Hi Fly

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 14 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"wouldn't choose to fly with hifly"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Hi Fly operated the route Brunei - Melbourne on behalf of Royal Brunei, due to RB having some sort of issue with their usual fleet for that route. We were told this at Heathrow (full flight was London- Melbourne via Dubai & Brunei). It stated the flight would be as comfortable, and the same high standard as RB. Not the case, sadly! Plane was older, more cramped and I felt not very clean. In-flight entertainment consisted of about 6 or 7 films, and 2 TV shows. I was lucky to have a vacant seat next to me, but the screen want working; I asked the flight attendant to see if it could be reset, and I doubt she even checked, as it never worked and no-one came back to me to update. Food service was incredibly slow, with warm drinks and nothing explained. I had to ask for my water bottle to be refilled 3 times (over 1 hour!) and finally, to get it refilled, I had to use the call attendant button, as the lady who insisted she hasn't forgotten, clearly had! Also, loads of passengers had to ask about the seatbelt sign, as it was on after take-off for a very long time (smooth flying so no need) and we weren't able to use the toilets. The sign went on again after a period of short turbulence, however again took a long time to go off, so people were just disregarding it to use the toilet (no cabin crew in sight at this time) Upon arrival, it was a brief message of thank you, but no local time update - something which is necessary upon arrival in a new time zone! All in all, a shame to have had this flight as a last leg of a long haul - you need to be comfortable. They were no way near up to RB's standard or service. I wouldn't choose to fly with hi fly, and I'd be hesitant if I knew they were stepping in as a replacement service provider
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBandar seri Begawan to Melbourne
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Hi-Fly filled in quite nicely"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | We were booked on Air Transat flight TS178 from Montreal to Porto. The first leg was from Toronto to Montreal. Upon landing on the 15th of September at Montreal for our connecting flight a few hours later, we were informed that it had been cancelled. I later found out through a friend that it was due to a technical issue with the A310 we were supposed to fly. We were rescheduled for departure on the 16th at 4 PM. Upon arrival we found out the plane was delayed again and that we would have to wait until 8:50 PM for departure. Transat never advised us it was Hi-Fly, just that it was an A340-300 we would be flying. Wasn't hard to put two and two together however. Upon boarding the plane (1st class as we were booked on club) I was pleased to see it was quite clean and the attendants were polite and friendly. The pilot was also very polite and was in the cabin speaking with the passengers before departure. Before takeoff we were advised that there would be some light to moderate turbulence a few hours into the flight (which proved accurate as meal service was stopped) but nothing that we weren't prepared for. About an hour or so in they began dinner service. Selection was limited so we had the risotto. It was actually decent but the croissant was bit dry. The full recline of the seats was nice however I had to switch with my Fiancee as hers didn't work and I'm too nervous a person to fully recline anyways. Still a comfortable enough seat and as it was a former Emirates first class cabin, the space was incredible. The breakfast was far more fresh and quite good. Focaccia, croissant and mixed fruit which were served about an hour before landing. Landing was so smooth you couldn't even feel the initial touchdown, nor the front wheel touchdown. The A340-300 is a nice smooth plane and our pilot made it that much smoother. All in all it was an excellent experience. Air Transat was very accommodating and Hi-Fly filled in quite nicely.
AircraftA340-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownFirst Class
RouteToronto to Porto via Montreal
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"a very good experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Gatwick to New York. I had a ticket with Norwegian and I got a series of SMSs telling me that the company that will actually fly the plane was Hi-Fly, that there will be only limited entertainment, etc. I read reviews on this site before and was worried about this flight. I was in for a surprise. The A380 was super, clean and in very good shape, the food was very good, drinks offered, the staff was attentive, nice, smiling and welcoming. What passes for limited entertainment these days is that they offered only 16 movies on the screen in front of you and you had to bring your own headphones. It was a very good experience, in fact, one of the best in some time on a regular airline. Here is a photo of the plane as we were boarding.
AircraftA380
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteGatwick to New York
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"This company is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Due to a technical problem on our Thomas Cook flight we were delayed 24 hours and had to fly with HiFly. We paid for premium economy but were placed in economy next to the only toilet working on the flight. This was a bone of contention because other people were allocated our P.E seats. There were no alcoholic drinks available and by the time they got to us the food had run out so we went hungry. No entertainment available, it was pathetic. My wifes headrest fell off and when I reported this the crew member shrugged his shoulders and done nothing about it. The crew who were from Portugal were ignorant and rude. The aircraft was fithy and as described before only one working toilet. This company is a disgrace and the aircraft should not have been allowed off the ground.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to Manchester
Date FlownJuly 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Never use this airline"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | HiFly operated this Air New Zealand flight due to mechanical issues. We were unable to complete seat select and were given middle row seats. There was limited room with uncomfortable seating. Flight was an overnight flight. There were no pillows nor blankets offered. The plane was dirty inside with the toilets dirty from the beginning of the flight, the containers were not refilled nor supplies restocked. The staff were surly and passengers were made to feel like everything was an imposition. The inflight entertainment was limited but at least it worked, this is the only reason my rating is a 3 and not a 2. A breakfast choice was pancakes, this was two cold pancakes that were dry and tasteless, accompanied by a cold and bitter coffee. When I asked for a hot coffee there was no response, before it was taken from me and returned with a small amount of hot water added to it. We paid a premium to fly with Air New Zealand but were a given second rate flight. Never use this airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Honolulu
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"operated my Norwegian flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | HiFly operated my Norwegian flight from Paris CDG to Los Angeles. The premium class seats were very comfortable, however in-flight entertainment was limited and not on par with that of major carriers. Meals were very average, although the flight attendants were all polite and professional. I'd be open to flying them again only if the ticket price was substantially below that of the legacy carriers.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteParis CDG to Los Angeles
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Appalling service"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Gatwick to New York. Got on the plane, taxied to the start of the runway. Had a system issue so they pulled back off the runway onto the maintenance strip. They then unload everyone onto buses and dump us at the terminal, no one has told a single thing as to what’s happening with anything, we all go through border security as we were told that our bags were going to be unloaded. Once through we couldn’t find the carousel where our bags were, turns out they weren’t going to unload the aircraft and that they were going to repair. Still no one knows anything, then we get told the flights cancelled and our baggage will be unloaded. Useless communication from them to the customer, none of the hi fly workers or Norwegian workers knew anything about anything. Lack of information within their own circle and with the customers. Appalling service.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteGatwick to New York
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"poor, unfriendly service"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | This flight from Manchester to Orlando was a replacement for a Thomas Cook Airlines Flight, No: MT2604. Flight departure delayed from 12.15 to actual time: 17.35 (over 5 hours late). Called to Gate at 14.35 1.5 hours prior to boarding at 16.00. We were herded into a small, overcrowded Departure Lounge with insufficient seating, suffocatingly hot. Not a single member of staff from whom information could be gleaned was present, nor was any announcement made with information or explanation for over an hour. Thomas Cook aircraft was substituted with Hi Fly. We had paid for Premium Class with allocated seats which were not available on the Hi Fly Aircraft (Our row 4 Seats (A4 and C4) were non-existent. We were told by the Flight Attendant that rows 1 to 3 were the Premium seats but when sitting in vacant seats alongside other similarly displaced passengers, were told that we were to move to the next section and choose any! I remonstrated with the staff to no avail so had to be relocated to already occupied seats therefore displacing a passenger. After boarding we sat on the aircraft for one hour and forty-five minutes before leaving the runway at 17.45. Inflight entertainment screens were not working. We were given Ipads which were collected in, without exception, far too early - three hours before the flight landed even though passengers were in the middle of films. Of the two toilets in our section, one had no flushing water. No alcoholic drinks were available when they should have been in Premium Class. Ice-cream which was offered immediately after the meal, was totally melted and required drinking. When my wife was feeling ill during the flight, I asked three times for a ‘sick-bag’ before being told that there were non-available and eventually a plastic bag was found. The statement “Our delayed customers will receive food and drinks and other assistance as required by law” was not implemented, staff were not available in the Gate area. On board, the Flight Attendants provided poor, unfriendly service. This is not an airline to be recommended.
AircraftA300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteManchester to Orlando
Date FlownJune 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible experience, never again"

(United States)

Verified Review | Los Angeles to London Gatwick. Terrible experience, never again. Originally booked with Norwegian but received text message stating our flight was being operated by Hi Fly. We had the economy plus, allowing us to check bags, seats were pre assigned and meals included. No overhead air vents and the flight was extremely warm. The seats are small. In flight entertainment was the movie Titanic. The meals were served (late) to everyone which is good for them but why did we pay extra? The beverages are warm, ice not available. If you would like to purchase additional snacks or beverages they don't offer this service. The staff is not friendly, were speaking Portuguese the whole time. I would have never booked this airline, don't do it. I give them two stars because the pilot did a great job of us arriving safely.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownPremium Economy
RouteLos Angeles to Gatwick
Date FlownFebruary 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"crew professional and polite"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Lisbon to Recife with Comfortable and modern aircraft, with inflight entertainment. Cabin crew professional and polite, and were also helpful. Beverages and food on board were enough.
Aircraftunkonwn
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLIS to REC
Date FlownApril 2016
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 14 Reviews