Delta Air Lines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1804 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Horrible customer service"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Horrible customer service in Atlanta. Not a single delta employee for flight 1944 was helpful. The airline separated my two year old and me and the gate attendants told me there was absolutely nothing they could do. I was emotionally stressed because I wasn’t going to have my two year old sitting next to me on a four hour plane ride and she was going to be sitting next to strangers. To top it off the gate attendant told me that I was being rude when I was frustrated and being blown off and that I should apologize to the other attendant. She was the nastiest person to deal with.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteRaleigh to Los Angeles
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Very disappointing. Very tiring"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Los Angeles to Sydney. We had been downgraded on our flights from premium economy to economy due to over booking and miss placing our seating. We had been giving random seats all of premium the catch was we were a family of 5, 2 adults 3 kids ages from 3 to 12. Very annoyed to pay for a comfy seat to be put at the back of the plane and me in the very last row. Had no idea this happened until all of our original cabin was filled and our tickets had been re issued. The worst thing was we were at the gate before anybody else and I asked the flight staff to organise this with plenty of time. I do hope there is a refunding process for this muck around. I will never fly Delta again as even on our flight to the USA the on board crew where very unprofessional and rude. 2 flights with Delta long haul, both very disappointing. Very tiring. Very expensive.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLos Angels to Sydney
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Never flying Delta again"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Paris to New York. Delta Air Lines is the worst airline I have flown. I flew from Paris CDG to JFK and back on their economy class. The ground staff are grumpy, they don’t smile. When I entered the airplane, I was shocked to see the dirty carpet on the floor. I got to my row and I couldn’t sit in my seat because the flight attendant was in the space, leaning over to the row behind to chat with the passenger seated there. The seats are narrow. Maybe I am too used to Asian, European and Middle Eastern carries where the airplane is always clean (as you embark) whether you’re in business or economy class and the staff is courteous and greet you with smiles. I also fly budget airlines like for short trips and those airplanes are clean and both ground and air crew are nice too. The only saving grace of that Delta flight is that the food is decent and they have unlimited snacks throughout the flight. Never flying Delta again.
AircraftA333
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteParis to New York
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"struggled to maintain my Diamond Medallion"

(United States)

Not Verified | I struggled to maintain my Diamond Medallion status on Delta this year -- plenty of miles but had to spend more dollars for tickets. But I recall that I was not given a complimentary even once last year. So rather than buy first round trip to SLC from JFK I decided to wait until 5 days before my return flight to get upgraded as there were plenty of seats left. Guess what? About 6 days before the flight, my app showed no seats available in first, even for dollars or miles. So I got on line with my wife's login and was able to buy a first class ticket on that flight with a choice of several open seats! The rules keep changing, folks. And fellow Diamonds beware. Use your dollars or miles when you book, or be stuck in back.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSalt Lake City to New York City
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"No one will answer a call"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Eugene to Jacksonville. Delta has pushed my luggage to a different aircraft 3 different times one one of my luggage and 4 with another. I finally received one. But the other still says it's in transit on a flight that was supposed to land almost 6 hours ago. No one will answer a call either to to answer any questions or help me try and find my luggage audit determine where it might be at.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteEugene to Jacksonville
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"customer service agents refused"

(United States)

Not Verified | Atlanta to Bradley . I am traveling with my son who has a disability. We arrived at the airport very early on a connecting flight ; another flight leaves in 3 hours that is half empty. I asked to be put on this earlier flight due to a high winds advisory in my home airport and my son's disability, which makes long waits in a busy place challenging. I provided documentation from weather.com of this advisory. Delta loses nothing by putting me on this earlier flight and only to gain my customer satisfaction. However, their customer service agents refused offering no explanation. Teresa at Montego Bay was my last conversation and she was not polite or helpful. I have routinely made similar switches to an earlier flight on Delta and other airlines even when no wind advisory existed. I will think twice about using Delta again due to this poor service.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Bradley
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not recommend this airline"

(United States)

Not Verified | Miami to New York. We were a party of 6 flying to New York for our Winter Break. We had 3 minors traveling with us, the youngest was 11 and was nervous about flying. We did not pay the extra fee to choose our seats because we has flown other times on other airlines and never had to pay to be seated together. We really do not have a preference where on the plane we sit as long as we are seated together. This has been the first time ever that all of us were seated in completely different rows throughout the plane. All of us got middle seats between 2 strangers. I was very upset that my kids had to fly alone and sit between 2 strangers. I asked the flight attendant to please help me find someone to switch seats so that at least my youngest son would not have to be alone. She offered to come see me once we were on the plane and try to help me but no one ever came to me. I asked the person next to me who was an adult flying alone if she would switch with my son and she refused to. It is very upsetting to know that this airline only cares about making extra money on allowing people to pay for choosing their seats even if it means splitting up children from their families. I kept thinking what if those adults are watching or saying something inappropriate next to my child, or something even worse. Also, if it had been a flight with turbulence, he would've been very nervous alone. Flying can be scary even for many adults. After this experience, I will definitely never fly Delta again which is a shame because they do have comfortable seats and offer snacks and drinks which many other airlines do not. They also have movies to choose from which help the flights go by faster. I have flown with my family many times and have never had this happen. It really should not be allowed. I will not recommend this airline to anyone traveling with their family.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMiami to New York
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"not allowed to upgrade"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Vancouver to Auckland. Our flight was redirected to Honolulu on our way to Auckland due to a medical emergency among the staff. The problem is that we were offered compensation but not on our terms. We were not allowed to upgrade on our way home. We could only use the voucher on a new flight. That is cheeky in my opinion. It should be at our discretion. When we were in conversation with Delta representatives, they were less than kind and very unprofessional. I understand that emergencies happen, but we booked a vacation and lost an entire day sitting in an airport that was not on our itinerary.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteVancouver to Auckland
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"changed my reservation and did not notify me"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Bordeaux to New York JFK via Paris. Delta changed my reservation and did not notify me. Then offered me another flight that had a much longer layover, over eight hours and did not offer any further compensation for it. Once again airlines continue to treat their passengers like garbage. This is truly unacceptable and yet another way airlines abuse customers.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteBordeaux to New York JFK via Paris
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
8/10

"a pleasant experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | London to Atlanta return for Christmas holidays. Everything functioned as intended for the duration of the trip. Seats could be better on the Airbus, the footwell space is a major issue on these business class seats when all flat, but fine when upright. Food always good out of ATL to Europe, generally a pleasant experience. I’ve always liked Delta’s D1 product and although not quite up to the lofty standards of the middle east carriers, I think it’s good value when you can take advantage of their Leisure fares.
Aircraft330-200, 767-400
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteLondon to Atlanta
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes