Cathay Pacific Airways

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 1108 reviews
7/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"kind and very helpful manner"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | Dubai to Bahrain trip booked for later in October 2018. It has been quite some time since I have spoken to a customer service agent with much ease, and to be responded to in the kind and very helpful manner as she did was refreshing. My matter was resolved respectfully.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteDubai to Bahrain
Date FlownNovember 2017
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"flight was enjoyable"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Seoul Incheon to Hong Kong in November 2017. Seoul Airport check in is convenient. A330-300 was deployed for this route. The flight announcement was made in English and Korean. This aircraft comes with the newer generation of CX studio. In flight entertainment with a wide selection of movies and songs are available and the 3D flight map. Breakfast was served followed by hot beverages. The standard of the in flight catering is slightly better in view of the catering was uploaded from Seoul. The flight was enjoyable. A big applause to the dedicated cabin crew.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteSeoul Incheon to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
3/10

"seats are ridiculous tight"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Ho Chi Minh City. 3-4-3 seat layout in economy class is too much, the seats are ridiculous tight. I must say the food is below the industry average. I will try to avoid this airline, even though I have flown Cathay for few years
AircraftBoeing 777-300ER
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Ho Chi Minh City
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"catering above average"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Shanghai Pudong in October 2017. Having arrived from Kota Kinabalu on Cathay Dragon, I was informed my flight KA896 to Shanghai Pudong had been cancelled. A new flight had been arranged for me flying on board Cathay Pacific instead. A330-300 is fitted with the older hard shell seat and IFE. The quality of the In flight catering above average. Hot meal is a served and complemented with Haagen Dazs ice cream. As the load for this flight was light, the cabin service was fast. I spent remaining of the flight time watching movie and listening to music.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Shanghai Pudong
Date FlownOctober 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"service is above average"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Seoul Incheon in 2017. The ground staff allowed me to check in despite that it was 5.5 hours before departure. A330-300 was quite full but it did not hamper the cabin crew effort to maintain high level of service. Peanuts and cold beverages were served. Meal was served approximately 30 minutes after take off followed by hot beverages. This aircraft is fitted with the newer version CX studio. There are wide selection of entertainment, movies and music on board. The 3D flight map is also available. As it is a flight bound for Seoul, Korea, the airline assigned Korean speaking crew. Overall in flight service is above average, though a little more attention can be focus on the in flight catering,
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Seoul Incheon
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"overall flight is average"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Hong Kong. At the time of booking was originally operated by the A350-900. I was shocked of the last minute change, it was replaced by A330-300 instead. Boarding was in a systematic row by row order, priority given to passengers with special needs. Simple hot meal is available on this short sector flight. The quality of the meal is below average. Nonetheless, I am very impressed with the responsiveness of the cabin crew, the service was quick, thus allow us time to have sufficient to rest. Overall flight journey is average. I hope the management look into the new way to improve the in flight catering.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"lack of consistency recently"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Taipei to Hong Kong in March 2018. I was originally booked on CX468 which departed 21:55 but due to the late arrival of Cathay Dragon incoming flight and subsequently delay in KA749 in departure, the airline re arrange this last flight to Taipei for me. Being a Marco Polo green member, I took advantage of the fast track lane to board. Anold B777-300 with hard shell seating for this flight. Flight crew are not as friendly as other flight I had flown with CX. I was surprise when I took a photo of the cabin, the flight purser approached me that photo is not allowed in the cabin. Hot meal is not available on this flight. The cabin crew were seen rushing with the distribution of paper pack which contains savoury pastry, cookies and a pack of ice lemon tea. Very little interaction in between the flight attendant and passengers. Cathay Pacific's product seemingly lack of consistency recently.
AircraftBoeing 777-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteTaipei to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"seat was very comfortable"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Dubai. Business class seat was very comfortable, amenity was provided, food was tasty and IFE with a wide selection. Cabin crew addressed me by my name, beverage was offered and this time they had chocolate box treat. The cabin crew recommended her favorite variety and it was indeed very good.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Dubai
Date FlownAugust 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"outstanding inflight service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Manila to Hong Kong. Quick short visit to Hong Kong. Flying with Cathay Pacific's brand new Airbus A350-900 on this route (CX918). Checkin in at Manila Internation Airport Terminal 3 was quick and efficient. Out of all airlines flying to and from Manila, Cathay Pacific has the most efficient ground service and handling despite its multiple flights in and out of Manila. Cathay Pacific has recently opened their brand new lounge at the new-ish terminal a few years ago. It had every component that the lounge offers at their Hong Kong lounges minus the showers. Food selection was great as was drinks. Boarding was quick and efficient, doors were closed on time and left the gate on time. Upon boarding, the first thing I noticed was the brand new plane smell and the flight attendant's warmth and friendliness. The seats were brand new, cabin was very clean and very spacious. As soon as I sat down on my seat, I immediately noticed how wide the seats were and how generous the leg room was. The IFE was also their new Stuio CX which offered live TV and Wi-Fi connectivity. Only being a two hour flight, the crew swung into action giving snack bags which contained a biscuit, juice box and a pastry - which to me personally is more than enough for a very short flight despite what others moan and whinge about in here comparing CX's meal service to Philippine Airlines who serve full meal. I personally am not a binge eater and couldn't careless about whether an airline serves a full meal in economy class or not. The snack bag was delicious and more than enough for the entire duration of the flight. After the meal services, the cabin crew again came offering second rounds of drinks. They were all very friendly, warm and chatty. Overall, despite what others have said and complained about Cathay Pacific's service going downhill, having flown with them over 13 times over the last 18 months, I find their service to be outstanding and highly consistent living up to their reputation of being a 5* premium airline. Over the last year, I have flown with other 5* airlines - Qatar Airways and Singapore Airlines and both do not even come close to the service Cathay Pacific offers. Overall, if I had the opportunity to swith loyalties from British Airways Executive Club to Cathay Pacific Marco Polo Club, I will in a heart beat but the downside is the difficulty of gaining oneworld status with Cathay Pacific. As oneworld sapphire, I get the same service their own frequent flyer gets which to me is more than enough. To sum up, Cathay Pacific offers an outstanding and consistent ground and inflight service alongside having the friendliest, consisten, humble and warm flight attendants.
AircraftA350-900
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteManila to Hong Kong
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
10/10

"the way flying should always be"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Flew NYC/JFK to Hong Kong and onward to Kuala Lumpur. Traveling with Cathay is the way flying should always be, especially for a 15-hour flight. The food was excellent, offering Western and Asian choices, with ice cream for dessert, and snacks/drinks, including beer/wine/gin/whisky, were readily available throughout the flights. There were tons of movies and music cds to choose from, a decent amount of legroom, and friendly and courteous staff actually providing service with a smile. Wish flying were always like this.
AircraftBoeing 777 / A330
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteNew York JFK to Hong Kong via Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes