Garuda Indonesia

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 819 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"IFE still awful and nothing new"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to London via Medan. We settled on the Boeing 777 for return leg luckily as the A330 was awful. The cabin crew were amazing and food was decent. It's definitely worth seeing which aircraft it is before booking. IFE still awful and nothing new. Luckily the live sports made up for it.
AircraftBoeing 777 300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDenpasar to London via Medan
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"provided an excellent service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Amsterdam via Medan. The ground experience was very smooth in Jakarta, The flight was excellent even though it was slightly longer due to re-routing via Saudi and Egypt due to the recent Iranian incident. Two meals were served - dinner and breakfast and snacks were available through out the flight, I was tired, therefore I opted to sleep. My seat was very comfortable and I slept for 7 hours. The breakfast was delicious with the onboard Chef adding his personal touch. The cabin crew were extremely friendly and provided an excellent service. Wi-Fi was available on the Medan to Amsterdam flight.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJakarta to Amsterdam via Medan
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"allow one more bag with priority"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Sydney departing later today. My parents were flying business class and checked their bags in but were 50kg under the 80kg limit so they took our bags as well. All of our bags were able to be checked in except for one with the priority sticker which doesn't make any sense considering the bags are going on the same plane. The service was poor with the inability to understand our request and allow one more bag to be put with priority so that they all come out at once.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"choose a different airline "

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Denpasar via Medan. The cabin crew were some of the best and you could see why they've won so many awards. We found the A330 quiet compared to a 777. Te Food was good. The IFE was absolutely shocking in terms of TV. Have had better 20 years ago. Would also question the flat bed. Although it is flat it's also angled and thin. Definitely not the comfiest. Would try and choose a different airline next time. When we booked it was direct with 1x2x1 seating but they made us stop and put us in 2x2x2 so wasn't a great start.
AircraftA330 200
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Denpasar via Medan
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"service could have been much better"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Denpasar to Sydney. There is a big difference with Garuda depending on the configuration of the aircraft. Unfortunately this flight was the old configuration and was not a true lie flat bed. The IFE on Garuda is never great but this was as poor. Garuda also seem to struggle in Business Class when the flight is full. I have to say that the service on this flight could have been much better. On boarding there was no introduction by the FA, we then had to wait for an hour to get a glass of wine off the crew and this was not replenished without asking. As it was a late flight there was not dinner service and the breakfast. was tasty but service was haphazard. Overall not the best experience in Business Class.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDenpasar to Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly with Garuda again"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The flight to Bali was not too bad but breakfast was pretty ordinary. Our flight home on Sunday 5th January was terrible. The meal was one of the worst we have had I asked for a glass of red wine for my self and white wine for my wife. The wine was given to us in paper cups. Later we asked for a coke and a sprite, again served in a paper cup. The cans were warm and no ice was offered. The seats were uncomfortable. We flew with Garuda the same time back in 2018 and there were no problems then. We fly to Bali the same time every year and have flown with low cost airlines (Airasia, Malindo Air and Batik ) and received better service. We will never fly with Garuda again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBali to Perth
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Seat pitch was very small"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Beijing to Denpasar on 27th December and I do not understand how the airline received 5 stars. The airline used quite old aircraft, 23 years old, as a result it cannot give enough comfort. The cabin interior looked not very fresh and some elements definitely needed to be repaired. For example, there was a hole between an upper panel and a wall, it vibrated during the flight. I was really surprised there was no onboard entertainment system and no USB-socket. Seat pitch was very small and felt like a low-cost airline. My food was very poor and they didn't serve any wine to me.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDenpasar to Beijing
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"warm welcome and a smile"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Sorong. Check in was straight forward and quick as was the security. I was escorted from the check-in through to the lounge by the Ms Rosma the Garuda ground support manager and one of her team. When time came for boarding I greeted at the aircraft door with a warm welcome and a smile. We pulled back from the gate a little ahead of schedule, however we had a long taxi ride to the runway. Shortly after take-off the main meal was served. The choice was two Asian rice dishes only with a choice of soft or warm drinks. I opted for a only bread roll. More hot & cold drinks and snacks were served throughout the 3.40 hour flight. 30 minutes prior to landing in Sorong a bread roll was offered together with hot or cold drinks. Throughout the flight the toilets were cleaned and the cabin crew were very attentive through the flight. There were only two cabin crew in the business class section, which was full, however they provided a very good level of service and they were very polite and courteous. We landed in Sorong on schedule, however I had to wait nearly 45 minutes for my baggage.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 NG
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJakarta to Sorong
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Another outstanding service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Tokyo Haneda to Jakarta with my family on the 11:45am on GA875. The check in area was very busy, however Mr Kohdai the Garuda ground handling manager was on hand to help and assist. With his help we were checked in very quickly and then escorted through security, immigration and into the lounge. The lounge used by Garuda at Haneda is also used by other airlines, therefore was very busy, however we were able to find a place for us to sit together. The food and drinks available in the lounge was adequate. When time came for boarding the Garuda ground support team were on hand to escort us to the plane. At the plane we were greeted at the door by the cabin crew who provided us with a very warm welcome. They certainly know how to treat their passengers and make you feel very welcome. There was a very good selection of food and drinks available and the quality, presentation and taste was excellent. Although the Cabin was full the Cabin crew kept coming around and offering warm and cold drinks together with snacks. They even went out of their way to help and assist my two children with additional snacks through out the flight. Additionally on the flight Garuda provides free onboard Wi Fi for the total duration of the flight and the speed of connection was quite impressive. Upon arrival in Jakarta we were met at the plane door by the Garuda ground service team who helped me and my family through immigration, baggage collection and directly to the cars provided by Garuda to take us to our accommodation. Another outstanding service from Garuda Cabin Crew and Ground support teams.
AircraftBoeing 777-300 ER
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteTokyo to Jakarta
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Hopefully it was just a one-off"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Jakarta to Sydney. I used Bid Upgrade to get the business seat in this flight and perhaps that was the reason I felt ignored unlike few previous experience with Garuda when we purchased the business class tickets outright. All the ground experience was fine. On boarding the FA came around offering drinks and taking notes on what the breakfast choice to be. Then I went off sleeping until I heard sounds of plates and cutlery as sign of they were starting serving breakfast. I was not served my breakfast even though I turned my seat upright, FAs just walked pass me back and forth. At first, I thought I should just wait maybe mine will come soon - it did not until we landed. No one asked if I'd like anything to drink, I had to ring the bell to ask for a cup of coffee and it was too late to ask for breakfast then. Once we landed, the FA who took my order came to me and said I was sleeping soundly that she did not want to wake me up hence I skipped breakfast. The fact that I sat there the entire time they served breakfast and kept asking my neighbor passengers what else they'd like felt like an insult to me. Would I fly with Garuda again? Yes, if we are flying to Indonesia, but never use the Big Upgrade anymore. It's such a shame that I have always recommended them before as we have always received great hospitality prior. Hopefully it was just a one-off occasion and not a new trend for Garuda.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJakarta to Sydney
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes