Comair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Online check in is archaic"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Durban with Comair / British Airways. Check in process is pathetically slow. Long queues and no process to call passengers for earlier flights. Entitled passengers who jump queues because they are more important than you. Arrived Over an hour early and waited over half an hour before being checked in. Electronic checkin at the airport did not work either. Online check in is archaic. Does not even have a link to Stocard on iPhones. Being a foreigner it’s no use sending to my mobile number as I’m not on roaming. Past that the security process took another 15 minutes which made us literally run to the gate. Not a pleasant process. Learn something from overseas airlines on how to get passengers through an airport. It’s not like the airport is even remotely busy!
AircraftBoeing 737 800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Durban
Date FlownMarch 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
7/10

"Overall, a decent flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Johannesburg. The SLOW lounge in the Cape Town domestic terminal is a maelstrom of activity around lunchtime, but at least there's an impressive spread of food. Boarding was the now usual queuing on the ramp and airbridge, but passengers were sensibly allowed on at both ends of the plane. Service was efficient although lacking BA's homegrown friendliness. The Comair "four-course meal" was adequate but not up to the best that Club Europe offers. A late departure was compensated for along the way and our bags were more-or-less first off the carousel. Overall, a decent flight.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Overall, a decent flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town . The SLOW lounge at JNB sets the standard, with an impressive array of food - even at 11 am - and ample seating. The bar service is good, too, and some neighbours had already finished their third refill of pink champagne by the time they boarded the same flight. As is common on other BA flights, Group 1 passengers were kept waiting on the airbridge before boarding actually commenced. Service on board was friendly and efficient, but very much old school BA as far as the “four-course lunch” was concerned. At least one was able to see the main course before choosing it. Departure and arrival were pretty much on schedule and baggage collection was speedy, too. Overall, a decent flight.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"A relatively smooth flight"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Durban to Cape Town with Comair. This is a 2 hour flight which was full. The business class seats were the same as economy but with a little extra legroom and the middle seat was empty. The FA's were mature and friendly. There was a full bar service and light lunch was served. The aircraft was clean, left on time and arrived on time. A relatively smooth flight, unlike BA they serve refreshments and full bar service on this short haul domestic flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDurban to Cape Town
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"ten minutes past check in time"

(South Africa)

Not Verified | Durban to Port Elizabeth. The night before my flight I was emailed and told to check in, which I tried to do, and was told that there was a problem and I would need to check in at the airport. I left two hours in advance for a one hour trip to the airport and on the way encountered a minor traffic problem. On arrival at the airport I was ten minutes past check in time. The person at check in asked about my bag and I said that I did not need to check it in. She then phoned through to boarding I assume, and without any attempt to convince the lady on the other end, in any way, simply said No it's closed. You can't get on the flight. The lady on check in was extremely unsympathetic, lacking in interpersonal skills for a job of this nature. No apologies, not "I am so sorry I cannot help you, try one of the other airlines". She simply said everyone else got here in time. I was beyond annoyed with this very poor and completely unacceptable customer service. I then proceeded to Safair who were able to help me, at a cost of R1300. What made me even more furious, was in the time that I bought another ticket, went through security and then bought coffee, flight BA6323 was still on the tarmac! What was the impact of me being a few minutes late - how did this interfere with your departure? Sorry, this is beyond ridiculous. I will never recommend Comair, and you would do well to advise your staff about working on their interpersonal skills.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Port Elizabeth
Date FlownOctober 2019
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"rude flight attendants"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Upon recent travel from Durban to Johannesburg on Sunday 14th July 2019 it is disappointing to find that we were welcomed aboard by rude flight attendants.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteDurban to Johannesburg
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"Well done on customer service"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Flight BA6314 Durban to Cape Town was a disaster, plane had technical issues and we were not able to use that plane. I was informed visa a phone call from BA while on the way to the airport that there would be no Business Class on the new chartered flight. I'm not a snob, but it was a surprise gift for my 74 year old mother. Long story short, we flew on Global Air a chartered plane from JNB. It was late and cramped but comfortable enough, and staff very attentive. We were offered ZAR1000 flight voucher as compensation for no Business class. The difference between the two classes was ZAR3000 each per ticket. Upon return I emailed Comair and was very expertly helped by David who did some bartering regarding refunds. At the end of the day I was given a ZAR6000 Kulula/Comair voucher to be used for 1 year as compensation. Well done on customer service and well handled by all involved.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteDurban to Cape Town
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"efficient and personable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Thoroughly workmanlike return flights, Johannesburg to Cape Town. Cabin crew were efficient and personable. Seats 1A/C had adequate leg room. Food was adequate and it was helpful to see the three main courses before choosing one. Both flights arrived ahead of schedule.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"flight itself was unremarkable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Johannesburg. Club check-in for our Comair flight to JNB couldn’t have been more unfriendly and the agent failed to mention the SLOW lounge. We let her ticket our luggage through to LHR, without collecting it at JNB, as she said it would work. Well, we’ll see. The lounge was frenetic, although food and drink were plentiful. The 737-800 was a new model, although Club seating was the usual Club Europe arrangement. Departure was delayed by 60 minutes, but that still left two hours for transfer on to the BA LHR flight. The flight itself was unremarkable and we made up some time. Cabin crew seemed efficient and had a sense of humour. Not at all bad, really - assuming our luggage catches up with us.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Route Cape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"lounge was quiet and relaxing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town. Comair is a franchise operation of British Airways and the JNB - CPT route is particularly busy. We made use of the BidAir concierge service to speed us through immigration and baggage collection to connect with the Comair service. The SLOW lounge was quiet and relaxing, with a really impressive array of food. Seating in business class was identical to Club Europe, but seats in row 1 are more freely available to non gold card executive club members. Unlike BA's new short haul service, food is served across all classes. However, the food served in Comair's business class is inferior to that in new (Do & Co) Club Europe. Communication from the flight deck was efficient as ever and we arrived slightly ahead of schedule.
Aircraft737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews