Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 541 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“No help from anyone”

(United States)

Not Verified | Horrific service. There was no sky cap, only one employee at the counter. We searched for first class check in, nothing. In horrible rain after leaving almost 4 hours early due to unforseen accidents and such they had nerve to say the cut off time for bags was 8:05 and as of now it just turned 8:07. I said what you have no employees where any other airline does are you serious. They wouldn't budge. We threw away a bag and my other friend was like no I can't throw all my stuff away. Horrible legacy to leave, rude employees I personally will never fly Hawaiian again in my life. No help from anyone just a trashy experience
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteSan Diego to Honolulu
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Didn't try to hold flight"

(United States)

Not Verified |   The airline kiosk broke down. They only had 2 employees one of which decided to have breaks while the line was out the door. We were already checked in but just needed to tag bags and go. There were other people behind us in same situation. The line took an hour just to drop off bags. We got to desk with 55 minutes for departure and they told us no. Told us we had to fly standby the following day. Can't help us with getting a room. No rental.car. No comps. And she didnt show an ounce of concern or willingness to help. Staff refused to give us her name to contact company with a report. She said she would write up her own report and we didnt need her name. We finally got her name from a manager. There was only 1 manager on duty to help. We had to wait long time for manager. Didn't try to hold flight for several paying customers in same situation. We had 2 young children. We had gotten the Hawaiian credit card for perks but now and canceling it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOahu to Sacramento
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Not a single complaint"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Short but pleasant ride inter island. Completely full plane boarded fairly efficiently. Great attendant in the front drink refills, done graciously. Not a single complaint.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteKona to Honolulu
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"delayed for almost 2 hours for no reason"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We took a flight from Los Angeles to Honolulu on November 29 at 7 am. My other group of friends used Delta airlines and departed at8am. Flight duration was the same l, however they landed way before us. Hawaiian Airlines used the weather as an excuse to land in Maui. How is that possible if my friends were right behind us and landed before us , something is not adding up. We were stuck in Maui for about an hour "refueling" might spend extra next time and use Delta. We were delayed for almost 2 hours for no reason.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Honolulu
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"service was very smooth and efficient"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Checking in at Tokyo's Haneda was very smooth despite my flying standby. Hawaiian does not have check in kiosks like they do back home but the JAL Staff manning the check-in counters were very quick and efficient. Going through Immigration and Security screening was quick, easy, and efficient. Having gone through NRT and HND, I definitely prefer HND. The flight aboard Hawaiian Airlines A332 was very smooth with some turbulence along the way. The cabin staff kept us informed and turned on the seat belt signs with the turbulence. Surprised that no announcements made from the cockpit throughout the flight. Cabin service was very smooth and efficient with the usual Aloha Spirit shown by each of the cabin attendants. Food was good, the entertainment system worked well with the exception of the inflight map which did not work at all. This was HA 864 11/9/2023. Very disappointed that the inflight map was not working on this particular aircraft. HA's A332's are excellent aircraft, but are starting to show their age. The lack of wi-fi is a definite minus. Hopefully things will improve with the arrival of their Boeing 787-9, although April 2024 is not soon enough. HA should work on getting wi-fi on board their A332's and A321's. All in all a great flight. Hoping Hawaiian Airlines Dreamliners will utilize 2-4-2 layout in economy, as with their partner Japan Airlines. JAL's Dreamliners have the roomiest and most comfortable economy I've ridden.
AircraftA330-200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTokyo to Honolulu
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Made us feel so unimportant"

(United States)

Not Verified | So sad. I have never been downgraded in seat assignments. We came early to check in to get a middle row seat. Just before boarding they moved us to the way back, by the bathroom. Talked to the counter person, zero care. Said they moved everyone back to balance the plane. Made us feel so unimportant. Won't use this airline again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Lihua via Corona
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"think twice before flying with them again"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | I am writing this review after an absolutely harrowing and frustrating experience on a recent flight with Hawaiian Airlines from Las Vegas to Honolulu. I am still in shock and disbelief over the terrifying incident that occurred during our trip. The flight started off poorly, with multiple delays that were poorly communicated. The departure time was continually pushed back. This caused a lot of unnecessary stress and confusion, and no explanation or apology was given for the inconvenience. Then, at the start if the flight, our plane was struck by lightning. The flight crew, although they tried to maintain calm, seemed just as shocked as we were. Upon landing, the communication from the airline was still lacking. There was no debriefing, no reassurances, and no explanation of what had occurred. It was as if they wanted to brush the whole incident under the rug. This lack of responsibility is unacceptable. However, I do want to express my gratitude to the pilot who managed to land the plane safely under such stressful conditions. His skill and professionalism in that moment were the only silver linings in this otherwise dismal experience. Despite this, I am extremely disappointed with Hawaiian Airlines. Our safety, both physical and emotional, should have been their utmost priority, but it felt like we were an afterthought. The inconvenience of the delay and the lack of apology for the lost day of our vacation only added to our dissatisfaction. I will think twice before flying with them again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Honolulu
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"attendants were so grumpy"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Would not recommend Hawaiian Airlines. Flight attendants were so grumpy. Their service was very unprofessional compared to some airlines I have flown with. One flight attendant didn’t give out the right amount of headsets/eye masks so we had to ask for an extra one. She did that with 4 other people who missed out on them too. The woman who served the food didn’t even know what was in the sandwich. Felt so uncomfortable around her and if I had to ask any questions I felt I couldn’t. Didn’t even say goodbye thank you for flying etc when we were getting off.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Honolulu
Date FlownOctober 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"exhibited genuine Aloha spirit"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I just wanted to say that Flight Attendant Miley, based in Los Angeles, exhibited genuine Aloha spirit in our interactions. It is evident she thoroughly enjoys working her job, her coworkers and her customers, thank you Miley! You are amazing. Flight 34, Maui to Los Angeles.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMaui to Los Angeles
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"feels like the economy of economy"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Being local, I am not proud to say that Hawaiian Airlines did not meet my requirements for being a good representative of Hawaii. I am sure no one is going to read this from Hawaiian Airlines but if they do. 1) The website is not good. I couldn't do online check-in, the website is slow and very "heavy". It's not intuitive and a lot of the links do not work. I am not sure if this is on purpose but just got to do better with the website. 2) In-flight service was not great. Food was subpar and the entertainment was again "heavy". However, most of all....the seats are horrible in Economy class. Not comfortable at all. It REALLY feels like the economy of economy. I thought Hawaiian would offer a little better than that. 3) Finally. I felt like I was being nickled and dimed for everything. I received multiple offers to upgrade, or had to pay extra for every little thing. It felt like an LCC. Not sure if Hawaiian is going through some financial problems, but as a customer it leaves a bad taste in the mouth when I keep getting asked if I want to BID to get a better seat. The Aloha is lacking. As a whole it was not really bad but compared to United, Delta, and Alaska, I was really disappointed with Hawaiian. I don't want to trash talk them. I was just very disappointed that my local airline was so junk compared to others. Especially since everything in Hawaii is so expensive. Unfortunately, as a customer, I will be avoiding Hawaiian when I can in favor of other carriers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteHonolulu to Seattle
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no