HK Express

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 83 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"crew were friendly and efficient"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I used this airlines before back in 2018. Now, after 3 years into the pandemic, I am glad to be able to fly with them again to Japan. I am happy to report that both inbound and outbound flights were on time, crew were friendly and efficient. Seat pitch a little tight, as with most budget airlines, but was bearable. Luggage delivery prompt, priority for check in and luggage were both honoured in HK and Fukuoka, and well worth paying the extra for comfort. I did order inflight meal, the Hainan chicken rice was delicious, and came with a small bottle of water too. Flight was full both way, bring your own entertainment, you'll be fine for a few hours. For now, the ticket price from HK to Japan flying with full service airlines are outrageously expensive! HK express offers an affordable solution.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Fukuoka
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Be warned when you book"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Horrible customer service at the Shenzhen check-in counter - offers no help if you have any documentation issues prior to takeoff, and refuses to advise passage from SZ to HKIA even if documents are prepared and valid. Because of the airline's refusal to provide alternative passage from SZ to HK, there is now an illicit market for offering passage to HK in exchange for a hefty fee by China nationals at the port. When booking the ticket, there are two options - one option offers a refund with an additional premium, another option will nullify your entire ticket if you even try to make any change. Be warned when you book. The only bright spot is that the planes look new and seats are passable. Counter staff in HK and on board are pleasant. Likely an issue of training on the Chinese side.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Singapore
Date FlownJune 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"I'd give HK Express another chance"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Check-in and baggage check for the flight at Hong Kong was actually pretty friendly and efficient, because I paid for premium economy. I will say that the line for check in for economy passengers was incredibly long and slow-moving, so it's worth the few extra dollars to have premium economy. The flight was delayed by about 45 minutes for reasons that were never explained to us; passengers were made to separate into "line zones" and stand in their lines until being allowed to board; the gate staff were not at all friendly. Great news is, once on board, the cleanliness, leg room, storage capacity, and overall quality of service were all great for a budget carrier in my experience. We made it to Seoul not much later than we were already scheduled to have arrived anyway. Given the stupid delay, I wouldn't say that it was a great experience, but there are much worse budget carriers in North America and Europe. I'd give HK Express another chance.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul Incheon
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not be flying with them again"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Siem Reap. We flew during widespread fear about coronavirus and the flight was underbooked: the plane was only about 1/5 full. Nonetheless, the crew insisted on squishing everyone together because this airline wants to charge extra to sit apart from one another, even when extra seats are available. As we were about to land, the flight attendant blasted the cabin with some sort of aerosol spray, which I'm sure is totally going to make up for the fact that we were sitting next to someone who was coughing the entire time. Will not be flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Siem Reap
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not with HK Express - avoid!"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Advertising looked enticing so I used HK Express from Hong Kong to Phuket Thailand for round trip. Seats were comfortable enough, buy on board was to be expected, and flight to Phuket was good. Coming was the nightmare. Was scheduled to leave at 11:50am the 14th of Feb 2020, but the flight got cancelled, okay I got the email about it on the 12th no big issue since I was checking out of my resort the 13th, I will just take 23:55 flight on the 13th - wrong, also cancelled. Numbers provided don't work people in Phuket airport info counter were trying to get a hold of someone to get the right number. Email response sent the 15th 3 days after the initial email was went - wow. Got to HK via Air Asia and asked for refund which the airline gave as option. Scanned some QR code got an email that the refund is being processed pending some criteria is met? they cancelled my flight enough said. I will be going to Thailand again soon and not with HK Express - avoid!
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Phuket
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"fine for budget airline"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Osaka operated by A321. The sea is not comfortable and there is not headrest. However, it is fine for budget airline and short haul flight. You need to pay for the food but it is acceptable because HK Express is a budget airline. Since the weather is bad, the plane suffered strong turbulence and became unstable. The plane suddenly decreased and many passengers felt panic. The service from the crew is good, only thing that disappointed me is that the crew didn’t smile. The airline also sells the train ticket, this is definitely convenient.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Osaka
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"not carrying my transfer permit"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Fukuoka to Hong Kong. I was not carrying my transfer permit document. I managed to get the transfer permit document and showed it to the counter but they told to print it out and while I get the printout and it was just 5 mins late and they refused my boarding into flight. They didn't tell me how to get the permit. I will not suggest this airline for anyone to avail of.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFukuoka to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"just pure corporate greedy over basic human necessities"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Tokyo to Hong Kong. The plane landed safely and I would give them credit for that. The food I ordered was packaged in a cheap plastic container served as soon as we took off. I was expecting it to be dinner as the flight departs at 3 in the afternoon. Who orders a proper meal and eats at 3pm? I would say the majority would want their food to be served at dinner time. If I knew that I would have just brought a bento from the airport. Much better quality and cheaper. In addition to that, HK Express charged me HK$10 when I asked them to fill up my own bottle with water. No, despite the fact that I paid for U-first, a meal, and seat reservation. No they wanted $10 for tap water or else. It’s not that I really care about the money itself, but rather what if someone doesn’t have $ with them to pay for it, what if they don’t have a credit card with them while traveling (no, MasterCard debit doesn’t even work I tried. They take only credit)? Are you seriously just going to deprive of someone water that costs you next to nothing to give to them? For 5 or more hours? They know people can’t take water with them onto international flights unless you buy it after you get into the restricted area! Hence a lot of people don’t carry water with them. Luckily I had cash after their machine refused to take my travel debit. This is just pure corporate greedy over basic human necessities. I have never seen any airlines this greedy for money and would go to the extreme to charge people for tap water. Not bottled, tap! I wouldn’t be surprised if they started charging people to use toilet too. Look, if you are that greedy for money, at least price it into your tickets instead of charging people on the flight and slap them with a charge like this mid-flight alright? They are literally the worst airlines I have flown with. Yes that includes budget airlines. If you want cheap tickets, sure, just be prepared to bring everything with you including water. How are you going to get water through securities you ask? Well, you better figure out a way.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service standards are consistently decent"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | For a budget carrier, HK express is just about the best you can get. Do not expect frills, but they use new planes with new seats which are ergonomically designed and offer a reasonable amount of comfort and legroom while still being able to maximize revenue for the airline. I have flown several other routes other than this, namely HKG-FUK, HKG-CNX, HKG-BKK and HKG-HND and their service standards are consistently decent too. The cabin crew, despite representing a budget carrier, maintain the best of professional standards and carry the corporate image very well. HK Express boasts of a very extensive flight route network to various parts of Japan and that is another of their biggest competitive advantages. That said, their network around the rest of Asia is very respectable too.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo Narita to Hong Kong
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"smooth in every aspect"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Osaka to Hong Kong. Because my airline messed up my flight I had to buy a last minute ticket and went with HK Express. Well, in terms of service, it was fantastic. I didn't have to wait in line so I can't comment but what airline doesn't have lines ups. The flight departed on time and I did not encounter delayed/lost baggage. At the same time my niece was flying HK Express in another city and it went smooth in every aspect. I wouldn't hesitate to fly them again. For flights longer than an hour it would be nice if they could service a beverage and the option to order food.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOsaka to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 83 Reviews