Ravn Alaska

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 12 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"customer service has not improved"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I arrived at the airport in plenty of time. I was immediately harangued by the person at check in because my baggage was 3 pounds over the 55 lb limit, even though she was well aware that I had to book this flight at the last minute due to car problems and was unable to weigh my bags ahead of time. I find that the policy of checking in 1.5 hours ahead of departure time excessive and unnecessary as competitors have a 30 minute prior to departure check in. Once I got to the gate area, this airline announced multiple, in 15 minute intervals, that there delays due to a "software problem." They knew that there were no concessions available to the passengers, and offered no refreshments even though there was an hour and a half delay before we finally left. To my fellow travelers, if you can find other form of transport, I recommend that you do so. After reorganizing after filing for bankruptcy and under new management, this airline's customer service has not improved.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Kenai
Date FlownJune 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"didn't make him cover his face"

(United States)

Trip Verified | All was good on this flight expect for one thing. The flight staff told us there was still a requirement to keep our mask on and not to do so was violation. I was in 5D seat and the guy in 4A had his mask off 90% of the flight and this was 4 hrs on this flight. The staff continue to ask us all if we need anything. Including the guy in 4A who didn't have his mask on. She never asked him to cover his face. I have just recently had open heart surgery. The fact that the lady didn't make him cover his face. This was flight 0004 on 5/18, Please let this lady know she has a job to do and part of it is to protect everyone on this flight. No matter what she thinks of the Mask requirement.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Dutch Harbor
Date FlownMay 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I will not be using Ravn again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Would not recommend. We got off our Alaska airlines flight, got to the Ravn gate 45 min before our flight. The guy at the gate told us to take our (extremely heavy) oversized bags back upstairs to check in. Then he told us to go fast because apparently you have to check in 40min. before a Ravn flight or they don't let you on (that would have been nice to know...) "Don't worry, I'll call up there to let them know you're coming!" He said. We got up there, extremely sweaty from running back and forth through the airport with our heavy bags, and the woman at the check-in counter said we were too late and the flight was closed (we were 2 minutes past the 40 minute window) we told her we had already been at the gate, and the man at the gate said he would call and that it was ok. She called him and he said to not let us on because it was too late (by 2 minutes!? Give me a break!) We had to reschedule our flight for 2 hours later. None of the employees were friendly or helpful, and seemed really annoyed as we tried to ask questions to clarify what was going on. I will not be using Ravn again and would recommend others fly with someone else.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Kenai
Date FlownApril 2021
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Incompetence, rudeness, unreliability and overall poor service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I work 2 weeks on, 2 off, and have flown with this company 13 times in the last eight months. Of those 13 flights, at least 10 of them either had long delays, some over 5 hours, or were simply canceled because of no aircraft or crews available. What irritates me the most is that their customer service never answers emails, ever! I had my employer pay extra for the morning flight, about $75.00, and most of my morning flights were rebooked to the cheaper afternoon flight. My employer never got a refund for that extra charge. They charge you 2 different fees for extra bags, depending on the type of aircraft used. As I personally knew some of their agents in Anchorage, I never had an issue with them. However the staff elsewhere are distant, unfriendly, uncaring, and sometimes rude. I should not fear dealing with a csa when I go to the airport, however that is the feeling I have all the time. I noticed one day that my mileage number was missing, and since no one was at the counter, I decided to give it to the boarding agent. She faked entering my number in the computer, indeed I never got any credit for that flight. Their website does not give you the point balance, but a csa at the airport told me one day that I had 10 points, "which entitles you to nothing". One time, they cancelled my flight back to Anchorage, and rebooked me one way DLG to ANC on a later flight that day. So, just to make sure everything was fine for the return flight, I called Ravn. I was told, without any further assistance, that my reservation was cancelled, and there was nothing they could do because it was an Alaska Airlines ticket, which I was completely unaware of. I ended up calling Alaska Airlines, spending over 40 minutes on the phone with a supervisor, who fixed my ticket, but asked me to explain why I did not use the first segment, which automatically cancelled the return portion. Incompetence, rudeness, unreliability and overall poor service is what I remember the most from them.
AircraftSaab 2000
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Dillingham
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline I have ever dealt with"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Kenai to Anchorage via Homer. I travel for work on a set schedule every 2 weeks (2 on and 2 off) and I am forced to fly on Ravn AK because of where I live and the monopoly the hold on travel to and from Homer and Anchorage. You would think that Ravn would want to take care of their regular customers but time and time again they make sure that they can take as much as they can possibly squeeze out of the working class. This is by far the worst airline I have ever dealt with to the point where I am going to join the growing number of ppl who drive the 225 mile trip and just get a hotel room because it will be more affordable. I really wish another service would step up and have regular service to and from Homer and Anchorage. Grant is a much better service so if the option is open I would book with them.
AircraftDash-8
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteKenai to Anchorage via Homer
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"chosen to disregard my complaints"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We fly Ravn faithfully as we are 38 year KENAI peninsula residents. We were proud to open a fly Ravn accounts as we would be able to accrue points towards future flights. We were scheduled to fly at 5:30 pm 12/17/19 we went to the ticket desk asking to be placed on standby. They stated there were 5 open seats at that time and we would be notified over the speaker at 3:20. That time came and went .. we asked at the counter only to be told it would be announced. As the plane filled they called my husband and another passenger on standby. We approached the desk. We were told my name was 4th down the line from my husbands. We asked why .... no one knew, we were carelessly directed here and there. We returned to the ticket desk to see why we were not (Authorized) together. The baggage supervisor was the only one available. He stated that customers are put in a (class) based on their ticket. We were not treated fairly or the same because I utilized a reward for a portion of my ticket for being a valued member. This is shocking and a travesty that you punish your customers for utilizing rewards. We were not informed and this really needs corrected and adjusted. We over the years have dealt with Ravn rarely being on time, long delays where we have missed connecting flights, charged for baggage when we are part of the ALASKA 49 club and the Ravn rewards club. We have had to purchase new tickets on the spot because they couldn’t FIND our reservation only to find them later and refund only the lowest fare. They have chosen to disregard my complaints and not see any reason to believe these situations occurred. There are thousands of Peninsula residents who complain about the very scenarios I have listed. There is a responsibility to these small Alaska communities that support Ravn Alaska’s business only to be at the mercy of rude attendants and complaints that have not made the necessary changes needed to serve the community better.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKenai to Anchorage
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"an overall disappointment"

