EVA Air

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 586 reviews
8/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Service was good"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | My trip was a group booking for a school field trip before most flights were affected by the pandemic. Our actual flight was cancelled due to COVID, but we were quickly rebooked to the next available flight. Service was good - ground service for group booking (we were a group of 30+ people) was excellent and check-in was seamless. Food served was excellent - for a 2 hour flight, we were served a full meal. Crew wore masks (no PPEs yet as there were still no outbreak at the time), but you can see the courteousness and sincerity in their service. Even got some playing cards to pass the time! Would recommend flying with them again.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Manila
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"a positive experience returning to the USA"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was fortunate to check in for my flight back to the USA the night before the flight. The challenge for me, though, was being able to check in my bag right at an hour before departure from Seoul, as I was afraid that I wouldn't be able to make it to the airport in time via public transport in the early morning. Happily, that wasn't a problem. I was able to make it to the check-in gate right on time, the staff were friendly and checked my bags with no issues. Gate staff in Seoul and Taipei were pleasant. The flights to Taipei and then to Los Angeles were drama-free. I found the cabin and lavatories clean and staff courteous. I did find the seats slightly more cramped (maybe just my perception) and in-flight entertainment and meals to be a little boring, though, compared to previous experiences using JAL and Singapore, these still fare better than most North American carriers in my opinion. All in all, a positive experience returning to the USA. I'll value professionalism and cleanliness, with friendliness as a bonus, any day before watching the coolest new Hollywood flick.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSeoul to Los Angeles via Taipei
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"It was a fantastic flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Taipei during the pandemic. EVA only sells full fare ticket during this period so my tickets cost double of the usual price. However this is totally understandable, and I was able to select my seat once the ticket is booked. Check in at Heathrow was bit chaotic but this was due to the airport organisation to ensure social distance (which in my opinion only creates more queue than distance). EVA has requested some forms to be filled prior to checking in and also Taiwanese government requires online registration so they can monitor each single arriving passenger. The queue to reach check in took around 90 minutes. Once check in was performed it was very smooth to go through security. After security the only shops opened were Boots and WH Smith. Boarding was in good order. EVA enforced boarding zones to reduce congestion. Temperature of all passengers were taken and recorded. The crew members were in full PPE (goggles, facial mask, glove and apron) but still welcome passengers with a warm smile. The plane is a 3 year old B777-300 but it was spotless. EVA planes are perhaps the cleanest among all but it's evident that special cleaning had been implemented during this period. Most of the Taiwanese passenger also wore personal PPE and everyone was wiping their seat/table/screen once onboard. The flight pushed back some 30 minutes behind schedule due to delay on ground service. We were given amenity kits, blanket and a bottle of water while we wait on the ground. We were served two hot meals throughout the flight - one dinner and one breakfast. Both meals were tasty. They also announced few times that food and drink service was altered to meet additional hygiene standard. Toilets on the plane was kept spotless through the journey in a typical EVA fashion. Choices of movie/TV was limited. This has never been the strong point of EVA and perhaps during this tough time for aviation this has been cut back further. However I was still able to find some movie and TV programs to keep me occupied when I wasn't sleepy. The 13 hour flight passed quick and it was a very quiet 13 hours. All passenger wore their mask throughout. The flight landed in Taipei 20 minutes later than schedule but it only took me less than 30 minutes to leave the airport - that included buying a new SIM card, finishing the health screen registration, passing immigration and collecting luggage. The luggage was also disinfected before they reached the belt. It was a fantastic flight - very calm and relaxing despite the various measures enforced. The cleanness of the plane and the strict service procedure was reassuring.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLondon to Taipei
Date FlownJune 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"refund form returns an error"

(United States)

Trip Verified | For weeks, I've been trying to contact EVA Air regarding a refund or rescheduling of four flights between NY and Tokyo in July 2020 because of the COVID-19 travel ban. The refund form on the website returns an error although I put it the valid ticket numbers from the reservation that there on the same website. They removed all email addresses from the contact so that is impossible to contact customer service. Left only phone numbers that, if you call, play a recorded message that they can't take your call. I sent a message on Facebook and they said you have to call us. After I told them the phone number plays a recorded message, they won't reply.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Tokyo via Taipei
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very good airline"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | London to Bangkok . Very comfortable seats with own monitor. Punctual and reliable. Crew are firm(take no nonsense)and polite. Good service. Special meal is not an option in economy. Lots of foreign films to watch. Overall very good airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"an excellent airline"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Los Angeles to Bangkok via Taipei. EVA Air is an excellent airline. I have flown them almost exclusively. Great service, food is decent, and they are highly recommended. However, in this era of COVID, they appear to be using the virus as an excuse for some sort of bridge loan, from their customers. I had to cancel a recent flight to the US, and they tell me it will be fully refunded. Within 90 days! Yes, you heard that right. They are going to keep my money for three months, even though they have agreed to a refund. Is any other airline doing this? I can understand that they are busy. But three months?
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLos Angeles to Bangkok via Taipei
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"have not issued me a refund yet"

(United States)

Trip Verified | On 03/22/2020 EVA Air cancelled my flight from Bangkok to Seattle via Taipei for 30th march. On 03/27/2020 I submitted the refund request form on their website and they have not issued me a refund yet. I have tried calling every phone number I can find for them however, they just ring and ring and ring. Some of the numbers have automated messages saying they have a high volume of calls right now and then hang up on you.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Seattle via Taipei
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"Comfortable seats worth the extra price"

(France)

Trip Verified | Paris to Taipei. Clean and pleasant cabin despite being very noisy and dry Boeing 777. Comfortable seats worth the extra price for such a long flight. Average food. Biggest disappointment was the service. Smile is there but sincerity is not. This airline has a good hard product that makes the flights OK. But their service is just. Especially considering how cheerful and lovely the people of Taiwan can be.
AircraftBoeing 777 300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteParis to Taipei
Date FlownFebruary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I need to cancel my EVA flight"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I booked my flight on 3/19/2020 for 4/20/2020 from San Francisco to Hong Kong via Taipei. On 03/22/2020, Taiwan announced that they will ban transiting through Taiwan airports to control coronavirus until 4/7/2020. The policy may subject to extend, which means I may not be able to take the plane on 4/20/2020. My visa is going to expire by the end of April. I need to cancel my EVA flight as soon as possible and rebook a direct flight to HKG in March. I cannot wait until April to see if Taiwan will extend the ban policy. However, when I called EVA Air customer service the lady told me that only the flight booked before 3/18/2020 can be fully refunded. In my case, in order to process the refund, I need to wait until Taiwan announces the ban extension, which will probably happen in April.
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSan Francisco to Hong Kong via Taipei
Date FlownMarch 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Service onboard was okay"

(Slovakia)

Trip Verified | Bangkok to Vienna on 22 March. Ticket Booked, could not check in. No Customer support desk open only Mon - Fri. Could not choose seat even though was in tariff from ticket. Service onboard was okay and staff good. Flight on time. Flight changes random due to coronavirus and little support. And as no more premium economy on route Vienna to BangkokI will be flying with a different Carrier.
AircraftBoeing 787-10
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBangkok to Vienna
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no