Delta Air Lines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1696 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flight from Las Vegas to Atlanta (DL1523), September 18th. The worst experience I have had on a flight ever. We came 3 hours early and was forced to check in our carry on bags as some other passengers used our storage. The seat I was given had a broken seat belt and I was not checked on so at all so that was a safety hazard. The nightmare started when the flight was delayed. They were boarding groups 1 and 2 but a bunch of people who were from group 3 cut in and nobody checked. Our group followed the rules by waiting for the group we were assigned and it was a big mistake! All the storage was taken so we were forced to check our carry on bags. Staff were also very unorganized, unprofessional and never apologized. One of them at the front desk told me "you can wait for another later flight but it was already 11pm" when I had commented about our situation which was rude and made the situation worse. Then when we sat my seat belt was broken and no one checked. Then the flight attendant completely skipped our row for drinks and ignored us. After an hour of waiting and being patient for the hope that one flight attendant would notice my husband hit the button to calmly explain that we were skipped for drinks. We never received any apology for anyone and were treated as second class passengers. I always believed that Delta airlines had an exceptional reputation with excellent customer service but my opinion has now changed. Our experience after paying nearly $600 was not of an airline with high standards instead it felt like a cheap discount airline like Spirit or Frontier with terrible customer service. So sad and never again we will try to fly with you we will go with American or United the next time we travel.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLas Vegas to Atlanta
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"frustrating process to get paid"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Paris to San Diego via Detroit. "Corporate customer care" is understaffed. Perhaps if they called it customer service, you would get some. After selling my seat, it took me a long, frustrating process to get paid. I avoid flying the American legacy carriers for a reason.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to San Diego via Detroit
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Customer service ridiculous"

(United States)

Not Verified | Dallas Ft Worth to Atlanta. Customer service is ridiculous. First of all they lie and say the flight is full they cannot change my seat. How do you have people on standby and no seats available 30 minutes before a flight? Why didn't they tell me to wait and see if something comes up before they board their bystanders? The turbulence was awful.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDallas Ft Worth to Atlanta
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"When did Delta become such a bad company?"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Ft Lauderdale to Bogota via Atlanta. When did Delta Airlines become such a bad company? Checked in exactly 24 hours before my flights from FLL-ATL-BOG but only got one seat assignment. Called DL and they told me it was because I'd "chosen" a long connexion (their website offered it to me). I pointed out that in IATA area one a connexion is 12 hours so why did it not check me in for my connexion? No useful response. Was told to check-in again 24 hours before connexion flight. I did so and got a seat assignment but no boarding pass. Asked at counter at FLL and was told again it was due to long connexion time and that I should just check-in a fourth time at the gate. I did so and registered my dissatisfaction at having to check-in four times and this unpleasant woman said there was no reason why I shouldn't have been given a boarding pass in Atlanta when I asked for one. Delta advertised a dinner on the flight from ATL-BOG but it was a cold snack (turkey sandwich, two apple slices, and a small chunk of chocolate). To list this as a dinner flight you must serve a hot meal. This is false advertising. In-flight entertainment was good. The cabin crew never broke into a smile not even a "Pan-Am Smile." The flight was very cheap though so I guess I paid a Spirit Airlines fare so I got Spirit Airlines service. A note to US carriers: we Americans have bony bums so need a cushion to sit on -- your seats feel like you're sitting on a wooden board.
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFt Lauderdale to Bogota via Atlanta
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"constant lying"

(United States)

Not Verified | Cleveland to Minneapolis. Delta is a poor airline. I travel 30-40 times a year and have delays 30% of the time on Delta. What's annoying is the constant lying. Tell us you don't know rather than delay 5 times. It's all about the money as it's obvious customer satisfaction doesn't matter. I control about a million dollars in travel spend for my team who fly primarily on Delta. no more. I will no longer approve travel with Delta.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteCleveland to Minneapolis
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"told there would be no refund"

(United States)

Not Verified | About a week ago I decided to book a one-way flight with Delta out of Bismark to Minneapolis. Unfortunately, they were one of two airlines flying from there. Everything was going well and I purchased my ticket with a "24 Hour Refund Guarantee." What is very misleading about this is that the airline does not specify which 24 hours these are. You can only get a refund within 24 hours of purchasing the ticket, not before the flight takes place. So with this assumption that the flight could be canceled and refunded as long as there was a 24 hour in advance notice, I booked the ticket. Unfortunately for me, issues arose I can no longer take this flight. I tried to cancel the flight online, which I did, trying to get my refund, which I didn't. I then tried to call and get my refund, only to be informed that there is a $200 fee for canceling my flight, and I would only get back what the ticket was worth minus that, a whopping $18 (which can only be used towards another flight). This is at two-plus months away from the flight, there is plenty of time for them to find a replacement for my seat. After sitting on hold for thirty minutes waiting for a representative, I was once again told there would be no refund, so I asked them to reinstate my ticket. There was no way I was going to allow this company to get double the profit off of my seat, I'd rather it stay empty. I then asked them if the ticket could be transferred to another person, so I could get someone to purchase the ticket from me. The answer is no. Not only that, but the representative on the phone sounded just as frustrated as I was. Lesson learned: I have to click two or three different links to learn what exactly what a "24 Hour Refund Guarantee" is. On top of that, I should know not to trust what a big company shows at face value. Even if for some odd reason I would get the chance to take this flight, I wouldn't. I will never fly with Delta if I can avoid it. I wish I would have done my research in advance, or I would have seen all the bad reviews they had.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBismark to Minneapolis
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Delta changed our seats"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Amsterdam. I purchased my two tickets months in advance, paying extra for premium economy in the bulkhead seats. One day before my flight, Delta changed our seats so that we are no longer next to each other. They offered no recourse other than accepting less desirable seats in the middle of the plane, and no compensation for giving us a less desirable situation. Overall rating, based on this totally unacceptable change is a 0.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSeattle to Amsterdam
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"find them to be consistent in their service"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Detroit. Flown with Delta many times and I find them to be consistent in their service over time. It is not an extraordinary airline but a very decent one. The staff on the ground was mostly friendly and onboard very friendly. Decent meals, enough drinks, and very attentive staff. I particularly like the 767-300 for the 2-3-2 seat configuration. While it is an older plane (around 30 years old), the seat configuration has always been a plus. Would fly again.
AircraftBoeing 767-300
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Detroit
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"never fly Delta again"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had a flight from Portland to Phoenix via Seattle. They had no room on the flight for luggage, so they had me check my carryon. I asked the flight attendant, “can I get my carry on in SEA? I need my laptop.” She said, “absolutely! You can get it at the sky bridge with your ticket.” Then it’s time to connect and they overbooked the flight (per usual). I stay in Seattle because I have business here. so I ask them to go get the bag they promised me. Fiona at the counter was great and went to get my bag. She tells me I can pick it up at the baggage claim. I go there and find it in the company of the least friendly of all Delta employees. Finally, (I think) we’re reunited! Not so fast. The chick at the counter proceeds to tell me they are not allowed to short check bags and I cannot collect my bag. Naturally, she says this 2-3 times before I beg her to give me a solution. She tells me to proceed to ticketing so i can buy a new ticket to Seattle and collect my bag there. When I get to ticketing, I explain my story for the 3rd time. She explains that she needs to call global before permitting my bag return. So she calls global and insists I pay a fee to collect my bag. 45 minutes later and extra $$$ I have my carry on. Had any of the employees explained there may be an extra fee or a ridiculous process I may not have been so fuming mad. But they didn’t, nor did they have any compassion on my situation that was ultimately their problem. To be honest, I will go out of my way to never fly Delta again.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Phoenix via Seattle
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Very attentive crew"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | LaGuardia to Chicago. Great flight. On time. Very attentive crew who were liberal with the drink pours. A pre-flight G&T is more than you get on most airlines. Lunch was a pad Thai salad that tasted great. All in all, very good.
AircraftBoeing 717-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeFirst Class
RouteLaGuardia to Chicago
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes