Ethiopian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 562 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"flight time is good"

(India)

Not Verified | The flight time is good. It leaves on time at 00:20 hrs in the morning and reaches Mumbai by 08: 00 am. Thereby passengers can have a good sleep after the dinner. The service is good except that the air hostess after dinner vanishes and arrives for cleaning up the leftovers just half an hour before landing and they do not have time to attend to passengers. Many passengers after waking up from sleep require a cup of water. It will be nice if an hour before landing the passengers are served with water.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAddis Ababa to Mumbai
Date FlownMay 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"A very enjoyable flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This was the first time I used this airline and it was one of the best airlines I have flown with, staff very good and helpful, clean aircraft, and was on time there and back. A very enjoyable flight and will be using them again.
Aircraft9
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHeathrow to Madagascar via Addis Dabba
Date FlownMay 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"Boarding very efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew Addis Ababa to Heathrow 5.5.23 on Ethiopian's newest A350. Only been in operation 6 days. Boarding very efficient. Bole Airport very busy in the evening rush hour. Over 40 international departures in 3 hours. The enlarged T2 copes well with this number of passengers. Several restaurants and cafes all busy. Prices reasonable. Two double macciatos 8 dollars - have small dollar bills if in transit.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAddis Ababa to London
Date FlownMay 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"okay for what they charge"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | First time using Ethiopian Airlines, check in at Heathrow T2 was pretty quick although the check-in agent failed to include my frequent flier status on the boarding pass which presented issues when trying to use the fast track & lounges, luckily I had a copy on my mobile. Used the SilverKris lounge which is good, boarding a bit disorganised but once onboard my seat 11A was comfortable enough. Flight departed on time for the 7 hour flight to Addis Ababa, service food (Dinner & Breakfast) and crew where okay. The PTV was also alright the seat not too bad, arriving Addis the transfer was straight forward and the airport itself wasn't too bad. I used the Cloud Nine Gold lounge which is a bit better than the general terminal, boarding the 2nd flight was again a bit of a mess. Another A350 and once again seat 11A however the seat had a fault so not too comfortable, crew where a bit vacant on this flight. The food a sandwich and lunch was again okay perhaps better than the first flight. Arrived CPT more or less on time after a flight of around 6 hours, bags delivered quickly so I suppose all in all Ethiopian got me from A to B & finally C without too much stress. I guess the one improvement would be the ground operation, it's pretty poor and rude at some points. I wouldn't use Ethiopian again but they are okay for what they charge.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLondon to Cape Town via Addis Ababa
Date FlownApril 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Efficient, well organised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We fly with Ethiopian Airlines Domestic once a month. Addis to Bahir Dar, there are 25 flights per day to choose from. International 2 or 3 times a year. Efficient, well organised. A very pleasant experience.
AircraftQ400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBahir Dar to Addis
Date FlownApril 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Not what I expect in business class"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Not what I expect in business class. Booking process, transfer and food was horrible. Seat less than average 2-2-2 configuration seat had no storage possibilities. Service was average. Food had not the selection and quality of economy standard. The drink selection was limited and of low quality, especially the wine. Lounge in Addis Ababa is also useless and overcrowded.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteAccra to Geneva via Addis Ababa
Date FlownApril 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"the service was fantastic"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This was my very first time flying Ethiopian airlines and I was very pleased. From checkin at IAD to the layover location in Lome, I had no issues. I would like to thank everyone at Ethiopian airlines for a job well done. I travel to Ghana about twice a year and I usually fly United as its a direct flight, however Ethiopian Airlines to Lome and Lome to Ghana was not a bad option at all. From IAD to Lome was a little over 9 hours. It was a great value for my money and the service was fantastic. I have no complaints.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWashington to Accra via Lome
Date FlownMarch 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"pretty terrible for business class"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Staff are always nice on Ethiopian and definitely the best part of the experience. Otherwise pretty terrible for business class. The seats were old and dirty, the entertainment system with limited selection. Food served to me was almost uniformly bad. New business class lounge in Addis Airport is overcrowded, hot and dirty. The food is also pretty unappetizing and at breakfast they had no working coffee machine. I fly this airline when I have no other choice.
AircraftBoeing 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteWashington to Addis Ababa
Date FlownMarch 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"I will not be flying ET again"

(Kenya)

Trip Verified | Flight from Nairobi to Addis was okay, albeit 40 minutes late landing after having to hold due to bad weather in Addis. Took ages to disembark in Addis as they parked at a remote stand and there seemed to be a shortage of passenger buses. Transit in Addis is always a shambles. Massive queues at the security checkpoint with multiple lanes unmanned and extremely slow screening. Boarding is always chaotic at Bole Airport, especially if the aircraft is at a remote stand and you have to be taken by bus to the aircraft. Took off an hour late for Khartoum and, after an interminable wait for baggage after landing, discovered that the airline had left more than half the passenger baggage in Addis so they could carry more cargo, as evidenced by the dozens of boxes that arrived on the luggage conveyor as compared to very few suitcases. Basically sitting in Khartoum with just the clothes on my back now with absolutely no idea when/if my luggage will actually get here. I will not be flying ET again.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 737 Max
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNairobi to Khartoum via Addis Ababa
Date FlownMarch 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incompetent and dismissive"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The airline staff is so incompetent and dismissive. Lacked an understanding of things and sounded like robots. I applied for a refund of a ticket I couldn’t use due to a family emergency and they didn’t refund it for more than 12 months. Then they turned around and told me that they won’t refund it before it has been more than 12 months. Their actions were criminal to me. I sent multiple emails even to their HQ to no avail.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Lagos via Addis Ababa
Date FlownApril 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no