Gulf Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 257 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"credit when it is due"

(Bahrain)

Not Verified | Bahrain to Abu Dhabi. I like to give credit when it is due, it is not often that we see positives about experiences when flying especially in Y class. This was a redemption ticket with miles as I am gold with Gulf Air. Painless booking. Check in very smooth, through fast track immigration as always in seconds and the lounge had its usual decent food and bev. I have always found Gulf Air crew to be their best asset, they are always upbeat, and have that can do attitude. One passenger across from me looked very nervous and the crew were great in supporting her and keeping her assured. Service perfectly for this hop, with a second drink delivered with of course attitude. Kudos to Gulf Air, better flight crews and on board service on short hops that EK or EY and I am gold with both. Where Gulf Air need to improve is their entertainment systems which lack any real content.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBahrain to Abu Dhabi
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"service was absolutely superb"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Bangkok via Bahrain. Everything about the flights was excellent but in particular the cabin service was absolutely superb. Quick and efficient check in and boarding. Great food with very comfortable and spacious seat / bed. Easily the best airline I have used.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Bahrain
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"new kind of baggage policies"

(Bahrain)

Trip Verified | Worst airline ever, they have some new kind of baggage policies. Only one bag at 23kg, is that make sense? Flight is late, food is disgusting for me. They should not have entertainment system, as anything you play, they keep on announcing unnecessary stuff. Airfares are extremely expensive .
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Bahrain
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"food definitely not good"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Manila to Istanbul via Bahrain. Gulf Air appears to have decided to use its new 787 for the MNL-BHR (GF155) route, and the Apex seats in the business cabin were quite good. It turned out that this was the only thing positive about the flight, however. The FAs seemed nice enough but were not as attentive as one would expect. The food was definitely not good - it's like they just served really bad economy class food on linen and plates. IFE selection was also very limited. I’ve seen YouTube videos of Gulf Air business class passengers on the airline’s new 787s having a wonderful time, being given pajamas, being attended to by a “sky chef,” being spoiled by the FAs, enjoying delicious food, choosing desserts from a cart. These things will not happen on this route - you will experience a general sense of apathy, you will have to endure being ignored by a generally invisible crew, and you will get hungry enough to wish you had stashed a burger in your carry-on bag. The second leg of the journey, BHR-IST, was a bit better simply because I had by this time thrown all expectations out the window and was just waiting to arrive at our destination. The experience was again more or less the same on our inbound flights (GF44 & 154), but this time around one of the male FAs took the effort to put on a “sky chef” uniform and later wheeled in a cart with a few dessert choices. I did not go hungry this time because I had the foresight to bring some food with me on this flight (just like I used to do on economy class trans-pacific flights to the US in the early 2000s). In short, Gulf Air provided a nice business class seat but not much else, at least for flights to and from Manila.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteManila to Istanbul via Bahrain
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"not recommend this airline"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Lahore via Bahrain. Flight from Heathrow to Bahrain was very uncomfortable because the the seats were small, think twice before buying their ticket because its a 6 hour flight. Though the plane was new but it was a space-conserving plane (Boeing 787-9). Staff was rude to me, food and entertainment rubbish for me. Flight from Bahrain to Lahore was even worse the staff attitude didn't match a professional attitude. Bahrain airport return flight used transfer busses. All in all I will not recommend this airline for long flights.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Lahore via Bahrain
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"left my baggage at Bahrain"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Multan via Bahrain. Firstly at Heathrow they were unable to retrieve my booking from Bahrain to Multan. Took them half an hour to retrieve my entire booking. I was travelling on business class from Bahrain to Multan. Guess what? They left my baggage at Bahrain even travelling on business class. Got my bag after 2 days. Never going to travel with them again.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Multan via Bahrain
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not travelling for free"

(Bangladesh)

Trip Verified | Bahrain to Dhaka. This was my first time with Gulf Air. The condition of the airplane was below standard. Specially the air hostess were annoying, they were inadequate in number and behaving rough with the passengers. I understand that many of the passengers were poor/ labour Bangladeshi but they were not travelling for free. So they got the right too. All the passenger were unable to speak English, so they couldn't argue.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBahrain to Dhaka
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"offer a good service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Dubai via Bahrain. Gulf Air offer a good service particularly to and from Heathrow where 787's are used. Using T4 is also an advantage as the terminal appears less hectic than the others. I didn't try the IFE but the food and general service was attentive without being overpowering. Food was good but not exceptional with several dishes being repeated on the outbound and inbound legs. An amenity bag was provided in both directions even though the flights were in daylight. The absence of wifi appears strange on such new planes. The short (60 minute) leg to/from Dubai used a wide bodied A330 one way and a A320 the other. Both aircraft were travel worn but the cabin was almost empty with the same attentive service. Gulf Air offer a significantly lower cost option than direct flights to Dubai. I will use them again. Would be 9/10 with in flight wifi.
AircraftBoeing 787-9 / A330-200 / A320
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Dubai via Bahrain
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"good value for money"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Chennai via Bahrain. I had booked this flights as there were almost 100 pounds cheaper as I had to travel in the next couple of days of booking. I have very little or no expectations as my previous experience with Gulf Air five years ago was worst. Boarding the flight from London to Bahrain it was a new aircraft. In flight entertainment was not the best but I can find something to keep me going for the 6 hours. Could not complain about the food and drinks on offer. As always no matter who the carrier is the connecting flight to Chennai was old, not so clean and poor service I think almost all middle east airlines feel they are running Indian routes for charity forgetting Indians are their majority customers. Overall I feel choosing this carrier is a good value for money.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Chennai via Bahrain
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"baggage are left at Bahrain"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Riyadh to Bahrain via Hyderabad. Cabin crew service was not good, I was travelling to Hyderabad from Riyadh Via Bahrain.Firstly flight was delayed for around 3.5 hours at Bahrain, and when we visited Hyderabad and waiting for baggage, they informed that the baggage are left at Bahrain. Then ask us to fill the missed baggage form and stamp from customs etc. Then they informed us that they will receive the baggage by next Gulf air flight to Hyderabad and will be delivered to home in 24 hours. I received the baggage after 1 week after calling them continuously, and the condition of the baggage was worst out of shaped and items were damaged.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteRiyadh to Bahrain via Hyderabad
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no