Ethiopian Airlines

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 587 reviews
5/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

“told we cannot board our flight”

(China)

Trip Verified | Autistic son and I were told we cannot board our flight. On 31 January 2024, my son and I were travelling from Nanjing to Cape Town. Coincidentally, it was also 04th birthday and we were blissfully excited about our journey. Unfortunately, the experience soon turned into what could be described as a nightmare. As I had not opted to check in my luggage, Ethiopian Airlines had already emailed the boarding passes for my son and me. So upon arrival in Hong Kong, we were asked for the boarding passes and allowed to enter Terminal 1, go through all the checks and searches and eventually arrive early at the Ethiopian Airline boarding gate. I approached the counter and spoke with a male representative (I’ll call him Kay). He informed me that I was meant to collect my luggage and check in before entering Terminal 1 etc. He spoke kindly and said that although I wouldn’t be able to get the luggage at that point, I could continue my journey to South Africa and on arrival at Cape Town International Airport, I would need to go to the baggage claim office, explain the situation that the baggage was not collected in Hong Kong, show them my baggage passes and ask them to write a report which would be sent to Hong Kong airport and then arrangements could be made to have the luggage sent to Cape Town. I was very grateful that this employee was solution-driven and offered such kind service that would not impact me severely as a customer. He then printed our boarding passes and asked me to have a seat. About 30 minutes later, passengers were boarding the plane and my son and I stood up. Again, the male representative who had spoken with me earlier said that I should have a seat, which we did. This was the last time I engaged with this representative. After there were only a few passengers left we went to wait in line. During this time, I witnessed two other passengers who had flown from the USA with United Airlines, whose luggage had not been accounted for. They were asked to stay behind, as I was, but they were soon allowed to board the flight. When my son and I got to the front, we were told that there was a problem, but the airline representatives could not tell me what the problem was. At this point, my son was stimming, as those with ASD sometimes do in stressful situations. He was sitting on the floor repeating letters of the alphabet and opposite words. A different male representative (I’ll call him Ray), then stood staring at my son. I explained to him that my son is autistic and that he sometimes stims in that way, but not to worry as he would soon stop. The same representative who was staring said nothing in response and continued to stare. After some minutes, this person then approached me with our boarding passes in hand and said that it was not the airline’s problem that our luggage was not collected and that unfortunately we would not be allowed to board the flight. At first, I thought he was joking, because he had a smirk on his face and his tone was condescending. He said that I would need to cancel the flight with the agent and see if I could rebook the flight. I told him that I didn’t fully understand the reason and asked if he could explain this. He then asked for a moment and walked away without offering any explanation or customer-centred behaviour. He was cold and unwilling to even speak to my husband who was on the phone with me at the time trying to help me.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Cape Town via Addis Ababa
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

“its a pretty decent product”

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Family of 6 flying to Zanzibar for holiday. Ethiopian are (currently) our airline of choice for flying out of Stockholm to Africa. They have a daily overnight flight to Addis Ababa leaving at 9:50pm connecting with the rest of Africa which means that unlike the ME carriers you do not waste time flying too far east only to fly back. As three of our party of Star Alliance Gold we can bring the whole family to the lounges for free at all three points (Arlanda (7/10), Addis Ababa (5/10) and Zanzibar (3/10). We checked in at Star Alliance Gold and also managed to get advance boarding. This will all change for the worse when SAS leaves Star Alliance and goes for Flying Blue. Their App is well designed, clear, but maybe a tad slow to load but is probably most useful for retention of boarding passes. I recommend both their web based booking engine and check-in process. Biggest plus was on booking we were permitted to reserve all seats for the four legs on a basic economy ticket. This is a game changer when travelling in Africa (and Arlanda) when the differences of deplaning from as few as 10 rows can results in an hour difference in the queues for immigration. As for the flight its a pretty decent product. The aircraft are not the most modern. The FA service was professional including free unlimited drinks service and full food even on a 2.5 hour leg. Value for money wasn't bad considering we were flying around Christmas. Luggage allowance is super generous and checked lugagge arrived at its final destination on time.
AircraftBoeing 787
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Zanzibar via Addis Ababa
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

“the worst customer service”

(United States)

