Condor Airlines

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 323 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"the legroom was not spacious"

(Mexico)

Trip Verified | Cancun to Munich. I had an issue with some passengers seated behind me, they were quite tall and wouldn´t allow me to recline the seat because the legroom was not spacious, they started screaming and making a scene and the staff decided to stay out of it, so the whole 8 hour flight I didn´t recline my seat, which was very uncomfortable. Other than that the flight was ok and the food was pretty good. For the economy class the seats just suck in my opinion, I am 1.72 cm tall and the legroom was no good, you should consider business class if flying with Condor Airlines, but got to say the space and the plane its much better than Aeromexico or Air France.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCancun to Munich
Date FlownSeptember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"satisfied with this airline"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Munich to Preveza. Overall i was satisfied with this airline. I flew with them for the first time and there was only one problem and that the flight was delayed by 15 minutes. Everything was fine on board. The service was above average in this price category and the prices of refreshments weren’t all that bad. The seats were average and mine was missing the hand rest cushion which was quite uncomfortable. The airplane itself was clean and in a good condition given it was 20 years old.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteMunich to Preveza
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Coming home was an absolute trial"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt to Baltimore. Beware if your flight says that it is being fulfilled through Air Tanker. My initial flight into Germany was fine, but only fine. The flight wasn't full, but I still felt very crammed in. The food, if you don't spend extra money on their Premium menu, is not much and about the same quality as a hospital cafeteria. It was all solidly "meh". I'd been snapped at for not having my passport ready as I stepped into the plane, yet nobody had instructed me to do that and it was my first international flight. They also, for some reason, made an announcement that they would be checking passports upon exit, but they didn't actually do this. Eventually we got to Frankfurt though, and I found myself feeling solidly underwhelmed by the experience. Coming home was an absolute trial. I checked in online 24 hours beforehand, and when I showed up the next day, a good four hours before my flight, I received a nasty surprise. I waited in line to check in my bag, and after finally getting up to the desk, was informed that I needed to go to the Service Area, that everyone did, and to not worry because "nothing was wrong with my booking." Yet there was clearly something wrong because the woman looked very uncomfortable. The Service Area was a disaster, and I waited in a barely moving line for an extremely long time to be finally told that I would be getting pushed off into Lufthansa's lap. One man working the desk and constantly answering a frantically ringing phone, trying to deal with an entire plane full of people who had just learned that Condor was using a smaller plane and had ditched them. They needed three or four of him. I was given vague directions as to where to go, worried that I wouldn't have time to catch this new, much earlier, flight. I finally got face to face with a Lufthansa rep as my new flight was starting to board, and she couldn't even find my name in the system because Condor hadn't bothered to send it. That took a good fifteen minutes to fix by itself. I was told by professionals and other travelers alike that this haphazard downgrading of flights is very typical of Condor. They promised reimbursement of 300 euros for the flight, and of course as I tried to file the paperwork for it they are trying to give that reimbursement as vouchers for future flights with them. If I am ever lucky enough to fly to Europe again, it will not be with them. Lufthansa proved to me that they know what they are doing and how to treat their customers, even when faced with a swarm of stressed out people suddenly on their doorstep. Lufthansa had great food and great service, and in the future I will definitely be willing to pay a little bit more than what Condor is asking for peace of mind.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Baltimore
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"I shall avoid Condor in future"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | As a regular passenger with Condor I had booked a Business class ticket for a return flight from Halifax to Friedrichshafen via Frankfurt. On check-in I was notified by ground staff that the airline had sent a smaller aircraft that was not equipped with business class seats. I was handed a form that would enable me to apply for a refund of the ticket price difference. The flight was extremely uncomfortable. They obviously were sending an old aircraft with old interior and very little legroom on pure economic grounds because business was not fully booked. This way they sacrifice customer satisfaction for some operational savings. Doesn‘t look like a sustainable strategy! I was a Platinum Voyager traveller with SAA for 5 years and Lufthansa Senator for another 10 years. I am tall and was struggling all the way to Frankfurt. As most passengers do I book higher class transportation for a reason. An involuntary downgrade with an offer to refund solely for the different ticket price doesn‘t do the trick. It certainly looks for them as an easy way out. I shall avoid Condor airline in future!
AircraftBoeing 757
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHalifax to Friedrichshafen via Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I didn’t get any bags"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I had my flight on 18 July 2019 from Zagreb to Frankfurt to Calgary. I was told by the check in staff at Zagreb that I will have to pick the 2 checked bags at Calgary for customs as it’s the first destination to enter Canada. However, I didn’t receive either of them in Calgary. I was then directed to baggage counter where I filed lost baggage for my 2 bags and boarded my flight to Vancouver. I didn’t get any bags there too. As WestJet was the domestic flight from Calgary to Vancouver, I filed a complaint about the lost bags with them at Vancouver. After that day I tried calling Condor customer care to ask about the bags, one of the staff mentioned that I can contact them on 5th day if I still didn’t receive the bags. However, there was no response on my bags till 23rd July so I decided to call condor customer care, I spoke to very arrogant staff. Instead of understanding my issue, she preferred to act as if she is doing any favour on me and didn’t even hear to what I wanted to say, she mentioned that they are not responsible for the same and the airport is responsible.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Calgary
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airline experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Frankfurt to Las Vegas. Worst airline experience I’ve ever had. To start with, we arrived at the ticket counter and here they told us that they switched the plane and this plane doesn’t have business class. So we paid for business class but have to fly economy. There was no warning before that they had switched the flight, then there was absolutely no help from anyone (and with big attitudes) to see if we could switch our flight to go business class (like we had paid for). They were unwilling to help. Then we arrived at our gate, got our boarding tickets scanner and i was selected for random security. Once i was done there, i had to walk back to my gate where i was met with attitude again. I wanted to pass because i had already gone past but selected for random security. I got yelled at by the man passing the boarding passes even though he was the one who took me to security. Honestly an awful experience and will never fly Condor again and caution you against it as well.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteFrankfurt to Las Vegas
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
4/10

