Cathay Dragon

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Seat Comfort 12345
Staff Service 12345
Value for Money 12345
Customer rating from 58 reviews
7/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Filter Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"Impressive experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | Qingdao to Hong Kong return in Business Class. Impressive experience, I did not expected such outstanding service on a 3-hours flight. Comfortable 2x2x2 seat arrangement, large seats (even if they cannot become a flat bad - but this is not required on such flight), large video screen with wide selection of movies, also very recent. Full meal with several courses served both ways, very good food and wine, with continuous refills of drinks, very kind and efficient cabin crew. Surprisingly service on this flight was better than on the following Hong Kong - San Francisco flight with Cathay Pacific - I was expecting the opposite. Flight from Qingdao left 40 minutes late (which is the rule for every flight leaving from Qingdao, airport is far too small for the present traffic volume) but arrived Hong Kong in time. Flight back perfectly on schedule, and no issues with luggage.
AircraftA330
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteQingdao to Hong Kong
Date FlownDecember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
2/10

"substituted a smaller A320"

(Cambodia)

Not Verified | We are very disappointed in Cathay Dragon. We booked a flight from Hong Kong to Phnom Penh on Oct 30, 2019 because they advertised it was on a roomy A330, but the airlines substituted a smaller A320. If we had been notified of the change and given the chance to change our flight date to an A330 we would have done so.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Phnom Penh
Date FlownOctober 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
no
9/10

"An excellent flight"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Kolkata. An excellent flight where I was doted on by two very amiable and helpful cabin crew members. It helped that I was one of just two passengers in the business class section which had 8 seats in two rows of 2x2. A menu card was provided and my selection was tasty and filling. A good complement of drinks and spirits was on offer. However, they have not changed their dessert, a small cup of Haagen Daz ice cream, in at least 7 years. It is always served solid frozen - I passed on it and had some port wine instead. The flight departed on time from a satellite terminal which was reached by a short bus ride from the main terminal. Arrival was on schedule. Indian government landing cards, required of foreigners, were provided on board. The seats are traditional business class recliners and were reasonably comfortable. Boarding was smooth, intermixed with main cabin travelers, through a jet way. I-pads with a small selection of films and shows were provided soon after take off. It was difficult to slot them into the metal clasps on the back of the seat in front of you; you needed to hold on to the i-pad to watch your program. Magazines and newspapers on offer. Lots of storage space overhead. Leg space could be a tad extra - once you recline fully, your toes juts on the bottom of the front seat. Announcements were made in clear English and for a very thoughtful touch, also in Bengali, the language of the destination city. Cathay Dragon had a duty free catalog and three of my four selections were available for purchase. This is one aspect of travel I very much enjoy as it lets me pick up last minute gifts.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Kolkata
Date FlownSeptember 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"was just awesome"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Xi'an. Being the second time travelling with Cathay Dragon, my impression towards this airline is greatly improved. In my flight to Xi'an, except for my IFE that failed to show the flight map, everything just went right and nothing special happens, the cabin crew also provided good service to us. However as things went wrong in the return flight back from Xi'an to Hong Kong, the excellence of the Cathay staff is well demonstrated. As the Hong Kong Airport Authority restricted flights from landing in Hong Kong that day, after we entered the cabin with the door closed, we were still not sure whether we can fly. The cabin crew reacted professionally to answer many enquiries from passengers, meals were served on ground and we could just wait for further notifications from the pilot. Finally, the flight was delayed to the next day, we were then forced to leave the cabin and went back to the airport, the only thing that made me discontented is that there was no any compensation from the airline, though the airport restriction issue is not the problem of the airline. In the delayed flight next day, we saw the same crew and they also showed how professional they are. After knowing that it is the birthday of one of our friends, they even provided snacks and gifts to us. Their quality of service was just awesome and left us very deep impression. It is really an unforgettable experience travelling with Cathay Dragon and it is definitely a yes if I have a chance to travel with them once more!
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Xi'an
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"an unremarkable experience"

