Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 184 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"was the worst inflight service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Cairns. Very poor premium economy service. This was the worst inflight service I've ever experienced. Took two hours for food to arrive on a relatively short 6.5 hour overnight flight. When it did arrive it was abysmal. Very small portion, bland, and overly salty tomato sauce on dried pasta. Not even three course meal. Crew very inefficient, passengers still had meal trays waiting collection three hours after take out. Then we were woken up again two hours later for "breakfast" which was a dry pastry in a box. This was my third trip on Cathay on this same route, and their inflight service has been very poor indeed each time. They are not cheap, and I would not want to fly again with them. Their seats are very comfortable but the rest falls far behind their competitors.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteHong Kong to Cairns
Date FlownJuly 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"smooth and efficient"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to London. Ground service was smooth and efficient. Though the gate was a bit far away from the immigration, the check in counter was very quick. The seat was modern and they provided a wide range of movies and TV shows in the IFE system. Two meals were served and snacks including cup noodles were served in between. Desserts were also served in the economy class. I could get my check in luggage swiftly and reached central London in an hour.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteHong Kong to London
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
4/10

"Not worth the price"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Seattle to Hong Kong. I was pretty excited to fly premium economy on the A350. The seat was not as amazing as I was expecting. Great design and storage, not as comfortable as the extra cushioned Boeing 777-300 PE seats. As always, food was very boring. It's almost always the same. Same starter, same main and same ice cream. Extreme consistency means lack of excitement. And, of course, same breakfast as always. The presentation of the food as always very sterile and basic, making the food taste even worse. Flight attendants robotic but still helpful. Overall not at the level of most of the other premium economy experiences I had with other airlines. Not worth the price.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSeattle to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"found the food and service ok"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I used to fly Cathay Pacific Business between Europe and Asia (and was disappointed with the service) but had to fly Premium Economy this time due to the high price during holiday season. Overall I think it represents better value than business class. Check in at London Heathrow was fully automatic - you have to print out the boarding pass, luggage tag and attached it to your bag and drop it using a machine. Not an issue here. Boarding was smooth and easy and we took off on time. Hot towel and welcome drink were provided. I was able to secure the first row of the cabin and found the leg room much better than other seats in PE. However the screen is stored below the arm rest so if you plan to watch a lot of movie or have gate to gate entertainment this is the row to avoid. The A350 used for Hong Kong to Taipei sector is far superior than the B777 for long haul. I found the food and service ok - given the fact that it was sub standard in business class. One thing I don't appreciate is unlike EVA which I often fly with, the toilets were not regularly cleaned. I also found the selection of movies poor. When I booked my Premium Economy ticket I was inform that the flight from Hong Kong to Taipei would be operated by A330 without PE so I was allocated a seat in economy. When I arrived at the gate I spotted that it was changed to A350 with PE and check with the ground staff if it is possible to get a seat in PE. I was told that the airplane was still an A330 and there was no PE available - that proved to be totally wrong.
AircraftBoeing 777 / A350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteLondon to Taipei via Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"well worth the money"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Madrid to Tokyo via Hong Kong. Friendly staff, seat on the A350 is great to lounge/eat and even sleep. On 777 bit less so and more chaotic and economy class meal. A350 to Hong Kong premium meal which was nothing to complain about. Enough snacks and drinks during the flight. PE well worth the money.
AircraftA350 / Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteMadrid to Tokyo via Hong Kong
Date FlownApril 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Extremely disappointed"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Have had great experiences flying premium economy with Cathay so am upset to hear they are cutting the services into Cairns. What is the logic behind this as to go with another airline we would have to fly to Brisbane. This will add an extra 6 hrs flying to our trip which is already very long to Europe. Always when we have flown with you previously the planes were full so why cut the service now. Hopefully another airline will pick up the slack. Extremely disappointed in a decision that no-one can give me a reason for. Guess you won't be getting my custom anytime soon. Great way to support loyal customers. Very, very disappointed. Plus couldn't find anyone local to discuss this.
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteCairns to Hong Kong via Paris
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"their customer service going down"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to San Francisco. I am typing this on the flight. Today's experience has not been great. Many disappointments from the check-in counter and now on the flight. We are flying with an infant. While I appreciate the airline is giving priority to passenger with infant or special needs there are still quite a few things lacking to the overall service. Instead of a long write up, below is a list of things we have encountered so far. Assistant at the check-in counter is impatient. Speak so low and unclear. She let off when she found out our stroller is one piece instead of two because she printed two baggage claim tickets for the stroller. Promised baby food before take-off never arrives. Flight attendant is not apologetic when closing the overhead baggage compartment loudly on top of our sleeping baby. Overhead compartment has two large green/flat bags belong to the airline. We are lucky to fit all our small bags there. Typical hand carry baggage definitely won't fit. A passenger sitting not far from us dropped his food tray and made a mess. The same flight attendant (a guy) walked by twice without even offering help. That is terrible. In general, all attendants seem to be very busy doing their "thing". I am not seeing customer service/care in my recent flights with CX anymore. I have been flying mostly with CX for years. It is sad to see their customer service going down.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteHong Kong to San Francisco
Date FlownMarch 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"an amazing experience was truly long gone"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I haven't been flying with Cathay Pacific for over 8 years, so I thought I'd give them a try again, this time on the brand new A350 premium economy. CX uses Changi T4, which is a very modern and chic terminal, in comparison to T1 and T2. It was very impressive from check in counters, the super modern immigration and interior design. Boarding was orderly and departure on time. The A350 is truly a modern aircraft, it's noticeably quieter and up to date technologies available throughout the aircraft such as wifi, touch screen TV etc. The PE sets are laid out in 2x4x2, and is relatively more spacious with ample leg room and good seat pitch. In terms of hardware, CX did very well this time. Software wise (food and service), it was rather mediocre. Crew did not look welcoming, nor happy to be there. It was streets behind their competitor on this same route Singapore airlines. For PE, we are served economy class meal, portion are noticeably smaller than many years ago, plastic cutlery, no salt, pepper sachet and toothpicks provided, it's by request only, all scream to me big cost-cutting. Presentation, portion and taste of food was rather bland, at least we were offered a cup of Hagen Diaz ice cream to finish off the meal. The load was very full, crew were efficient to go through their duties, but there's no charm or smile at all. The good old days when flying with CX was an amazing experience was truly long gone. I bought this one way ticket last minute at a much cheaper rate than SQ. Had I prepared more ahead of time, it's back to Singapore airlines for me.
AircraftA350
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteSingapore to Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
2/10

"delays upon delays"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Cebu to Mebourne via Hong Kong. Poor communicator and can’t keep to a schedule - delays upon delays. Unmanned service desks and but for one CSO, the rest were appalling. I get that delays and stuff happen, that’s cool - just communicate.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteCebu to Mebourne via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Cabin crew was attentive"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Milan. The premium economy cabin has not much difference with the economy. The seats cannot recline much. However, the soft product was really good. The supper was well served and there was a great selection of snacks. Breakfast was awesome with western and Chinese options. Cabin crew was attentive and they served beverage quite frequently. They were very friendly and with good manner.
AircraftBoeing 777
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypePremium Economy
RouteHong Kong to Milan
Date FlownJanuary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes