Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1448 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"flight was ineligible for mileage"

(United States)

Trip Verified |   I booked this airline specifically to obtain frequent flyer miles as they are part of the OneWorld Alliance with American Airlines. I found out only after the flight the flight was ineligible for mileage because it was the wrong fare type. Turns out Cathay Pacific has 21 fare types, and customers are supposed to know what they all mean. I have flown literally millions of miles over the past 30 years, mostly on American, and I HAVE NEVER known what fare code my flight was. It is dishonest to publish this information buried within thousands of pages of regulations.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteLos Angeles to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"food and beverage was great"

(Guadeloupe)

Not Verified | The food and beverage was great and gave my child an airplane model. Ground staff was very nice, food and beverages were very appetizing.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to London
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"forced to purchase a new return ticket"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I had an incredibly frustrating experience traveling from Singapore to Hong Kong with Cathay Pacific, which turned out to be the worst experience I've ever had. Firstly, Cathay has no ground staff support for customers needing to change or rebook flights at Hong Kong and Singapore airports. When I missed my flight from Singapore to Hong Kong, the ground staff redirected me to the customer call center, adding to the frustration. To make matters worse, they provided me with the wrong contact number, forcing me to hunt for the correct one. The customer center's assistance was lackluster, providing little essential information and prompting me to purchase new tickets online in a rush, following their instructions. I usually choose full-service carriers and pay premium prices directly on their official websites expecting better support during unexpected situations. However, with Cathay, that expectation was shattered, leaving me to handle everything as if I were flying budget. Additionally, during my attempts to change my flight, I wasn't provided with accurate information by Cathay. I was blindsided by the cancellation of my return ticket from Hong Kong to Singapore. Despite my intentions to rebook clearly communicated to the customer center, they failed to inform me of the cancellation or take any proactive measures. I received no notification via email or phone call regarding this significant change. Discovering my canceled ticket upon arriving at the airport left me helpless, with no ground staff available to assist and another call to the customer center proving unfruitful. I was forced to purchase a new return ticket at an exorbitant last-minute price. Cathay should have retained my return ticket given my clear communication and willingness to pay the hefty last-minute fees, or notified me of the cancellation promptly. Instead, the whole experience felt like dealing with impersonal automated systems.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Singapore
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
5/10

"unsatisfactory travel experience"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified |   Overall an unsatisfactory travel experience. Mainly because of the poor on time performance and recovery services handling. My flight was delayed for 1.5hr and was only notified last minute (with no explanation offered). No compensation or any gesture of apology. Inflight experiences was just ok and nothing standout compare to most other full service carriers. I would avoid travelling with this airline where possible.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSingapore to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
1/10

“I find it very underwhelming”

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Plane was dated. There is only one USB available for charging. In flight entertainment is pretty limited, even TV series are old series and only have like 6 episodes. Service wise is very lacking taking into consideration that it is a business class seat. Firstly, flight manager is selective on whom he greets on the plane. Does not greet everyone on the plane. Happened to the unlucky one he chose to ignore. From where I am seated, he greeted passengers around me (including the passenger behind that came in late) but he deliberately skipped me for reasons unknown. When I checked if I had offended him, no apologies but just accused me of being sensitive and make a lot of noise to embarrass me. In addition, I had requested for meals to be served just before landing as I just had a meal in the lounge, service crew insist that I need to have the meal after take off. After the meal I still have 3 hours to landing. The service crew were also not very “present” in the flight as they do not continuously go around ensuring that everyone’s drinks are filled. The moment you finish your drink, they clear it and no offer to provide more drinks unless you request. Overall from a business class perspective, I find it very underwhelming.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Singapore
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"Fabulous attentive service"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Cathay Pacific is using the much smaller Neo 321s for many more routes these days. Delay leaving BKK, boarding a hassle as single entry One aisle plane. Business has 12 seats in total, very small cabin with one bathroom at front. Set up good, loads of room, huge TV screen. Fabulous attentive service and the best food I've seen on a CX flight since before Covid - really nice beef. Good drinks choice. Arriving in HK and the Neos apparently land at the new terminal across the sky bridge, quite a journey to the terminal up and down escalators. The seats were brand new in economy and looked good. Less seats does mean than CX can charge more for seats, this flight was full and not particularly cheap.
AircraftA321 neo
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Bangkok
Date FlownApril 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"Overall great experience"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Best online booking portal, easy to book flights as well preference, easy to amend booking and quick refund on change portion of ticket. Smooth online check-in as well as baggage drop. Excellent aircraft maintenance even though 777 are old they were clean and everything worked. Inflight attendants was attentive to the needs and served a good portion of meals as well as Drinks. The entertainment was top of the quality. Baggage collection was prompt. Overall great experience to travel in economy. Don't mind travelling again. The only thing I missed was free wifi which SQ provides
AircraftA350/ Boeing 777
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteSydney to Delhi via Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"full of impatience"

(China)

Trip Verified |  Terrible staff manner towards Chinese (Mandarin)speaking passengers. As soon as they heard of Mandarin, they were full of impatience for passengers's normal needs. I've never seen this kind of sudden change in the attitude of the flight attendants. Even if the main duty of the cabin crew is to ensure safety, you shouldn't have this kind of service attitude, right? In addition to the attitude of the flight attendants, my meals were really perfunctory and unpalatable, and the Häagen-Dazs at 3:00 in the middle of the night was also a very amazing arrangement. Hardware facilities are fine even with economy class, and the onboard entertainment system is rich in content.
AircraftA359
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteNew York to Shanghai via Hong Kong
Date FlownFebruary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"think twice before flying CX again"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Do not fly Cathay Pacific if you are on the old 777-300. The lounge was good at Hong Kong Airport and everything went smoothly there. But in the air was terrible. Seat was the smallest Business Class on any widebody I’ve flown and no full recline. The food that I ordered was terrible - I ordered Dimsum (Hong Kong has popular dimsum around), but this Dimsum on this flight was non-existent. Staff was ok, but they aren’t that friendly. The entertainment on the other hand was great which was the only positive thing on this flight. I definitely need to think twice before flying CX again.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Jakarta
Date FlownMarch 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
3/10

"haven't got the decency to reply!

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew Manchester to Sydney via Hong Kong, the plane was diverted because of bad weather, which I accept. When we got to Melbourne we were on our own, no staff to help us we were given a piece of paper with a qr code and that was it. We spent the night on airport lounge bench, no food drinks or anything. Since returning home I have been in contact with Cathay Pacific but they haven't got the decency to reply.
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteManchester to Sydney via Hong Kong
Date FlownJanuary 2024
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no