FlySafair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 64 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"overall a satisfactory experience"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | This was overall a satisfactory experience. I was particularly pleased with COVID protocols which eliminated any contact. Boarding was not done in groups which I feel is necessary in these times. There was a ground staff member going down the line checking IDs which is commendable to ease scanning. Upon entry into the cabin there was hand sanitizer available. Crew was friendly and the trip was on par with others by Safair that I was happy with. The crew were courteous and presentable. We arrived on time.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"regretfully a terrible experience"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | This is my 2nd time flying with Fly Safair and it was regretfully a terrible experience as I reached Fly Safair at 7:30 my Flight was for 7:55, I was advised that the doors are already closed this has been the 2nd time I was told to reschedule my flight and pay and additional R647.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Durban
Date FlownMarch 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not respectful to senior passengers"

(Zambia)

Not Verified | Staff were semi friendly but not respectful to senior passengers, our luggage was man handled, one suitcase was damaged on the corner. My husband and I will never ever use local airlines again, you guys can actually go and learn from other countries about customer service and respect for the elderly, Zambian airlines crew have very friendly cabin crew and service.
AircraftBoeing 747-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteFrom King Shaka to O.R Tambo via Limpopo
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I felt robbed"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town. The worst customer service ever, I was made to pay for a 7kg hand bag. This is the hand bag that I always travel with and no one bothered to explain how on earth my bag was charged without measuring it. I felt robbed and still want my refund.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I won’t fly with them again"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I checked in 24hours before my flight so that I could sit at the front window seat but when I went to board, they made me move to the back aisle seat because the plane wasn’t full and they needed me to balance the plane. After they forced me to move, they failed to clear an error with my boarding and decided to offload my bag from the plane instead of checking whether I was onboard or not. I landed at 4pm, it’s now after 11am the next day, I still don’t have my bag and no one is answering my calls. I won’t fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Cape Town
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I'm so disappointed"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Our flight got delayed from 20:45 to 23:00,traveling with my 6 year old son. Worst experience for his first flight, he fell asleep on the benches while waiting for our flight that kept getting delayed until 23:00. We missed our transport in Johannesburg, just imagine. What a hell of a day! I regret booking a late flight and this is my first experience with FlySafair. I'm so disappointed, if I had know I would have booked another time or used another airline. No explanation, just that there was a delay with another inbound flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownDecember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"no agents to answer any calls"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | This airline is pathetic and are impossible to get hold of. Their whatsapp doesn't exist and they have no agents to answer any calls. I booked a ticket with them and i said the payment didnt go through so i then used a different card incase it was an issue with my card and it still did not go through. The next day I tried again and it worked. The following day I checked my credit card statement and saw that all three payments had gone through! There is no-one at Flysafair to answer and help sort out my situation.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to George
Date FlownNovember 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Our seats were cancelled"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Fly Safair - Running the monopoly in SA. Walking towards the counter, already checked in an hour before the flight, I have a medical condition meaning I cannot stand for very long periods of time and stayed seated while the able passengers stood in the queue for over 20 min to board. Not wanting to be the one that holds up the flight and only with a a handbag, I walked toward the counter as I could not run because of AS. The Safair staff member then promptly closed the door, to tell me I'm late his face implying that I should have run, we explained that I have a medical condition and therefore could not run. The 20 m gap, People were still boarding the plane, we begged him to allow us que, his comment to me was, mam you don't look sick. Our seats were cancelled. They said Good luck to you, come back in the morning. With no place to stay in Durban and no transport, I walked a few more meters and my back was in so much pain, that I asked for a wheelchair, do I have any rights?
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Cape Town
Date FlownNovember 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"shouted at me in front of other people"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | I had a problem when i was doing the last check in before i board, i was only holding my phone which had my boarding pass on. The lady who was checking me in shouted at me in front of other people checking in asking me if it was my first time to fly as i didnt know that i have to present my id. It was so embarrassing and she went on and on. I did email flysafair with the complaint and noone got back to me. The way she shouted at me was like I'm a small kid.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to George
Date FlownNovember 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Will not use them again"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to George. 2 hour delay, old planes would not recommend. Poor communication from the airline. Will not use them again. Cheap in this case means cheap planes.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to George
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 64 Reviews