Finnair

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 739 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"comfortable seats and spacious legroom"

(Japan)

Trip Verified |Helsinki to Osaka with Finnair. Boarding at Helsinki Vantaa was smooth, the plane very new with comfortable seats and spacious legroom, water offered immediately. Selection of movies and music was very limited and of low quality. The touchscreen was not working well, becoming unresponsive after prolonged use (e.g., while watching a movie). Negative points: I had pre-ordered vegetarian meals, but this information was lost in the ether, meaning they did not have the special meal requested. The cabin attendant serving my aisle though was very nice and did help in getting together an alternative meal, albeit slowly. A few cabin attendants were impolite or outright rude. Annoying commercials shown after boarding.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Osaka
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"one of the worst airlines"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Manchester to Helsinki via Bangkok. The first stage Manchester to Helsinki. Appalling no food, no TV, no adapter for charging a phone. No drinks other than water, tea, juice provided free. Everything you had to pay for. Seats ok but small even Bizz class didn’t have a tv screen. Second leg Helsinki to Bangkok 10 hour flight 1 meal very poor quality, no dessert and then a small breakfast. No alcohol drinks, no snacks all had to be paid for at extortionate pricing. Seating was very squashed and the movie selection very poor. Return trip booked but never again certainly one of the worst airlines I have used
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteManchester to Helsinki via Bangkok
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"friendly and welcoming"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to Vilnius via Helsinki . The seat width was slightly above average, with about 18. The legroom hah 32 inches of pitch. I flew economy and cabin crew were friendly and fluently explained the slight delays that we had. The flight attendants are friendly and welcoming. Food was good. My IFE screen struggled a little bit in light, but when I turned up the brightness it was barely sufficient, and I didn't even have a window seat.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to Vilnius via Helsinki
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"for 6.30 hour flight should not be allowed"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Helsinki. First leg from Helsinki on the wonderful A350, return on a totally full A321 which for 6.30 hour flight should not even be allowed, horrible experience. The line to and from the bathroom is there for well over half the flight and up to nearly half the length of the plane because the drinks, food and shopping trolley is constantly in the aisle as well. A single aisle plane on a distance such as Dubai. Never again. Furthermore I should echo the grievance of the family behind us who had their seats split up. It's a dirty money grabbing tactic to force a same booking to pay extra to be sat together. It doesn't really affect their profit margin and only serves to make people to look for other options when they next book.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Helsinki
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"two middle seats away from each other"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Billund via Helsinki. I’m sitting in Melbourne right now about to board a flight to Denmark booked through Finnair. The first leg to Hong Kong is through Cathay pacific. At the check in desk, I tried to change seats for my wife and I on the second leg from Hong Kong to Helsinki on the Finnair flight and the guy behind the counter just laughed at me! Apparently it’s a joke in Melbourne airport that it’s not possible for anyone to change seats without paying a substantial amount of money. My wife and I had booked the flight 4 months in advance and had from Hong Kong - Helsinki (11 hour flight) weirdly been seated in two middle seats away from each other. First I thought it must have been a mistake, but after spending 45 min on a Skype call to Finnair (their only option of customer service is to call their Finnish phone number. No Facebook, no online chat options!!) I was told that it is not Finnair company policy to seat bookings together but completely up to the airline to do whatever they want. The person on the phone did give me the option of purchasing two seats for an additional $300! Are they kidding? When you fly short journeys, a terrible company like this can probably survive, but when you are traveling 20+ hours on long haul flights the customer service is quite important. Being seated on an 11 hour flight in two middle seats away from each other is for someone like me, a total disaster!
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Billund via Helsinki
Date FlownDecember 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Barely satisfactory selection of food"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Finnair has a very solid and attractive long-haul proposition with: 1) New aircraft (A350) with big overhead baggage bins, the atmospheric equalizer helps reduce jet lag too, 2) Generous legroom even in economy (I'm 5"11 or 1.81m and can fully stretch out at a 45deg angle when the seat is reclined), seats were comfortable and I had no problems sleeping 6-7 hours at a go and this is in economy, 3) Reasonably hospitable service (still cannot beat JAL or Singapore), 4) Very up-to-date IFE (with many of the latest movies, no lagging or dead screens) 5) Most importantly, great prices - we regularly see flights priced under US$1000 for transcontinental flights from Europe to Asia and vice versa. What was lacking, however was: 1) Barely satisfactory selection of food. Meals were not tasty and very bland. 2) Any orders beyond meal service was subject to payment. Also, Helsinki Airport is notorious for delays with outgoing flights - 3 times out of 3 I've experienced a delay of at least an hour when flying out of this airport - not the fault of the airline of course, but a primary consideration when traveling. Nevertheless, still a very decent option at such a price point. My baggage didn't go missing so I did not have a problem there. Certainly can consider flying with Finnair again.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Reykjavik =via Helsinki
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"A350 is a fantastic aircraft"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Bangkok via Helsinki. A350 is a fantastic aircraft to fly, large open cabin and it was very clean and tidy. Everything from the staff to the food was truly top notch. If I have to complain about something, it was that the seat folded down to bed was a few centimeters too short for me, but got a 4-5 hours sleep, I am 193 cm long. I recommend this.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteStockholm to Bangkok via Helsinki
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"business class seat is comfortable"

(Finland)

Not Verified | I flew Phuket to Helsinki in Finnair A350 business class last month, ground service with Finnair is always on point no matter where you're flying from. The business class seat is comfortable and spacious and it gives you more privacy than their older A330 business class. Onboard entertainment has a lot of options from western to Bollywood and Korean. The dining experience was a huge disappointment. Even as a lactose-intolerant, I've always had delicious meals (In economy and business) when flying other airlines, but with Finnair, my business class lunch and dinner was a similar piece of dry chicken and steamed veggies and no sauce or spices whatsoever, and the dessert was 4 pieces of papaya. The Cabin Crew didn't greet me when boarding and they didn't seem to enjoy their time.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RoutePhuket to Helsinki
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Seat was very good"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Dubai to Helsinki. I was on a business trip (Dubai to Helsinki) on Business class. Seat was very good, and in-flight entertainment was very good. Food and drinks were very good. If I got a chance to fly Finnair again I would 100%.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDubai to Helsinki
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"The tables are so small"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Helsinki to Singapore. The crew were good, no complaints there. The food was pretty good for airline food. Movies were the same as the September flight Hong Kong to Helsinki. The seats are far too cramped. That alone would prevent me using them again. We had paid extra for specific seats as the person I was travelling with has mobility issues. The seats had been changed & we couldn't get anything similar. The tables are so small. There is no room on them to easily sit a drink and a meal without knocking the drink over. The seating does not really allow 3 people to eat at once. If you need to help the person next to you, expect to get cramps. The controller for entertainment/crew attention/lights sits about 1/2 way down your thigh, so it is hard to get to an very hard to read. It does not appear to be removable.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHelsinki to Singapore
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no