Gulf Air

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 277 reviews
6/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"impressed with Gulf Air flights"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Paris to Colombo via Bahrain and I was extremely impressed with Gulf Air flights, cabin crew and onboard food and beverage service. Food was very tasty and they have a very good choice of alcoholic and non alcoholic beverage selection. A320-200 flights were pretty old and their entertainment systems were outdated, and on the Colombo sector all Hollywood movies are blocked for some unknown reason. On 787 flights pretty good entertainment system. Cabin crew were very friendly and happy to assist you on your requests, Only complain I have is when landing in night time, they do not dim the cabin lights, this is not a good practice.
AircraftA320-200 / Boeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to Colombo via Bahrain
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"flight was disappointing"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified | Kozhikode to Bahrain. I chose to fly Gulf Air business class since it had been many years since I last flew with them. I upgraded my tickets to Business Class to avail the extra baggage and smooth check in services at Bahrain Airport. The flight was disappointing in many ways. There was no Movies available on the Entertainment system, just old TV series that were quite boring. The food was good but nothing outstanding. The seats are old and don't really go all the way back and the food rest is quite hard to pull out. Also they didn't let us board first for some reason.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteKozhikode to Bahrain
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Avoid if you can"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Abu Dhabi via Bahrain. The cabins are not cleaned properly. I had biscuit crumbs on my seat belt and gum on the food tray from the previous passenger. You are not given a menu card. Cabin crew pass by and ask if you want chicken or lamb. If you are asleep or distracted while you watch your movie, they simply walk past unless you wave to them. On short-haul flights, you are given a cold chicken sandwich. Lack of coke is also unacceptable. Onboard entertainment system also seems lacklustre. There are a handful of Hollywood or Bollywood movies and nothing else to watch. The cabin crew hardly smile or want to talk to you. Significant overhaul is required. Avoid if you can.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Abu Dhabi via Bahrain
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"experience was very mediocre"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Flying from Moscow to Dubai via Bahrain on 9 May, back on 13 May and the experience was very mediocre. The flight from MOW do Dubai- onboard staff was impolite even rude to passengers, meals were under average, during a 5h flight drinks were offered only once, entertainment system did not work at all. Seats were very uncomfortable and space between the rows smaller than usual. The flight had a delay of one hour so I missed my connecting Gulf Air flight from Bahrain to Dubai. When dealing with the Gulf Air ground personnel in Bahrain- chaotic, incompetent, talking to 3-4 customers at once, simply a disaster. They suggested me to wait at the airport in the middle of the night for 5 hours for the next flight, then put me on an Etihad flight to Abu Dhabi when I asked them to (which was 1h late too btw.). They also issued a confirmation of the delay for me and advised to ask for an upgrade when flying back in 4 days. From Dubai to Moscow I was unexpectedly (I only found out when boarding in Bahrain) upgraded to the business class for the leg Bahrain-Moscow. Again- the entertainment system did not work, the seat was broken as the leg support did not work properly. At least this one was on time. I fly on average ca. 20 flights a year for the last 15 years and this was certainly not the worst experience (Ukrainian Airlines was) but one of those below the average. I was especially disappointed by the staff behaviour in the economic class on the leg from Moscow to Bahrain.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Dubai via Bahrain
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"service is absolutely appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Dhaka via Bahrain. Customer service is absolutely appalling. They will extort every single penny from you. Plane dirty, food ridiculous. Timetable non existent. Too many faults to mention so I'll leave it there as I've had enough of this airline. For a middle Eastern airline this is shameful as your neighbours are doing an exceptional job than you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Dhaka via Bahrain
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Price was ridiculously cheap"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Bangkok via Bahrain. Price was ridiculously cheap booked a week prior to departure. Free seat selection 24 hours prior to departure. Aircraft: Nearly new Boeing 787-900 with decent seat pitch and immaculately clean. Poor seat width as with all 9 abreast carriers.so vacant adjacent seat welcome. IFE: Reasonable choice but could be expanded. Nice too that no IFE boxes under seat limiting leg room as with some carriers. Service: Nice to have an amenity kit on night flights (but dental kit inside would be good) Food, nothing to rave about but appropriate for times and flight length. Cabin staff were not overly warm or welcoming but did what they had to do. Bahrain Airport: Shambles and useless. Would choose again for the right price.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok via Bahrain
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Mannerless crew"

(India)

Trip Verified | Bangalore to Istanbul via Manama. Traveller for past 20 years and this is the worst maintained airline I have seen. Mannerless crew, always delayed, poor quality food, no maintenance are their only Pros. Budget airline like AirAsia is far better than this one. Every time at all airports gate numbers will / must changes several times until departure.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangalore to Istanbul via Manama
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"great in flight services"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I travelled from London to Islamabad via Bahrain on 04/04/2019. I arrived at Bahrain airport on 05/04/2019. The Gulf Air Line already arranged accommodation, food and transport as I had 18 hours layover. The driver turned up to pick me up from the airport to the hotel. I wasn't aware of the hotel but when I got there it was a 5 star hotel and room was spacious. It was 09.25am when I got in the hotel and the receptionist was very professional and he told me that you can have breakfast, buffet lunch and dinner (all inclusive) and tonight at 10.30pm our driver will drop you off at the airport as my flight was at 12.40am. Really feeling blessed as the quality services has been provided overall. I traveled in the Boeing 787 and it was marvelous, great in flight services and entertainment. I will recommend gulf air to my family and friends as well.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Islamabad via Bahrain
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"A330 was showing its age"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Islamabad via Bahrain. I have noticed many changes some positive and some negative. Positives being new plane from LHR to BAH with excellent comfort. However the meal service can be improved with quality of food, and drink service being served after I had finish my meal. I was travelling with kids so no goody bags given to kids this time plus seat selection prior to flight costs money. IFE lacked variety as very few options in Hollywood section. Flight from BAH to ISB was an old A330 with broken IFE and seats looked worn out. All in all I would fly again considering cheaper flight to Islamabad but Gulf Air needs to improve their service and probably introduce a better plane to ISB as A330 was showing its age.
AircraftBoeing 787-9
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Islamabad via Bahrain
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"I was not allowed to board"

(India)

Trip Verified | I was not allowed to board the flight because the airline were not aware of the new Residency rules in Kuwait. Kuwait had a has a new system of not sticking a residency permit on your passport instead they have a smart card with all the relevant details. The new system was implemented on the 10th and I travelled on the 19th March. The airline did not have the new system in place. So I booked another flight and boarded without any problem. The worst part is that they don't respond to emails or complains. I was informed by one of the Gulf air staff that I would be contacted as quickly as possible . I am still waiting for that call. They take you seriously only if you are a GCC citizen else they just treat you like garbage.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDelhi to Kuwait via Bahrain
Date FlownMarch 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no