were punctual and the crews were professional. It's cheap for a reason.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteBarcelona to Rome via Venice
Date FlownJanuary 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely disappointed"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | One would expect an improvement in service but all that has changed is the name and for some airplanes the exterior color. Extremely disappointed by this so called new airline. Beside the lack of will to work by their staff (same old Alitalia staff ) and still using these worn out ugly Alitalia outfit toying changes to improv . Seats are old leather is worn and not comfortable. For their most loyal customers lounge visit in Rome airport is a real letdown, and surely not the experience I had while enjoying their lounge called casa Italia in Rome airport. Service is restricted and no self service. The only positive was my visits to the diamond lounge in Brussels airport. a real Belgian gourmet lounge. I will not fly this airline aain, I would rather fly low cost as I have last week with a direct flight to Belgium (Ryanair).
AircraftA319
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTel Aviv to Brussels via Rome
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not a good experience"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | My wife and I traveled from PMO to BOS and when arrived we got our luggages and noticed that two luggages were damaged. One luggage was missing the wheels and broken handle and the second luggage was severely damaged, cracked in a few places and all scotched taped around to hold it shut. We exited Customs and we went to file a claim on the damaged luggages. We were in line and we got pulled out of line and we were told that a Representative from ITA Airways is on her way please stand away from the line. We waited about 15 minutes and a representative came and gave us a business card looking piece of paper that had ITA AIRWAYS- damaged bags- and their email a US telephone number +1 877 793 1717 and Italy + 39 06 859 60020 and email: [email protected] She specifically told us to call or email the number of the card and file your claim. We followed instructions as directed by the agent of Ita Airways. I send in all the flight information and a copy of our itinerary and lots of photos from the airport and photo from when we got home. Ita Airways sends us an email all apologetic and they are denying our claim because we didn't file a claim at the airport. ITA Representative told us to file vie]a email. I feel that we got scammed. ITA Airways is scamming their passengers by this method and not advising the to file the claim. We are very upset about this. We had to buy new luggage so we can continue our trip to Bahamas after spending the holidays with family in Boston. This will not end here. Its fine I spent over 250 dollars of luggage and this airline cannot accomodate passengers for the damage that they have caused. This is not a good experience with this airline. We will never use them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePalermo to Boston via Rome
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"will not fly with them again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | During a recent trip (November 9, 2022) from Florence Italy to New York my luggage was damaged beyond repair. Upon clearing customs and retrieving my bag and noticing the damage immediately went to a claim kiosk to document the damage. I received a claim number and received information to contact ITA airways. I have since been in contact with ITA via email, and telephone several time trying to get compensated for my loss. To this date January 4, 2023 have not had this issue resolved after giving them all of the information (including pictures) they have requested. The only contact I have received are stock emails confirming my contact with them. I am very displeased and will not fly with them again if given a choice.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFlorence to New York via Rome
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Very cramped seat pitch"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Both legs with aircraft still in Alitalia livery. Good safety procedures and good crew. Very cramped seat pitch, unacceptable also for one hour flight. Free light and hot drinks. They need a makeover, but all in all not so bad.
AircraftA320/A319
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan to Bari
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"food was a good standard"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | A good Business class flight but for a 14 hour flight I only slept for 2-3 hours. The crew are not overly friendly but seem to be efficient and pleasant. Seemed eager to please but small talk minimal, don't expect the friendliness of Virgin for eg. The food was a good standard, with 1st & 2nd starter (pasta course) along with a main course although desserts disappointing. Dinner & breakfast served with snacks on offer such as a rustic pie There were a couple of points to note: 1. Window seats offer a lot of privacy but I sat in 8A which was missing a window 2. Seats are very hard leather with no mattress topping, I had to use a spare duvet to make is softer but still wasn't comfortable enough 3. Quite a bizarre layout with the Business toilets - you have to walk through the galley where the crew rest and prepare the food. Quite an awkward as they may be having a group chat and you feel like you're disturbing every time you use the loo!
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteTokyo to Rome
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"extremely unpleasant experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Don’t fly this airline. From leaving my luggage on the tarmac during a downpour thus saturating the books inside to the lack of ticket transparency and flight delays this has been an extremely unpleasant experience. I should have flown Ryanair who despite their faults is transparent with ticket prices and has managed not to soak my luggage.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePalermo to Roma
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Pathetic experience"

(India)

Trip Verified | This is my experience with ITA airways on which I flew today. I booked my tickets using ITA airways website which showed a connecting flight from New Delhi-Rome-Barcelona. The layover was 50 minutes and my flight from Delhi to Rome got delayed by 40 minutes. We landed at 8:40 AM There was no preference given for unboarding the flight for people whose connecting flight was just 20 minutes hence. The flight attendants could not care less. There was no one available outside the gate to help us guide for the immediate onboarding for the next flight. Had the ITA attendants been mindful of such urgency which was created due to delays by ITA airways, so many people would not have missed the flight. I was given the next flight which was 5 hours after my missed flight and all that was compensated was a snack meal coupon. No lounge services to rest after a 9 hour flight and a long delay in arrangement of the next flight.  Pathetic experience. The staff is unconcerned about the customers. 
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Barcelona via Rome
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"overbooked, the money taken"

(Malta)

Not Verified | I WOULD GIVE IT A 0 but I cannot, so I give it a 1. Worst call center, we bought a plane ticket on flight that was overbooked, the money taken, the flight is still available on ITA airways website for other people to get scammed. Would never recon and to go by this company, you cannot contact anyone and cannot solve any issue with them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMalta to Lamezia via Roma
Date FlownDecember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"horrible customer service experience"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Horrible experience so far. I had a flight at 8 am that was cancelled the same day at 00:30 am without any explanation. I asked now through several tickets, why it was cancelled but so far no answer. What a horrible customer service experience. This was my last time, 7 hours before the flight an unexplained cancellation is not acceptable. I have not seen any money so far too.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStuttgart to Milan
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 61 Reviews