Cathay Dragon

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 33 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"still room for improvement"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | This is the 2nd leg of my journey in November 2017 having arrived from Seoul. I had to re check in again despite that previous flight was on Cathay Pacific CX415. Hong Kong to Kota Kinabalu on A320-200 vin a 2 class layout cabin, the seat has been refurbished with the thinner seat. The new seat are not equipped with personal IFE- IFE is only possible by downloading KA studio into mobile device. Hot meal and beverages were provided. The standard of the in flight catering is fine though there are still room for improvement. Based on my flying experience with Cathay Dragon, the portion of the meal tray has been reduced.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"catering is slightly below my expectation"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Kuala Lumpur in January 2018. Queue was short and check in process quick. A330-300 parked at the remote parking bay whereby transfer was done by airport bus. The cabin crew welcomed me upon on boarding. My seat no 23H is located at the 1st section of the economy class. This aircraft is equipped with the newer version of IFE with HD screen and 3D flight path. Considering this is a 3 hours 55 mins flight, the quality of the in flight catering is slightly below my expectation. The airline has reduced the number of portion on the meal tray in the last 2 years. Cabin crew are courteous and attentive but less friendly compare to some major airlines in China. I find that the crew are being very passionate and alert when I requested for a comment form after meal and the senior flight attendant immediately came to check if anything was wrong which they can improve on. To conclude, the overall flight journey is still an impressive one.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"memorable and pleasant"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kota Kinabalu to Hong Kong in December 2017. A320-200 was refurbished with new seat is configured into 2 class cabin. Boarding process was smooth. I was welcomed by cabin crew as I boarded. The flight departed on time. Lunch was served soon after take off, a hot meal and cold beverages. In my opinion, the inflight catering can be further enhanced as the meal portion has been reduced in the past 2 years. To conclude, the flight was a memorable and pleasant one.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKota Kinabalu to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"inflight meal has deteriorated"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Changsa. Check in was relatively quick. This flight was operated by Cathay Dragon A320-200. Boarding for Cathay Dragon narrow body aircraft are either at North Satellite Concourse Terminal or outside parking bay, this flight was at the North Satellite Concourse. Airport bus was used to transfer from main terminal to North Satellite Concourse Terminal. Marco Polo member can board the aircraft at a special lane for frequent flyers. Cabin crew welcome once boarded. This aircraft has been refurbished with new cabin painted with new livery. IFE is only available by mobile device or smart gadgets by downloading KA studio apps. Soon after take off, the cabin crew distribute paper bag which contains pastry and a packet of lemon tea. Hot meal was not available for economy class passengers. As the load for this flight was light, cabin crew spent most of the time at the galley soon after they collected the rubbish. I noticed Cathay Dragon in flight meal has deteriorated over the past few years. Meal portion for instance is getting smaller. Overall cabin service is satisfactory, though there are still room for improvement.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Changsa
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"slightly below my expectation"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Zhengzhou to Hong Kong in March 2018. Zhengzhou Airport is connected by modern train. It takes less than half an hour from the city centre. I arrived 3 hours earlier and proceed to the check in desk. At that time, there were already passengers waited at the counter. Nonetheless, flight information is neither available or displayed. Soon the counter commenced check in process, the queue was not in systematic order. We were only being informed that the queue was for another direct flight to Taipei. Flight KA749 originally scheduled on 16:20 has been delayed. As a result of that, I shall not be able to catch my connecting flight to Taipei. The ground staff re arranged the last flight for me via CX408. Boarding call was made at 17:30, It was systematic, row by row, priority given to special needs passengers. Being a Marco Polo green member, I took advantage of the special lane dedicated for the frequent flyers. An A330-300 with 3 class cabin configuration was assigned for this route. The captain made an apology while awaiting for take off clearance. The cabin crew busy assisting passengers to avoid further delay. This aircraft is equipped with the older generation IFE. Despite that the aircraft cabin has been refurbished with the newer seat, there are still a clear sign of ageing on this aircraft. Flight KA 749 with light load only took off around 18:30. Dinner was served approximately half an hour after take off. Meal was served with cold beverages. In flight meal also comes with Haagen Dazs ice cream. The cabin crew returned to serve hot beverages. Such process saves time and without the need for the second round meal cart. Meal tray was collected once dinner was done., thus enabling us to have enough time to rest. Overall experience is slightly below my expectation. The service can be improved if announcement on the delay was made prior to the check in.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZhengzhou to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service is efficient"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Ground staff at Qingdao are prompt and responsive. My request for an aisle seat was granted. An A330-300 configured into 3 class cabin was deployed for this flight. Boarding call was made not long after the in bound flight arrived. Such process begins with row by row, elderly and special needs passengers are given priority to board first. The cabin of this aircraft is relatively old despite that the seat has been refurbished and fitted with IFE. Nonetheless, it is neither the latest screen or higher density (HD) one. The flight path map doesn't come with 3D. In flight catering is satisfactory consider that the flight time of approximately 2.5 hours and meal is complemented with Haagen Dazs ice cream. Cabin service is efficient. I had sufficient time of rest throughout the entire journey.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQingdao to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"satisfactory for a regional sector"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Qingdao. The check in process was in order and prompt. This flight was operated by Cathay Dragon A330-300 which boarding gate was assigned to Terminal 1. When I arrived at the boarding gate, there were many passengers waiting for the gate. The boarding announcement was called approximately 50 minutes prior to departure. The process was conducted row by row in systematically order which special needs passengers are given priority. Being a Marco Polo Green member, I had the advantage of queuing at the special lane dedicated to the airlines frequent flyers. Flight attendant were busy greeting and assisted us to the assigned seat once boarded. The flight to Qingdao left the gate on time and was relatively full. Cathay Dragon is renowned for being one of the best regional airlines. Lunch and cold beverages were served shortly after take off. The cabin crew returned to serve hot beverages. Two selection were available on board, that is hot coffee and tea, hot beverages were served without meal cart and the process is usually faster. Overall flight experience was smooth and satisfactory for a regional short sector. I look forward to fly with Cathay Dragon again in the near future.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Qingdao
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"inflight service is okay"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Osaka. Cabin crew work efficiently and provided a warm welcome when we board. The flight has little delayed but overall is acceptable. The inflight service is okay. the aircraft quite old and is not cold enough.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Osaka
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1/10

"Cannot use miles to upgrade"

(United States)

Trip Verified | First experience flying Cathay Airlines and I will never return. The only airline that I am aware of that offers "0" points for miles earned while booking economy. Not only that, but once booked, cannot upgrade at any cost to a higher class cabin. Cannot use miles to upgrade seating class. One would think that paying over 1400 dollars and booking direct the airline would accommodate requests especially if seats were available and the customer offered to pay for the upgrade. But not with this airline. The staff both in flight and ground level were the most unprofessional encountered with an airline. The inflight crew found it most appealing to joke and banter amongst themselves rather than attend to passengers. The ground staff cold, not accommodating, and rude to the upmost degree.
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RoutePhuket to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"offered me an earlier flight"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Shanghai to Hong Kong. Reached the airport 2 hours earlier. The ground staff offered me an earlier flight back to Hong Kong. A very flexible arrangement. The flight was very light load and the staff was exceptionally friendly. Food and drinks served once after take off. They offered a very wide range of wine and cocktails. And have 3 different choices on the entrees, which include a special Singaporean dish. The flight was a little bit bumpy and not hot drinks were served. The business class seats were not really spacious, but okay for a 2 hours regional flight. This would be an area they can improve.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteShanghai to Hong Kong
Date FlownJuly 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 33 Reviews