Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 204 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Poor service and overall experience"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Poor and unreasonable baggage rules. I chose their Premium Economy service this time and I got 2 x23 kg baggage quota. I got three bags need to check in and the overall weight is within the limit but CX was rejected and said only 2 bags are allowed. I don't understand why there is no flexibility to their customer. Finally, I paid extra USD 60 for the extra check-in baggage and I haven't experienced the same handling in other airlines. Other traditional airlines always accept extra baggage as long as the overall weight is within limit. Ground service is not helpful. It is my first time taking premium economy class and I don't see any premium service except extra legroom. Food choice is limited and no food or drink menu is provided. Poor service and overall experience.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteKansai to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"It has been a nightmare"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Paid extra for a good seat; Didn't get it due to weight balance but was promised refund the price difference before the flight; Wasted 10+ hours in nightmares with the Cathay Pacific customer service on whatsapp, emails, and phone calls, but it's still not resolved yet. I spent a few hundred dollars more on this 17 hour long trip, for a seat with good leg room and unobstructed view by the wing. However, I was told by the lady at the check-in counter that the seat had been changed by "the people in Hong Kong" for weight balance and she could do nothing about it. But she told me that the price difference can be refunded as long as I contact the customer service. And I believed her easily and thought that would be easy and not waste much of my time, because the fact that a paid service cannot be provided implies that that part of the cost should refunded. Or so I thought. The first customer service guy told me that it was impossible even before I could finish describing my situation. And he was also very ignorant of what services they are offering, and thought that one doesn't have to pay anything for extra leg room nowadays. I contacted again in emails, and the second person turned out to be a huge disappointment too. I was humiliated by a "goodwill gesture" of 10,000 Asia Miles that I will probably never use. And this guy even started to blame that it was their staff at JFK who changed my seat, which contradicted what I heard before the flight. And I am confused why that can be a good reason for not refunding me too, maybe by discrediting the check-in counter lady who told me that I could easily get a refund? After that I have spent more hours on emails and phone calls with their customer service. It has been a nightmare. More appointment and more humiliation. This is my first flight with Cathay Pacific, and I think the last one too. I don't know why it was a trustworthy airline in my impression, but not anymore. Regarding the inflight experience, I had a broken TV, a tiny unstable table with no beverage holder, and was in a location directly facing the toilet. I didn't sleep the night before the flight for better in-flight sleeps and jet lag, but I couldn't because the toilet flashed me every 5 minutes.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteNew York to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2022
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"I won't recommend Cathay to anyone"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The review is to do with Cathay's customer service (CS) attitude and its business ethic during the COVID crisis. They lied and refused to help those who are in vulnerable situations. 12 Jul, I booked for 9 Aug flights 14 Jul, Australia drops incoming travellers quota further. Every week I would check with Cathay if I could still get to fly - its CS told me I was fine. I have also indicated that I'm on my 3rd trimester. I would be 33-week pregnant by the time I fly. Shockingly, Cathay only emailed me 3 days before the flight date with lies that flight got cancelled. Never got a phone call. Never got offered replacement seats. I knew the flight cancellation was a lie because my mum was still got her seat on the same flight. We book our flight together but because my mum was on a business seat, Cathay split her booking ID from mine. My mother is disabled and I'm her sole carer in Australia so this outcome was the worst. Because I would be stuck alone in Thailand giving birth without close family and Mum would also be struck alone in Sydney's quarantine and she could barely speak English. From Friday 7 to Sunday 9 of August, I chatted to Cathay's CS and called them over 5 times. They all said sorry but it was up to the "Revenue team" to review my case. I was surprised that the authority of this matter is in the hand of the revenue team which probably doesn't work on the weekend. After the first request, all I got is one cold rejected email on Sat morning. The CS said the earliest next flight for me is 2 September, way pass my 36-week of pregnancy (you aren't allowed to fly after). This is either a lie or an act of negligent. From social media, I found out later that other Cathay passengers who got bumped off their flights after my case got offered flights much earlier than this, even as early as 11 August. I relentlessly politely appealed to the CS and begged for their help and offers them many options they can do for us - 1) Reinstate my seat; 2) Allow me to take my mum place to fly (she can be cared for in Thailand while waiting for her next flight) and; 3) Refund both of our flights so we have our fund to try to fly elsewhere. Cathay reps politely but mechanically rejected all options I asked for. They said the option 3) will cost me a penalty fee because it would be my fault to cancel to my mum's flight. I sympathise all airline businesses in this trying time. However, Cathay has proven to stoop so low to even cutback its humanity. Sure the service onboard is great. It's airport staff in Thailand also super intelligent and helpful (Deepest gratitude to Ms Phattar... who saved us at the last minute before the flight were due) but I won't recommend Cathay to anyone if you have a choice.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBangkok to Sydney via Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

"Poor show - never again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | London to Perth via Hong Kong. To say I was disappointed would be an understatement. Firstly, I must say flight London to Hong Kong enjoyable but the rest 0/10. Ran out of meals to Perth (not being snobbish but a lot of money paid for premium economy so not expecting that). Then as the holiday nears it end I get a text from Cathay Pacific saying my flight had been cancelled. No explanation just cancelled that's that. Then half an hour later Cathay Pacific has booked me on another flight but 16 hours later so not only a long wait in the airport but I have to cancel a connecting flight from London to Edinburgh and pay for another. Poor show - never again
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLondon to Perth via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
6/10

"really disappointed with the overall experience"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Brisbane to London Heathrow via Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific Airways. Considering the premium seats cost almost 4 times the economy seats, I was really disappointed with the overall experience. Meal was exactly the same as what you receive in economy, as is the amenity kit. When compared to PE in Qantas or BA, this lacks a lot (you get meals and drink service more in line with business class on those carriers). The only advantage if you are a OneWorld Emerald or Sapphire is getting access to the Pier Lounge at Hong Kong Airport, otherwise if you don't have status and are looking for an upgrade other than just some extra leg room then I wouldn't recommend this. WIFI also didn't work on all 4 return legs of my flight, despite there being a WIFI symbol on the walls. You would be better off spending your money on China Southern Airlines business class seat for a similar cost (and get a lie flat seat) or paying for economy on one leg & business on the other (with any airline). TIP: Also avoid the front row aisle seats in premium - I don't really have long legs (5ft6') and yet the air hostesses still knocked my feet every time they came through the door from business, waking me up at least 4 times despite my legs not sticking out on the aisle.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteBrisbane to London Heathrow via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2020
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"worst Premium Economy"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Mumbai. One of the worst Premium Economy Service. I flew on board CX685 on 24th Dec, my seat was 30D. Premium Economy is a joke. The seats are almost the same as size as economy, tables get stuck while folding. No welcome drink for Premium Economy passengers, no hot towel. No separate meal selection, same economy trays and same food. Separate Premium boarding gate is only by name with anybody walking in. Communication of crew poor. I would strongly suggest fliers not to waste money on Cathay Pacific Premium Economy.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteHong Kong to Mumbai
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"very attentive cabin crew"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Melbourne to Zurich via Hong Kong, returning to Brisbane. Premium Economy on Cathay is almost always a pleasure, not just for what it provides (extra leg room, welcome drinks, hot towels, feeling of spaciousness) but for what you don't get (you tend not to get screaming babies, yobbos, tour groups, unruly kids, etc!), So, if on business, this is a very good option. Cathay fly to places one actually needs to get to, in my case, Zurich. All flights on-time or very early. All food options good. Quality service from a very attentive cabin crew on all flights. As a One World Emerald member I had access to the superb Qantas First Lounge in Melbourne and, of course, various Cathay First Class Lounge offerings in Hong Kong. Cathay also uses the Aspire First Lounge in Zurich and this is quite superb. My only gripe is the on-board IFE - I never find anything worthwhile to watch, except the live News Streaming - but that often doesn't seem to be in range. Highly recommended, especially on the new A350-900 or A350-1000 aircraft.
AircraftA350-1000
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMelbourne to Zurich via Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"pleased with all aspects of their service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Adelaide to London via Hong Kong. My wife and I travel regulary with Cathay Pacific and have always been very pleased with all aspects of their service. We have tried other airlines but have always returned to cathay pacific. This August on our return trip we opted for a longer stop over in transit (12 hours) so we could take a visit to Hong Kong centre and have lunch etc. On our return to the airport we found the departure gates all closed as there were demonstrators all over the airport blocking departure gates. All the flights were showing cancelled on the information boards, so we just sat in a corner and waited for any news. Some of the demonstrators walked round giving people water and food, and apologised for the inconvenience being caused, they were not hostile at all. After several hours and no news that the flight would be going we decided to get the train back to the city and book in a hotel, as we was just about to go out the building my wife and was approached by two young ladies in Cathay pacific uniform and asked us if we were with CP, when we told them yes one of the ladies along with a young man without uniform chaperoned us to "area A" of the airport where there was another small departure gate. They spoke to some security people and we was slipped through the gate unbeknowing to demonstrators, on the plane only lost half hour. Were flying again this December with no qualms.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteAdelaide to London via Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"Not worth the expense"

(India)

Trip Verified | Chennai to Seoul via Hong Kong. Had seen several videos on Cathay's premium economy and decided to indulge and get premium economy for my wife and myself, last month. However, it was the biggest disappointment. It was not worth paying double of economy class. There was no Champagne welcome in fact no welcome drink. After take off we were offered water and 3 hours into the flight we were offered breakfast which was in the same plastic trays as economy. Not to forget but there was no welcome kit. What is the difference between economy and Premium. A few extra inches of leg space! Of course there is no option to use the lounge at the airport while in transit. Wondering how could frequent flyers like us get so badly misled. Not worth the expense and would highly recommend economy class for travel and splurge more at the destination.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteChennai to Seoul via Hong Kong
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
10/10

"I was impressed"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Flight from Amsterdam to Hong Kong in Premium Economy. It was the first time that I was flying CX Premium Economy, and I was impressed. The seats were very comfortable - they had generous legroom (it seems that the pitch was more generous than on most other airlines offering Premium Economy) and a leg rest that is also useful if you are more than 6 ft. tall. The meal service on CX is different than in Economy, and I enjoyed the meal that I had. The service was attentive without being persistent. It was one of the best (if not the best) Premium Economy products that I have experienced so far.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteAmsterdam to Hong Kong
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes