Insel Air

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 75 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"flight had been canceled"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked a round trip flight for me and my wife from Aruba to Curacao leaving on 11/16/2018 and returning on 11/21/2018. I received an email from them yesterday stating that the return flight had been canceled and they booked me on a flight almost 7 hours later. This would make me miss my connection to United cost me 300.00 per person to change the flight to a flight the following day and cost me an overnight stay in Aruba. Around 900.00 total. I called their customer service line and they told me that I could get a full refund by emailing [email protected] I sent the email and they replied and said they could not refund the ticket cost even though this violates article 10.2 of the carriage agreement. After several emails back and forth I contacted my credit card company, provided them all the emails and they agreed to reverse the charge. They also told me there have been numerous complaints to Visa and MasterCard about this company. I also researched it a bit and the company is in bankruptcy and only has 3 planes in their entire fleet. If you have already been screwed by this company just file a claim with your credit card provider.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAruba to Curacao
Date FlownOctober 2018
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"third was catastrophic"

(France)

Trip Verified | Bonaire to Curacao. 3 flights made with this airline in 2 weeks. The first flight left early, the second on time: nothing to say - the third was catastrophic: 2 days before our flight, schedule change from 10.30am to 7.45am, forcing us to arrange for check out and transfer to the airport. The day before, new mail confirmation of this change of schedule and registration on the flight by internet. In the night before our flight, when we had to leave our villa at 5.00am, new mail informing us that our flight was canceled again and postponed at the end of the day, which would have made us miss our connection to Curaçao for Amsterdam. We arrived at 6.00am at the airport, however, and managed to convince them to put us on a Winair flight that allowed us to have our connection. What stress for our end of vacation! The check-in staff was incompetent. FR: 3 vols réalisés avec cette compagnie en 2 semaines. Le premier vol est parti en avance, le deuxième à l'heure: rien à dire. Par contre, le troisième a été catastrophique: 2 jours avant notre vol, changement d'horaire, de 10.30am à 7.45am, nous obligeant à nous organiser pour le check out et le transfert à l'aéroport. La veille, nouveau mail de confirmation de ce changement d'horaire et enregistrement sur le vol par internet. Dans la nuit précédant notre vol, alors que nous devions partir de notre villa à 5.00am, nouveau mail nous informant que notre vol était de nouveau annulé et reporté en fin de journée, ce qui nous aurait fait manquer notre connexion à Curaçao pour Amsterdam. Nous nous sommes quand-même présentés à 6.00am à l'aéroport, et avons réussi à les convaincre de nous caser sur un vol Winair qui nous permettait d'avoir notre connexion. Que de stress pour notre fin de vacances! Le personnel à l'enregistrement était simplement incompétent. Compagnie vraiment à la dérive, entre son personnel, son organisation et l'ancienneté de ses avions.
AircraftFOK 50
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteBonaire to Curacao
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"change our flight by 2 hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Aruba to Bonaire via Curacao. We booked in April 2017 for a flight Feb 22 2018. By chance I decided to look at the flight schedule 2/14 and found it had change our flight by 2 hours so we would not make the connection. I got Insel to change us but given the late arrive into BON would not get our hotel to get us. So I tried to cancel only to find they sent me a clause: 9.2 CANCELLATION AND DELAYS 9.2.1 InselAir will take all necessary measures to avoid delay in carrying you and your baggage but times shown on timetables or elsewhere are not guaranteed and form no part of the agreement. Insel Air may at its own discretion, with or without notice and in order to prevent a flight cancellation, substitute alternate carriers or aircraft and if necessary may alter, add or omit stopping places shown on the ticket or itinerary. Schedules are subject to change without notice. InselAir is not responsible for or liable for failure to make connections or to operate any flight according to schedule or for a change to the schedule of any flight. Under no circumstances shall InselAir be liable for any special, incidental or consequential damages arising from the foregoing. I did not read the contract of carriage, no 1 does. Anyway no refund.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAruba to Bonaire via Curacao
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"such bad performance"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Aruba to Bonaire via Curacao. I have never experienced such bad performance. Three of my four flights were updated twice before taking the first one, and all of them were delayed for no clear reason. I do not expect for an airline to be on time always, but Insel Air seems to find a way time and again to make passengers waste time at the airport waiting for their flight. If you fly between Aruba, Bonaire and Curaçao, I suggest you prefer Aruba Airlines or Divi Divi Airlines.
AircraftF27
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAruba to Bonaire via Curacao
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid if you can!"

