Delta Air Lines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1347 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Delta is my last resort"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Atlanta to Des Moines. I don't know how people, particularly anyone over 6 feet tall, routinely fly on Delta. Their jets have the worst—least—amount of legroom of any airline I've flown. I'm 6'4" with long legs, and the seat I was in had just enough space behind the seat in front of it to allow me to wedge my legs into the space, but I could not move them side to side because of the people beside me. Consequently, I had to sit for 2 hours with my knees jammed up against the seat in front of me, with all the obvious discomfort you can imagine. Luckily, the lady in front of me did not recline her seat. That would have been an even greater amount of pain. Seriously, why does Delta pack these seats so closely together? Do they not realize there are people out there taller than 5-1/2 feet? They should make one-third of the rows with larger leg room, and reserve these seats for people of a minimum height. Delta is my last resort for flying, and the only reason I had to settle for this flight was it was the only direct flight option for me. I guess I should stick to American and just accept the added hassle of connecting flights and layovers just to get a more comfortable ride. Come on, Delta!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Des Moines
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | St Louis to Knoxville via Atlanta. Terrible experience. My family exclusively flies with Southwest but they don’t fly to Knoxville. So we took a chance on Delta. Mistake. First I was separated from my 2 yo and had to spend an hour on the phone with a service rep to change our seats. Then our flight to Atlanta was delayed and we were going to miss our connection. We were told to call the rescheduling number. When we did, it took talking to a supervisor to get rescheduled. We spent 6 hrs in the airport with an upset 2 year old. And as of now we still have not boarded our new flight. In the future I will either fly southwest or drive. I will never take another flight on Delta.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSt Louis to Knoxville via Atlanta
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"we were vehemently denied"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Delta’s customer service policies for ticket changes and upgrades are “consistent”. By “consistent” I mean that my husband and I witnessed two different families receive upgrades/flight changes under exceptional circumstances, yet when we asked, at the gate, to board a non-full flight that would allow us to arrive home six hours earlier, we were vehemently denied. Denied when we checked in, denied when we spoke to the crew at our layover stop, and denied by customer service on the phone; and that was just the state-side experience. When on our international leg, our flight was originally overbooked; we went out of our way to volunteer for a later flight. The itinerary was lined up and at the last second, the staff decided they did NOT need us to switch. So there we were, having gone to the trouble of adjusting our arrival plans, only to rush to re-arrange them in the five minutes before we took off for the states. Funny how they had no trouble adjusting our itinerary twice for their own needs. As I write this, that homebound flight is leaving, with empty seats, and two fully dissatisfied customers sitting in the lobby who will forevermore go out of their way to fly anything but Delta.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteParis to New York
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"served water for passengers"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Minneapolis to Buffalo. Seat 21E next to window provided a nice view with almost two windows. This flight was delayed nearly 3 hours due to a big storm. Captain informed the weather information as well as delayed status of airport during waiting time in runway. Cabin crew also served water for passengers.
AircraftMD90
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteMinneapolis to Buffalo
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"terrible for transiting"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Buffalo to Tokyo via Minneapolis. It was terrible for transiting at MSP overnight. Since my connecting flight to HND was in the next day, I could not check-in. There were a few seats opposite the check-in counters. I did not sleep well in these seats. However, after checked-in and cleared customs, I could go to the sleeping area which provide many mats for free.
AircraftBoeing 717-200 / 777-200
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBuffalo to Tokyo via Minneapolis
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"I wouldn’t recommend them"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Portland to Raleigh Durham via Salt Lake City. Where do I start. I show up to PDX at 3:00am to check in for a 6:00am departure (I’m an early bird). I wait until 4:30am and ask when Delta reps are supposed to be out. That was supposed to happen at 4am. So, that’s strike one. Not out until 4:45am where there’s a line of at least 30 people. First flight to SLC was fine. The flight staff I liked, they were the only ones I liked. Super short layover at SLC. Get on at SLC, the new staff made a big deal about a pet and made sure I knew not to remove the dog from the crate. Land at RDU, have maybe 20 minutes to deliver a puppy, check in, and go through TSA. Oh wait, I am “too late” because I was on the plane for the last four hours and didn’t check in at least an hour in advance and my seat was given away. I had no way of checking in when phone barely receives iMessage on the free WiFi. So I get a “seat request” and am told if I’m not fast enough that I’ll have to come back out and buy a new ticket. Strike two. After TSA, I sprint to my gate where I have seconds to spare. Luckily I have a seat left. During that flight is what sealed the deal. They offer flight fuel and meals. I wanted a specific one, I was given something else. Ok, I can deal. When the flight attendants come back to collect trash and recyclables, they never took mine. Keep in mind, this is the same staff that flew from SLC to RDU, now they’re serving in the return flight. They wouldn’t refill my water. Basically refusing service, and I’m suffering from nausea (all flights prior were rough), dehydration, and exhaustion. That’s not ok. They picked and chose who to serve. I had to leave my garbage in my seat upon landing because they wouldn’t take it. I was happy to get to SLC where Delta staff had better attitudes. The flight from SLC to PDX was better. I slept. I was woken up by the landing. I was happy to be off the plane. My recommendation for Delta is nonexistent. I wouldn’t recommend them to my worst enemy. Who ever was working that flight from SLC to RDU, and returning, you displayed very poor customer service. I wasn’t the only one to notice. They act as if they’re better than everyone. Alaska is cheaper quality, but their staff is top notch and service is stellar.
AircraftBoeing 737-800 / 737-900 / A321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePortland to Raleigh Durham via Salt Lake City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"sat for over 30 minutes with no AC"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Detroit to Harrisburg. Flight was delayed due to mechanical issues, in that the Auxilliary Power Unit was not functioning. Once on the plane all passengers sat for over 30 minutes with no AC. Flight attendant script starts by thanking us for allowing them to deliver exceptional service. This is not my definition of exceptional experience. I don’t care about WiFi, or in flight entertainment, give me a comfortable environment at the very least
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDetroit to Harrisburg
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I am really mad now"

