Flair Airlines

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 365 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"have to pay for a carry on"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Edmonton. You have to pay for a carry on, flight delayed, extremely poor customer service. How can you justify charging for carry ons?
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Edmonton
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will never use them again"

(Canada)

Not Verified | When leaving for the flight on January 10th 2020 it was delayed twice. I was suppose to land in Kelowna at 130pm didn't arrive until 430pm. Then coming home my flight was canceled due to weather issues which I understand the weather was horrible, but they made us wait to get refunded and/ or rebook for the flight on Monday January 13th and they were completely booked! They never informed us, never gave accommodations. The fact I waited in line for 45 mins and no one even told us the only flight for the next day was booked with no care in the world was unreal to me. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. You couldn't pay me to fly with them again. They then told me the next flight they had was Thursday! Its Sunday. So I had to book another flight and pay double the price then to be told that I won't have my money reimbursed for up to 5 to 10 business days! Horrible horrible experience I will never use them again. When you travel you should be secure I never felt this at all flying with them.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEdmonton to Kelowna
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"always trying to charge you"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Calgary to Vancouver in July 2018. Not happy with the customer service. I feel that they are always trying to charge you for something extra. I purchased carry on baggage and flew from Calgary to Vancouver without any problems or mentions of my baggage. Then on my way back home, they said my luggage was too big for carry on. I argued with them until they let me take it on the flight. It's the same size as when I came to Vancouver. I only came down for a funeral. Not happy with the airline. Having to pay $15 if you dont download your boarding pass. This is how they make their extra money off people. Might as well just fly Air Canada or West Jet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Vancouver
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"delays and poor organization"

(Canada)

Vancouver to Toronto. On the plus side, due to the number of delays and poor organization your value in terms of hours spent sitting in a seat per unit dollar spent is amazingly high. The planes appear to have a lack of maintenance. They do give free water on the plane, which is nice. Because almost everything else (including coffee) costs you. They should change their ✅ Trip Verified | schedule to estimate the dates you will take off and land, as that is the closest they appear to be able to manage.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Toronto
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Excellent customer service"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Excellent customer service, very welcoming, friendly, fun and knowledgeable flight crew made it a pleasant flight. I was in a row that was full yet there were a few rows that were empty and the flight crew said it was ok that I took an entire row to myself. Very welcoming and accommodating.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAbbotsford to Kelowna via Edmonton
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"I was very pleasantly surprised"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Vancouver. I had low expectations having never flown Flair (or any discount carrier) before, but I was very pleasantly surprised. Flight was on time, comfortable (standard or better) legroom, smooth ride, and friendly crew at gate and in plane. When I booked, the flight was about $800 less than mainstream carriers ($650 v $1476 on Air Canada or WestJet). I paid extra for a carry-on ($35) and a coffee on the plane ($3 w free refills), but did so gladly given the huge savings on the fare. Because I had prepaid for my carry-on bag, I got called to board earlier than most people. The flight was about 75-80% full, I had a window seat near the front that I selected for free during check in. Obviously Flair is missing the perks of (a) loyalty points, (b) lounges, (c) inflight entertainment/wifi and an app to check arrival time and gate, and (d) frequent flights in the event of schedule changes, but of those the only one that matters to me is (d). As such, I will use Flair only when I'm not cutting it close with my timing and need confidence I can get where I'm going on schedule or close to it. For any trips with a bit of flexibility, if Flair flies there, I'm flying with Flair.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Vancouver
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"I highly recommend them"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Calgary via Winnipeg. We had an excellent flight with flair. We were travelling with our almost two year old. The seats were comfortable. The staff was great. Our flights were all on time and the break in Winnipeg for our daughter to run around was great. It is definitely a no frills airline and you have to pay for extras but with snacks packed and minimal baggage it was super affordable. I highly recommend them.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Calgary via Winnipeg
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"delay after delay"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Toronto to Winnipeg via Calgary. I was scheduled to travel with my two 10 year old kids from Toronto - Winnipeg - Calgary on January 5, 2020 at 6pm. We were informed of delay after delay with our plane with no explanation from the gate staff. We were shuffled around to multiple gates at the Toronto Pearson Airport until 3 am the next morning for a plane that was never to come. We were unable to get a hotel room because we were constantly told the delay was just a few hours. The airline staff rarely gave us updates, and when they did it was that they had no updates. There was no communication between their Head Office and the staff and all of the passengers were left in limbo. There was no compassion on behalf of the employees; they seemed more interested in socialising with one another than trying to find answers for 60 passengers. Food vouchers were provided to us late in the evening which did no good since my boys and I just needed sleep at that point. Flair Air is a tiny privately owned airline with no partner airlines and so they will not help passengers to find flights on other airlines. They have very few planes in their fleet, so if your plane goes out of commission you could be stranded not just for a few hours, but for a day or two (the passengers flying to Winnipeg were stranded for up to 2 days in Toronto). There was a huge lack of transparency, accountability, and compassion by the airline. My experience left me feeling like we were all just treated like cargo. Yes, it is a discount airline and I'm all for a good deal as a single mom, but we have a right to be treated with dignity .. there's a fine line, and Flair Air does the opposite. After a total of 16 hours at the airport, we finally got on a different airplane the next day. If you choose Flair Air and things go wrong, just be prepared for extreme delays, no communication, and no assistance. They will offer you a refund for the leg you haven't used, but because it is discounted you will still be forking out hundreds more dollars per person for a last minute flight on another airline (For me it would have costed an extra $1500 just to get back to Calgary from Toronto). I tried to communicate my grievance to their support line and was told they were not willing or obligated to do anything else to remedy the experience we had. I highly recommend going with a more established airline that has more planes and partner airlines and that can accommodate its passengers adequately, and won't leave you stranded like Flair Air does when things go wrong.
AircraftB738
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteToronto to Winnipeg via Calgary
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"do not recommend this airline"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Winnipeg to Calgary. I definitely do not recommend this airline for passengers who has a busy schedule. Most of the flights are delayed. I have not left for my flight coming up in a few hours. It was originally scheduled for 8:30pm. It was then delayed for an hour. Then i recently received a notification that it was delayed for another 2.5 hours. When I check the airport website to confirm the time, i was given a different time of 2:00am. Now this causes confusion. Tomorrow is actually a Monday and also my first day back to work after the holidays. It irritates me that it would be delayed for this many hours. I tried to confirm the actual departure time by calling the airline but then was disappointed because the hotline is closed. At this time I am furious, how can you be an airline that delays flights and your passengers is not able to contact you for questions. That is just ridiculous. I then contacted the airport and the staff I talked to told me that they were not given a lot of information either and that many passengers are also asking the same questions. He had told everybody that the flight time they were given was 9:00pm. To this time, I am still unaware of the departure time and I am not comfortable on waiting at the airport for 4+ hours when I could be waiting at home instead. Side note, you are only allowed to bring a personal bag that has to fit under the sit and you will have to pay for the rest of your baggage. Also, inflight food and drinks are not provided.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWinnipeg to Calgary
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Awesome and super friendly"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Calgary to Abbotsford. Awesome and super friendly, thanks so much! Really appreciate the local service in Western Canada. I am looking forward to flying with you in the future.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCalgary to Abbotsford
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes