Delta Air Lines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1623 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"still waiting on my bag"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Detroit to Des Moines. Well first my bag didn’t come in on my plane then they sent it to the wrong airport so they called me the next day told me it was on the baggage claim and I said I was at work, I’ll call when I get off. So I called back then they told me it got sent to another airport and it wasn’t in. Here I am at 10:30 two days later still waiting on my bag so I can work. They messed up twice in one bag in a night - the only reason they got one star is cause I can’t give zero.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Des Moines
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"always a delay somewhere"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Columbus to Toronto via Atlanta. First flight was delayed to Detroit resulting in a missed layover. No problem, they let me reschedule for free even though I had an extra 3 more hours to spend in flight time which would have resulted in a cheaper flight from the start. New flight has me going through Atlanta where my connecting flight is delayed 3 hours because the original aircraft scheduled to Toronto was changed to Memphis 30 minutes before boarding time. I may just be upset in the moment, or it could be that anytime I fly with Delta there is always a delay somewhere. The aircraft and staff are usually friendly, this is more directed to overall operations of the airline.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteColumbus to Toronto via Atlanta
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It’s the worst airline"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Nashville to Atlanta. I’ll never fly with delta again! It’s the worst airline! I was flying 40 time in the past 2 years. And 12 times with delta and every time my flight was delayed for 2-6 hours. (Expect one) They never tell you a reason I never hat that problem with a different airline! Then they damaged my suite case twice and filled out a complain paper and they told me they can’t help me!? The same with something I forgot in the plane. They even didn’t wanted to help me. They have the worst costumer services I called them 2 hours later they called me back and I tried to talk very nice but after 10 minutes they just hang up! The worst I would never fly with delta again!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNashville to Atlanta
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

Delta Air Lines customer review

(United States)

Trip Verified | Had the worst experience with Delta Airlines. First, I had my flight to Chicago delayed because of a problem with a crew member, and then the flight eventually got canceled because of a rain. When I asked for a reimbursement, they denied because the flight is canceled due to weather. I didn’t get any refund for a bus ticket I already paid for in Chicago, or a place to stay. They gave me another flight to Chicago that stops in Atlanta, which is also delayed, and so was my flight from Atlanta to Chicago. Because of Delta’s inability to schedule flights correctly, I missed a bus that I paid 40 dollars for. I also had to wait 3 hours in Chicago because they left my bag in Atlanta for whatever reason. Don’t fly with Delta Airlines
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Chicago
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"never fly Delta ever again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible, I will never fly Delta ever again. I was scheduled to fly to New York on the 17th at 11:30 am. That flight got delayed until 12:30, we then proceeded to board yet we sat on the runway for over an hour because of weather conditions. We then were told to deboard but stay close because we will take off soon. This never happened, they then canceled the flight and scheduled another one for later, that got canceled and then told us to wait for another flight at 1:30 am. We waited 15 mins before boarding and they proceeded to cancel it yet again. That means my family, along with everyone else had to sleep in the airport. There were cots lined up for miles, but we had to get up at 4 am to put them away. My flight now today was supposed to leave at 6 this morning. It’s now 6:10 and it’s delayed yet again because apparently they prioritize flights from today over flights that should’ve left yesterday. They are terrible at communicating and we’ve had to switch gates numerous times, it’s ridiculous. I would never recommend this airline upon anyone, they just take your money and run.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to New York
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"communication was horrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | Chicago to New York. I had a flight booked for 11:30 am, that got delayed, then we proceeded to board and get out on the runway in hopes of leaving. We came back because of weather issues and had to get off the plane. They then scheduled us for 3 more flights which they canceled with terrible communication. The communication was horrible, nobody knew what was happening until a few minutes before boarding. The app and TV were both giving us wrong information. The TV claimed that our flight had departed when it wasn’t even at the gate yet. It had many people frantically moving, worrying about missing their flight.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteChicago to New York
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"appalling customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Asheville to Bonaire via Atlanta. I am writing only because of the appalling customer service I recently received. I know the flights are full and tensions are high however Delta puts it head and the ground and ignores it. We were on a flight from Asheville to Bonaire via Atlanta. The flight from Asheville had a small mechanical problem. It took the mechanic less than a minute to fix, however it took the mechanic 1.5 hours to get to the airport. Really? So we, four of us, missed our flight to Bonaire. This was at 9am and we are in Atlanta now for a full 24 hours - they would not put us on another flight. We go to the customer service desk and give us voucher to a motel that their employees do not even stay in. We asked for another option, with a restaurant and they said they do not give hotel vouchers to hotels with restaurants. No food vouchers, no transportation, nothing. We asked to talk to a manager and they gave us a number that is only answered Monday through Friday 9 to 5pm. It is a Saturday and we are flying out of the country. We have a water front condo with two bedrooms and a car rental that we lost out on. The next day we have to check our bags in all over again. My husband and I wait in line to check our bags in. We had picked them up the day before so we could have our things. After 25 minutes to do this, we are told we have to go into another line b/c there is no record we had paid for a bag the day before to Bonaire. There was another 20 to 30 minute line. I asked if she could take us to the front of the line and she said no. My husband nearly had a melt down. He gave me the dressing down and she felt so badly she took us over and checked us in. NOW WHY COULD SHE NOT DO THAT TO BEGIN WITH. I felt like they were trying to make us late and we would miss our flight again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAsheville to Bonaire via Atlanta
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"look for alternatives"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Detroit to Burlington. Awful and unacceptable experience on both outbound and return flights. Both delayed with no explanation or even an apology. Flights are useless if not on time. Delta going down hill - look for alternatives.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Burlington
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"rude and short with me"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is the last time I’m flying with Delta. I’ve always supported this airline, I have for years, but from now on I’m taking my business elsewhere. Completely unhelpful, every single employee was rude and short with me. Not only with me but with everyone else as well. Flying out of Orlando can be hard I understand that but that’s no excuse to treat people disrespectfully. Also everyone on the plane is paying an arm and a leg to where they need to be.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteOrlando to St Paul
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"luggage was missing from her flight"