(Malaysia)

Trip Verified | Kuala Lumpur to Hong Kong the first leg of a trip to IAD. Check-in at KLIA was very efficient and the check-in staff were very helpful. The boarding process was handled well with CX staff on hand making clear announcements. The plane was old and tired and the tray table was dirty, stained with spilled food and orange juice. On board, the FAs were pleasant and efficient but that's where it ended. There was no personal interaction of any sort. They did their jobs well and efficiently but that's it. The food was disappointing, small portions and not great in flavour. The IFE was good with an extensive choice of programs. Generally an unremarkable experience but we did leave on time.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteKuala Lumpur to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"experience was wonderful"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Wuhan to Hong Kong. Overall the experience was wonderful. The flight was delayed for around one hour and meal was provided at the gate. The meal was even better than those served in cabin on many Chinese domestic airline's flights. Cabin crew were nice and friendly.
AircraftA320
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteWuhan to Hong Kong
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
9/10

"seat is very comfortable"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Wuhan with Cathay Dragon. The food and wine is great! The seat is very comfortable. Though it's a very short flight, the seat allows you to lay down as much as possible. Cabin crew are friendly.
AircraftA321
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Seat TypeBusiness Class
RouteHong Kong to Wuhan
Date FlownAugust 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
6/10

"Dimsum For Breakfast"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Hong Kong to Kaohshiung in October 2018. Dimsum For Breakfast, no other menu, the dumpling is delicious but i don’t really like the radish cake, but the service was good, crowded flight. Quite a jam for toilet.
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kaohshiung
Date FlownOctober 2018
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"service of the crew is ordinary"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | From KUL to HKG, travelling by A330. The comfort of the seat is fine and the headrest can adjust to different angles. The width of the seat and the legroom is quite large. Although there are many films or TV for you to watch, the size of the personal televisions is very ordinary or even quite small (9 inches). The service of the crew is ordinary too. The meal is sufficient and they provide chicken pasta, salad, ice-cream, drinks and cookies.
AircraftA330-300
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Kuala Lumpur
Date FlownFebruary 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
7/10

"Please sort it out Cathay"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Cathay services have, like most airlines got worse as efforts to cut costs and remain competitive mean a slip in food quality, cancellations, code sharing, crammed flights etc. and the food quality has dropped markedly in addition to their reliability. However, I would still say that on this particular route they are still the best airline (not much of an accolade as all the other airlines are budget/Chinese). I have travelled this route (Hong Kong to Shanghai) almost every weekend for over a year and have been a regular user of Cathay for over 15 years. One thing that has caused immense inconvenience and in my opinion negates any advantages of this airline is that most flights, upon landing is to taxi the furthest gate. The gate is so far away that it takes 25 minutes to drive the plane there after landing. Due to the remoteness a bus is used so takes a good 40 minutes to get to the terminal building. This is a super cheap ‘gate’ that is used almost exclusively by Cathay (occasionally other budget airlines if their gates are being used. Their insistence on using this gate creates delays and often hours in a holding pattern until the spot clears. I understand the needs for economies to be made but surely a strategy that creates so much hassle and late arrivals could be replaced with something else? I wish they would just remove in-fight entertainment and get a decent slot! Friends I have who are cabin crew are miserable and report that moral is very low within the organization because of constant complaints and dissatisfaction from passengers. Not having a movie on a 2 hour flight is much less hassle than catching the same flight every Friday for almost a year and all but one being 1-3 hours late. Please sort it out Cathay I can’t keep sucking up this disregard for passengers for much longer, even the pilots are annoyed!
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Seat TypeEconomy Class
RouteHong Kong to Shanghai
Date FlownJune 2019
Seat Comfort 12345
Cabin Staff Service 12345
Food & Beverages 12345
Inflight Entertainment 12345
Ground Service 12345
Value For Money 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 58 Reviews