Cathay Dragon

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 35 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"crew was exceptionally efficient"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | The flight from Hong Kong to Taipei was eventually operated by Cathay Pacific plane and staff, though it used to be a Cathay Dragon flight. They used long haul business cabin to operate the flight, with flat bed and fancy entertainment system. Hot dinner was served in the ultra short flight, with dessert and also appetiser. The crew was exceptionally efficient. However, the boarding was quite confusing.
AircraftBoeing 777-300Er
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Taipei
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"experience very high marks"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Aircraft appeared to be very new. On time boarding through jet bridge but take off delayed by over 30 minutes because of technical faults. Cockpit crew kept passengers informed. Business class cabin consists of 8 seats in 2 rows of 2 x2 configuration. Standard business class seat with good recline and extended foot rest. iPad provided which had a smaller collection of items than on offer at Cathay Pacific. An amenities kit similar to Cathay Pacific was provided. Smooth flight. Quiet cabin. Only five of 8 seats taken. Attentive flight attendant. Announcements made in Bangla in deference to the destination and the flying clientele - nice thoughtful touch that truly made you feel you were going home! A menu card listing three entree choices was provided. It was a tasty meal accompanied by a choice of wines. The dishes had a noticeable Indian slant. I enjoyed my vegetarian choice. The dessert was a small tub of Haagen Daaz ice cream - something that has not changed in six years. The ice cream is usually rock solid; flight attendant cheerfully thawed it on request! It was a quiet, flight late late at night. Duty free shopping is available and I was able to get a few items I wanted. Landing cards were provided. The lavatory was clean throughout. Being in the forward cabin, we were the first to disembark. Although 30 minutes late because of delayed departure, I give this flying experience very high marks.
AircraftAirbus 320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Kolkata
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"still room for improvement"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | This is the 2nd leg of my journey in November 2017 having arrived from Seoul. I had to re check in again despite that previous flight was on Cathay Pacific CX415. Hong Kong to Kota Kinabalu on A320-200 vin a 2 class layout cabin, the seat has been refurbished with the thinner seat. The new seat are not equipped with personal IFE- IFE is only possible by downloading KA studio into mobile device. Hot meal and beverages were provided. The standard of the in flight catering is fine though there are still room for improvement. Based on my flying experience with Cathay Dragon, the portion of the meal tray has been reduced.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kota Kinabalu
Date FlownNovember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"catering is slightly below my expectation"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Kuala Lumpur in January 2018. Queue was short and check in process quick. A330-300 parked at the remote parking bay whereby transfer was done by airport bus. The cabin crew welcomed me upon on boarding. My seat no 23H is located at the 1st section of the economy class. This aircraft is equipped with the newer version of IFE with HD screen and 3D flight path. Considering this is a 3 hours 55 mins flight, the quality of the in flight catering is slightly below my expectation. The airline has reduced the number of portion on the meal tray in the last 2 years. Cabin crew are courteous and attentive but less friendly compare to some major airlines in China. I find that the crew are being very passionate and alert when I requested for a comment form after meal and the senior flight attendant immediately came to check if anything was wrong which they can improve on. To conclude, the overall flight journey is still an impressive one.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"memorable and pleasant"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kota Kinabalu to Hong Kong in December 2017. A320-200 was refurbished with new seat is configured into 2 class cabin. Boarding process was smooth. I was welcomed by cabin crew as I boarded. The flight departed on time. Lunch was served soon after take off, a hot meal and cold beverages. In my opinion, the inflight catering can be further enhanced as the meal portion has been reduced in the past 2 years. To conclude, the flight was a memorable and pleasant one.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteKota Kinabalu to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2017
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Wifi & Connectivity 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"inflight meal has deteriorated"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Changsa. Check in was relatively quick. This flight was operated by Cathay Dragon A320-200. Boarding for Cathay Dragon narrow body aircraft are either at North Satellite Concourse Terminal or outside parking bay, this flight was at the North Satellite Concourse. Airport bus was used to transfer from main terminal to North Satellite Concourse Terminal. Marco Polo member can board the aircraft at a special lane for frequent flyers. Cabin crew welcome once boarded. This aircraft has been refurbished with new cabin painted with new livery. IFE is only available by mobile device or smart gadgets by downloading KA studio apps. Soon after take off, the cabin crew distribute paper bag which contains pastry and a packet of lemon tea. Hot meal was not available for economy class passengers. As the load for this flight was light, cabin crew spent most of the time at the galley soon after they collected the rubbish. I noticed Cathay Dragon in flight meal has deteriorated over the past few years. Meal portion for instance is getting smaller. Overall cabin service is satisfactory, though there are still room for improvement.
AircraftA320-200
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Changsa
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"slightly below my expectation"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Zhengzhou to Hong Kong in March 2018. Zhengzhou Airport is connected by modern train. It takes less than half an hour from the city centre. I arrived 3 hours earlier and proceed to the check in desk. At that time, there were already passengers waited at the counter. Nonetheless, flight information is neither available or displayed. Soon the counter commenced check in process, the queue was not in systematic order. We were only being informed that the queue was for another direct flight to Taipei. Flight KA749 originally scheduled on 16:20 has been delayed. As a result of that, I shall not be able to catch my connecting flight to Taipei. The ground staff re arranged the last flight for me via CX408. Boarding call was made at 17:30, It was systematic, row by row, priority given to special needs passengers. Being a Marco Polo green member, I took advantage of the special lane dedicated for the frequent flyers. An A330-300 with 3 class cabin configuration was assigned for this route. The captain made an apology while awaiting for take off clearance. The cabin crew busy assisting passengers to avoid further delay. This aircraft is equipped with the older generation IFE. Despite that the aircraft cabin has been refurbished with the newer seat, there are still a clear sign of ageing on this aircraft. Flight KA 749 with light load only took off around 18:30. Dinner was served approximately half an hour after take off. Meal was served with cold beverages. In flight meal also comes with Haagen Dazs ice cream. The cabin crew returned to serve hot beverages. Such process saves time and without the need for the second round meal cart. Meal tray was collected once dinner was done., thus enabling us to have enough time to rest. Overall experience is slightly below my expectation. The service can be improved if announcement on the delay was made prior to the check in.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteZhengzhou to Hong Kong
Date FlownMarch 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"service is efficient"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Ground staff at Qingdao are prompt and responsive. My request for an aisle seat was granted. An A330-300 configured into 3 class cabin was deployed for this flight. Boarding call was made not long after the in bound flight arrived. Such process begins with row by row, elderly and special needs passengers are given priority to board first. The cabin of this aircraft is relatively old despite that the seat has been refurbished and fitted with IFE. Nonetheless, it is neither the latest screen or higher density (HD) one. The flight path map doesn't come with 3D. In flight catering is satisfactory consider that the flight time of approximately 2.5 hours and meal is complemented with Haagen Dazs ice cream. Cabin service is efficient. I had sufficient time of rest throughout the entire journey.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteQingdao to Hong Kong
Date FlownMay 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"satisfactory for a regional sector"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Qingdao. The check in process was in order and prompt. This flight was operated by Cathay Dragon A330-300 which boarding gate was assigned to Terminal 1. When I arrived at the boarding gate, there were many passengers waiting for the gate. The boarding announcement was called approximately 50 minutes prior to departure. The process was conducted row by row in systematically order which special needs passengers are given priority. Being a Marco Polo Green member, I had the advantage of queuing at the special lane dedicated to the airlines frequent flyers. Flight attendant were busy greeting and assisted us to the assigned seat once boarded. The flight to Qingdao left the gate on time and was relatively full. Cathay Dragon is renowned for being one of the best regional airlines. Lunch and cold beverages were served shortly after take off. The cabin crew returned to serve hot beverages. Two selection were available on board, that is hot coffee and tea, hot beverages were served without meal cart and the process is usually faster. Overall flight experience was smooth and satisfactory for a regional short sector. I look forward to fly with Cathay Dragon again in the near future.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Qingdao
Date FlownApril 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
8/10

"inflight service is okay"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Osaka. Cabin crew work efficiently and provided a warm welcome when we board. The flight has little delayed but overall is acceptable. The inflight service is okay. the aircraft quite old and is not cold enough.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Cabin FlownEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Osaka
Date FlownJanuary 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 35 Reviews