Delta Air Lines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1861 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"they took advantage of us"

(United States)

Not Verified | I feel like they took advantage of us during this time of stress an hardship surrounding Corona virus. My wife had purchased a ticket for me to meet them in Washington for a spring break trip. Due to the Virus outbreak it was not a good idea to go forward with that trip rather than refund us during a worldwide pandemic they had to make sure they kept our money "graciously" offering us a future credit. When it came time that we felt we could use the credit they had a policy in place saying they couldn't change the name attached to the ticket. My wife (who originally purchased the ticket) was going to use the credit instead of me. They would not allow the change even though it was the same family, trip, customer, and even credit card. It's sad when a company clearly only cares about the money and in no means the customer. You would hope that eventually no one would continue to support businesses like this that take advantage of people during hard times or any time for that matter. If you were paid then you were paid. It shouldn't make a difference who uses the ticket if the purchaser wants to transfer it. Please don't support this company's future. We can get better service by not supporting companies who don't do good business.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteUtah to Washington
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"this airline has gone downhill"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I booked these tickets back on May 5th. The originally flight was supposed to be June 5th, from PDX to MSP to ICT. On May 23rd, I get an email that there had been some changes to my flight and that’s when I noticed they had me leaving at 123PM and arriving at 628PM is MSP, then to ATL and finally to my destination in ICT. The thing is, my connection flight at MSP was supposed to be at 9AM that same day. Unless the airline is on to something that I’m not aware about, that connection isn’t possible. I called the travel agency I booked my ticket through and the only way to fix this flight was to change the PDX to MSP flight to June 4th, same flight, same times just a day earlier with a 14 hour layover. I bit the bullet and said sure, go ahead and do that. I wake up, May 25th and Delta went ahead and changed my flight back to the original of my flight(s) all being on the same day. AGAIN, last time I checked that’s an impossible flight to make my connection. Called Delta, in attempt to fix something that I had already fixed the day prior and was put on hold for 3.5 hours to only have the call disconnected half way through. Called back and again, 3.5 hours and got “hung up” on. Gave up and went back to communicating through the travel agency. They then informed me, the MSP to ATL flight no longer exists and there was no way for me to make my flight unless I was willing to pay the difference for another flight. I told them to cancel my booking, because I didn’t want this to happen again, once I booked another flight through Delta. Ended up booking a flight through American for the one way ticket that was double the price I had paid, for the original round trip ticket! Never again will I fly with this airline. In the past I’ve never had these issues, but recently this airline has gone downhill!
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Wichita
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"like a bus ride"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Honolulu to Seattle. Delta has stopped all drink services and they give you a snack bag. The aircraft luggage bins were nasty, the lavatory was in disrepair. There were flight attendants in tee shirts. They have lost touch with their customers and their roots. Was like a bus ride, sad.
AircraftBoeing 757-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHonolulu to Seattle
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"not impressed with Delta"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Due to fly from London to LaGuardia via Boston then return from Las Vegas to London with Virgin from June 5 to June 20, checked Delta App as they removed LHR BOS flight from the booking, but all remaining legs still in and then yesterday the booking was deleted - no email, no message via the app, nothing. Have called Delta and they cant 'find' my booking that I made! back in January. I have the confirmation email, e-ticket, but they say that there is nothing that they can currently do as the booking doesn't exist. Would have changed the flights to the same time next year as due to the current situation we aren't going anywhere soon from the UK, and got a good deal in January on Premium seats. Frontier Airlines on the other hand refunded very quickly - not impressed with Delta's way of handling this, as they have always been a great airline in our opinion.
AircraftBoeing 767-400
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLondon to LaGuardia via Boston
Date FlownMay 2020
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"would not guarantee an empty seat"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Delta would not guarantee an empty seat beside me when I first booked first class. So I changed to a comfort seat with the middle row left empty. But the three other people in the same row had no masks. I asked the steward to get me a different seat but she said there is nothing she could do. Then the man who sat on the aisle closest to my window seat said he would wear a mask for me. Conclusion is that Delta emails you ahead of time stating they require masks. They reiterate this at the gate. They even offer masks if you don't have one. But a few people just refuse and can put an older woman with asthma, like me, at risk. If they are not asked to leave, as Delta says they will do, this will continue. In addition, Delta does not show all the selected seats on the seating selection chart, which misleads one regarding the number of people in your cabin. Imagine my shock when I was assured by the booking agent that the next two seats would be empty when only the middle seat was and the other three seats were filled with people without a mask.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteFort Myers to Minneapolis/St Paul
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"This is bait and switch"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I am an American in China. I phoned Delta 800 221 1212...on hold for 1 hour and 41 minutes. Made reservation to fly home...DL 6431 connecting to DL 186. Quoted price was $557.00 for a one way ticket. I wanted to talk to the skymiles guys to see if I could upgrade to Comfort + using my points. The reservation agent said she would give me until 11 pm the next day to pay for the ticket and would switch me to the skymiles guy and I could either pay for the ticket with my credit card while talking to him and find out if I could use my points to upgrade at the same time. Transferred me, spent another hour on hold, finally got a guy and in the middle of our conversation we got cut off. Got a confirmation email from Delta, but when I tried to pay for the ticket online it could not find the reservation. Called Delta again, again on hold for well over an hour. When I did get through I was told that the ticket price was no longer what I was quoted but had increased to $811.00. I was well within the grace period for purchasing the ticket. I was not told by the first agent that the price was subject to an increase. Talked to a supervisor who said there was nothing he could do, so I paid the difference. This is bait and switch.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteDalian to Atlanta via Shanghai
Date FlownMay 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"incredibly rude and condescending"

(United States)

Not Verified | My business conference in Washington DC was canceled due to COVID-19 concerns. I spoke with a Delta customer service representative on 5 March 2020 and requested a full refund. The customer service representative consulted with a supervisor and agreed to give me a full refund without penalties as this was a COVID-19 related situation. As of 4/28/20 I have not received a refund. After spending much time in a call queue, a representative informed me that a refund would not be coming and I would only receive a voucher with time limitations, despite being told that I would receive a full refund in March. I was then transferred to another customer service representative who would only repeat the same lines over and over again. The representative refused to provide me with a transcript of my previous call, refused to transfer me to another person to provide assistance, and was incredibly rude and condescending. He would not send me anything in writing, stating a policy that he couldn’t provide me with either. The representative acknowledged that I was told to expect a refund and then told me that I would never get a refund and that no one in Delta could help me. He then hung up on me after I again asked to speak with someone who could help me. Delta is refusing to honor a refund that was already promised by a Delta employee who was authorized to promise a refund. Delta's customer service is extremely offensive. It is very clear that their only role is to stonewall customers in hopes that they give up and go away. I will continue to lobby for my refund because a: it was promised to me and b: I will never willingly fly with Delta again and so a voucher is useless to me.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSalt Lake City to Washington DC
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Refused to refund"

(United States)

Not Verified | Refused to refund my refundable flight. I paid extra to be able to refund my flight in case it got canceled, yet they would not refund the flight even when I paid for it to be refundable.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
Date FlownDecember 2019
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"cabin crew is so nice"

(United States)

Not Verified | New York to Nashville. I flew with Delta a lot of times and I loved it. The cabin crew is so nice, the food is amazing, the seats are comfortable, it's amazing! I fly Delta airlines two times every summer so I can go to Tennessee. The cabin crew are very nice including the pilots. Overall I love Delta airlines.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Nashville
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"changed 4 times in 24 hours"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Atlanta to Minneapolis. They cancel and change more flights than any airline I have been on. And then all they can offer is excuses or reschedule you to a inconvenient time. They have absolutely no care for the customer. My stuff was changed 4 times in 24 hours due to grounding planes.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Minneapolis
Date FlownApril 2020
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no