HK Express

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 77 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"not carrying my transfer permit"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Fukuoka to Hong Kong. I was not carrying my transfer permit document. I managed to get the transfer permit document and showed it to the counter but they told to print it out and while I get the printout and it was just 5 mins late and they refused my boarding into flight. They didn't tell me how to get the permit. I will not suggest this airline for anyone to avail of.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFukuoka to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just pure corporate greedy over basic human necessities"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Hong Kong. The plane landed safely and I would give them credit for that. The food I ordered was packaged in a cheap plastic container served as soon as we took off. I was expecting it to be dinner as the flight departs at 3 in the afternoon. Who orders a proper meal and eats at 3pm? I would say the majority would want their food to be served at dinner time. If I knew that I would have just brought a bento from the airport. Much better quality and cheaper. In addition to that, HK Express charged me HK$10 when I asked them to fill up my own bottle with water. No, despite the fact that I paid for U-first, a meal, and seat reservation. No they wanted $10 for tap water or else. It’s not that I really care about the money itself, but rather what if someone doesn’t have $ with them to pay for it, what if they don’t have a credit card with them while traveling (no, MasterCard debit doesn’t even work I tried. They take only credit)? Are you seriously just going to deprive of someone water that costs you next to nothing to give to them? For 5 or more hours? They know people can’t take water with them onto international flights unless you buy it after you get into the restricted area! Hence a lot of people don’t carry water with them. Luckily I had cash after their machine refused to take my travel debit. This is just pure corporate greedy over basic human necessities. I have never seen any airlines this greedy for money and would go to the extreme to charge people for tap water. Not bottled, tap! I wouldn’t be surprised if they started charging people to use toilet too. Look, if you are that greedy for money, at least price it into your tickets instead of charging people on the flight and slap them with a charge like this mid-flight alright? They are literally the worst airlines I have flown with. Yes that includes budget airlines. If you want cheap tickets, sure, just be prepared to bring everything with you including water. How are you going to get water through securities you ask? Well, you better figure out a way.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service standards are consistently decent"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | For a budget carrier, HK express is just about the best you can get. Do not expect frills, but they use new planes with new seats which are ergonomically designed and offer a reasonable amount of comfort and legroom while still being able to maximize revenue for the airline. I have flown several other routes other than this, namely HKG-FUK, HKG-CNX, HKG-BKK and HKG-HND and their service standards are consistently decent too. The cabin crew, despite representing a budget carrier, maintain the best of professional standards and carry the corporate image very well. HK Express boasts of a very extensive flight route network to various parts of Japan and that is another of their biggest competitive advantages. That said, their network around the rest of Asia is very respectable too.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Hong Kong
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"smooth in every aspect"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Osaka to Hong Kong. Because my airline messed up my flight I had to buy a last minute ticket and went with HK Express. Well, in terms of service, it was fantastic. I didn't have to wait in line so I can't comment but what airline doesn't have lines ups. The flight departed on time and I did not encounter delayed/lost baggage. At the same time my niece was flying HK Express in another city and it went smooth in every aspect. I wouldn't hesitate to fly them again. For flights longer than an hour it would be nice if they could service a beverage and the option to order food.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"the zip was partly undone"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | In June 2019 my husband and I flew from Angkor Wat International Airport to Hong Kong with the carrier Hong Kong Express - Flight UO707. It was supposed to leave at 17.55 but we were nearly 2 hours late departing due to the plane not arriving in time because of bad weather in Hong Kong. When we finally arrived in Hong Kong close to mid night we found that my suitcase on the carousel had been tampered with but as I couldn't think at the time of anything that had been stolen apart from a grey baseball cap I did not report it. I notice that the zip was partly undone and the outer luggage strap was loosely tied on to the handle only. On checking the contents when I got to our hotel I notice that my wallet which was hidden originally at the bottom was now on top and open and the middle compartment also unzipped. As I had taken all my credit cards out previously I only had library cards and shop loyalty cards in it and they had not been touched. Also the coins in the side compartment had not been taken even though that zip was undone too. However a week later on remembering that I had put my wedding rings in the middle zipe of my wallet due to my fingers swelling in the head I immediately contacted the airline but to now avail and I am unsure now how to proceed with no communication forthcoming apart from one that said the CCTV footage revealed nothing. I have informed them that I am aware that 6 baggage handlers were arrested recently for theft but have not received a reply. I am deeply upset at my insurance declined to reimburse me as goods of value should have been with my carry on luggage.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSiem Reap to Hong Kong
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shocking experience"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Osaka. Shocking experience just does not feel like an airline who concerns about the safety of its customers. We were due to fly to Osaka for a weekend trip on the 11th of October 2019, due to a super typhoon due to hit our destination on the 12th of October we feared for our personal safety and not being able to return home on the 13th of October. Hong Kong Express refused to assist us with re-booking our flight, we even stated we where happy with applicable fees and fare differences. There where already travel warnings in effect from numerous governments and other airlines were already offering free changes of flights irrespective of ticket class.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Osaka
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"definitely fly with HK Express again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | There are a number of airlines that fly the Hong Kong to Seoul route, but HK Express were the cheapest and had a website that was user friendly. The flight was prompt and efficient. The staff were pleasant and professional. The experience was as good as Cathay Pacific, but without food, drink and entertainment. I really can't fault them. The HK Express staff at Seoul were excellent. I manage to forget that the WiFi egg I hired was in the checked baggage. They helped me by taking the bag out and allow me to retrieve the item. Which they returned on my behalf. Very nice and gone out of their way to assist. I will definitely fly with HK Express again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"flight is just below average"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Kansai to Hong Kong. The flight is just below average. The flight delayed for about 40 minutes as they said that Kansai airport is busy and the weather in HK is bad. They said we can get in the A321 at 1715 but they only open the gate at around 1730. We ordered two boxes of food which one of them is a Thai beef. The food size is a bit smaller than I thought and the taste is bad but it cost a lot of money (HKD65).The flight policy of not allow to use phones during take off and landing is silly.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKansai to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"satisfied with HK Express"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Everything went smoothly, no very long lines anywhere. We checked in on net, got seats together, no problems at baggage drop, started boarding half an hour before schedule, took off 20 minutes after schedule, landed on time. This was like a trip should be and we are satisfied with HK Express.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Phuket
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"disgusted with the service"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | We flew yesterday and we were absolutely disgusted with the service! Because of a fault in the plane we had to transfer to another aircraft. During which time our bags had to be transferred also. when we finally reached out destination we found that our bags had obviously left put in the rain! Our clothes etc were all very damp! The staff was not helpful at all and didn't communicate the situation very well. Not very satisfactory especially for those with small children. Would not recommend this airline in the future
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Nha Trang
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 77 Reviews