(United States)

Trip Verified | When I am writing this review about my trip with Delta, I have to use my cell phone data (the hotel's wifi doesn't work). Let start with my ticket: it's a round-trip ticket from Binghampton to New Orleans and versa. The flight from Binghamton --> New Orleans was 5:30 PM to 11:30 PM on Oct-5 Then, this was how it happened. My first flight was delayed for 1h30min, and of course, I missed my connecting flight. I have to stay in a hotel overnight in Detroit. I don't have much time with my family this trip, and now I have to spend 1 night in the middle of nowhere. I was really mad with them, they gave me a voucher $100, and at least I felt they care about my feeling. At that point, I can rate them 4 stars. The flight was delayed, but the reaction was good. The flight from New Orleans --> Binghamton was 5:30 PM to 11:30 PM on Oct-10. Again, the first flight was delayed for "2 hours". And again, I have to stay in Detroit 1 more night. I can't imagine how my trip 5 days with 4 days with my family turned into 6 days with 3 days at home. I contacted them about my issue, now the attitude was changed, they thought that they gave me $100 voucher and it's done. I deserve to have the delay one more time "on the same trip". They sent me to a hotel name Travelodge, it's a very very bad hotel. I arrived at the hotel at 11:30PM and hadn't had dinner yet. I was thirsty and need some water. Since I don't have cash with me so I ask the help desk at the hotel for some water. After I said I don't have cash, she told me to drink water in the bathroom, "it's OK!". Now the wifi doesn't work, but I have to write this because I am really mad now. The lesson is: you may have a fault, but the way you fix it is more important. For the person who thought that $100 voucher is big, and it's ok to wait 2 nights for 2 delays on the same trip, I'm ashamed of you, you are so cheap! Thanks "Delay" Airline for a wonderful flight!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteBinghamton to New Orleans via Detroit
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"refused to let me move"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Houston to Detroit. There was many open seats in the red section. I was one row out of the red section and was overcrowded in my seat. The flight attendant refused to let me move unless I paid to upgrade. Eleven red seats open. This will be my last time flying Delta.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHouston to Detroit
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"don't treat people like that"

(United States)

Not Verified | Flying from Atlanta to Richmond last night and I have never had a more unpleasant interaction with a flight attendant. Twenty minutes into the flight (after her and another stewardess sat back and gossiped) they began to serve passengers off of the beverage cart. After serving 3 quarters of the passengers, the attendant said "Sorry, we are done." I asked for a water and she said "No, pilot's orders." She later came by and asked if we had any trash to which I responded "How could we, you didn't offer us anything?" She asked if I was upset and I told her that I was because I just needed some water as I had traveled all day. She said to take it up with the pilot. At this point we still had half an hour until landing. Also, there was no turbulence. My Delta flier miles card is going bye-bye. You don't treat people like that.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteAtlanta to Richmond
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no