FlySafair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 76 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"they were 30 minutes late taking off and landing"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Terrible.....they state they are the most on time airline....yet they were 30 minutes late taking off and landing. They state they don't serve food or drink because of "no touch" yet they give water "touched" by attendant and you have to put your mouth on the top of water where the attendant touched. Where hot coffee kills viruses but their water apparently is ok. It is a farce for them take more money by using Covid to take your money with nothing special in exchange. Why they won best airline in 2019 and claim they are the most on time airline in the world is beyond.me.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Durban
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Both flights very pleasant"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Cape Town to Lanseria and Lanseria to Cape Town. Both flights very pleasant under the current COVID circumstances. Easy priority check-in, bag drop and boarding from both airports. Ground staff and crew onboard young and friendly. No in-flight service as this is an LCC carrier. Aircraft interiors clean and comfortable. For disembarkation, you remain seated until the crews disembark row by row from both the forward and rear exits - very organised and will definitely fly them again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Lanseria
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"missed their flight with 3 minutes"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | My parents booked a flight for the 22nd of September. The queues were so full and no one to help people that they missed their flight with 3 minutes. Their website say to be there 90 minutes before the time which we were. But the queues were so full they were not able to get through. They were placed on standby for the whole day and they told them at the end of the day only to go home and come back again at tomorrow mornings flight. Again no one to help them along with 25 other people also missing their flight because the flysafair staff didnt help them and then there was absolutely no line at customer care ... while waiting for the people to tell them at 5:20 if there is space, no one communicated with them and they waited until 6:15 and even after the flight took off, no one communicated with the passengers on what is going on. Worst service we ever got from any airline.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to George
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Everything went smoothly"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Everything went smoothly. I didn’t expect much. Ground and cabin staff were really friendly and didn’t check the cabin bag for weight, smooth boarding process, there even was free water. Flight was perfectly on time. I paid 70 ZAR for exit row seats that were comfortable.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEast London to Johannesburg
Date FlownSeptember 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"so disappointed in FlySaFair"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | We were already on the aircraft and it had started moving then it turned out that there was a technical issue on the aircraft. We had to go back into the airport and we waited for approximately 5 hours for the problem to be fixed. We were left in the dark for a very long time about what was happening. Secondly I do not understand why the aircraft was not checked thoroughly before the messengers got on. Our lives were put at risk and the R80 voucher we were given to buy food was not enough. Lastly, the fact that we were expected to fly in that same aircraft on its own is problematic. My whole day was messed up because of this delay and FlySaFair did not do much to ensure that they make up for this. Yet if the tables were turned I would've been expected to pay a penalty for being late/delaying. I am so disappointed in FlySaFair.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"inattentiveness regarding the wearing of face masks"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Disappointed by the cabin crew's inattentiveness regarding the wearing of face masks. Counted at least 1 person not wearing a mask during the first 10 minutes sitting on the flight before take-off. In-flight attendant did not tell them to put on their masks even though the passenger was clearly visible in an aisle seat until a passenger requested an in-flight attendant to tell the person to put on their mask. During the flight there were more than 4 children not wearing face masks that were not asked to put on their masks and upon disembarking the aircraft the cabin crew also failed to point this out to the parents and let the children walk out and climb onto a bus without face masks. I was very uncomfortable during the entire flight.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownAugust 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Everything went smoothly"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | No-frills ride from Durban to Cape Town. Everything went smoothly. Check-in was very busy because several flights were all leaving at the same time, but the queue flowed nicely and the wait wasn't too long. Onboard, the seats don't recline, a huge plus in my mind! We'll ride with them again.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Cape Town
Date FlownJuly 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"like to thank you once again"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Missing our flight - Our daughter sent us surprising news and photos of her engagement. This then ended up in calls of joy and needless to say loss track of time and missed our flight. Feeling like naughty school kids, we had to go and collect our luggage and go to the booking office and explain the situation and showing the pictures of the engagement as a reason for missing the flight. I must say, it was quite laughable for all and the situation was turned around by an overwhelming gesture from FlySafair and the Cape Town staff working on the 26th June at around 18:30 to 22:00 for there professionalism, understanding, friendliness and patients and by rebooking us on a flight the next day "free of charge". The wife and I would like to thank you once again from the bottom of our hearts and will see you on our next flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Thank you for helping me"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Good day FlySafair. I would like to thank the manager ands the two other gents whom assisted me with my baggage at the check in counter after being refused to go through the gate for having too many bags. Thank you for helping me through the airport staff entrance in order for me not to miss my flight due to repacking my bags. Sadly I did not catch their names but they will know whom they are. My flight was at 3.55pm Johannesburg to George Regards.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to George
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I would not recommend using their services"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Due to the flight being cancelled as a result of COVID my party of 3 were unable to fly in March 2020. I have been trying to get a refund but have only been offered vouchers. These are of no use to us as we live in the UK and are not going to South Africa again. I have had to accept only 55% of the value of the tickets in a cash refund as the airline has taken 45%. The airline said they did not cancel the flight the government did. I was able to get a full refund from Emirates who were to fly us to South Africa and back. Keeping 45% of the money is dishonest in my view. Were I ever to visit SA again I would not fly with them. In these uncertain times of COVID I would not recommend using their services.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to East London
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 76 Reviews