(United States)

Not Verified | Barrow to Wainwright. RAVN was once a reliable air carrier. I was excited when they took over for Pen Air. Since the takeover, their service, timeliness and overall business has plummeted. I haven’t been on an on-time in the last ten, their staff really don’t seem to care, and they are an overall disappointment. It’s sad to see such a once great company fall so hard and fast. Leadership starts at the top, and I can only imagine that their leadership is in over their head or otherwise incapable of leading such a company.
AircraftCaravan
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBarrow to Wainwright
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"Absolute worst experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Kenai to Anchorage. Absolute worst experience, no info about plane not showing up ; rude , uncaring and patronizing desk person, missed connecting flight, had to purchase new ticket to final destination. Still have not received my frozen fish 72 hours later! Unbelievable!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKenai to Anchorage
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"very poor customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Anchorage to Kenai. Buyer beware, very poor customer service! This airline has new ticket change fees that are crazy ($75 for a $95 ticket). No exceptions. Also, their rules about check in/baggage are unreasonable and even mean (see other reviews). Don't risk it. There are other options with much better customer service. I come from a large family in the Kenai and we will now only fly this airline if it's absolutely necessary. We'd drive before booking with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Kenai
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"they never called me"

(United States)

Not Verified | I normally don’t complain or had any major issues when flying on Ravn Alaska. I always understood why flights were canceled due to weather. That was out of their control. No matter if you’re flying reserve or non-reserve you expect to be taken care of. That they would have great customer service. I will tell you that if you ever lose your bags, keep bothering them! I called their baggage office over 10x and then had to call headquarters to be able to speak to someone about my baggage claims. I’ve talked to a few of the workers and gave them my number to have them call me back for any updates on my bags. I will tell you right now, that they will not call you! It took two days for me to get an answer. I called and waited! I tried to be nice and understanding. But the fact that they never called me to let me know where my bags are or even to tell me that they found my bags makes me aggravated! I don’t think I would fly with Ravn again. This will be my last. I see why people get so frustrated with the workers because they suck!! They’ll say they’ll try and help but won’t follow through. Please don’t waste your time dealing with them. Fly with Alaska Airlines if you want to fly to and from Kodiak.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Kodiak
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1 to 10 of 12 Reviews