(United States)

Not Verified | New York to Paris. I purchased three tickets for my mother and my daughters to travel to Paris together for the month of July since I was already in the city for my Master's program. My children checked-in with my brother who was going to Paris for the week since they arrived at the same time. When my mother arrived at check-in, she wasn't able to because the Delta agents in New York had put her name on my brother's luggage. My brother and daughters checked in around 6:30 PM and my mother didn't get to the airport until almost 8:00 PM to check-in for the same flight. The only thing they have in common is the same last name. The solution proposed by Delta was that she pay $100 to check-in her 1 bag as a second piece of luggage or have my brother come back out from the terminal so they could "try to fix it". Once you go through security, you can't come back out to the check-in counter. How do you ask someone to pay extra for your own incompetence and negligence? When you issue a baggage label you are looking at the passport, the boarding pass and the person in front of you. That's an extra level of incompetence on the part of Delta which makes me question their level of security. After their mistake, they gave my mother the run-around for over 30-minutes, then they told her that she wasn't able to check-in anymore because check-in stops one hour before boarding. There were a ton of agents just hanging around at the counters and no other customers. While they are saying this, my children and brother are texting me that the flight has been delayed and they are waiting at the terminal for an update. Then, Delta proposed that the only thing she could do was either re-book with them for a different flight on a different day and she would have to pay for the re-booking. Then they stated that they couldn't do anything because the ticket was purchased with a travel agency. After speaking to different Delta representatives and supervisors, through some "miracle", one of them rebooked her for a direct flight with Air France. She arrived in Paris 8 hours before my children and brother which was a major inconvenience. When all was done, my mother's luggage was missing from her flight with Air France as well as my brothers' from his flight. My children' pieces of luggage arrived one after the other on the conveyer belt. It's suspect that the two pieces of luggage missing happen to be the ones with my mother's name on them. So far, my brother's luggage was delivered the day after they arrived, but my mothers' has not yet been delivered. As of today July 6th (4 days after arrival), we were informed by Air France that they never received a marked bag for her from Delta and that her luggage is likely still in New York. They think that the baggage tag was "probably removed" from the suitcase which is why it never made it on the next direct flight. She's suffering from severe chronic asthma and diabetes because her extra medication was in her luggage. Now we're in Paris, she struggled to get around the past few days and had to be taken to the emergency room by ambulance today. As someone who travels every year, I will do my best to ensure that those whom I know don't travel with Delta and that I don't take a flight associated with Delta again.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Paris
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no