(Canada)

Verified Review | Curacao to Aruba. Worst airline ever. For a change the airline left early. We did not get any notification at all and nothing was the matter when we checked in the night before. We were well in time at the airport, but no plane for us. Next available flight was only a day later, after much trouble we got on a flight 6 hours later! No apology or acknowledgement at all, service staff just shut up and looked the other way. No compensation offered for anything, even though it's their responsibility. Avoid if you can!!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCuracao to Aruba
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"fleet got grounded"

(United States)

Unverified | Insel Air finally got theirs and their fleet to South America got grounded by Civil Aviation. Unfortunately that was my ticket into South America. I had to buy another ticket with another airline and by then I missed all connecting flights in Rio and Buenos Aires. It cost me $4,000 to get to my final destination
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAruba to Manaus
Date FlownMarch 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Treated us like garbage"

(Trinidad & Tobago)

Verified Review | Port of Spain to Willemstad. Please don't put your family through the pain, disappointment, sadness, stress and feeling like your nothing by flying with insel. My flight was due to leave Trinidad Thursday 5:20pm. After having three delays it showed new time as Friday 4:40am. We spoke to the Insel Air rep in Trinidad. She lied to us saying there's an Insel plane leaving trinidad and will be back for us 4:40am and to arrive at the airport 1:40 am. We arrived 1:30am only to see a sign saying check in is now at 6:20am flight delayed to 9:55am. We waited only to be told we can't board the flight so we'll have to wait for a space and just left us. The supervisor was the worst person. She made us feel like we were the wrong ones. Even yelling at us. Treated us like garbage. And our trip is now cancelled. Please don't book with this airline. It has been the worst experience of my life.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePort of Spain to Willemstad
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"flight was cancelled three times"

(United States)

Verified Review | Curaçao to Port of Spain with Insel Air. My flight was cancelled three times. Then they schedule the flight at 3am to avoid paying hotel. When you get there at 1am, it's closed with a notification that the flight is scheduled to 8am. When you come back at 5 AM, the flight is overbooked and they transfer you to a flight which again is scheduled at 3am the following day to avoid paying for hotel. The chance for departure - well, tomorrow will show..
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteCuraçao to Port of Spain
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never take this airline again"

(Colombia)

Verified Review | Piarco to Curaçao with Insel Air. Appalling. After 9 hours of delay, we received not a single acknowledgement or apology for the delay. I have been in public restrooms cleaner than the plane that finally arrived. On the second leg of our flight, half our group was bumped from the flight for no good reason, in spite of having previously checked in. Again, no acknowledgement or apology. Same Fokker plane. I will never take this airline again. Better to pay more and find different schedules than use Insel Air again.
AircraftFokker 50
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePiarco to Curaçao
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have flown"

(Germany)

Verified Review | Bonaire to Curaçao. Insel Air is the worst airline I have ever flown. Not only are the planes old and dirty, but their flights are almost always delayed or cancelled - and worst of all, they refuse to take responsibility for these delays. I was flying from Bonaire to Curaçao when my flight got delayed by almost 2 hours. As a result, I missed my connection to fly me back to Europe. Insel Air refused to take responsibility and I had to buy a new ticket in order to get home with a two day delay. This ended up costing me more than 1000$! Definitely won't use Insel Air again!
AircraftFokker 50
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBonaire to Curaçao
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 75 Reviews