"worst food ever served"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Phoenix to Frankfurt. Everything about it is a budget airline and that is okay. The non-stop route was a major factor for flying them. The problem I had is the plane had no air vents, very, very warm and uncomfortable. Seats are not well set up for long haul flights. Armrests hard and unpadded, no tray for devices, not well cleaned. Further, the absolute worst food ever served. We didn't even bother look at it on the return. Several other passengers made similar comments. The inbound flight had some air movement, that helped alot. Nice crew and ground. It will take a really good price for me to use them again.
AircraftBoeing 767-300ER
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePhoenix to Frankfurt
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"worst airline experiences"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is one of the worst airline experiences I've had. I booked premium economy from the Bay Area to Milan through Frankfurt. I booked with Condor because they used Alaska and Lufthansa to support the US and EU legs of the trip. Unfortunately, Condor does the overnight trip. First, Condor sends out a PDF receipt/schedule that looks like it was generated from an antiquated green screen technology. It's incredibly hard to understand and you have to manually port over into a calendar. Second, after the receipt, you get no communication from them whatsoever. No reminder, no notice of schedule changes - nothing. Second, their customer service is a total joke. Third, food is awful. For premium economy, it's insufficient to say the least. Finally, it is incredibly uncomfortable. While premium isn't business or first, I've always found it pretty comfortable and have been able to sleep. Not so for Condor. You can recline your chair maybe 1" more than you would in economy. There is a lot of leg room, but every time your neighbor moves or readjusts his or her sleeping position, it feels like an eight year old is kicking the back of your seat. The WiFi did not work and there are no power outlets. The movie selection sucks and is really hard to use. Will never book Condor again.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteFrankfurt to Seattle
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"meals and entertainment are decent"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I fly to Europe every summer from Alaska to Ukraine via Switzerland, Germany or Netherlands. Condor is my favorite choice for this trip. Their prices almost always beat other airlines. The meals and entertainment are decent and service superb. For the last 10 years I’ve been traveling my luggage was always arriving safely and flights that were on time, no cancellations nor delays. I had a few small problems with customer service when I had to get a person via the phone while trying to change a flight from Ukraine online (not available). Other than that it was nice, and I flew with kids and oversized bags. Yes Germans likes their rules and unlike American Airlines will suggest you pay extra if your bags are ridiculously overweight. However just as likely they will let it slip if you have a child or are just stressed out or broke (I've had all situations above over the years). As for the crew being unapproachable, perhaps flight attendants are more reserved however when it comes to being helpful they are superb crew. Overall highly recommend for budget, family, eastern European connections and last minute business class upgrade travelers. Alaska flight is just gorgeous and the shortest too. Very safe and decent service. A bit of a clunky website or stiff regulations are not huge obstacle when it comes to competitive prices and convenience.
AircraftA340
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteAnchorage to Kyiv via Frankfurt
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
5/10

"You get what you pay for"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Phoenix to Frankfurt. You get what you pay for and Condor can be hit and miss. Condor strictly strictly enforces its baggage policy. Before being allowed to proceed to the check-in counter the airline weighs both the checked luggage as well as hand-carry on, which is limited to 8 kg. People who are used to traveling with a small suitcase as carry-on are in for a rough surprise since passengers in economy are not allowed to use the overhead bins to stow luggage. I noticed quite a few people who were pulled aside to pay for excess baggage or repack their luggage and get rid of things. The boarding process in Phoenix was chaos, but I give them credit since the airline only started serving PHX the week before and the staff didn't have much experience. It was, however, very unprofessional for the staff to be arguing with each other as to how to handle the boarding process. Flights to the U.S. originate in Frankfurt and return that same day, which means that there are no representatives available to deal with incoming passengers who encounter problems with their luggage because the airline's staff is busy checking people in. This happened to me on my return flight from Frankfurt to Phoenix when my luggage didn't arrive after waiting for over an hour. There was no Condor representative in the baggage area and a customs officer finally told me to go to the Condor ticketing/check-in area to file a claim. Once there I was told that they didn't have time to deal with me since they had to finish checking-in people for the return flight to Frankfurt. Absolutely unacceptable. The service on board can be hit and miss. I purchased upgrades to premium economy on both flights at check-in. The service on the flight from PHX - FRA was friendly and efficient. The service on the return flight was very poor and non-existent between meal services. On the 12 hour flight from FRA to PHX the crew came around with water only once, compared to five time on the PHX - FRA flight. When I asked for a glass of wine I was told by the flight attendant to get it myself in the galley - and this was in premium economy! Three of the flight attendants looked and seemed very stern and unapproachable. The meals in premium economy are slightly better than in economy, with a choice of two meals instead of the pasta dish in regular economy. The quality and presentation of the food, however, is nothing compared to that served on mainstream airlines like Lufthansa or British Airways. Condor uses bus boarding in Frankfurt for many flights, which is time consuming and inconvenient. The price I paid for these flights was a fraction of what I would've had to pay on a mainstream airline. You can purchase upgrades to premium economy, which offers 36" of legroom, at check-in subject to availability.
AircraftBoing 767-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RoutePhoenix to Frankfurt
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no