Not Verified | This has been the worst experience I've had with Ethiopian. Remember that Ethiopian 5-10 years ago was a delightful company to fly with as the service provided was stellar and the logistical side of the business was fluid. Ethiopian Airlines has seen a major decline in the quality of the service it once provided. On my last flight, the air hostesses were mean and had a dirty attitude, I have been flying regularly since I was 10 years old; this is the worst customer service I have ever experienced. When I got home from my flight I noticed that my suitcases had been severely damaged (They attempted to open my suitcase by ripping the zipper from the lock and broke both). When I contacted the airline by phone I was met with a very nasty voice and was not assisted. It's sad to see a company decline to such a state, safe to say I will never travel with Ethiopian if I can avoid it.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKigali to Chicago via Rome/Addis Ababa
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"an absolute nightmare"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Flight was ok but had to transfer in Addis Ababa where we missed our flight because lay over was 35 minutes and then was rerouted via Dubai. Had to land at 2 am in Doha and then only happened at 9 am. Then had to go and find our luggage. Was an absolute nightmare. Have to fly back with them and dreading it. Will be our last with them.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape town to Doha via Addis Ababa
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"disappointing overall experience"

(Zimbabwe)

Trip Verified | Delayed both flights we were on, reprinted our boarding passes and made our kindergarten aged son to sit alone. Refused to pay for the delivery of three delayed suitcases (out of four) Minor aspects of the screens on board not working play a subordinate role but match the disappointing overall experience.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHarare to Frankfurt via Addis Ababa
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"the worst flight experience"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | This was the worst flight experience I have ever had the displeasure of being a part of. We were late to board, then sat on the tarmac for more than an hour without AC, nor any excuse nor apology. The plane was dated, no screens for an international flight, little leg room, uncomfortable and limited space. We were late for our connection to Johannesburg, and had to run through the airport in Ethiopia, which was crowded, fought to get bins for the scanners, forced to take our shoes off (all for a transfer) When we landed in Jhb, only 1 of our bags showed up. The counters for baggage couldn't tell us where our bags were, as there systems were offline.
AircraftBoeing 737
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBahrain to Johannesburg via Addis Ababa
Date FlownDecember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"staff are gaining in confidence"

(Ireland)

Not Verified |   Our return from Africa. There was some confusion at Maputo concerning departure time & destination. It appeared that ET had combined two flights, so we went to Addis via Blantyre. The aircraft was a B737max replacing the advertised 787, so chosen seats were changed & were less comfortable. We were about an hour late arriving into Addis which caused passenger with tight connections much concern, however there were staff there to assist them. Addis was relatively uncrowded at around midnight. The A350 to London seemed very full, & moderately on time. Nice beds in Biz and a near silence led to a good sleep. Skipped dinner but breakfast was good. Cabin staff are gaining in confidence, especially on long haul
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteMaputo to Heathrow via Addis amAbaba
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I still haven't received a response"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | I use the airline's services all the time, but there was nothing like this before. On September 14-15, I flew on a flight from Moscow to Goma. I had 2 bags of luggage. In Goma, one bag with the most important things, hygiene supplies was lost. After that, I made a complaint and a waited 2 days. A number of goods that I was carrying were damaged. This can be confirmed by witnesses. No one called me that my luggage was found, I had to call myself and go to the airport twice. The bag was also damaged externally. I estimate my expenses for this and moral damage at $400. The airline's support does not work and responds to me. I left a complaint on the airline's website in early October, but I still haven't received a response.
AircraftBoeing 747
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMoscow to Goma
Date FlownSeptember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"flight were extremely cold"

(Belgium)

Trip Verified | Horrible airline. The staff can't smile or friendly ask you what you want to drink. It starts with the check-in which is chaotic. They have 4 groups but don't even respect it themselves. On board, plenty of overhead room. The IFE has a very basic selection of movies and TV shows, and not the latest ones. Most annoying was the fact that every show/movie automatically has Chinese subtitles, even if you don't like it. Food is basic but okay. Always choice between chicken and beef/fish. Drinks are given like twice a flight and if you call an attendant it takes a 5-10 minutes before they even give you a bit of attention (and not the happy one). The flight were extremely cold and anyway, you have to give back the blanket 30' before landing. Also Bole airport is not the cleanest airport.
AircraftBoeing 787 / 777
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Brussels via Addis Ababa
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"Nice flights, on time"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Nice flights, on time and baggage got there too. The A350 is very good aircraft, smooth and quiet, ideal for a night flight. Biz was only half full. Catering was quite adequate but not exceptional, though the cheese board was good. Addis was slightly better than of late, and the biz security line was much appreciated. The 737 max second flight was totally full, but the biz seats large & comfortable. A good breakfast was served.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Mombasa via Addis Ababa
Date FlownNovember 2023
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes