CSA Czech Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 193 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"never fly with them again"

(Croatia)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Zagreb via Prague. The flight was operated by Smart Wings, they did not have anything on the menu on aircraft. After a one hour delay we spent an additional hour sitting in the aircraft. The delay caused missing my connection flight and arriving to my destination 12 hours later than planned, missed out on work etc. No answer from them, I have been waiting for more than a month. I have never had such a terrible experience and service, will never fly with them again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Zagreb via Prague
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"temperature unpleasantly high"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Amsterdam to Prague. The departure was delayed by just under 2 hours with no information sent in advance - one found out only at the airport. Check-in facilities lacked a simple swift baggage drop which with only 2 or 3 desks being open contributed to a longer than expected queue. As we were boarding, we noticed our seat allocation from check-in desk boarding cards differed than the one from our online check-in boarding passes with seats now separated by multiple rows (this was not communicated to us). The ground staff couldn't explain why there was a seat change and showed little care about swapping us back together. On the plane, it was very hot and FA informed they cannot switch on the AC until engines are started. Throughout the flight, the temperature continued to be unpleasantly high. At the arrival, the crew provided the least specific reason for the delay and rushed to say it was not their fault. Deplaning was through a bridge but in the middle passengers were asked to climb down stairs and get on the bus with no help provided for the elderly. Flying EZY on this route is a better choice - unless the fares are higher than the Czech Airlines prices.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAmsterdam to Prague
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Will avoid CSA in the future"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | Copenhagen-Prague return. It was a few years since I last flew Czech Airlines and I remembered them as an OK airline offering rather good quality and value for money. No such luck nowadays, since they were taken over by Smartwings company which seems to have destroyed the airline totally! Copenhagen-Prague in a Czech-Airlines-painted A319. Aircraft in rather good shape but the onboard service (BOB only) seems very strangely organised and takes forever to reach your seat - only to be told they were out of choices. Prague-Copenhagen in a Smartwings 737. One hour late, extremely cramped seating, aircraft looking worn and very dirty, cabin air quality bad and temperature too warm. Everything with this airline nowadays just looks so amateurish and cheap - from their print-at-home boarding passes to their badly cleaned cabins. Onboard announcements in english are barely understandable. And don't dream of buying some duty-free at the airport because then you'll have to pay extra to take it onboard the aircraft. This was a real disappointment. Will avoid CSA in the future! Only positive thing was that they still played Bedrich Smetana's Vltava in the loudspeakers after touchdown in Prague...
AircraftA319 / Boeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCopenhagen to Prague
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"First flight late"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Milan Malpensa to Birmingham via Prague. First flight late from Milan to Prague, second flight late from Prague to Birmingham, lost my luggage - something more? Yes! After 5 days I still don't have my luggage.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMilan Malpensa to Birmingham via Prague
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst company I have ever used"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Stockholm to Antalya via Prague. Worst company I have ever used. Two delayed flights and treated med really bad. I never use this awful company ever again. If you think about flying with this company, do not.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteStockholm to Antalya via Prague
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Overpriced services"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Prague to Brussels. Worst airline I have ever flown. Overpriced services and charging for absolutely everything on top of the basic ticket price. Worse than low-cost airlines.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Brussels
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Shocking service!"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Prague to Paris. Shocking service! This airline use to be good and became to be unbearable! I booked a flight and later added a checked in suitcase, paid with credit card and received confirmation Email from Czech Airlines. During check in, I was told I didn't pay for my suitcase and have I to pay on the spot. I've presented the confirmation email I had, but it didn't seem to change anything. The demand was that I will pay €45 (rather than €25 online). I refused to accept that and was sent to Czech Airlines ticket office which mend by external company, has no right to change anything and has no supervisor. They did nothing to resolve the issue. They said I will have to pay to board the flight and I can contact service to claim refund later. I was left with no choice, but to pay the €45. Sure enough, I wrote to the airline immediately, but no reply received. Another issue is when you buy Czech Airlines ticket, you assumes you will fly with standard airline company but this is wrong! You buying standard but the operator is Smartwing which is Low cost airline with shocking service. I use to fly 6 times a year or more with them but I'm done! NEVER AGAIN!
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Paris
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"The worst airline ever"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Prague. The worst airline ever. They are overpriced - prices like classic airlines but service worse than low-cost airlines. I am trying to avoid them each time I have to fly somewhere, but unfortunately I live in Prague, so sometimes they are the only option. Only 2 btimes from my last 15 flights there were no delay. Normally it is from 1-3 hour if you are lucky. It is a big surprise when they have classic gate and you do not have to travel by buss to plane. Their excuses (about delays, taking your hand-luggage down to plane so u have to waiting for them etc) are understable for children at maximum.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMadrid to Prague
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"were professional, friendly, attentive"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Recently flew CSA on Prague - Seoul - Prague route and can not say a bad word. The crew were professional, friendly, attentive. Service on par with 4 star airlines like BA or Finnair. Meals of very good quality and plentiful. Flights smooth, on time. Cabin showed the age but was clean. Good, old CSA proved they can provide good service as they used to do years ago. Would happily fly this route again with them. Unfortunately this is more or less the last "original CSA" route existing. They celebrated 95 years and literally died. By being taken over by Travel Service/Smart Wings things got to the worst possible level. Travel Service/Smart Wings have never been reliable airline with non existent customer service and flying with them is always a lottery - you may get lucky and get to your destination on time and get there at all or you are simply unlucky. Some of my last experiences just proved that (both flying under Smart Wings flight code or Czech Airline flight code). You are told you fly with Smart Wings but in reality you fly with Mongolian Airlines! The same happens with CSA now. You are told you fly with CSA but in reality you fly with Smart Wings. Hence all those problems mentioned by previous reviewers - delays, old planes (they got rid off the original CSA fleet), no customer service, bullying customers for 1 kilogram of overweight, more often technical incidents etc. etc. It's shame on Czech state and government to let things go that far and to degrade once highly recognized airlines! Let's see how long will this Seoul route survive. For other routes you probably will be much better off with others.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteSeoul to Prague
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"Worst airline ever flown"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Prague to Amsterdam. Worst airline I have ever flown. On the outward flight from Schiphol, the gate was changed 3 times, and i had to walk to the other side of the airport. The plane was 2 hours late because it was "busy over Germany." The staff was irritated, the plane outdated (from Travel Service) and no apology was offered. Return trip was slightly better since the plane was then 'only' delayed by one hour (probably due to the cleaning because the plane was at the gate on time). The staff was friendlier and we were offered free water. This time we were in an outdated aircraft from Smartwings. I have even better experiences with Ryanair and will choose this airline over Czech airlines the next time.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePrague to Amsterdam
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no