Hawaiian Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 549 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"rarely been disappointed"

(United States)

Not Verified | I've flown on Hawaiian dozens of times, both inter-island and long-haul, and have rarely been disappointed. For a KOA-HNL round trip everything was just fine as usual: Punctual, friendly service, inflight refreshments fine considering it's a 40 minute flight, and no hassles. I wish they weren't quite so pricey, but Hawaiian has been habitually very reliable.
AircraftBoeing 717
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteKona to Honolulu
Date FlownJune 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Horrible Experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible Experience. They left me stranded in anther country. Had a round trip ticket for Auckland NZ. My flight home was scheduled on April 25th. I had confirmation #, flight details etc and my flight home disappeared! It simply did not exist when I arrived to the airport! They stopped flying to New Zealand while I was there! I did not receive any notification. I spent over $850 to get home on time for my father's funeral. They only offered me about half that amount. I have been waiting patiently for over 5 weeks for them to make this right before I decided to give them a bad review.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAuckland to Los Angeles via Honolulu
Date FlownApril 2024
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"They lost a client"

(United States)

Not Verified | Be careful with their bait and switch credit card offers. Was given an in-flight promo code to receive 70,000 points after spending only one $1 within first 90 days. Applied for the card on their website, never saw a place to add the promo. Card was approved with a requirement to spend $2000 during the first 90 days. Immediately called the Barclays Bank provider and they said they could not take the promo after the card was approved. Poor customer service. So, I closed the card. After investigating around, here's what I found: If you apply from Hawaiian Airlines website https://www.hawaiianairlines.com you will NOT see a promo box. You have to go to https://www.myhawaiiancard.com to see a promo box before applying. It is the exact same application, but one does not provide a promo box. See the attached pictures. Deceitful credit card application design & careless customer service. They lost a client for life! And, their family, and their friends, and their influence group.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Honolulu
Date FlownMay 2024
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"seats were uncomfortable"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Terrible airline, clearly cares about shareholders more than customers. The plane was outdated with old 10 year old entertainment systems that was slow clunky and lacked features. The seats were uncomfortable small and worn beyond acceptable levels for an airline that should be proud of it's service and reputation. Food was terrible, a sandwich for dinner? They cannot compete with even the most basic foreign airline. The staff were excellent and smiling and definitely the backbone of this airline professional and courteous, but I feel sorry for them serving up such poor products on a run down derelict old plane they should be proud employees. I'd avoid Hawaiian airlines and Alaska airlines, two of the worst quality flights I've ever experienced.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHawaii to Sydney
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

“the worst service airline”

(United States)

Trip Verified | Absolutely the worst service airline you can fly. Makes Spirit look like Emirates. No help when trying to change a flight other than “book it again and take it up with your insurance company” is what you’re told by the customer service manager. I will never fly this airline again simply due to the fact that you will get nowhere with the customer service team. Bought insurance to protect your flight and need to change a passengers name? Nope. You’ll have to eat the cost and book a totally new ticket and they will send the seat empty (Literally what the service manager told me was going to happen).
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Boston
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

“such an unprofessional flight crew”

(Australia)

Not Verified | I have never flown with such an unprofessional flight crew. Also lack of food for the 10 hour flight We had a very small meal the first hour at about 2 pm. I saw water being offered about three times in the afternoon which was good. No afternoon tea or snack, meaning tea or coffee or cold drinks and nothing to eat at all. When I asked about dinner, the male host seemed quite irritated that I expected dinner. He said it was going to be a snack. It was a sandwich that came around about an hour and a half before landing which was about 6:30 pm. The staff had no class, more likely they should’ve been back in Hawaii in the Hawaiian shirts serving in a beachside bar normally hosts annd hostesses are very professional but these were quite the opposite. I actually told the hostess this was the worst airline I had ever travelled on. My partner flew from Hawaii to Sydney on another airline and in a 10 1/2 hour flight so they had two proper meals and then a snack during the day, I feel this is a very honest review with no exaggeration.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Sydney Australia
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"We have no other options"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am very disappointed with all of the players in line to serve Hawaiian Islands and most importantly Hawaiian Airlines. I've lived in Hawaii since 2018 and the price and quality of the interisland travel not only has jump dramatically in the last several years (its not a longer distance, there are no improvements, the gas prices are stable, but the service is bad, everything is in addition to an already 500% increased price. We have no other options but to fly from Oahu to Maui, Hawaii and Kauai, the only ferries left are between Maui and Lanai and Molokai. I used to be able to go see my family at least 2-4 times a year. Now I cannot afford it at all. Why are the Hawaiian airlines so greedy? Yes go ahead and charge international/intracontinental passengers whatever you want, but don't cut our wings when trying to keep our families and community connected. This is a huge problem! Hawaiian Airlines have not improved on the quality of customer service, or the comfort of their passengers, neither the availability of food or drinks, and finally flight times (flights availability), yet their prices jumped from $48-$55/ round trip with Mokulele who was an extremely reliable, fast and comfortable commuter between islands, to $250-300 for a 20 min fight? it is absolutely appalling and is extremely damaging for the interisland business and communities. What is their problem acting like a discount airline, yet asking for TOP dollar. I believe Is because they can, no competition. It is ridiculous and we are stuck at their mercy. It is terrible for all of us locals..
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOalkland to Honolulu
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“Complete bait and switch”

(United States)

Trip Verified | Complete bait and switch. No pods. Open seats. No entertainment screen at seat. Worn out seat belt. Horrible. Demand 11 hour flight basically coach seat for first class no WiFi on board not even a tv screen. Complete ripoff my first and last time on this airline.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteNew York to Honolulu
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“No help from anyone”

(United States)

Not Verified | Horrific service. There was no sky cap, only one employee at the counter. We searched for first class check in, nothing. In horrible rain after leaving almost 4 hours early due to unforseen accidents and such they had nerve to say the cut off time for bags was 8:05 and as of now it just turned 8:07. I said what you have no employees where any other airline does are you serious. They wouldn't budge. We threw away a bag and my other friend was like no I can't throw all my stuff away. Horrible legacy to leave, rude employees I personally will never fly Hawaiian again in my life. No help from anyone just a trashy experience
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteSan Diego to Honolulu
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Didn't try to hold flight"

(United States)

Not Verified |   The airline kiosk broke down. They only had 2 employees one of which decided to have breaks while the line was out the door. We were already checked in but just needed to tag bags and go. There were other people behind us in same situation. The line took an hour just to drop off bags. We got to desk with 55 minutes for departure and they told us no. Told us we had to fly standby the following day. Can't help us with getting a room. No rental.car. No comps. And she didnt show an ounce of concern or willingness to help. Staff refused to give us her name to contact company with a report. She said she would write up her own report and we didnt need her name. We finally got her name from a manager. There was only 1 manager on duty to help. We had to wait long time for manager. Didn't try to hold flight for several paying customers in same situation. We had 2 young children. We had gotten the Hawaiian credit card for perks but now and canceling it.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOahu to Sacramento
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no