Comair

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 42 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"efficient and personable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Thoroughly workmanlike return flights, Johannesburg to Cape Town. Cabin crew were efficient and personable. Seats 1A/C had adequate leg room. Food was adequate and it was helpful to see the three main courses before choosing one. Both flights arrived ahead of schedule.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"flight itself was unremarkable"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Cape Town to Johannesburg. Club check-in for our Comair flight to JNB couldn’t have been more unfriendly and the agent failed to mention the SLOW lounge. We let her ticket our luggage through to LHR, without collecting it at JNB, as she said it would work. Well, we’ll see. The lounge was frenetic, although food and drink were plentiful. The 737-800 was a new model, although Club seating was the usual Club Europe arrangement. Departure was delayed by 60 minutes, but that still left two hours for transfer on to the BA LHR flight. The flight itself was unremarkable and we made up some time. Cabin crew seemed efficient and had a sense of humour. Not at all bad, really - assuming our luggage catches up with us.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
Route Cape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownDecember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"lounge was quiet and relaxing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town. Comair is a franchise operation of British Airways and the JNB - CPT route is particularly busy. We made use of the BidAir concierge service to speed us through immigration and baggage collection to connect with the Comair service. The SLOW lounge was quiet and relaxing, with a really impressive array of food. Seating in business class was identical to Club Europe, but seats in row 1 are more freely available to non gold card executive club members. Unlike BA's new short haul service, food is served across all classes. However, the food served in Comair's business class is inferior to that in new (Do & Co) Club Europe. Communication from the flight deck was efficient as ever and we arrived slightly ahead of schedule.
Aircraft737-800
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownNovember 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"a year chasing the refund"

(France)

Trip Verified | It will soon be a year since we travelled with Comair from Zimbabwe to South Africa. But the plane was not in Zimbabwe that day and we were driven by bus to Zambia to catch it. Notwithstanding the fact that the flight was delayed by more than 3 hours because of that, it will soon be a year since we are chasing the refund that was promised by Comair that day. To cross the Zambian border you need a visa that costs 50 US$ per person. But Comair ground staff did confirm that that will be refunded. A year now that "the refund is on its way", "the system is down", "we don't have your flight details", "can you let us know the date", "can we see a copy of the visa", "we don't have your bank details" and so on, the answers are always coming. But not the refund. The amount we are chasing is not that high but be sure that if you were to ask for a refund it would be your day. Last but not least : flight often have a British Airways BA number but when you have a problem, don't even think of asking BA for support. "Deal with Comair" is the only answer. So be careful.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteVictoria Falls to Johannesburg
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"refused to accept any responsibility"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Has anyone experienced a Comair cancellation? We did - from JNB to WDH in Namibia. We booked the flight through BA in the UK and BA couldn't care less, even though it's sold as a BA flight. They have refused to accept any responsibility. For all flights in or out of the EU BA would be liable for compensation, but they refuse to behave with any sort of honour - you just can't trust them. Comair were hopeless at Joburg, management refused to come and talk to the passengers. Comair staff gave us incorrect details of how to complain. Comair of course don't even have the courtesy to respond to e-mails once we had found out the right one to use. Be warned, this airline is a disgrace.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteJohannesburg to Windhoek
Date FlownFebruary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"disappointed with the experience"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Johannesburg to Cape Town. I would like to lodge a complaint as I was very disappointed with the whole experience. The flight was delayed, we were at the gate on time and there were no announcements or updates made. Instead the staff just chatted amongst each other saying they don’t know when we will be able to board. Almost 45 min later we boarded, I have two small children (2 years and 5 years) and a pram but we had to stand in the queue. No courtesy and consideration was given that parents with young kids and old people should be allowed to board after business class. I have travelled many airlines with my kids and all airlines give courtesy and assistance when travelling with kids. The aircraft was unclean, chewing gum on armrest and dirt in the magazine pocket. After landing in Cape Town we received our pram back which was returned scratched and the agent that booked us in Johannesburg OR Tambo airport did not tag one of our bags. It was the bag with my 2 year olds clothing, medication and vanity. The Agent we spoke to was very helpful and was the only positive part of flying British Airways. The incompetence of not tagging our bag and possibly not finding it and finding it only after a few days caused a huge inconvenience. The bag was found 6 hours later, despite it being returned it was my toddlers things and I had to go right away to purchase all new things as we were on holiday in Cape Town for a week only and I couldn’t wait for possibly a few days or not finding it at all. 2 weeks later after many emails I received an email that I have accepted the terms and conditions when purchasing the ticket and hence theres not much they can do expect give me a lousy R250.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"an enjoyable experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Myself and my partner flew from Port Elizabeth to Durban on Tuesday 7th November. Departure time was 13:20 and flight time was roughly an hour. Boarding was prompt and hassle-free. There was plenty of space in the overhead lockers so no fighting for space for luggage. The pilot gave good information and kept us in the know regarding timing and weather etc. Having flown a few times within South Africa with Comair it is most of the time an enjoyable experience, the cabin crew are polite and I've never experienced a delay/cancellation. One thing that does grate on me with Comair is the age of their aircraft - it is not a nice place to sit. The seats are weathered and the interior of the cabin is really old.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RoutePort Elizabth to Durban
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Pleasant experience "

(South Africa)

Verified Review | BA6416 from Cape Town to Johannesburg. Pleasant crew served tasty chicken mayo sandwich and complimentary drinks. Return flight was okayish, crew served delicious scrambled egg, bacon + chakalaka spicy sauce breakfast with yoghurt, juice and tea/coffee. Alternative choice was spinach and mozzarella pancake. Pleasant experience on short-haul domestic.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteCape Town to Johannesburg
Date FlownAugust 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"inflight service is very good"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Cape Town on British Airways marketed flight operated by Comair. Check in at Terminal B quick and polite as was security, visited the domestic Slow Lounge which is very good with lots of food & drink options. Boarded on time through gate D2 on to a decent clean 737-800 seated in 1A which was comfortable drinks offered prior to take off, departed on time once airborne service was very good food was okay a full breakfast served.. Managed 40 minutes sleep before decent.. Landed around 10 minutes early on to a bridge baggage off the belt quickly.. I travelled with Comair 3 times over the previous week and find that both ground and inflight service is very good.
AircraftBoeing 737-800
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Cape Town
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"great service and good food"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Johannesburg to Windhoek return. Checked in at terminal B domestic (British Airways SA) however the flight departs from Terminal A which is about a 10 minute walk away, security was okay immigration a little slow. These flights are operated by Comair but marketed as a British Airways franchise service. Used the Slow lounge which is very good with a good food & drink selection coffee bar and food to order if required.. Boarding from A25 on to a bus. Aircraft a pretty old 737-400 but clean and tidy seat 2A offers lots of space a similar lay out to BA European flights.. Departed on time once in the air service from a nice crew was very good food & drinks pretty good. I was the only pax in business class so very nice experience. Arrival on time however the dreadfully slow immigration at WDH lasted 2 hours with a huge que from 3 arriving flights. Return check in was polite and quick however security & immigration was rude and an absolute shambles! Not the airlines fault. Used the local lounge which was quiet but offered nothing. No wifi either. Boarded the aircraft from gate 2 a short walk to the steps. Departed around 30 minutes late again an old but well kept 737-400 seat 1A offered enough space for this 2hr flight. A full cabin this time but great service and good food offering. Pretty relaxing flight.
AircraftBoeing 737-400
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteJohannesburg to Windhoek
Date FlownApril 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 42 Reviews